Why Garda incompetence is acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Pocaide wrote: »
    Have you are your neighbours considered making a complaint to GSOC

I'd like to think GSOC would see right through such a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

My point being if the OP has a legitimate complaint why would he not proceed with it.

Johnboner wrote: »
    . Pretending Ireland is some huge metropolis with districts even dublin itself is tiny compared to small towns in the UK if you put dublin in the uk it would rank like 30 or around that.

Oh, & you are wrong on this also.
    Dublin would rank 2nd after London, maybe 3rd after Birmingham , but there are no other cities in England with population over a million.
    So, you don't know everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

A couple of years ago my girlfriends uncle called the gardai after his van was stolen. They came out three days later! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭Johnboner

bubblypop wrote: »
    Dublin would rank 2nd after London, maybe 3rd after Birmingham , but there are no other cities in England with population over a million.

Never admited knowing everything, but you don't either as you are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Pocaide wrote: »
    Have you are your neighbours considered making a complaint to GSOC

What complaint, exactly. They called out the next morning. There are any number of reasons they couldn't call out straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Because I was there and watched what they were doing.

You don't know why they were there though. It was probably a public order van.
    Because that's how most systems in the world work, are you seriously telling me that after calling 911 and reporting a serious accident in the process of happening nobody would care and not let any of the units know? Give me a break your post have negative credibility

That's not how it works. It's like you took that straight from the show Cops. In Ireland, when you ring the emergency number they hold the call until there is a car in your district free then they pass it on. If it's urgent they will pass the call to the local station to see if they have anyone free to go. You say it was a crime in progress yet you also say it happened over two days so it's hard to give you a proper explanation but the reality is a crime that has happened comes secondary to crime that are happening or might be about to.

Never admited knowing everything, but you don't either as you are wrong.

No, I'm right.

A couple of years ago my girlfriends uncle called the gardai after his van was stolen. They came out three days later! :pac:

Was there a need to send a patrol car with two gardai to his house so he could report a crime that had already happened?
    No offence, but that's a lot of the problem, gardai getting held up doing non urgent things like this.
    Surely he could make his way to the station & just report it there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

He's wrong of course (and being ridiculous) to say it would rank at 30 and the size of a small town in the UK, but you're wrong too. :)

London, Birmingham, Manchester are the three biggest. Then there is Liverpool, Leeds, and a bit smaller again: Newcastle, Sheffield, Nottingham - all with populations of over a million (when you take in the greater metropolitan area, as you would with Dublin). Dublin would be about the size of the last three. Equivalent to a small to mid sized English city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The Guards are under resourced but they are also badly managed. A lot of the Guard's current work can be done by civilians, cars are double crewed when they could be single.

There is a huge overemphasis on traffic because of the RSA. In the last two hours they have been three checkpoints around Galway. Tonight, when the drunks appear, there probably won't be any. There was an incident where a local businessman was beaten to a pulp in the city centre whilst two garda checkpoints were less than a mile away.

The Guards are like the UK police 30 years ago but even worse they still hold on to a military structure - it's a Garda station not a barracks. They are still a closed shop that resists change & doesn't like interference - like special volunteers.

If you aren't happy with the way that the Guards do there job then report it to the Ombudsman - things will only improve if we do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Incompetence is embraced with the 'ah sure' attitude and not frowned upon as it should be in Ireland.

We love our tribunals/inquiries where there's the opportunity to make a few bob out of it for many and often result in no implications or meaningful change as a result of the findings.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Incompetence is embraced with the 'ah sure' attitude and not frowned upon as it should be in Ireland.

We love our tribunals/inquiries where there's the opportunity to make a few bob out of it for many and often result in no implications or meaningful change as a result of the findings.
    Tribunals from the perspective of the ordinary person are for seeing justice done - the "we" aren't going to make a few bob out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Goya wrote: »
    Tribunals from the perspective of the ordinary person are for seeing justice done - the "we" aren't going to make a few bob out of it.

Most of the tribunals, particularly political, that have taken place in Ireland have seen the square root of **** all justice done.

