Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

Who are the player fathers Davy is blaming? Guess one or two are from Cratloe? I think he is disrespecting Wexford by still bringing up this stuff about Clare.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/if-i-wanted-to-stay-i-could-have-davy-fitz-reveals-why-he-left-clare-and-how-he-ended-up-in-wexford-35267757.html

half true , in fairness he had a couple of bad injuries plus he is still only 30 which is fair young for a guy with 12 years inter county behind him i reckon if injuries had not taken such a hold on his career he would have crossed the 50 mark in championship games , but yeah there were times i really felt sorry for the likes of himself and one or two others back in the division 4 days loseing all the time in the qualifiers and that

it is a warning for the hurlers though if a guy like enda is retiring at 30 , we have lots of guys falling into the same bracket with the hurlers at the moment that started out as young at inter county level , how many will still be standing in 7/8 years time

I see Coughlan is taking over Clare u17 football team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Gael85 wrote: »
    Who are the player fathers Davy is blaming? Guess one or two are from Cratloe? I think he is disrespecting Wexford by still bringing up this stuff about Clare.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/if-i-wanted-to-stay-i-could-have-davy-fitz-reveals-why-he-left-clare-and-how-he-ended-up-in-wexford-35267757.html

I try very hard to like Davy because there is no doubting his passion and of course he was a great player but jaysus the chip on the shoulder and the me against the world crap is getting a bit old at this stage.

The amount of times also that he directly contradicts himself is cringe worthy and it's very easy to see why 5 years was far too long to be listening to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Ye are so lucky to be rid of that headcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I see daddy has come to davy's defense. He should be keeping his mouth shut. Accusing players of poor performances and not being committed enough.

These sort of comments are a disgrace by the county secretary. Bang out of order.

http://www.the42.ie/davy-fitzgerald-clare-hurling-pat-fitzgerald-3128607-Dec2016/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I see daddy has come to davy's defense. He should be keeping his mouth shut. Accusing players of poor performances and not being committed enough.

These sort of comments are a disgrace by the county secretary. Bang out of order.

http://www.the42.ie/davy-fitzgerald-clare-hurling-pat-fitzgerald-3128607-Dec2016/

As the saying goes; Davy didn't lick it off a stone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Yep playing Conor McGrath midfield, Tony Kelly in the half back line, David Firzgearld in the forwards, playing an outdated seeeper system, etc. Thats really going to get the best out of our group.

Blaming the online group is ridiclous, there has been a big decrease in attendance of Clare supporters at matches because of Davys ridiculous tactics and management.

This is nepotistic views on a person that was not getting the best out of a group of players, plain and simple. And this is the vast majority of opinions both inside and outside the county. You had Davy talking to his friend Vincent Hogan during the week there saying leaving Clare was an easy decision in the end. How about saying the last 3 years were a complete failure in terms of progress and development. That would probably harm your over inflated ego though, couldn't be saying that..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

A friend of mine is looking for a signed jersey from the 2013 team, don't suppose anyone has 1 lying around that they wouldn't mind exchanging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Clareman wrote: »
    A friend of mine is looking for a signed jersey from the 2013 team, don't suppose anyone has 1 lying around that they wouldn't mind exchanging?

i dont but imagine there are a few knocking around but i couldnt imagine where to start looking will ask around though

letowski wrote: »
    Yep playing Conor McGrath midfield, Tony Kelly in the half back line, David Firzgearld in the forwards, playing an outdated seeeper system, etc. Thats really going to get the best out of our group.

Blaming the online group is ridiclous, there has been a big decrease in attendance of Clare supporters at matches because of Davys ridiculous tactics and management.

