Galway_Old_Man wrote: » Savage recipe they have for a turkey club sandwich thoughhttps://ot.rte.ie/recipes/turkey-club-sandwich/ Bit complicated though.
pumpkin4life wrote: » https://ot.rte.ie/recipes/fish-and-chips/ Seriously, where would you be going with this?
Place bread on a plate and spread with salad cream Wash and dry tomato and mixed leaves Cut tomato into slices and place on bread followed by the turkey and mixed leaves Top with second slice of bread, cut in two
xzanti wrote: » Since when is a big shteak and a pile of mash a low fat meal?And he washed it down with a big bottle of ribena. Isn't that full of sugar??
The Raptor wrote: » There's one lady who lost 3 lbs in the past week and they're saying it's a failure and she's in tears.
pumpkin4life wrote: » Actually, one of the lads I know went for an interview for it. RTE kept trying to get him to talk about how difficult his life was because of being obese. He was having none of it. Tell us about the pain when you were growing up. Would you ever feck off. Victim crap.
Parchment wrote: » This programme is horrible - they exploit people who are desperate to lose weight. The methods/food/exercise shown on the programme is not sustainable at all and only setting people up for a fall once the show ends. Also making people be on tv in ugly lycra is nothing but sensational and tacky. I switch this off the minute it comes on. It offers nothing helpful to people who need help/advice - its a shaming/punishment method of "helping" people. Weight loss and changing your lifestyle happens through small gradual change not massive shifts in diet/exercise.
Ben Gadot wrote: » I don't like the show. OT promotes a kind of handholding that just doesn't exist in real life. The biggest loser is an even more extreme example of this and it's no surprise that seemingly most of the contestants on such shows fail to maintain the lifestyle after the show. "Fat shows" seem to be particularly fond of pushing the mantra of overweight people being mentally unstable. I remember one particular season of OT where at the start, they showed footage of their "trials" to see who would make it through to the main show. One woman absolutely broke down, talking about how she was depressed and how no-one knew in her job how bad she was.....and they didn't even pick her for the show. They just made a show of her for entertainment instead. I do like the whole encouraging villages and workplaces to participate idea, too bad that element is often the sideshow while the leaders are the main voyeuristic attraction. All that being said, at the end of the day no-one forces these people to go on the show. I just find it extremely sad that they feel that's their only option in order to lose weight. A lot of the people who have been on the show always gave me the impression that they were lacking emotional support above all else, in that they end up breaking down in front of the nation before they'd ever break down in front of someone at home.
gramar wrote: » OT is a short term ratings whore of a programme. As you say, changing is long term. Walk a bit today, a bit more tomorrow. A smaller portion or leave the crisps when you go into pay for petrol. Small, conscious changes over time. These programmes take people who are very overweight and very unfit and make them go from doing nothing to look after themselves to exercising themselves to exhaustion, living off the smell of boiled cabbage and all the while shaming them into more weight loss. It might work for the 8 weeks or however long the programme lasts while the cameras are rolling but what happens after that? That's not a lifestyle change. It's a tv programme.
kerryked wrote: » Almost every online coaching/personal trainer I've had experience with will tell you the same thing - throw the scales away. Getting fit is about a lifestyle change.
pconn062 wrote: » A guy from my local village was on this show a year or two ago. Lost a tonne of weight but since the end of the show has piled it all back on and more. The same as with all crash diet/exercise regimes, it is bound for failure. Plus all the people involved in the show are primarily concerned with one thing, making an entertaining show with maximum potential for advertisement profit. They don't give two craps about people losing weight.
Deleted User wrote: » I was out for 2 months following an operation and I'm up to 10 stone 10 pounds. That's about 4 pounds over my best running weight. Trying to get it back down, back to 4 runs a week, thinking of a 70km ultra in mid February. But wouldn't say I'm that overweight. When I asked about Karl Henry's record in triathlons, I did so because posts here suggested it was pretty dodgy with a lot of DNFs. Surely that's a legitimate query, to examine the fitness expert's own track record?
murpho999 wrote: » I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.
steddyeddy wrote: » I'm in grand shape thanks. No 4lbs is not healthy. 4lbs of fluid, what fluid? Water liss occurs through changes in salt intake but 4lbs isn't healthy.
jimmy blevins wrote: » Katherine Thomas is dead? 2016 strikes again.
The Backwards Man wrote: » I like the meerkat ads:o
murpho999 wrote: » This is total rubbish. If you are 16st then losing 4lbs is nothing in the first week as it's mostly excess fluid that is lost. Fast weight loss in the beginning is completely normal and slows down as time goes by. The premise of OT is good, get people to eat healthier and exercise more. What is wrong with that? I actually wonder if the people who complain about it and rubbish it are just overweight themselves and don't want to change.
Clarebelly wrote: » Usual RTE scutter. Remember, the original host of this show was an overweight man who died due to a heart attack brought on by his cocaine use. Operation transformation, me hole.
The Raptor wrote: » Operation transformation Is anyone watching this? What kind of tripe is this? They set 4lbs as a goal weight to lose in the week. Thought the healthy amount to lose is about 2lbs a week. What kind of experts are on this, surely this isn't healthy and experts saying it's OK. I'm tracking everything I eat and it wasn't easy to lose 2lbs in the past week. What are these people doing. And what's with the shaming of weighing them half naked?
Richard Hillman wrote: » If I went on the show, Id go on and see how fat I could get.
steddyeddy wrote: » It's not the amount you lose, it's the speed you lose. If you cut calories too fast then you break down muscle tissue. This results in a slower metabolism and higher propensity for weight gain.