Naming and shaming - yes. Prison sentences and fines? No.

If justice were done, how come Ahern, Lowry, O'Brien et al did not serve any prison time and/or were pursued by CAB or the revenue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Decades of being left almost entirely to run their own show has clearly had a pernicious influence on Gardai culture, which is a scourge that's really difficult to shift.

The few dealings I've had with them have always left me disappointed by just how obvious the indolence & inertia your met with is somehow regarded as acceptable to members of the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Get Real

Yes, not the first time either, their favorite spot seems to be beside pubs during the weekend and they stay there for hours.

Because pubs and areas such as that tend to bring crime and public order incidents. Prevention is better than cure.

There might be only that resource for the whole area. Now say they weren't there, and two hours later there's several reports for public order, criminal damage or an assault. That would take up even more limited resources and detract further from the ability to investigate damage to a car in a neighbourhood.

Say the guards were sitting in a car "doing nothing" right beside where the cars in the op were damaged-they wouldn't have been damaged, which is obviously the desired outcome.

Meanwhile what's not seen down by the pubs is the effect on crime prevention and reduction and the subsequent positive impact.

Goya wrote: »
    He's wrong of course (and being ridiculous) to say it would rank at 30 and the size of a small town in the UK, but you're wrong too. :)

London, Birmingham, Manchester are the three biggest. Then there is Liverpool, Leeds, and a bit smaller again: Newcastle, Sheffield, Nottingham - all with populations of over a million (when you take in the greater metropolitan area, as you would with Dublin). Dublin would be about the size of the last three. Equivalent to a small to mid sized English city.

Yea, the greater urban area Manchester would also be bigger.
    But Liverpool and Leeds smaller than Dublin.
    Anyway, apologies, well off topic!!
    Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,420 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Incompetence is allowed continue because any rigorous attempt to eliminate it would require a thorough examination of how things are done and this would expose failings at the top, where procedures are established and resources allocated. As long as people keep voting for more or less useless politicians and refuse to hold them to account then nothing can change.

Most of the tribunals, particularly political, that have taken place in Ireland have seen the square root of **** all justice done.
    Yes but ordinary people ("we") don't view them as an opportunity to make a few bob - we hope they'll be for serving justice.

I guess I'm just a bit jaded from all the "Irish people" do this wrong thing and that wrong thing (as if it's not done by any other population in the world).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Maybe the guys on the station were stuck on desk duty because they pissed of the mayor when they totalled a cruiser on a stakeout and the chief had to do something about it.

Did you ask if they put out an APB OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭recipio

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Decades of being left almost entirely to run their own show has clearly had a pernicious influence on Gardai culture, which is a scourge that's really difficult to shift.

The few dealings I've had with them have always left me disappointed by just how obvious the indolence & inertia your met with is somehow regarded as acceptable to members of the force.

I concur. There is a an arrogance in the Gardai unlike the UK where every officer will call you 'Sir' and generally make an effort to communicate with you in a polite way. I think it comes down to young men coming out of Templemore at 21 years old with no life experience and a superior attitude. They should be taught basic communication skills and maybe sent on training courses to more professional police forces,

That's not how it works. It's like you took that straight from the show Cops. In Ireland, when you ring the emergency number they hold the call until there is a car in your district free then they pass it on. If it's urgent they will pass the call to the local station to see if they have anyone free to go. You say it was a crime in progress yet you also say it happened over two days so it's hard to give you a proper explanation but the reality is a crime that has happened comes secondary to crime that are happening or might be about to.

I am done, I just cannot stand people making absolutely ridiculous assumptions. Next would be ''But they could have been responding to a mass shooting!'' and to answer your question, no it was not a public order van, it was a small county town not Dublin.

Get Real wrote: »
    Because pubs and areas such as that tend to bring crime and public order incidents. Prevention is better than cure.

There might be only that resource for the whole area. Now say they weren't there, and two hours later there's several reports for public order, criminal damage or an assault. That would take up even more limited resources and detract further from the ability to investigate damage to a car in a neighbourhood.

