Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation transformation

• 11-01-2017 8:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Is anyone watching this? What kind of tripe is this?

They set 4lbs as a goal weight to lose in the week. Thought the healthy amount to lose is about 2lbs a week. What kind of experts are on this, surely this isn't healthy and experts saying it's OK. I'm tracking everything I eat and it wasn't easy to lose 2lbs in the past week. What are these people doing. And what's with the shaming of weighing them half naked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

There's one lady who lost 3 lbs in the past week and they're saying it's a failure and she's in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That program is a failure and it is why it is on every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

The Raptor wrote: »
    There's one lady who lost 3 lbs in the past week and they're saying it's a failure and she's in tears.

If we don't have the failure and shaming now we can't have tears of joy, the crying family and the life-affirming music when she inevitably hits her target!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If your 16st + then 4lbs isn't a whole lot to lose.

I think the program is a loada shíte but there's something about Katherine Thomas I like and so I watch it purely for that reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Kids will laugh at us in the future when we tell them we used to have to watch whatever was on TV at the exact time that it was broadcast.

Darts, snooker at the Countryfile one man and his dog is all I watch on regular telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭outsourced_ire

While I agree that it isn't great television, you have to admit that it does help encourage people to get more active. Numbers increase at the local park runs and more people are out walking, which can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Can't get my head around people that go on TV shows like that. Presumably there's some self loathing thing there and they secretly crave being humiliated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't like the shaming bit where they have to wear them black gear and get weighed.

Anyway I only watched one program a few years ago. Never again.

Success and failure every time. Terrible stuff. I hate that kind of thing.

But each to their own.

While I agree that it isn't great television, you have to admit that it does help encourage people to get more active. Numbers increase at the local park runs and more people are out walking, which can only be a good thing.

For two weeks max.

I'm sure you will come back and dispute that, which is your right. January too. Huh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Red Eyes

You would have to question why anyone would even want to be on a show like that? If you want to get fit, fair play to ya but why do it on tv for the whole country to see.

They should have a presenter who has to lose weight and does the jobbie with them so to speak. That would be great gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Kids will laugh at us in the future when we tell them we used to have to watch whatever was on TV at the exact time that it was broadcast.

Darts, snooker at the Countryfile one man and his dog is all I watch on regular telly

I don't anymore. I haven't watched TV in years. I download and stream shows I want to watch. I haven't seen an advert in years. And I never watch any crappy reality TV shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The programme is repugnant and should also have a balanced view of it as opposed to bunch of self appointed experts telling them everything they do is bad.

If you're gonna have a crank with "Instructor" on the back of his t-shirt, there should also be the balance of somebody saying "if binge eating and boozing makes you happy, you go girl".

Health Fascism has gotten way out of control in this country. The process that this programme goes through is that some people volunteer but they also phone people out of the blue (after being nominated by somebody they know) and ask them to compete on the programme. The vast majority say no.

If I went on the show, Id go on and see how fat I could get.

Grayson wrote: »
    I don't anymore. I haven't watched TV in years. I download and stream shows I want to watch. I haven't seen an advert in years. And I never watch any crappy reality TV shows.

Are you me? That is kind of weird.

I have a TV but never watch it live.

I record everything I think I might like for future sofa sitting when I have a cold etc.

I love Michael Portillo's Great Train Journeys. That's a night sorted, and no ads either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Dont watch it, but,

If someone is making a genuine effort to get fit and healthy and looses 4lbs. Couldnt give two f*cks if it was from 16st. They should be encouraged and supported to continue.

I think it's Schadenfreude or some such thing. You know, you look at them and think, God Almighty I hope I never get to that stage. But you already are. LOL

You are a couch potato sitting in front of the TV every night with nachos and coke and can pass comment on these people.

It is awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Three of the mentors were absolutely horrible to her. She lost 3lbs. 3 outta 4 ain't bad. I say well done to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Grayson wrote: »
    I like the meerkat ads:o

Well for me humiliation and shaming are off my radar.

Anyone can go for a walk and cut the carbs. Some people have deep seated issues/bereavements/tough lives. Cut a bit of slack. No one is perfect, least of all myself.

The public humiliation should not EVER be any part of this.

A bit of positivity is good. But that wouldn't make for good TV, for those masochists who choose to watch a person being put through the wringer. Awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Just like the biggest loser but without the €250,000 prize fund

Right all you masochists, watch away.

How could anyone enjoy watching someone being humiliated. I just don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

I don't think the weighing them in lycra is purely for humiliation purpose to be honest.....I think it has more to do with seeing their body shape change over the course of the series.

