Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

molloyjh wrote: »
    I hear ya. We sold ours last month. Our estate agent was so bad I had to edit the photos, redo the floor plans from scratch and rewrite the brochure from start to finish. Delighted to be past that. Now just need to get into the new house. From estate agents to developers and sub-contractors. Ugh.....

Great times. When we sold our last house it was actually laughable as to how poor the estate agents were. We had to change estate agents because the first crowd were Doing No Good.
    It really seems to be such an outdated practice.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Get in there you little racist.

406948.png

:D:D:D

What were the other options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I keep remembering John Oliver's words that "20th January 2017 is the date that time travellers from the future will keep going back to, to try and change the future"

Said before the election with remarkable presience. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

I keep remembering John Oliver's words that "20th January 2017 is the date that time travellers from the future will keep going back to, to try and change the future"

Said before the election with remarkable presience. :)

Think he was onto a fairly safe assumption considering that both candidates are eminently assassinationable. ......Is that a word? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Think he was onto a fairly safe assumption considering that both candidates are eminently assassinationable. ......Is that a word? :D

I think you mean cu*ts! Eminent cu*ts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Donald Trump just signed a proclamation to create the National Day of Patriotism. Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

What were the other options

There was a bunch of them - MAGA,Jobs, Islamic Terrorism, Russia, China, Nuclear Weapons, Twitter, Crooked Hillary, Brexit, Fake News...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Donald Trump just signed a proclamation to create the National Day of Patriotism. Jaysus.
    Do they not have the 4th July for that? :confused:

There's an 'Animal Farm' feel to all this tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭OldRio

I get the uncanny feeling of 1930s Europe in what has been happening lately.

The rise of the right in Europe.
    National Socialism disguised as UKIP and Trump.
    The working classes and others looking for someone 'different to them' to blame.

Interesting times. Also a little scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I was unsure exactly what that meant tbh so I looked it up and declaring a "patriot's day" is something that presidents can do. Bush declared September 11th to be a patriot's day in 2002 and Obama did the same in 2013. It seems that it's a one-off holiday that the president can declare. So I guess Trump is trying to declare a national holiday celebrating his inauguration?

Bazzo wrote: »
    I was unsure exactly what that meant tbh so I looked it up and declaring a "patriot's day" is something that presidents can do. Bush declared September 11th to be a patriot's day in 2002 and Obama did the same in 2013. It seems that it's a one-off holiday that the president can declare. So I guess Trump is trying to declare a national holiday celebrating his inauguration?

The date and point of it is still unclear, but it's effectively a holiday that applies to federal staff in the US, not sure if its just in DC or across the nation. If he does end up officially making it in honour of his inauguration then it's pretty outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

So probably the greatest piece of television that will air this year has passed. For those of you wondering what I'm on about, I present to you: Rod Stewart doing the Scottish Cup draw after possibly having one or two earlier on:

https://twitter.com/LordAlHayes/status/823219820049076228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

NFL
    Green Bay defense playing like Zebre so far.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If yis dont mind two stupid questions about nfl.

One when they go past the try line do they not have to ground the ball?

Two is the weird huddle/ dance thing they use to restart like the bastard child of a combined scrum and lineout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Stheno wrote: »

Two is the weird huddle/ dance thing they use to restart like the bastard child of a combined scrum and lineout?
    You only have to ensure you have possession of ball and having either foot or another part of the body on the ground for it to be a score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yes, that's a fairly good analogy of the set piece, and incidentally it's called a scrimmage.

The defenders must not broach the line of scrimmage, sort of like the offside line in rugby.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm watching last chance U here and I can't get over how bad the defences are. They're just running through gaps Willy nilly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

.ak wrote: »
    Yes, that's a fairly good analogy of the set piece, and incidentally it's called a scrimmage.

The defenders must not broach the line of scrimmage, sort of like the offside line in rugby.

Thanks to you both, it's a credit to the forum imo that such a stupid question is not subject to ridicule :)

If I can as another, is the huddle/dance thing like a 9 in rugby grabbing the ball and then tossing it to a runner?

I'm asking these questions as my OH has recently developed an interest in NFL and asks me, as he thinks I'm some sort of sport oracle.

Edit I'm watching trainspotting, it doesn't hold the mystique it did twenty years ago :( Lost youth.

Thanks again guys, appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Thanks to you both, it's a credit to the forum imo that such a stupid question is not subject to ridicule :)

If I can as another, is the huddle/dance thing like a 9 in rugby grabbing the ball and then tossing it to a runner?

I'm asking these questions as my OH has recently developed an interest in NFL and asks me, as he thinks I'm some sort of sport oracle.

Edit I'm watching trainspotting, it doesn't hold the mystique it did twenty years ago :( Lost youth.

Thanks again guys, appreciate it.

AFAIK, the scrimmage is how the game is restarted. The ball is flicked back, usually to the quarterback (kinda like the 10 in rugby) and he either passes the ball by throwing it to a teammate, or hands it off to a runner who tries to make ground carrying the ball. The opposition are either trying to get to the quarterback (and being blocked by defenders) or marking runners looking for the pass from the quarterback.

Zzippy wrote: »
    AFAIK, the scrimmage is how the game is restarted. The ball is flicked back, usually to the quarterback (kinda like the 10 in rugby) and he either passes the ball by throwing it to a teammate, or hands it off to a runner who tries to make ground carrying the ball. The opposition are either trying to get to the quarterback (and being blocked by defenders) or marking runners looking for the pass from the quarterback.

I wasn't too far off in my explanations so !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Packers luck ran out in the end. Falcons offense was on fire.

Still can't see past the Patriots.

Poor playoffs this year. Hopefully the SB can make up for it.

Buer wrote: »
    Packers luck ran out in the end. Falcons offense was on fire.

Still can't see past the Patriots.

I'm intrigued to see how the Patriots attempt to cover Julio Jones. The man is a freak of nature. Green Bay did a good enough job making themselves look hopeless but Jones stood out.

Malcolm Butler. Pro Bowl cornerback.

Antonio Brown is the best WR in the NFL and was kept scoreless in two games against Butler this season.

Huh I thought Butler was small but Jones is only 0.1m taller than him.

Mike Evans

Mike Evans

What is a synonym for overrated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Huh I thought Butler was small but Jones is only 0.1m taller than him.

That's a fairly big difference. 4 inches in the old language.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    That's a fairly big difference. 4 inches in the old language.

Oops you're right.