Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Garda incompetence is acceptable?

• 20-01-2017 1:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭

Seriously the people screaming ''Oh who will you call when there is trouble?'' I had around 5 serious incidents where they are required and were called and never even bothered showing up and that is somehow acceptable? One of the accidents was where 5 cars were smashed in our housing estate during the period of 2 days. Guess what they were called, around 11pm and showed up in the morning around 9. But you know what I see when I go out in town? They sit in their vans or cars sometimes 2 of them at the same place sitting in their cars waiting for ''trouble'' while there is trouble happening elsewhere and you get absolutely no help. I just cannot stand people that defend the Gardai. Another thing is we get checkpoints everywhere for tax and insurance but when you actually really need help then forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Sounds like you have a chip on your shoulder to be honest. Did you get a speeding ticket maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This runneth throughout the whole Irish public/civil service, the more you can get away with NOT doing the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sounds like you have a chip on your shoulder to be honest. Did you get a speeding ticket maybe?

I cannot stand this attitude. Someone complains about a service and automatically it must be because of a chip on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Probably for the same reason as poor grammar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭Johnboner

No, I was never treated badly by the Gardai or got any kind of fine. It's just their lack of help that makes me angry. Since the criminals were not caught, I was forced to pay for the damages for my vehicle out of my own pocket and I didn't bother insurance as the quote would rise to the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Post history confirms massive chip.
    Johnboner wrote: »
    They are exempt same as everything else such as mobile phone use due to their superior genes. Gardai in Ireland are known as Mr. Hitler would refer to as ''Master race" so don't you dare questions your masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I had around 5 serious incidents where they are required and were called and never even bothered showing up and that is somehow acceptable? One of the accidents was where 5 cars were smashed in our housing estate during the period of 2 days. .

Maybe you should drive less because the problem here seems to be you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Good detective work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Just read this thread created today. Absolute farce from the Gardai.

TLDR: Gardai arrest scumbags after assaulting father and two of his children and damaging their car, only to be released an hour later. No attempt to actually gain a conviction or protect society.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057695659
    Hi all,I have popped in here now and then to read a thread but never needed to post till now. I am hoping to get some general information on what will happen next in regard to an assault. Here is what happened.....

Saturday night, 14th jan, I heard a noise outside, looked up at my cctv and saw a guy leaving my front garden. Not being the hero type I waited till he was across the road and walking away before I took a look out. He had kicked the wing mirror off the car and just wandered off across the road. He seemed to be having an argument with another guy over some car that was damaged further down the street, the 1st guy seen me and came charging over.

I asked them what was going on and went down in a barrage of punches and kicks. I got to my feet and ran for the house but when I got in my wife told me that my son and daughter had gone out to help me. I ran back out and they were fighting the two guys, I heard one say to the other "stab him xxxxxx" but I did not see a knife. I grabbed him and out him down hard. Then held him there till the guards arrived.

we backed off and the guards put the both in the van, during this one of them punched a garda in the face.

my son and I spent the night in hospital, he was released the next day but I was kept in and had to have surgery for a "bad fracture" to my chin and a break in the jaw up near my ear.

The astounding thing is that in the A&E dept we met the same two guys, the guards appear to have just dropped them off at hospital an hour later.

A helpful EMT contacted the station and asked what was going on and the guard said they had no evidence to hold them. We then had to suffer the added distress of hours of threats from these guys about what they were going to do to us when we got out.

We just contacted the guard and arranged to make a statement, but what happens next? Do we need a solicitor? how likely is it they will get charged considering my cctv hard drive is broken so cannot record? Any advice of guidance would be most welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

Who says it's acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

You want to fix the corrupt system from the inside OP?

"Hi, Just Wondering Where Can I Find Gosafe Recruirtment Info? TrieD Google But could Not Find Anything Please Help. Same With Ncps I Never Seen Them Recruiting I Thought Motor forumss Is Appropriate Place To Ask, thanks."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

A bit OT, but if the courts started handing out real jail time as opposed to letting repeat offenders away with suspended sentences Gardaí might feel that arresting scumbags could actually make a difference.

If I was a Garda these days I'd feel like a spare prick thinking that the lad I was after arresting for battering someone will get away with a stern talking to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

No, I was never treated badly by the Gardai or got any kind of fine. It's just their lack of help that makes me angry. Since the criminals were not caught, I was forced to pay for the damages for my vehicle out of my own pocket and I didn't bother insurance as the quote would rise to the moon.
    We had a similar incident. Guards arrived about 7 minutes after they were called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Rushden

endacl wrote: »
    We had a similar incident. Guards arrived about 7 minutes after they were called.