This is nepotistic views on a person that was not getting the best out of a group of players, plain and simple. And this is the vast majority of opinions both inside and outside the county. You had Davy talking to his friend Vincent Hogan during the week there saying leaving Clare was an easy decision in the end. How about saying the last 3 years were a complete failure in terms of progress and development. That would probably harm your over inflated ego though, couldn't be saying that..

i am fully convinced that the media are just interviewing these two clowns just to cause controversy , at this stage i dont think anyone in clare really cares what they have to say anymore anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

You're right Windy. Even the replies on social media are muted and a bit bored, everyone is sick of these wind bags and their egos, people just want to get back behind the team and the management again.
    In fairness the new management team handed Davy that 2013 team on a plate and they deserve this.
    Davy is burning bridges left right and centre and still believes the majority are for him and that it was a small cohort against him, fathers of players, ex Clare hurlers, some day he may realise the whole county bar a few with vested interests wanted to see the back of him and are delighted he's gone.
    The fact he went so willingly is the only credit to the man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I didn't want to comment on the former manager, but the last couple of weeks has summed up his tenure, absolutely no class and it's someone else's fault. I also thought that having the County Board Secretary call the former Manager by a nickname as part of an official speech was a bit silly.

2017 starts with a new regime for the hurlers , first game for gerry and donal will be against kerry in two weeks time while cork away will start the defense of there league title 4 weeks later in paric ui rinn

full list of fixtures leading up to the munster championship in june

Munster Hurling League

Round 1 - Clare a bye Sunday, January 8
    Round 2 - Kerry v Clare @ Austin Stack Park, Tralee Sunday,January 15
    Round 3 - Clare v Limerick @ O’Garney Park, Sixmilebridge Wednesday January 18
    Round 4 - Waterford v Clare @ Walsh Park, Waterford Sunday, January 22
    Round 5 - Clare v Cork @ O’Garney Park, Sixmilebridge Wednesday, January 25

National League Division 1A

Round 1 - Cork v Clare @ Pairc Ui Rinn, Cork Saturday, February
    11 @ 7pm
    Round 2 - Clare v Kilkenny @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, February 19 @ 2pm
    Round 3 - Tipperary v Clare @ Semple Stadium, Thurles Sunday, March 5 @ 3pm
    Round 4 - Clare v Dublin @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, March 12 @ 2pm
    Round 5 - Clare v Waterford @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, March 26 @ 3pm

1/4 finals Saturday/Sunday, April 1/2

1st Placed 1A v 4th Placed 1B
    B - 2nd Placed 1A v 3rd Placed 1B
    C - 3rd Placed 1A v 2nd Placed 1B
    D - 4th Placed 1A v 1st Placed 1B

Relagation play/off

5th Placed 1A v 6th Placed 1A 2/4/17

semi finals 15/16 April
    Winner of A v Winner of D
    Winner of B v Winner of C

Final 23/4/17

Munster Senior Champ

Clare v Limerick @ Semple Stadium, Thurles Sunday,June 4 @ 4pm

the footballers will be hoping to build on the good progress last year , i dont think they will fear many in the 2nd tier of the national football league there first pre season starts this weekend in miltown , while first league game will be in derry the same weekend as the ballyea / st thomas's semi final so sure to be without a number of players

annoyingly there is no option for a double header this year with the hurlers , i clash of fixtures sees the hurlers travel to tipp on the same day cork play clare in the football on the 5th of march

McGrath Cup

Round 1 - Clare v Waterford @ Kennedy Memorial Park, Miltown Sunday,January 8 @ 2pm

Round 2 - Limerick v Clare @ Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale.Wednesday, January 11 @ 7.30pm

Final (If Clare top Group B) - Sunday, January 22

National League Division 2
    Round 1 - Derry v Clare @ Celtic Park, Derry Sunday, February
    5 @ 2pm
    Round 2 - Clare v Down @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, February 12 @ 2pm
    Round 3 - Galway v Clare @ Pearse Stadium, Salthill Sunday,February 26 @ 2pm
    Round 4 - Clare v Cork @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, March 5 @ 2pm
    Round 5 - Fermanagh v Clare @ Brewster Park, Enniskillen Sunday, March 19 @ 2pm
    Round 6 - Kildare v Clare @ St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge Sunday, March 26 @ 3.15pm
    Round 7 - Clare v Meath @ Cusack Park, Ennis Sunday, April 2
    @ 2pm

the footballers will be hoping to build on the good progress last year , i dont think they will fear many in the 2nd tier of the national football league there first pre season starts this weekend in miltown , while first league game will be in derry the same weekend as the ballyea / st thomas's semi final so sure to be without a number of players

annoyingly there is no option for a double header this year with the hurlers , i clash of fixtures sees the hurlers travel to tipp on the same day cork play clare in the football on the 5th of march

