Have you any sayings from your area?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I've to head out to grab new spark plugs,we'll head off for a spin afterwards-Im buying some narcotics,and i intend to visit and share them with you.
    Spark plugs - Drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭schizo1014

"He's a bit of a bollocks but he's sound"

I dunno if I heard this anywhere other than in Donegal

Another one I hear is "He would drink p!ss from a tramps sock"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

He'd drink porter out of a sweaty wellington.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

'My throat is as dry as a nun's knickers' meaning I'm mad for a few pints.
    Might of saw it here a while back.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Yorkshire born 'n Yorkshire bred
    Strong in't arm 'n thick in't head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    "Little kickers wear big knickers."

Don't know what it means.

You sure it's not "fridge pickers wear big knickers" ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Esel wrote: »
    Cant/Shelta, Polish or just typo(s)?

Steesh = crikey/blimey

Narty = nutty/mad

Sham = bloke/man

Suspect it is very local to the town I grew up in as I've never heard it outside of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Haven't seen it mentioned but 'looks like a cat dragged through a whin bush backwards' is a favourite of mine.

Also, 'up the high hole of the elephant's arse' is a response I would get from my father when I would ask where something is that he would never know the answer to. Generally it would begin with ' as your great aunt Rose used to say.....'

Great aunt Rose used to say an awful lot of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭my3cents

Like a cow handling a musket.

Clumsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I used to work with a smart-arse. Whenever anyone would ask him where something was, he'd answer - "Hangin' out o' me lip. Look. " and point at his bottom lip.

One evening as I was going home, he called me back in and asked me "How far would you be gone if I didn't call you back?" I threw my eyes to heaven and said "Farther away from a fool than I am now."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Had a Galway guy referring to me as scan earlier on.

Any Galwegians on here know what that means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭exaisle

We had a horse that ran in a race...ridden by the late Anthony Powell. The horse ran badly (turned out it had a lung infection) and Anthony explained to us that it had been a fast-run race by saying "Jaysus lads...they went like sh1t off a shovel....." Anybody who's mucked out a stable will understand exactly what he meant....

My mother had "back and forth like a sh1te on a swing swong"....and "if you saw cowsh1te, you'd long for a pancake...."

Finally, another one from the racetrack...my friend and I went to Downpatrick races many years ago and the first person we encountered was a "lady" of at least 60 years wearing a white top, white leather(ette) miniskirt and thigh-high boots (FMB's). We looked at each other in amazement and my friend muttered "...the things ye'd see when you wouldn't have yer gun...."

When translated, "Young pilot, old airplane." is for when the man is younger than the woman.
    A "young buffalo" is what we'd call like a boy-racer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

He'd/She'd steal it out of your eye.
    To describe someone who's light-fingered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Light-fingered = Steal your eyeball and come back for the lashes.
    Sponger = Live in one of your ears and set the other one out in flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

'If there was work in the bed, he'd sleep on the floor' A lazy person

'When the small head gets hard, the big head gets soft' To describe a lad who was infatuated with his new girlfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

"Any news?" "Divil the bit" - not really

I'm gapsing with the droot - thirsty

If there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor - lazy bastard

They've the humour of a bag of cats - generally bad humoured

They've a face like a slapped arse - they look angry or unamused

You wouldn't get up on them to climb a wall - not attractive

They'd take the sight out of your eyes - I don't know if it's exclusive to someone who's a thief but I'd use it to describe a sponger personally

They wouldn't give you the steam off their piss - extremely cheap person

They're awful mayne - as above

They'd step over you on the street - if you needed help they'd never offer any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

He's like a donkeys tool - a big fella when he's out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They call travellers Boolas where I'm from. For eg 'My house was burgled by a fcking Boola.'

I'm not sure if I'm spelling it correctly. If anybody recs it please correct me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

He has a mouth like a torn welton (Wellington).

Meaning he may pass on everything you told him.

He'd peel an orange in his pocket with boxing gloves!

Meaning. He's not one for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭PopTarts

Had a Galway guy referring to me as scan earlier on.

Any Galwegians on here know what that means?

It's just "mate" really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

'He wouldn't lie straight in his bed' (Untrustworthy)

As full as an egg. (Drunk)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭my3cents

'He wouldn't lie straight in his bed' (Untrustworthy)

Reminds me of an old saying of Confucius, "Man who shags on side of hill is not on level".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Thoie wrote: »
    I'm not as green as I'm cabbage looking. (Do you expect me to believe that)
    She'd mind mice at the crossroads. (Cute hoor)
    That fella says more than his prayers. (Don't believe that guy)
    Time to go ha-boo. (Bed time)

theyre really cute sayings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I remember boss, cat and quare being words that people at college struggled with.

Knacker always meant Traveller to me but it seems to become what I'd call scumbag as you move from Wicklow into South Dublin and pikey is used for Travellers.