It's all pot luck when you make the call, if there is a car available it'll be there quickly and if the car is tied up with something else you'll be waiting a while. The OP called at 11pm, if there was no car available until 1am or so they'd regularly hold it until the next morning rather than waking people up in the middle of the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭FionnK86

I can see where the Guards are coming from, do a massive pile of paperwork and then have attend court where criminal is let off easy because jails are full.

We need more jails, create jobs building and running them. And then there is a bigger risk to the criminal.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Not cool to do a rummage with the search function to make a point. Not cool.
    razorblunt wrote: »
    Probably for the same reason as poor grammar.

Not cool to be a Grammar Nazi. Not cool.

Can we please make this thread cool again. Thanks. Cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,490 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I didn't bother insurance as the quote would rise to the moon.

That would be astronomical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

What i can't stand is people who claim that all the Gardaí are useless based on their interactions with a miniscule percentage of them. Like, just because you've had bad dealing with a few Gardaí, is it fair to call all 10,500 of them useless? Part of the reason i left tbh...

More detail needed from OP with regards to these incidents. I find it hard to believe that there were 5 incidents and not a single Garda showed (until the following morning). And as for the ones sitting "waiting for trouble", maybe they're directed to be there? Can't move unless directed to again. And for the tax/insurance checkpoints? Guess what? They're directed too. And necessary, because there's a shed load of people driving without insurance (tax i'm not really bothered about), so it's necessary, and with the amount of drink/drug driving still going on, we could do with more checkpoints. And these are usually manned by Traffic Corps, whose job is (surprise surprise) traffic duties! Amazing that.

And the chip on the shoulder complaint is valid, because the high majority of the time it is people with a chip on their shoulder who give out. God i don't miss the job at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

In many cases, the guards' hands "are tied" by the system they have to work with.

Thread rated accordingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

I had around 5 serious incidents where they are required and were called and never even bothered showing up and that is somehow acceptable? One of the accidents was where 5 cars were smashed in our housing estate during the period of 2 days. Guess what they were called, around 11pm and showed up in the morning around 9.

So they did, in fact, show up?

In this specific incident they did showed up in the morning but not in the others. Even when they showed up they did nothing anyway.

Absolutely true. They are superior humans as they are allowed to use mobile phones while mere mortals are not.

What i can't stand is people who claim that all the Gardaí are useless based on their interactions with a miniscule percentage of them. Like, just because you've had bad dealing with a few Gardaí, is it fair to call all 10,500 of them useless? Part of the reason i left tbh...

More detail needed from OP with regards to these incidents. I find it hard to believe that there were 5 incidents and not a single Garda showed (until the following morning). And as for the ones sitting "waiting for trouble", maybe they're directed to be there? Can't move unless directed to again. And for the tax/insurance checkpoints? Guess what? They're directed too. And necessary, because there's a shed load of people driving without insurance (tax i'm not really bothered about), so it's necessary, and with the amount of drink/drug driving still going on, we could do with more checkpoints. And these are usually manned by Traffic Corps, whose job is (surprise surprise) traffic duties! Amazing that.

And the chip on the shoulder complaint is valid, because the high majority of the time it is people with a chip on their shoulder who give out. God i don't miss the job at all!

Yes it's fair to call them incompetent because the incidents happened in different places around the country, so it is not related to one specific area.

So all 10,500 Gardaí are incompetent because of the dealings with, say, 10 Gardaí? (5 incidents, 2 in a car).

Using statistical information from countless other posts outlining same problems, it is safe to say that the majority are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

The Gardai have become more and more useless and corrupt since the mid 1990s. Their culture is rotten.

Using statistical information from countless other posts outlining same problems, it is safe to say that the majority are.

Can i see those stats please?
    Boggy Turf wrote: »
    The Gardai have become more and more useless and corrupt since the mid 1990s. Their culture is rotten.

And you're proof is.......

I'm not defending all Gardaí, there are some useless ones, but from my 10 years of experience, the majority are hard working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭sharkfox

It's very easy to poke holes in other people's opinions. If you and a guard had an incident over anything and it was there fault and it went to court who do you think would win? They have a hard job dealing with idiots but most of them would lie in a heart beat in court to save themselves or a co-worker.

