Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

JoeyPeeps wrote: »
    I thought I knew it all after I lived in Dublin for a couple of years until I moved to London. The people there are like aliens.

Met any English yet...:pac:

On another note, I've always found Dubs with country parents a bit different and maybe a bit more easier going than you're average Ivor or Damo, maybe it's confirmation bias but it's always apparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Rural people have been coming to Dublin to work for years. They're welcomed to the city along with non-Irish people with open and friendly arms to the warmth of the city where most of them work hard and generally do very well.

Long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Mr Whom wrote: »
    Most boggers have no problem being called boggers. It's a term of endearment
    Some do, some don't, even when someone doesn't like the term they're not necessarily going to tell you in order to avoid an awkward situation. Personally I avoid using such 'terms of endearment'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Q1: I once sat on my Dad kneee on Dollymount Strand and he let me steer the car? Does that count?

Q2: No. But I know that Fingallians in Swords have one and that is about 5 or 6 miles away.

Q2: Christ no. WTF is is? I know what a suckler is though. (I think.) Does that count?

How'd I do? :confused:

You have failed miserably. A true Dub. You can be proud.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,384 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

pablo128 wrote: »
    There are 3 questions I ask to identify a bogger.
    Q1. Could you drive a mechanically propelled vehicle before the age of 10?

Q2. Do you live within 5km of a handball alley?

Q3. Do you know what a hoggett is?

If you can answer 'yes' to all 3, congratulations. You are a 100% bogger.

Q1. No

Q2. Not that I'm aware of. Or care.

Q3. Yep, and very tasty they are too. Haven't had any in ages though, which is a pity because it's tastier than lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

It s all a big melting pot ,rural people ,dubs, non national ,s ,etc
    so it makes dublin a more interesting place than it was in the 80,s .
    dublin city is at risk of gentrification,
    as prices go up ,only the middle class will be able to afford to buy a house in the city centre .
    The ordinary working class will have to buy a house in area,s like finglas or tallaght.

Zaph wrote: »
    Q3. Yep, and very tasty they are too. Haven't had any in ages though, which is a pity because it's tastier than lamb.

Great value hogget centre loin chops (with a tasty fillet) in Troy's butchers on Moore street in Dublin city. 3lb for €11! You'd be doing yourself a favour to drop in next time you're in the capital.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Here, you dropped this: '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

I have heard that the term "cuclhie" comes from landed gentry sending their sons to Dublin (work / education ) to get some culture.

Wouldn't happen now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

They're very fond of turnips.

I have heard that the term "cuclhie" comes from landed gentry sending their sons to Dublin (work / education ) to get some culture.

Wouldn't happen now.....

I have heard that the word Redneck came about from the almighty slap the father would give the kids as soon as they were finished school.

WALLOP!! "GET UP TA DUBLIN AND DONT COME BACK UNTIL YE GET A JOB!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Laeot

I've had the best of both worlds .. Born in Finglas and lived there for 30 years And now live in a Mac-mansion in the middle of nowhere .

So, from sawn off shotguns to smelly shlurry ....

I think it's more to do with Cúl an tí, back of the house and the use of it as the main door in rural areas. I doubt Dubliner's sent people from the epicenter of culture to get some culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Laeot wrote: »
    I've had the best of both worlds .. Born in Finglas and lived there for 30 years And now live in a Mac-mansion in the middle of nowhere .

So, from sawn off shotguns to smelly shlurry ....
    And think how much easier it is for you to rob people's houses now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Laeot

Pkiernan wrote: »
    And think how much easier it is for you to rob people's houses now.

The beshtt of both worlds .. alriiiiii

Laeot wrote: »
    The beshtt of both worlds .. alriiiiii

I'd say you have loads of room now for rallying the scrambler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.

They're fairly stupid alright. I once shared a house with a scanger from Donaghmede. She went into a bank in the city center one day to try to get a loan. She had no account with this bank so no savings and was not working at the time not that it mattered. But the best was when she was being helped to fill out the application and the assistant helping her asked what she wanted the load for. "because i owe some people some money" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

A neighbour of mine, who lived on a cliff edge, had to get the landlady of the digs in Coventry he was staying in to throw a bucket of water at his bedroom window every night so he could get to sleep.

True story.

Even tho' tides and winds differ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,271 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ha i had to think about that....i'm probably exactly 5k from a handball alley.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

What's the definition of a culchie - a Dubliner's father :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Puibo

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.

This gives the "choose life" from Trainspotting a run for its money! Love it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Mr Whom wrote: »
    But tell us if your "ways" my country friend !

Do you bring your own fried egg sandwiches in a sliced pan wrapper???

I actually got some direct feedback this weekend.

Not being a scanger = up your own arse.

Not being a Dub = person who wants to be us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

riclad wrote: »
    The ordinary working class will have to buy a house in area,s like finglas or tallaght.

I thought it was Costa Del Finglas now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 neutrino

...you forgot Q1(a). Can you back a trailer?
    And Q4. Can your shirt pocket accommodate a box of 20 Major?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 neutrino

neutrino wrote: »

...Q5. Can you tighten and release a ratchet strap?

Well you see Boggers are simple creatures so the standard 3 questions are quite sufficient.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

When the king of England visited dublin all the dubs came out waving their union jacks, hence Jackeens
    And if an American president visits they wave what? Mayo county jerseys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

diomed wrote:
    And if an American president visits they wave what? Mayo county jerseys?

Why not, they're suitable for every occasion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭feartuath

When i worked in Dublin i used love going home to Ireland ar the weekends.

The Dubs used to live in a Gaf
    To me a Gaf is something we use to land a fish on a boat.

Dubs use the word wood a lot for any type of furniture or any type of pattet or crate .
    We call it timber.

The Dubs went everywhere on a bus.
    We had cars.

Dubs wore tracksuit pants to work and changed into other tracksuits for work.
    We wore denims or snickers.

The Dubs went to the bog several times a day
    We went there to get turf.

The Dubs went to Spain on their hoildays with their ma and her sisters ,her ma and her sisters and about 50 cousins.
    We went to Listoonvarna.

The fardest south they have been is Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

feartuath wrote: »
    When i worked in Dublin i used love going home to Ireland ar the weekends.

The Dubs used to live in a Gaf
    To me a Gaf is something we use to land a fish on a boat.

Dubs use the word wood a lot for any type of furniture or any type of pattet or crate .
    We call it timber.

The Dubs went everywhere on a bus.
    We had cars.

Dubs wore tracksuit pants to work and changed into other tracksuits for work.
    We wore denims or snickers.

The Dubs went to the bog several times a day
    We went there to get turf.

The Dubs went to Spain on their hoildays with their ma and her sisters ,her ma and her sisters and about 50 cousins.
    We went to Listoonvarna.

The fardest south they have been is Bray.

Urgh....

Keep your turf and your knowledge of wood.

All boggers pride themselves on their knowledge of things that a 17th century peasant needs to know; soil and wood and livestock and agricultural diesel