If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Operation transformation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

The Raptor wrote: »
    Operation transformation

Is anyone watching this? What kind of tripe is this?

They set 4lbs as a goal weight to lose in the week. Thought the healthy amount to lose is about 2lbs a week. What kind of experts are on this, surely this isn't healthy and experts saying it's OK. I'm tracking everything I eat and it wasn't easy to lose 2lbs in the past week. What are these people doing. And what's with the shaming of weighing them half naked?

Usual RTE scutter.
    Remember, the original host of this show was an overweight man who died due to a heart attack brought on by his cocaine use.
    Operation transformation, me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Clarebelly wrote: »
    Usual RTE scutter.
    Remember, the original host of this show was an overweight man who died due to a heart attack brought on by his cocaine use.
    Operation transformation, me hole.

Katherine Thomas is dead? 2016 strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

murpho999 wrote: »
    This is total rubbish.

If you are 16st then losing 4lbs is nothing in the first week as it's mostly excess fluid that is lost. Fast weight loss in the beginning is completely normal and slows down as time goes by.

The premise of OT is good, get people to eat healthier and exercise more.

What is wrong with that?

I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.

I'm in grand shape thanks. No 4lbs is not healthy. 4lbs of fluid, what fluid? Water liss occurs through changes in salt intake but 4lbs isn't healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,138 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I like the meerkat ads:o

I remember them :) jaysus are they still going?

There's an interesting read in the guardian where they interview the former contestants of reality TV shows.
    https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2017/jan/12/behind-the-scenes-of-reality-tv-youre-a-little-bit-daft-to-apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Katherine Thomas is dead? 2016 strikes again.

Dead gorgeous.

Don't watch live TV usually, but was somewhere the other night this show was on
    Always thought it was horrendous weighing them in those tight black outfits, designed to make them look bad.
    But, the poor man with one leg was filmed in his red underpants!!!!!
    Never again.....

I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.

I was out for 2 months following an operation and I'm up to 10 stone 10 pounds. That's about 4 pounds over my best running weight. Trying to get it back down, back to 4 runs a week, thinking of a 70km ultra in mid February. But wouldn't say I'm that overweight.

When I asked about Karl Henry's record in triathlons, I did so because posts here suggested it was pretty dodgy with a lot of DNFs. Surely that's a legitimate query, to examine the fitness expert's own track record?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm in grand shape thanks. No 4lbs is not healthy. 4lbs of fluid, what fluid? Water liss occurs through changes in salt intake but 4lbs isn't healthy.

For a big person 4lbs is feck all. If you skipped lunch and had a sizeable bowel movement you'd be down 4 lbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I don't like the show.

OT promotes a kind of handholding that just doesn't exist in real life. The biggest loser is an even more extreme example of this and it's no surprise that seemingly most of the contestants on such shows fail to maintain the lifestyle after the show.

"Fat shows" seem to be particularly fond of pushing the mantra of overweight people being mentally unstable. I remember one particular season of OT where at the start, they showed footage of their "trials" to see who would make it through to the main show. One woman absolutely broke down, talking about how she was depressed and how no-one knew in her job how bad she was.....and they didn't even pick her for the show. They just made a show of her for entertainment instead.

I do like the whole encouraging villages and workplaces to participate idea, too bad that element is often the sideshow while the leaders are the main voyeuristic attraction.

All that being said, at the end of the day no-one forces these people to go on the show. I just find it extremely sad that they feel that's their only option in order to lose weight. A lot of the people who have been on the show always gave me the impression that they were lacking emotional support above all else, in that they end up breaking down in front of the nation before they'd ever break down in front of someone at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I was out for 2 months following an operation and I'm up to 10 stone 10 pounds. That's about 4 pounds over my best running weight. Trying to get it back down, back to 4 runs a week, thinking of a 70km ultra in mid February. But wouldn't say I'm that overweight.

When I asked about Karl Henry's record in triathlons, I did so because posts here suggested it was pretty dodgy with a lot of DNFs. Surely that's a legitimate query, to examine the fitness expert's own track record?

I don't see your point as I never quoted you or directed my post at you at all.

Either way, I don't see how his triathlon performances reflect on his ability as a personal trainer. Maybe it's a new discipline for him or he could be poor at swimming or cycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

This programme is horrible - they exploit people who are desperate to lose weight.

The methods/food/exercise shown on the programme is not sustainable at all and only setting people up for a fall once the show ends. Also making people be on tv in ugly lycra is nothing but sensational and tacky.

I switch this off the minute it comes on. It offers nothing helpful to people who need help/advice - its a shaming/punishment method of "helping" people.

