Pocaide wrote: » Have you are your neighbours considered making a complaint to GSOC
Johnboner wrote: » . Pretending Ireland is some huge metropolis with districts even dublin itself is tiny compared to small towns in the UK if you put dublin in the uk it would rank like 30 or around that.
bubblypop wrote: » Oh, & you are wrong on this also. Dublin would rank 2nd after London, maybe 3rd after Birmingham , but there are no other cities in England with population over a million. So, you don't know everything!
Johnboner wrote: » Because I was there and watched what they were doing.
Johnboner wrote: » Because that's how most systems in the world work, are you seriously telling me that after calling 911 and reporting a serious accident in the process of happening nobody would care and not let any of the units know? Give me a break your post have negative credibility
Johnboner wrote: » Never admited knowing everything, but you don't either as you are wrong.
B.A._Baracus wrote: » A couple of years ago my girlfriends uncle called the gardai after his van was stolen. They came out three days later! :pac:
ChikiChiki wrote: » Incompetence is embraced with the 'ah sure' attitude and not frowned upon as it should be in Ireland. We love our tribunals/inquiries where there's the opportunity to make a few bob out of it for many and often result in no implications or meaningful change as a result of the findings.
Goya wrote: » Tribunals from the perspective of the ordinary person are for seeing justice done - the "we" aren't going to make a few bob out of it.
Johnboner wrote: » Yes, not the first time either, their favorite spot seems to be beside pubs during the weekend and they stay there for hours.
Goya wrote: » He's wrong of course (and being ridiculous) to say it would rank at 30 and the size of a small town in the UK, but you're wrong too. London, Birmingham, Manchester are the three biggest. Then there is Liverpool, Leeds, and a bit smaller again: Newcastle, Sheffield, Nottingham - all with populations of over a million (when you take in the greater metropolitan area, as you would with Dublin). Dublin would be about the size of the last three. Equivalent to a small to mid sized English city.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » Most of the tribunals, particularly political, that have taken place in Ireland have seen the square root of **** all justice done.
Yamanoto wrote: » Decades of being left almost entirely to run their own show has clearly had a pernicious influence on Gardai culture, which is a scourge that's really difficult to shift. The few dealings I've had with them have always left me disappointed by just how obvious the indolence & inertia your met with is somehow regarded as acceptable to members of the force.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » You don't know why they were there though. It was probably a public order van. That's not how it works. It's like you took that straight from the show Cops. In Ireland, when you ring the emergency number they hold the call until there is a car in your district free then they pass it on. If it's urgent they will pass the call to the local station to see if they have anyone free to go. You say it was a crime in progress yet you also say it happened over two days so it's hard to give you a proper explanation but the reality is a crime that has happened comes secondary to crime that are happening or might be about to.
Get Real wrote: » Because pubs and areas such as that tend to bring crime and public order incidents. Prevention is better than cure. There might be only that resource for the whole area. Now say they weren't there, and two hours later there's several reports for public order, criminal damage or an assault. That would take up even more limited resources and detract further from the ability to investigate damage to a car in a neighbourhood. Say the guards were sitting in a car "doing nothing" right beside where the cars in the op were damaged-they wouldn't have been damaged, which is obviously the desired outcome. Meanwhile what's not seen down by the pubs is the effect on crime prevention and reduction and the subsequent positive impact.
bubblypop wrote: » Yea, the greater urban area Manchester would also be bigger. But Liverpool and Leeds smaller than Dublin. Anyway, apologies, well off topic!! Sorry
Charles Babbage wrote: » Incompetence is allowed continue because any rigorous attempt to eliminate it would require a thorough examination of how things are done and this would expose failings at the top, where procedures are established and resources allocated. As long as people keep voting for more or less useless politicians and refuse to hold them to account then nothing can change.
Johnboner wrote: » I am done, I just cannot stand people making absolutely ridiculous assumptions. Next would be ''But they could have been responding to a mass shooting!'' and to answer your question, no it was not a public order van, it was a small county town not Dublin.
Discodog wrote: » Out of interest what constitutes a free car ? Does the message go out & cars decide if they are free ? If, for example, a car was running a checkpoint would they drop everything to attend ? Do the traffic corps act as ordinary gardai in these situations ? Surely, if you have a significant crime in progress, every available officer should go, including the superintendent.
bubblypop wrote: » Was there a need to send a patrol car with two gardai to his house so he could report a crime that had already happened? No offence, but that's a lot of the problem, gardai getting held up doing non urgent things like this. Surely he could make his way to the station & just report it there?
Johnboner wrote: » If your home at some point is getting burglarized and Gardai don't show up then tell yourself that they have more urgent things to do and that it's grand.