Then again ask me to stand in front of the nation in lycra and I will sew my lips shut and run like Usain Bolt for the week......kinda guaranteed results :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Right all you masochists, watch away.

How could anyone enjoy watching someone being humiliated. I just don't get it.

I only tuned in to RTE+1 after seeing the thread. It was Vile how they treated that girl. A bunch of smug, self serving nannies having a go at her for no reason.

I have no idea why people would do this programme without a financial incentive. The "judges" are profiting off making somebody miserable. Even if they make their targets, they are still miserable because they cannot enjoy the finer things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

A guy from my local village was on this show a year or two ago. Lost a tonne of weight but since the end of the show has piled it all back on and more. The same as with all crash diet/exercise regimes, it is bound for failure.

Plus all the people involved in the show are primarily concerned with one thing, making an entertaining show with maximum potential for advertisement profit. They don't give two craps about people losing weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

I guiltily enjoy OT. I once joined the local OT group just so I could have walking partners at night, was fun.

What's Karl Henry's own record in triathlons?

Saw a few posts around Boards in the past that were a bit sceptical...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//showthread.php?t=2057366894

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I think the program is a loada shíte but there's something about Katherine Thomas I like and so I watch it purely for that reason.

It's not the amount you lose, it's the speed you lose. If you cut calories too fast then you break down muscle tissue. This results in a slower metabolism and higher propensity for weight gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

steddyeddy wrote: »
    It's not the amount you lose, it's the speed you lose. If you cut calories too fast then you break down muscle tissue. This results in a slower metabolism and higher propensity for weight gain.

This is total rubbish.

If you are 16st then losing 4lbs is nothing in the first week as it's mostly excess fluid that is lost. Fast weight loss in the beginning is completely normal and slows down as time goes by.

The premise of OT is good, get people to eat healthier and exercise more.

What is wrong with that?

I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

If I went on the show, Id go on and see how fat I could get.

Ha ha... that would be so funny... go on each week, get weighed, eat lettuce when the cameras are around and then when they are not....
    GORGE yourself on anything you can get your hands on... think of when Homer went to Dr Nick for advice on how to gain weight!

Then each week as they weigh you, just look confused and chew on some lettuce after the weigh in...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

Operation transformation

Is anyone watching this? What kind of tripe is this?

They set 4lbs as a goal weight to lose in the week. Thought the healthy amount to lose is about 2lbs a week. What kind of experts are on this, surely this isn't healthy and experts saying it's OK. I'm tracking everything I eat and it wasn't easy to lose 2lbs in the past week. What are these people doing. And what's with the shaming of weighing them half naked?

Usual RTE scutter.
    Remember, the original host of this show was an overweight man who died due to a heart attack brought on by his cocaine use.
    Operation transformation, me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Clarebelly wrote: »
    Usual RTE scutter.
    Remember, the original host of this show was an overweight man who died due to a heart attack brought on by his cocaine use.
    Operation transformation, me hole.

Katherine Thomas is dead? 2016 strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

murpho999 wrote: »
    This is total rubbish.

If you are 16st then losing 4lbs is nothing in the first week as it's mostly excess fluid that is lost. Fast weight loss in the beginning is completely normal and slows down as time goes by.

The premise of OT is good, get people to eat healthier and exercise more.

What is wrong with that?

I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.

I'm in grand shape thanks. No 4lbs is not healthy. 4lbs of fluid, what fluid? Water liss occurs through changes in salt intake but 4lbs isn't healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I like the meerkat ads:o

I remember them :) jaysus are they still going?

There's an interesting read in the guardian where they interview the former contestants of reality TV shows.
    https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2017/jan/12/behind-the-scenes-of-reality-tv-youre-a-little-bit-daft-to-apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Katherine Thomas is dead? 2016 strikes again.

Dead gorgeous.

Don't watch live TV usually, but was somewhere the other night this show was on
    Always thought it was horrendous weighing them in those tight black outfits, designed to make them look bad.
    But, the poor man with one leg was filmed in his red underpants!!!!!
    Never again.....

I was out for 2 months following an operation and I'm up to 10 stone 10 pounds. That's about 4 pounds over my best running weight. Trying to get it back down, back to 4 runs a week, thinking of a 70km ultra in mid February. But wouldn't say I'm that overweight.

When I asked about Karl Henry's record in triathlons, I did so because posts here suggested it was pretty dodgy with a lot of DNFs. Surely that's a legitimate query, to examine the fitness expert's own track record?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm in grand shape thanks. No 4lbs is not healthy. 4lbs of fluid, what fluid? Water liss occurs through changes in salt intake but 4lbs isn't healthy.