Average people used to respect the guards years ago. They don't bother with them now because they don't show up or if they do they do nothing. Courts don't help that but a lot don't even bother doing the work to get the criminal there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Never had a problem with them. In fact when a family member went missing for a while, the Guards stayed there the night and were in constant contact. Can't rate them highly enough.

Perhaps you have drawn their ire?

sharkfox wrote: »
    It's very easy to poke holes in other people's opinions. If you and a guard had an incident over anything and it was there fault and it went to court who do you think would win? They have a hard job dealing with idiots but most of them would lie in a heart beat in court to save themselves or a co-worker.

It would take a brave Garda to lie in court, imo. Not saying it doesn't happen, but all it would take is for that Garda to be caught out once, and the Judge will never believe them again. Yes, the courts are more likely to take the word of the Garda over the defendant, but it's the proof at the end of the day that counts. I never lied in court, too risky, and there should never be a need to lie, evidence should do the majority of the job.
    sharkfox wrote: »
    Average people used to respect the guards years ago. They don't bother with them now because they don't show up or if they do they do nothing. Courts don't help that but a lot don't even bother doing the work to get the criminal there.

Years ago the Guards bate the crap out of criminals, and i wonder was it respect or fear, or a combination of both, that they had? My father says respect, but respect stemming from fear of getting a slap. Nowadays, criminals are well aware that the law is on their side, and the Gardaí don't go around doling out beatings to criminals because they can't anymore. There is no respect anymore, imo. And dealing with people who genuinely hate you (for no other reason than being a Garda) is tiring. The "extra mile" is well gone at this stage. Work to rule is nearly the norm.

And what you see as not bothering could be many different reasons why it didn't get to court; lack of evidence, lack of witnesses, no witness co-operation... Just because it didn't get to court, doesn't mean the investigation wasn't done. Gardaí don't decide what gets to court, they just complete the investigation. Depending on the crime, either the local Super or the DPP decides what makes it to court.

It would take a brave Garda to lie in court, imo. Not saying it doesn't happen, but all it would take is for that Garda to be caught out once, and the Judge will never believe them again. Yes, the courts are more likely to take the word of the Garda over the defendant, but it's the proof at the end of the day that counts. I never lied in court, too risky, and there should never be a need to lie, evidence should do the majority of the job.

Years ago the Guards bate the crap out of criminals, and i wonder was it respect or fear, or a combination of both, that they had? My father says respect, but respect stemming from fear of getting a slap. Nowadays, criminals are well aware that the law is on their side, and the Gardaí don't go around doling out beatings to criminals because they can't anymore. There is no respect anymore, imo. And dealing with people who genuinely hate you (for no other reason than being a Garda) is tiring. The "extra mile" is well gone at this stage. Work to rule is nearly the norm.

And what you see as not bothering could be many different reasons why it didn't get to court; lack of evidence, lack of witnesses, no witness co-operation... Just because it didn't get to court, doesn't mean the investigation wasn't done. Gardaí don't decide what gets to court, they just complete the investigation. Depending on the crime, either the local Super or the DPP decides what makes it to court.

Talking to a biased person is like trying to tell ISIS soldier that Allah does not exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Talking to a biased person is like trying to tell ISIS soldier that Allah does not exist.

Bloody cheek to call another poster biased.

Have a good look in the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

[Rant]
    Thought you were making a statement there..

"Why Garda incompetence is acceptable?" but then you ended with a ? Question Mark.

So it really should be "Why IS Garda incompetence acceptable?"

So which is it? A question or a statement?

If it's a statement then you have to pay attention to the formation of the sentence.
    [/Rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

[/quote]

Talking to a biased person is like trying to tell ISIS soldier that Allah does not exist.[/quote]

I wonder how many times you've had any sort of interaction with Gardai , if you put your mind to it you could probably think of a few times when you noticed a Garda directing traffic at a crash or realised that they were first at a murder or fatal fire or went looking for missing persons.You might even have read about a Garda being spat at or bitten or maybe badly injured.

Maybe it's down to perception, without doubt your report of card being damaged is important to you but I suppose in the grand scheme of things it's not the end of the world.

Myself , I reported a missing person last month and Gardai turned up twice and followed up with calls.

I reckon through my own employment I deal with them about 50 times a year through face to face contact and then probably the same again by phone.

Almost without fail I've found them professional, emphatic and nine times out ten as prompt as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

When I was a kid, we had an attempted break in. My mother called the shickles and 15 mins later, there were 2 uniformed guards, 4 armed guards and a search dog arrived later.
    We are 10 mins hard driving from the nearest station.
    Different people have different experiences is, I suppose, what I'm getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Tldr

Rararara the guards who have done special driving courses are allowed drive while using their phones.

