Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you any sayings from your area?

• 15-12-2016 4:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭

And what do they actually mean?

For instance; He's for the birds - means he's a spacer, but what does 'for the birds' actually mean?

He's stone mad. (nuts)
    He's living in cloud cuckoo land.. (spacer)

What's yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I've always been fond of this one...

"I'd eat a mile of shíte just to kiss the exhaust pipe of the van that brings her dirty knickers to the launderette."

meaning the lady in question is quite attractive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 Free Falling

Can't think of anything but it's funny how slang goes in and out of fashion. When I started school all the older lads used to call each other 'mush'.

A few years ago everyone was calling each other 'mate'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

PANDDDKP wrote: »

For instance; He's for the birds - means he's a spacer, but what does 'for the birds' actually mean?

He's stone mad. (nuts)

What's yours?

Your area must be the whole country and much of the UK, as those are fairly universal.

Around here we have

"They're runners with nobody in Castletown" - blow ins

He's like Cushla McCroi's old dog - will support or follow anybody

Mad as a sack of frogs

An arse like a sack of hatchets

Our - My brother

You'll have me in Ardee - you're driving me mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Any benzos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

Your only a bollix...means your only a bollix....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Here's a few old ones
    She has got a face on her that would turn milk sour.
    An ugly cross looking bitch of a woman.

She's got an arse like the back of a bus.
    She's got a fat arse.

He wouldn't work his way out of a wet paper bag.
    He's useless at work.

If there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor.
    He'd do anything to avoid work.

Scartaglen Scartaglen where the women ride the men

Not sure of the origin, but hardly popular outside Kerry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I'm not as green as I'm cabbage looking. (Do you expect me to believe that)
    She'd mind mice at the crossroads. (Cute hoor)
    That fella says more than his prayers. (Don't believe that guy)
    Time to go ha-boo. (Bed time)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

When making a plan - "That sounds good and protestant to me".

I think it means that its a good plan, but I dont "get" the reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Laeot

Scuttery cow ... scuttery calf

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Can't think of anything but it's funny how slang goes in and out of fashion. When I started school all the older lads used to call each other 'mush'.

A few years ago everyone was calling each other 'mate'.

I once got some Trevor Francis tracksuits from a mush

Near where I lived you'd hear quare a lot, 'Wexford are gone quare bad at the hurling'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

gifted wrote: »
    Your only a bollix...means your only a bollix....

Your only a bollocks what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I wouldn't believe the news on his radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

PANDDDKP wrote: »

He's stone mad. (nuts)

What's yours?

About 2,500 in Greece, Aristophanes wrote The Birds, where birds decided to set up Their Own City, WhicH Translated From Ancient Greek to Cloud Cuckoo Land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Koolhanger

A friend told me she heard this one in work (we live in Carlow). It's not a hugely common saying but I think it's a good one anyway. I'll spell some of it phonetically just so you get the gist of how it sounds - cos that's where the fun is I think :)

"If I'm tellin' a lie I was towel-d (told) a lie"

Basically, means they are absolving themselves of all blame if the story they have just told is factually inaccurate, as they are just relaying the information they were told (or "towel-d") :)

I think it's beautiful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭hannible the cannible

I heard that 1 years ago , but it was "scartaglen scartaglen , where the women ride the men ,and the men like fools pull out their tools and ride them back again "
    Thoie wrote: »
    I'm not as green as I'm cabbage looking. (Do you expect me to believe that)
    She'd mind mice at the crossroads. (Cute hoor)
    That fella says more than his prayers. (Don't believe that guy)
    Time to go ha-boo. (Bed time)

Are you from clare ,I hear them sayings and lot but only around my locality

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

"The **** you looking at?"

Translation: The **** you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭julyjane

He wouldn't work to warm himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

..flip them over then ride them again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

..'their house is so dirty even the rats wear overalls'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

you couldn't set a mousetrap with that fella . . . . . . describes somebody extremely thin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

He wouldn't even give the door a bang
    Meaning: he's very mean

She wouldn't run too well on soft ground
    Meaning: she's very fat.

He'd peel an orange in his pocket

He wouldn't give you the steam off his piss

Lot of mean people where I'm from:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

She would be fit to eat an apple through a letterbox - the lady has protruding teeth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

He wouldn't even give the door a bang

She wouldn't run too well on soft ground
    Meaning: she's very fat.

He'd peel an orange in his pocket

He wouldn't give you the steam off his piss

Lot of mean people where I'm from:)

Cavan by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Laeot wrote: »
    Scuttery cow ... scuttery calf

Kicky horse, kicky foal.

he could play hurling under a table wearing a top hat

somebody very small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

I'd rather get up on a Monday morning - unattractive person.

I wouldn't get up on her to get over a wall - Same again lol

or to describe the opposite . . he'd do a cat going through a sky light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

the word 'tight' has several meanings up here..

1. mean with money

2. drunk ... 'yer man is half tight'

3. strong.. 'he is one tight fcuker'

4. tough situation.. 'that funeral was a tight handling' (handling = situation)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Donal55 wrote: »
    Cavan by any chance?

I see where your coming from but no I'm not from Cavan:) I'm from Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you want the winter to pass quick, buy dear ceant land

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭HenryHill

Any yokes bud ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭b0gg3r

My grandmother says "divil a better since leather arse died". It's praise when we do something well.

No feckin' clue what it means though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I see where your coming from but no I'm not from Cavan:) I'm from Limerick.

I never met a mean Cavanman in my life. Salt of the earth they are.
    I'm from Louth by the way.

Here's my quote -

"From Carrickmacross to Crossmaglen there are more rogues than honest men".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

grandmother used to say ''there's a want in her''

I understand it to mean '' she's lacking something in her life'' like a criticism. Someone who seeks attention to fill a void.

''listeners never hear good of themselves''

''face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

me_irl wrote: »
    Your only a bollocks what?

A Bollix.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

She's like a brillo pad, she'd shift anything.

I'm as busy as a Bosnian brick layer.

I'm as sick as a giraffe with a stiff neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

If i had a garden full of mickeys, I wouldn't let her look over the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 JMF240

He's as tight as a chicken's arse. 
    (money-wise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Steesh, narty sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

petrolcan wrote: »
    Steesh, narty sham.

Cant/Shelta, Polish or just typo(s)?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If the need arises to 'let one rip' whilst in company, one is required to excuse oneself with the words "That's the cabbage".*

*Rural Mayo area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Joe Hill

Wheres me bugs bunny?

Coolock slang for where's me money.

Also

Bangers and beans .... jeans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

I've always been fond of this one...

"I'd eat a mile of shíte just to kiss the exhaust pipe of the van that brings her dirty knickers to the launderette."

meaning the lady in question is quite attractive.

I find these sayings, and the myriad variations, very tired and unfunny at this stage. And they're not specific to an area anyway they got popular on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Clampdown wrote: »
    I find these sayings, and the myriad variations, very tired and unfunny at this stage. And they're not specific to an area anyway they got popular on the internet.

Totally agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Clampdown wrote: »

Sorry for bursting your ten thousand bubbles. Take a bath.

OT: How come my dog don't bark when you come around?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Traffic is cat! (Traffic's bad)
    She's pure cat (Terrible)
    You're looking horrid well
    I've a head like a melted welly (hungover)
    Now you're suckin' diesel (doing well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

My mother would say after a row with your significant other "Is it all love in a bucket again?"

No idea what it means! She is from Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Greet people with "Hummel, Hummel"
    and they reply "Mors, Mors"

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

"Little kickers wear big knickers."

Don't know what it means.