McGrath Cup

Round 1 - Clare v Waterford @ Kennedy Memorial Park, Miltown Sunday,January 8 @ 2pm

Round 2 - Limerick v Clare @ Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale.Wednesday, January 11 @ 7.30pm

5 @ 2pm
    Round 6 - Kildare v Clare @ St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge Sunday, March 26 @ 3.15pm
    @ 2pm

Hearing Shane Brennan, Ciaran Russell,Chris Dixon and John Hayes have returned to football panel.

I think both set ups will be happy to avoid relegation.

Looking at the footballers, they would be hopeful of a win in the first round, I think a loss there at home and your up against it. But there's nobody they should fear, they have a settled team now and will be hard to beat if they continue their upward curve.

The hurlers under the new management will have a tricky situation, in that Molony and O'Connor will have to try and experiment a bit with their new ideas, as well as getting the players to make the transition from Davy's rigid systematic style to their own brand of hurling. Again, if they lose to Cork in the first round it could make for a tough spring.

letowski wrote: »
    I think both set ups will be happy to avoid relegation.

Looking at the footballers, they would be hopeful of a win in the first round, I think a loss there at home and your up against it. But there's nobody they should fear, they have a settled team now and will be hard to beat if they continue their upward curve.

The hurlers under the new management will have a tricky situation, in that Molony and O'Connor will have to try and experiment a bit with their new ideas, as well as getting the players to make the transition from Davy's rigid systematic style to their own brand of hurling. Again, if they lose to Cork in the first round it could make for a tough spring.

for the amount of football played in the county i always feel that this is the level we should be operating at , i feel there is a number of teams running to stand still in the division and has showed in the recent past with a number of teams winning division 3 and gaining promotion to division 1 , i dont think we will be in the mix for promotion but will have enough to stay up

its a huge year for the hurlers , the league its self is big , most likley with out a number of the ballyea contingent for a number of games 4 points as showed last year could be enough to challange or get you relegated , 3 home games is a bonus , but a win away to cork would set us off on the right note

the big games for me are the match away to tipp and the home game to waterford as they could have a major say in who finishes top 4 , always love the home games against kilkenny though , and no disrespect to the teams in division 1b but these are the teams you want to be pitting yourself against in preparation for the championship

i expect to see a number of new faces to the panel , shane mcgrath and oisin donnellan from feakle must get there chance , ben o gorman from wolfe tones , mickey o'malley from kilmaley , and extra additions from the ballyea side should see niall deasy get his long over due call up to the panel ,dont be surprised to see pearse lillis and damian burke get call ups to switch from the football panel but i would say they wont feature beyond the extended panel

also i expect the two o'connells from clonlara to see more game time, fitz i always felt never gave totts much of a look in , i am not sure what roll shane o'donnell will have in the side though

Hearing Shane Brennan, Ciaran Russell,Chris Dixon and John Hayes have returned to football panel.

heard the same , i would however be more interested to hear who exactly has been called up , i know colm put out offers to several players in the past two months to join the panel many of them would be new to the panel or from last years minor and u21s , will know for sure over the next couple of weeks how many additions have been drafted in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Figerty

for the amount of football played in the county i always feel that this is the level we should be operating at , i feel there is a number of teams running to stand still in the division and has showed in the recent past with a number of teams winning division 3 and gaining promotion to division 1 , i dont think we will be in the mix for promotion but will have enough to stay up

its a huge year for the hurlers , the league its self is big , most likley with out a number of the ballyea contingent for a number of games 4 points as showed last year could be enough to challange or get you relegated , 3 home games is a bonus , but a win away to cork would set us off on the right note