Say the guards were sitting in a car "doing nothing" right beside where the cars in the op were damaged-they wouldn't have been damaged, which is obviously the desired outcome.

Meanwhile what's not seen down by the pubs is the effect on crime prevention and reduction and the subsequent positive impact.

Have I not told you that it was in the process of happening? So it's ok to destroy others property and probably even set it on fire, yes it's fine because the Gardai have to stay beside the pub waiting for a crime to happen. It is a ridiculous argument and you know it yourself. Your name is appropriate in this context, get real.

Yea, the greater urban area Manchester would also be bigger.
    But Liverpool and Leeds smaller than Dublin.
    Anyway, apologies, well off topic!!
    Sorry

You cannot call others wrong when you are wrong yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Out of interest what constitutes a free car ? Does the message go out & cars decide if they are free ? If, for example, a car was running a checkpoint would they drop everything to attend ? Do the traffic corps act as ordinary gardai in these situations ?

Surely, if you have a significant crime in progress, every available officer should go, including the superintendent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Incompetence is allowed continue because any rigorous attempt to eliminate it would require a thorough examination of how things are done and this would expose failings at the top, where procedures are established and resources allocated. As long as people keep voting for more or less useless politicians and refuse to hold them to account then nothing can change.

There's GSOC, Policing Authority, Inspectorate, Professional Standards and Internal Affairs. The Inspectorate and Policing Authority examine the organisation from top to bottom. The reports of the Inspectorate are pretty illuminating. There is an issue with political interference in the upper echelons but it's hard to see a system that would be better. The policing authority is going to be deciding promotions from now but it's just replacing government appointments with ones by special interest groups.

As regards incompetence, there is a pretty rigorous disciplinary system. It goes from verbal warnings to full on internal hearings with large financial penalties. The problem is that these aren't public so people think they don't happen.
    I am done, I just cannot stand people making absolutely ridiculous assumptions. Next would be ''But they could have been responding to a mass shooting!'' and to answer your question, no it was not a public order van, it was a small county town not Dublin.

It's not a ridiculous assumption,that's what they get assigned to, even in towns.
    Discodog wrote: »
    Out of interest what constitutes a free car ? Does the message go out & cars decide if they are free ? If, for example, a car was running a checkpoint would they drop everything to attend ? Do the traffic corps act as ordinary gardai in these situations ?

Surely, if you have a significant crime in progress, every available officer should go, including the superintendent.

When a Garda starts a shift he logs onto the control system. When they are doing something they notify control and they are put as unavailable. When they are finished they clear themselves and become available again. Traffic have their own dispatcher. Some calls will be sent to them, like calls on motorways or road obstructions. Some cars will be assigned to a permanent duty for an entire shift and will be considered unavailable except in emergencies. Only Gardai on the regular shift will be sent to calls. Most checkpoints are done by traffic or members assigned to a specific operation (such as the new Operation Thor).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Was there a need to send a patrol car with two gardai to his house so he could report a crime that had already happened?
    No offence, but that's a lot of the problem, gardai getting held up doing non urgent things like this.
    Surely he could make his way to the station & just report it there?

No one is saying put the siren on and haul a$s to his house for a van being stolen. That said 72 hours to come out. Easily could have come out later that day or even the next day. Not talking about a kid stealing a candy bar but a vehicle being stolen.

But hey what do I know. Next time you need to call the guards and they take forever to come out.. Just keep telling yourself non-urgent issue.

If your home at some point is getting burglarized and Gardai don't show up then tell yourself that they have more urgent things to do and that it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

If your home at some point is getting burglarized and Gardai don't show up then tell yourself that they have more urgent things to do and that it's grand.

I'd imagine if your home was being burgaled with you in it at the time and you got a call out Gardai would respond .
    In your example a material item has been damaged hardly life threatening.Certainly aggravating but hardly end of the world stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Maybe someone's house was being burgled at the time your car was being vandalised, and they decided that was a higher priority call?