Have you any sayings from your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you want the winter to pass quick, buy dear ceant land

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭HenryHill

Any yokes bud ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭b0gg3r

My grandmother says "divil a better since leather arse died". It's praise when we do something well.

No feckin' clue what it means though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I see where your coming from but no I'm not from Cavan:) I'm from Limerick.

I never met a mean Cavanman in my life. Salt of the earth they are.
    I'm from Louth by the way.

Here's my quote -

"From Carrickmacross to Crossmaglen there are more rogues than honest men".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

grandmother used to say ''there's a want in her''

I understand it to mean '' she's lacking something in her life'' like a criticism. Someone who seeks attention to fill a void.

''listeners never hear good of themselves''

''face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭gifted

me_irl wrote: »
    Your only a bollocks what?

A Bollix.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

She's like a brillo pad, she'd shift anything.

I'm as busy as a Bosnian brick layer.

I'm as sick as a giraffe with a stiff neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

If i had a garden full of mickeys, I wouldn't let her look over the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 JMF240

He's as tight as a chicken's arse. 
    (money-wise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Steesh, narty sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

petrolcan wrote: »
    Steesh, narty sham.

Cant/Shelta, Polish or just typo(s)?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If the need arises to 'let one rip' whilst in company, one is required to excuse oneself with the words "That's the cabbage".*

*Rural Mayo area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Joe Hill

Wheres me bugs bunny?

Coolock slang for where's me money.

Also

Bangers and beans .... jeans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

I've always been fond of this one...

"I'd eat a mile of shíte just to kiss the exhaust pipe of the van that brings her dirty knickers to the launderette."

meaning the lady in question is quite attractive.

I find these sayings, and the myriad variations, very tired and unfunny at this stage. And they're not specific to an area anyway they got popular on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Clampdown wrote: »
    I find these sayings, and the myriad variations, very tired and unfunny at this stage. And they're not specific to an area anyway they got popular on the internet.

Totally agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Clampdown wrote: »

Sorry for bursting your ten thousand bubbles. Take a bath.

OT: How come my dog don't bark when you come around?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Traffic is cat! (Traffic's bad)
    She's pure cat (Terrible)
    You're looking horrid well
    I've a head like a melted welly (hungover)
    Now you're suckin' diesel (doing well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭LCD

My mother would say after a row with your significant other "Is it all love in a bucket again?"

No idea what it means! She is from Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Greet people with "Hummel, Hummel"
    and they reply "Mors, Mors"

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

"Little kickers wear big knickers."

Don't know what it means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

"There's no nature in that fella" ... meaning he's a bollix. (East Clare)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Let's go, let's go to the Glenabbey show!

Meaning something like let's get going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Allinall

scopper wrote: »
    Let's go, let's go to the Glenabbey show!

Meaning something like let's get going.

It's

"Lets go with the Glenabbey Show".

Phrase from the time RTE did sponsored radio programs during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

In my town everybody greets each other by saying "The song of the lark is a sweet today, but she must be wary of the long winter ahead". To which you must reply "The lark is wise, but the sparrow is foolish". Then you shake hands and be on your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

I rem when i was school the term to use for anyone you didnt like was: gowl!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Back in the 90s in school you'd call someone a 'rehab', another word for spa.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Describing extreme meaness:

"He's so mean he only cries out of the one eye."

"He's so mean he counts his money in front of the mirror." (In case he cheats himself :P)

General laziness:

"He's as useless as tits on a fish."

"When everyone is doing nothing he's doing less."

"He's a useless as a one legged man in an arse-kicking contest."

"He'd sicken the pigs" - general disgusting fecker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

I'am not really lucky. If I fell into a bucket of tits I'd come out sucking me thumb. (Cork)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

Allinall wrote: »
    It's

"Lets go with the Glenabbey Show".

Phrase from the time RTE did sponsored radio programs during the day.
    I remember that. We're showing our age :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

She wouldn't run too well on soft ground
    Meaning: she's very fat.

Nice!