For a big person 4lbs is feck all. If you skipped lunch and had a sizeable bowel movement you'd be down 4 lbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I don't like the show.

OT promotes a kind of handholding that just doesn't exist in real life. The biggest loser is an even more extreme example of this and it's no surprise that seemingly most of the contestants on such shows fail to maintain the lifestyle after the show.

"Fat shows" seem to be particularly fond of pushing the mantra of overweight people being mentally unstable. I remember one particular season of OT where at the start, they showed footage of their "trials" to see who would make it through to the main show. One woman absolutely broke down, talking about how she was depressed and how no-one knew in her job how bad she was.....and they didn't even pick her for the show. They just made a show of her for entertainment instead.

I do like the whole encouraging villages and workplaces to participate idea, too bad that element is often the sideshow while the leaders are the main voyeuristic attraction.

All that being said, at the end of the day no-one forces these people to go on the show. I just find it extremely sad that they feel that's their only option in order to lose weight. A lot of the people who have been on the show always gave me the impression that they were lacking emotional support above all else, in that they end up breaking down in front of the nation before they'd ever break down in front of someone at home.

I was out for 2 months following an operation and I'm up to 10 stone 10 pounds. That's about 4 pounds over my best running weight. Trying to get it back down, back to 4 runs a week, thinking of a 70km ultra in mid February. But wouldn't say I'm that overweight.

When I asked about Karl Henry's record in triathlons, I did so because posts here suggested it was pretty dodgy with a lot of DNFs. Surely that's a legitimate query, to examine the fitness expert's own track record?

I don't see your point as I never quoted you or directed my post at you at all.

Either way, I don't see how his triathlon performances reflect on his ability as a personal trainer. Maybe it's a new discipline for him or he could be poor at swimming or cycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

This programme is horrible - they exploit people who are desperate to lose weight.

The methods/food/exercise shown on the programme is not sustainable at all and only setting people up for a fall once the show ends. Also making people be on tv in ugly lycra is nothing but sensational and tacky.

I switch this off the minute it comes on. It offers nothing helpful to people who need help/advice - its a shaming/punishment method of "helping" people.

Weight loss and changing your lifestyle happens through small gradual change not massive shifts in diet/exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

pconn062 wrote: »
    A guy from my local village was on this show a year or two ago. Lost a tonne of weight but since the end of the show has piled it all back on and more. The same as with all crash diet/exercise regimes, it is bound for failure.

Plus all the people involved in the show are primarily concerned with one thing, making an entertaining show with maximum potential for advertisement profit. They don't give two craps about people losing weight.

Its the same as most of those shows, they don't address the reason they got fat, they just address the fat itself.

Then the person leaves the nice house with the cooked meals and personal trainers, goes back to the same patterns of behaviour. Eating the same old foods, doing no exercise, no knowledge of what they are eating or doing.

Its why diets don't work. If your fat, then temporarily doing something to reduce weight and its just a temporary weight reduction.

Some of the American or British programs try to address the lifestyle instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

A big pile of bollocks.

The how to lose weight advice is both wrong and wrongly applied, unless the government are willing to pay out for personal trainers and a year's supply of kale for everyone in the country.

It won't make an iota of difference to people's weight. It's feel good, saccharine shìt; watch as we hear yet another fùcking U2 or some other crap Irish band track playing in the background while Bobby age 24 talks about how he couldn't stop eating cake cause he was laughed at in school.

Actually, one of the lads I know went for an interview for it. RTE kept trying to get him to talk about how difficult his life was because of being obese. He was having none of it. Tell us about the pain when you were growing up. Would you ever feck off. Victim crap.

RTE are using it for the emotional porn. The government are using it to look like they are fùcking doing someone. Some lads make a tidy sum off of it. Some people use it for psychological relief/ego justification.

And yet those wheels keep on spinning.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The supermarkets are making a tidy profit off it. They are all selling products under the Operation Transformation logo. Stuff you can get for cheaper elsewhere when it is not one of the known brands.

The idea is pretty good, but the exploitation factor leaves a sour taste (no pun intended) because it is dressed up as "helping" them. Shows like OT are about making money first, exploiting peoples insecurities second and a distant third is helping people loose weight.

They should just concentrate on the losing weight part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

OT was a good (I use that term loosely) concept 10 years ago.

But now with personal trainers and online coaching becoming the norm, I think people are a lot more educated about nutrition/diet/exercise.

Almost every online coaching/personal trainer I've had experience with will tell you the same thing - throw the scales away. Getting fit is about a lifestyle change.