Rararara they showed up in the morning instead of at night to a case that wasnt urgent at all.

Ratarara they think theyre so great

Rara i hate the guards.

Tldr

Rararara the guards who have done special driving courses are allowed drive while using their phones.

Rararara they showed up in the morning instead of at night to a case that wasnt urgent at all.

Rara i hate the guards.

You are an if you think that a gang of individuals going around the estates smashing cars is not urgent.

• Site Banned Posts: 24 mcmananam1980

that ardai have more pressing things. they are under sourced and have many demands. i have found that ardai are okay when ther is trouble but not when there is little trouble. they can be very curteois and nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Tldr

Rara i hate the guards.

You are an if you think that a gang of individuals going around the estates smashing cars is not urgent.

I doubt anyone would say it's not urgent , it's more probable that calls are prioritised.

Depends on what else is happening. Yes, criminal damage is illegal and urgent, but not as urgent as a burglary in progress, a rape victim needed treatment/support, an assault in progress, dangerous driving in progress... What i'm getting at is; immediate threat to life>immediate threat to property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

OP I am 47 years old, I have lived in numerous locations in Dublin Sligo and Donegal and do you know how many times I've had to call the Gardai? None. You are probably considered a serial complainer and are ignored accordingly.

And for your info, Gardai you may see sitting in a car elsewhere may work in a different district and so have absolutely nothing to do with your area.

Do you bitch about other professions in the same way? Like if a plumber done a poor job for you and you were in town and seen a different plumbers van would you bitch about him because someone else did a poor job for you? If you answer yes then I was correct and you are a serial complainer. If you answer no then you are a prick who simply likes to tar everyone with the one brush regardless of ever having had dealings with that person or not.

I agree witn that last post. the garda have bigger fish to cook than to dela with minor issue such as the one mentioned. there is limited resources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

All I mostly hear in relation to the guards is whinging. The only time I hear good things is when someone has to deal with them and they do a very good job. Which does happen, despite those loath to admit it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Vamp369

One of the accidents was where 5 cars were smashed in our housing estate during the period of 2 days.

Couple of things on that:
    1: No danger to the public so not urgent.
    2: Why attend so late when they can go the next morning and see crime scene clearly?
    3: Rather that responding directly, maybe then patrolled the area looking out for suspicious persons or vehicles?

If someone was breaking in to your house I'd bet the guards would be on scene very quickly. But when something minor has already happened, something that will be very difficult to tie to anyone unless you have excellent CCTV footage, there's no point rushing to get on scene ASAP.

Absolutely pathetic reading comments trying to justify it. Oh yes rapes and murders happening every night in some village of a country Hahaha what a joke. Pretending Ireland is some huge metropolis with districts even dublin itself is tiny compared to small towns in the UK if you put dublin in the uk it would rank like 30 or around that. Everything else outside if dublin is village sized even Cork, yep the enormous amount of districts to cover meaning no resources but have resources to send 20 Gards to check for tax and insurance.

Vamp369 wrote: »
    Couple of things on that:
    1: No danger to the public so not urgent.
    2: Why attend so late when they can go the next morning and see crime scene clearly?
    3: Rather that responding directly, maybe then patrolled the area looking out for suspicious persons or vehicles?

If someone was breaking in to your house I'd bet the guards would be on scene very quickly. But when something minor has already happened, something that will be very difficult to tie to anyone unless you have excellent CCTV footage, there's no point rushing to get on scene ASAP.

How is it not danger if it's in the process? Do you think you that criminals on drugs or drink will not try to attack you if you approach them??? Yep have to deal with all them murders and rapes which are so many in Ireland that happens every minute.

Goya wrote: »
    All I ever hear in relation to the guards is whinging. The only time I hear good things is when someone has to deal with them and they do a very good job. Which does happen, despite those loath to admit it!

Whinging????? Have reasons for that ignorance is sign of the weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Of course guards at local level do what the hierarchy tell them. That's the way any we'll run organization works.

Are you advocating giving rank and file gardai carte blanche to do what they like?

And while you're there, you might elaborate on what you mean by "regular people".

it is not very nice to see such disrepect towards national police force
    such discussions are not good, and should be disallowed

it is not very nice to see such disrepect towards national police force
    such discussions are not good, and should be disallowed

I agree, mandatory death penalty for any offenders.