irish sailor switches to Team GB for Tokyo olympics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Exactly, who care what those posh rugby lads get up to? It's the working class spectacle of sailing that really gets people's hearts racing. Just ask anyone down at the Royal Dun Laoghaire Yacht Club or the Royal St George Yacht Club!

I remember as a young lad, sailing my curragh out to aran mór with the turf to sell by the bag, thinking to myself that those rugby lads don't know their born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Leaving the outrage aside it seems slightly against the spirit of the event.

The idea presumably being to find the best 2 person team in each country and the winners are the champion. If only one person is up to the standard in a country then to an extent its tough luck, don't see why they should be able to merge with an equivalent person in another country.
    Its a bit like George Best being able to play for France because no-one else in Northern Ireland is good enough to be on his team, doesn't seem right.

But ultimately good luck to her if a loophole in the rules allow it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

osarusan wrote: »
    She switched because her partner retired. Her partner was a UK sailor who switched to Ireland in 2013.

I will never forget the outrage that switch of allegiance caused on AH.

Clearly, all this is the partner's fault for retiring.......b@st@rd unreliable Brits :D

I wonder if the partner sung Amhran na Amhrán na bhFiann ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

The idea presumably being to find the best 2 person team in each country and the winners are the champion. If only one person is up to the standard in a country then to an extent its tough luck, don't see why they should be able to merge with an equivalent person in another country.
    Its a bit like George Best being able to play for France because no-one else in Northern Ireland is good enough to be on his team, doesn't seem right.

I agree, it's stupid but issue was the same when her partner was British and sailing for Ireland.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

TBF, I don't think George Best would make the NI team given his poor recent form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

judeboy101 wrote: »
    http://www.the42.ie/saskia-tidey-tokyo-2020-3172883-Jan2017/

I can understand her logic for switching but how can she claim to still be proud to be Irish I she goes on to win a gold and sing god save the queen/king

Have the Saxe-Coburgs gone gender-neutral?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TommyRiordan

Yaaaaaarrr! Altogether now, "Come out ye Black and Tans, come out and fight me like a man!!!!"

Yaaaaaarrr! Altogether now, mock how long Ireland has been oppressed as if it actually hasn't been. Laughing stock paddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

you don't support Celtic?

I couldn't give a toss about Celtic or Rangers :)

The way I see it, this sailor can't get a berth on the ROI Olympic Team and she can get one on Team GB. Fair play to her as far as I'm concerned. To read some of the nationalistic tripe on this thread, you'd think she should sit at home and knit or something! Why should she?

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'm not sure people have cared about that for many years, if ever. There is a researcher called Bob Goldman who has asked generations of professional/olympic athletes if they would take a drug that would get them a gold medal, even if it would later kill them, and, consistently over the years, about 50% have said yes.

Tdey either is or qualifies as a UK citizen through her father, just like any athlete that switches allegiance, they still have to be entitled to represent the new association (which doesn't always require citizenship).

I can appreciate the Irish Sailing Association and the ISC being frustrated at her departure, but that's an issue with nobody being around to partner her.

Ireland had a diver at the last olympics who had previously represented GB internationally. Our football and rugby teams have benefitted from switches of allegiance on plenty of occasions, as have lots of other sports too.

As somebody said, it really does look like a few rabid posters who wouldn't be bothered if it was anybody other than the Auld Enemy. Some really f**king sad stuff on this thread from people who probably see Union Jack patterns in their cornflakes.

I didn't know we had such a massive sailing fanbase here in Ireland. Mad how they all come out of the woodwork at this announcement.

Also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,111 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

As we're in full outrage mode I'd just like to point out that CJ Stander is South African and Jamie Heaslip was born in Israel.

You are clearly in full ignorant of topic mode.

Many rugby folk have never agreed with the residency rule that allows Stander-like situations. In fact there is a significant push-back against it now in countries like France, also World Rugby plan to increase the rule to 5 years to remove its practicality. Jamie Heaslip, btw, was born in an Israeli hospital to his Kildare resident parents as his father was an Irish Army officer on UNIFIL duty at the time, he has no connection whatsoever to Israel.

On the Saskia Tidey issue, its just here we go again, and no different to all the Africans running for Turkey (having never set foot in Turkey) and hoovering up the european medals. Its abhorrent.

World sport should come together and deal with this. International representation must NOT be treated in the same way as representing at club level, no matter how popular or niche the sport.

It should be the case that you either are born, have parentage, marry into or acquire citizenship of a nation through residency or asylum. And once you represent a nation at senior international level, in any sport, that you are bound to that country forever. Im sorry for Saskia Tidey that she has lost her opportunity in her particular class in Irish Sailing, but thats just tough, she should re-skill in another class, like Lasers, or retire. If I were British sailor with potential 49er success that Tidey might displace, id be strongly objecting to the governing body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yaaaaaarrr! Altogether now, mock how long Ireland has been oppressed as if it actually hasn't been. Laughing stock paddies.

Nah I think you've got it wrong there. After the first line it's something about showing your wife your medals. Catchy tune though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Can't blame her at all. With her partner gone, her choice is either switch to Great Britain or give up on having a chance at competing at the Olympics.

I doubt we'd be seeing so much talk about this if she was switching to Canada or Australia.

Canada, Australia and the UK all have the same same head of state.

As we're in full outrage mode I'd just like to point out that CJ Stander is South African and Jamie Heaslip was born in Israel.

That's ok because....

emmmmm...

sh*t...