And what is still the main premise of OT? Publicly weighing people in weekly, and 'fat-shaming' if they don't reach a target.

As others have said, one of the good aspects to result from the show is that communities are getting together to form groups to get fit, that is definitely something positive and worthwhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

kerryked wrote: »

Almost every online coaching/personal trainer I've had experience with will tell you the same thing - throw the scales away. Getting fit is about a lifestyle change.

OT is a short term ratings whore of a programme. As you say, changing is long term. Walk a bit today, a bit more tomorrow. A smaller portion or leave the crisps when you go into pay for petrol. Small, conscious changes over time.

These programmes take people who are very overweight and very unfit and make them go from doing nothing to look after themselves to exercising themselves to exhaustion, living off the smell of boiled cabbage and all the while shaming them into more weight loss. It might work for the 8 weeks or however long the programme lasts while the cameras are rolling but what happens after that? That's not a lifestyle change. It's a tv programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

gramar wrote: »
    OT is a short term ratings whore of a programme. As you say, changing is long term. Walk a bit today, a bit more tomorrow. A smaller portion or leave the crisps when you go into pay for petrol. Small, conscious changes over time.

These programmes take people who are very overweight and very unfit and make them go from doing nothing to look after themselves to exercising themselves to exhaustion, living off the smell of boiled cabbage and all the while shaming them into more weight loss. It might work for the 8 weeks or however long the programme lasts while the cameras are rolling but what happens after that? That's not a lifestyle change. It's a tv programme.

My point exactly.

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    I don't like the show.

OT promotes a kind of handholding that just doesn't exist in real life. The biggest loser is an even more extreme example of this and it's no surprise that seemingly most of the contestants on such shows fail to maintain the lifestyle after the show.

"Fat shows" seem to be particularly fond of pushing the mantra of overweight people being mentally unstable. I remember one particular season of OT where at the start, they showed footage of their "trials" to see who would make it through to the main show. One woman absolutely broke down, talking about how she was depressed and how no-one knew in her job how bad she was.....and they didn't even pick her for the show. They just made a show of her for entertainment instead.

I do like the whole encouraging villages and workplaces to participate idea, too bad that element is often the sideshow while the leaders are the main voyeuristic attraction.

All that being said, at the end of the day no-one forces these people to go on the show. I just find it extremely sad that they feel that's their only option in order to lose weight. A lot of the people who have been on the show always gave me the impression that they were lacking emotional support above all else, in that they end up breaking down in front of the nation before they'd ever break down in front of someone at home.

The premise of the show is good. That is that we should eat healthier, cut portion size and exercise more.

I do not see how the show can be criticised for that ideal.

They have also lobbied for changes in the food industry regarding labelling and restaurant menus to carry more information about the food they serve. They also lobby for more sports in schools.

Look at people in Ireland nowadays and you will see that the majority are actually overweight.

It’s now the case that having a beer belly or being a bit heavy is seen as normal and a healthy weight. People who are actually at their ideal weight for their height are often deemed to be skinny or unhealthy.
    An awful lot of people do now know how to eat healthy and think to do so is difficult, more work and more costly and I think the show is actually trying to change that.

Where I would tend to agree with you is the leaders they pick. They often go for mentally weak ones who struggle with an often not-demanding program and you just know they will go back to old habits once the show finishes. They should only have one or two of that type and also have a more representative overweight person who needs to lose a few kilos and just be educated a bit.

Parchment wrote: »
    This programme is horrible - they exploit people who are desperate to lose weight.

The methods/food/exercise shown on the programme is not sustainable at all and only setting people up for a fall once the show ends. Also making people be on tv in ugly lycra is nothing but sensational and tacky.

I switch this off the minute it comes on. It offers nothing helpful to people who need help/advice - its a shaming/punishment method of "helping" people.

Weight loss and changing your lifestyle happens through small gradual change not massive shifts in diet/exercise.

Go look at the website and the food plans they offer and reccomend along with the training programmes. They are not that demanding at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Actually, one of the lads I know went for an interview for it. RTE kept trying to get him to talk about how difficult his life was because of being obese. He was having none of it. Tell us about the pain when you were growing up. Would you ever feck off. Victim crap.

This is what put me off it in later series. It started out ok, back in the Gerry Ryan days. But it has become obsessed with the closeups of quivering lipped cry babies who are on the verge of a breakdown every time someone tells them to eat one less doughnut or do one extra pushup. It's all about dem feels now.
    And it's social media'ed out it's arse too, seems to be a half hour advertisement for fun runs

#OT #2017woohoo #nomorechipsforme