Weight loss and changing your lifestyle happens through small gradual change not massive shifts in diet/exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

pconn062 wrote: »
    A guy from my local village was on this show a year or two ago. Lost a tonne of weight but since the end of the show has piled it all back on and more. The same as with all crash diet/exercise regimes, it is bound for failure.

Plus all the people involved in the show are primarily concerned with one thing, making an entertaining show with maximum potential for advertisement profit. They don't give two craps about people losing weight.

Its the same as most of those shows, they don't address the reason they got fat, they just address the fat itself.

Then the person leaves the nice house with the cooked meals and personal trainers, goes back to the same patterns of behaviour. Eating the same old foods, doing no exercise, no knowledge of what they are eating or doing.

Its why diets don't work. If your fat, then temporarily doing something to reduce weight and its just a temporary weight reduction.

Some of the American or British programs try to address the lifestyle instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

A big pile of bollocks.

The how to lose weight advice is both wrong and wrongly applied, unless the government are willing to pay out for personal trainers and a year's supply of kale for everyone in the country.

It won't make an iota of difference to people's weight. It's feel good, saccharine shìt; watch as we hear yet another fùcking U2 or some other crap Irish band track playing in the background while Bobby age 24 talks about how he couldn't stop eating cake cause he was laughed at in school.

Actually, one of the lads I know went for an interview for it. RTE kept trying to get him to talk about how difficult his life was because of being obese. He was having none of it. Tell us about the pain when you were growing up. Would you ever feck off. Victim crap.

RTE are using it for the emotional porn. The government are using it to look like they are fùcking doing someone. Some lads make a tidy sum off of it. Some people use it for psychological relief/ego justification.

And yet those wheels keep on spinning.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The supermarkets are making a tidy profit off it. They are all selling products under the Operation Transformation logo. Stuff you can get for cheaper elsewhere when it is not one of the known brands.

The idea is pretty good, but the exploitation factor leaves a sour taste (no pun intended) because it is dressed up as "helping" them. Shows like OT are about making money first, exploiting peoples insecurities second and a distant third is helping people loose weight.

They should just concentrate on the losing weight part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

OT was a good (I use that term loosely) concept 10 years ago.

But now with personal trainers and online coaching becoming the norm, I think people are a lot more educated about nutrition/diet/exercise.

Almost every online coaching/personal trainer I've had experience with will tell you the same thing - throw the scales away. Getting fit is about a lifestyle change.

And what is still the main premise of OT? Publicly weighing people in weekly, and 'fat-shaming' if they don't reach a target.

As others have said, one of the good aspects to result from the show is that communities are getting together to form groups to get fit, that is definitely something positive and worthwhile.

kerryked wrote: »

Almost every online coaching/personal trainer I've had experience with will tell you the same thing - throw the scales away. Getting fit is about a lifestyle change.

OT is a short term ratings whore of a programme. As you say, changing is long term. Walk a bit today, a bit more tomorrow. A smaller portion or leave the crisps when you go into pay for petrol. Small, conscious changes over time.

These programmes take people who are very overweight and very unfit and make them go from doing nothing to look after themselves to exercising themselves to exhaustion, living off the smell of boiled cabbage and all the while shaming them into more weight loss. It might work for the 8 weeks or however long the programme lasts while the cameras are rolling but what happens after that? That's not a lifestyle change. It's a tv programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

gramar wrote: »
    OT is a short term ratings whore of a programme. As you say, changing is long term. Walk a bit today, a bit more tomorrow. A smaller portion or leave the crisps when you go into pay for petrol. Small, conscious changes over time.

These programmes take people who are very overweight and very unfit and make them go from doing nothing to look after themselves to exercising themselves to exhaustion, living off the smell of boiled cabbage and all the while shaming them into more weight loss. It might work for the 8 weeks or however long the programme lasts while the cameras are rolling but what happens after that? That's not a lifestyle change. It's a tv programme.

My point exactly.

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    I don't like the show.

OT promotes a kind of handholding that just doesn't exist in real life. The biggest loser is an even more extreme example of this and it's no surprise that seemingly most of the contestants on such shows fail to maintain the lifestyle after the show.

"Fat shows" seem to be particularly fond of pushing the mantra of overweight people being mentally unstable. I remember one particular season of OT where at the start, they showed footage of their "trials" to see who would make it through to the main show. One woman absolutely broke down, talking about how she was depressed and how no-one knew in her job how bad she was.....and they didn't even pick her for the show. They just made a show of her for entertainment instead.

I do like the whole encouraging villages and workplaces to participate idea, too bad that element is often the sideshow while the leaders are the main voyeuristic attraction.