*hides in Arsenal/Liverpool/Chelsea/Man U top*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Larbre34 wrote: »

Many rugby folk have never agreed with the residency rule that allows Stander-like situations. In fact there is a significant push-back against it now in countries like France, also World Rugby plan to increase the rule to 5 years to remove its practicality. Jamie Heaslip, btw, was born in an Israeli hospital to his Kildare resident parents as his father was an Irish Army officer on UNIFIL duty at the time, he has no connection whatsoever to Israel.

On the Saskia Tidey issue, its just here we go again, and no different to all the Africans running for Turkey (having never set foot in Turkey) and hoovering up the european medals. Its abhorrent.

World sport should come together and deal with this. International representation must NOT be treated in the same way as representing at club level, no matter how popular or niche the sport.

It should be the case that you either are born, have parentage, marry into or acquire citizenship of a nation through residency or asylum. And once you represent a nation at senior international level, in any sport, that you are bound to that country forever. Im sorry for Saskia Tidey that she has lost her opportunity in her particular class in Irish Sailing, but thats just tough, she should re-skill in another class, like Lasers, or retire. If I were British sailor with potential 49er success that Tidey might displace, id be strongly objecting to the governing body.

......unlike O'Gara whose parents were domiciled in San Diego when he was born ;)

Anyway, this is like the "Anti-Grealish" thread!! He got stick for not switching!! How dare he refuse to play for us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Maybe Saskia could teach Rory McIlroy to sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Don't care.
    Only interested and support those those whom want to represent Ireland.
    Best of luck to this young lady as long as it's not at the expense of an Irish duo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It's one of the reasons why I don't believe team or relay events have any place in the Olympics. All it does is allow the bigger nations (with population and resources) inflate their medal tally.

Ultimately elite level sport is a lonely individual pursuit. Forget the chest-thumping, patriotic outbursts and "thanking the fans" guff - athletes put themselves first and make massive sacrifices and compromises to get there. Sometimes that's the years of training, PEDs, or switching allegiances for better prospects and funding.

UK Sport are happy to throw money at niche events (the ones most of the world haven't heard of or can't afford) to buy win medals at the Olympics. It's a no-brainer for someone in her position. Pragmatism trumps patriotism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,710 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

This is the sport with state sanctioned doping and a steady stream of individuals caught taking performance enhancing drugs, yeah?

Worrying about what country the athletes are declaring for seems rather pointless compared to the drug taking and corruption, but I guess thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

I tend to agree, if you're representing 'your' country, the very least you should be is a citizen of that country.
    If it's just about following the money then piss off and go professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No I'm in full "couldn't give a bollix mode ". I enjoy AH for what it is , nothing than a bit of fun.

By the way I think your monocle is stuck up your arse , hopefully it might magnify your sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Hammar wrote: »
    Don't care.
    Only interested and support those those whom want to represent Ireland.
    Best of luck to this young lady as long as it's not at the expense of an Irish duo.

Again another person posting ignorant of the specifics of the situation, she is unable to represent Ireland as she sails a 2 handed boat and her partner retired, there is currently no other sailor at her level in the country that is female that she can partner with.

People acting as if this is the grealish or mcilroy situation all over again need to pull their heads out of their asses, they each had a choice to play for ireland or england in their sport. Saskia has a choice to either sail for team GB or quit her hopes of sailing in the olympics ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

We don't have a king our queen as our head of state. God save the queen is sung (if you read the words) as a song of allegiance to a saxe-coburg gotha monarch. I'm sure those two lads from cork could find another two equally brilliant British rowers to make a super gold winning fours.

National anthems are played when people win a medal, I don't think many athletes belt it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

http://www.the42.ie/saskia-tidey-tokyo-2020-3172883-Jan2017/

I can understand her logic for switching but how can she claim to still be proud to be Irish I she goes on to win a gold and sing god save the queen/king

Ha top comment 'That's one way to get your family tickets'. Very good.

I'm fairness we can't compete with Team GB in terms of facilities etc. Theres a few years in the build up where team GB will look after athletes very well. Good luck to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Reminds me of when Ed Joyce and Eoin Morgan switched over to the English cricket team. Ireland are not a test nation and test cricket is the elite of the sport. Both were good enough to play at this level but could not fulfill their potential playing for Ireland.

This woman can't fulfill her potential unless she moves to GB. In her case it's even more extreme, she either moves over or retires from elite sailing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

well considering all the football & rugby players we've poached over the years

..we're in no position to complain i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Bandage

So take it down from the mast, Irish traitors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Reminds me of when Ed Joyce and Eoin Morgan switched over to the English cricket team. Ireland are not a test nation and test cricket is the elite of the sport. Both were good enough to play at this level but could not fulfill their potential playing for Ireland.

This woman can't fulfill her potential unless she moves to GB. In her case it's even more extreme, she either moves over or retires from elite sailing altogether.

Well a key problem with this analogy is that as you say Ireland don't have a cricket test team. So sports people were generally accepting of EJ&EM going to play for England. If they'd left because the existing Ireland test team was a bit crap then there would have been a huge fuss.

Whereas Ireland can compete in this sailing event, its just that as a team the top two (Saskia and ANOther) aren't good enough to win. She could continue to compete if she wanted to, and finish down the field, struggle to qualify for championships, perhaps heroically qualify someday etc.

Which is not to have a pop at her, more to show that the two examples don't really compare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

How does it feel ha. She wants to win a medal and become a British legend. Good luck to her.
    How does what feel? :confused:

Her circumstances have changed, she has roots in both countries - all the best to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    UK Sport are happy to throw money at niche events (the ones most of the world haven't heard of or can't afford) to buy win medals at the Olympics. It's a no-brainer for someone in her position. Pragmatism trumps patriotism.

like cycling and athletics?