All that being said, at the end of the day no-one forces these people to go on the show. I just find it extremely sad that they feel that's their only option in order to lose weight. A lot of the people who have been on the show always gave me the impression that they were lacking emotional support above all else, in that they end up breaking down in front of the nation before they'd ever break down in front of someone at home.

The premise of the show is good. That is that we should eat healthier, cut portion size and exercise more.

I do not see how the show can be criticised for that ideal.

They have also lobbied for changes in the food industry regarding labelling and restaurant menus to carry more information about the food they serve. They also lobby for more sports in schools.

Look at people in Ireland nowadays and you will see that the majority are actually overweight.

It’s now the case that having a beer belly or being a bit heavy is seen as normal and a healthy weight. People who are actually at their ideal weight for their height are often deemed to be skinny or unhealthy.
    An awful lot of people do now know how to eat healthy and think to do so is difficult, more work and more costly and I think the show is actually trying to change that.

Where I would tend to agree with you is the leaders they pick. They often go for mentally weak ones who struggle with an often not-demanding program and you just know they will go back to old habits once the show finishes. They should only have one or two of that type and also have a more representative overweight person who needs to lose a few kilos and just be educated a bit.

Parchment wrote: »
    This programme is horrible - they exploit people who are desperate to lose weight.

The methods/food/exercise shown on the programme is not sustainable at all and only setting people up for a fall once the show ends. Also making people be on tv in ugly lycra is nothing but sensational and tacky.

I switch this off the minute it comes on. It offers nothing helpful to people who need help/advice - its a shaming/punishment method of "helping" people.

Weight loss and changing your lifestyle happens through small gradual change not massive shifts in diet/exercise.

Go look at the website and the food plans they offer and reccomend along with the training programmes. They are not that demanding at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Actually, one of the lads I know went for an interview for it. RTE kept trying to get him to talk about how difficult his life was because of being obese. He was having none of it. Tell us about the pain when you were growing up. Would you ever feck off. Victim crap.

This is what put me off it in later series. It started out ok, back in the Gerry Ryan days. But it has become obsessed with the closeups of quivering lipped cry babies who are on the verge of a breakdown every time someone tells them to eat one less doughnut or do one extra pushup. It's all about dem feels now.
    And it's social media'ed out it's arse too, seems to be a half hour advertisement for fun runs

#OT #2017woohoo #nomorechipsforme

The Raptor wrote: »
    There's one lady who lost 3 lbs in the past week and they're saying it's a failure and she's in tears.

That is what I would not like about shows like that - were I watching them. A show focused on helping people lose weight or get healthy is probably a useful thing - especially one that sets targets and plans the viewer can work along with.

But viewers love tears. So the producers and presenters are going to be as cruel as it takes to be to up their ratings. And if that involves making a vulnerable woman cry - despite having progressed towards their goals - they are not likely to hold back. Nah - make her blubber - the proles love that ****.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Since when is a big shteak and a pile of mash a low fat meal?

And he washed it down with a big bottle of ribena.

Isn't that full of sugar??

xzanti wrote: »
    Since when is a big shteak and a pile of mash a low fat meal?

And he washed it down with a big bottle of ribena.

Isn't that full of sugar??

Same amount of sugar as a fecking coke.

http://www.tesco.com/groceries/product/details/?id=255658833

Still, suppose it would go well with your fish and chips meal.

https://ot.rte.ie/recipes/fish-and-chips/

Seriously, where would you be going with this? :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭RayCon

The true measure of how successful this show is (and it's methods) is to revisit all the previous contestants ...

.... I'd wager a high % piled back on weight once the cameras were switched off and attention went away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

https://ot.rte.ie/recipes/fish-and-chips/

Seriously, where would you be going with this? :confused::confused::confused:

Savage recipe they have for a turkey club sandwich though
    Place bread on a plate and spread with salad cream

Wash and dry tomato and mixed leaves

Cut tomato into slices and place on bread followed by the turkey and mixed leaves

Top with second slice of bread, cut in two

https://ot.rte.ie/recipes/turkey-club-sandwich/

Bit complicated though.

I clicked on the link to see if it was true. It is:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Bit complicated though.

Does a club sandwich not require 3 slices of bread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

Does a club sandwich not require 3 slices of bread?

Ah, the link says "club" but the recipe itself declares it to be a "turkey salad sandwich". Well spotted. Good luck with trying it out at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Ah, the link says "club" but the recipe itself declares it to be a "turkey salad sandwich". Well spotted. Good luck with trying it out at home.

Just leave one slice of bread out of every sandwich & the weight will fly off!