the big games for me are the match away to tipp and the home game to waterford as they could have a major say in who finishes top 4 , always love the home games against kilkenny though , and no disrespect to the teams in division 1b but these are the teams you want to be pitting yourself against in preparation for the championship

i expect to see a number of new faces to the panel , shane mcgrath and oisin donnellan from feakle must get there chance , ben o gorman from wolfe tones , mickey o'malley from kilmaley , and extra additions from the ballyea side should see niall deasy get his long over due call up to the panel ,dont be surprised to see pearse lillis and damian burke get call ups to switch from the football panel but i would say they wont feature beyond the extended panel

also i expect the two o'connells from clonlara to see more game time, fitz i always felt never gave totts much of a look in , i am not sure what roll shane o'donnell will have in the side though

Shane O'Donnell will be there to score goals! I watched the league final again yesterday.. he was double marked as a result of us playing sweeper, he wound up with his back to goal most of the time.

heard the same , i would however be more interested to hear who exactly has been called up , i know colm put out offers to several players in the past two months to join the panel many of them would be new to the panel or from last years minor and u21s , will know for sure over the next couple of weeks how many additions have been drafted in

Do you know if Darran O'Neill was asked? Had a great season with Naomh Olafs. Scored 5/6 points in a recent Division 3 promotion playoff game.

For the footballers I think a GREAT season for them would be to match last season, i.e. secure Division 2 and an All Ireland Quarter final. We'll need to hit the ground running in the league to retain our status but this should be possible, in the championship we don't have anything to fear in Limerick but we just can't do anything with Kerry, beat Limerick and get a nice draw we've a possibility of another good run. I'd like to think that if we got to Croke Park again and not be faced with Kerry we'd put on a better display but that's wishful thinking I think.

For the hurlers, I would say anything outside of retaining Division 1 and an All Ireland semi final would be considered disappointing. I would say a Munster final appearance should be achievable, if last year shows anything, only the Championship counts, it's a bit of an embarrassment that we haven't won Munster in nearly 20 years but I'd prefer a realistic shot at an All Ireland than a Munster title to be honest.

Yeah not making the Munster hurling final would be a dissappointment. It's our best chance making it for a while. Like I dont even know what its like anymore to experience a build up to a Munster final, its sad.

Do you know if Darran O'Neill was asked? Had a great season with Naomh Olafs. Scored 5/6 points in a recent Division 3 promotion playoff game.

not sure , last time he was on the panel two years ago he rarely saw any game time , i always taught he would have made a descent full forward given his height , he lacked pace for midfield at inter county i think

i think he has asked mainly younger lads out of the minor and 21s from last year , there is a number of good club players that just dont want to commit every year mainly the older lads in there mid to late 20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

McGrath Cup

5 @ 2pm
    @ 2pm

Is Sundays game not on in Meelick?

finbarrk wrote: »
    Is Sundays game not on in Meelick?

yeah its been changed , not sure why though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

I would be surprised if any of the players other than tots will be serious contenders come the summer.
    in fact I doubt if most of them will still be in the squad by the time the league finishes.
    shane o donnell is a definite starter of course

I hear that Colin Ryan is playing Oscar Traynor soccer this year, anyone else hear that? I know soccer is very popular (and successful) in Newmarket but I'd have thought Colin would be a definite starter next year due to our shortage of ball winners

Colin ryan is not currently on the clare panel afaik and is playing soccer.

I remember a lot of talk about trials in England when he was a young lad.
    he has under 21 and senior all Ireland medals a league medal and county championship so its possible he has decided to give the soccer a go.
    Clare are going very well currently so good luck to him

He is a player that shipped a lot of unfair criticism but was excellent in 2013.

he isn't a ball winner though.

Ball winner is probably an over-reach alright, but he's a great target man for puck outs and a great spoiler, in 2013 nearly every puck out was aimed at him. Between the frees and the target man I thought he's a great option, but if he'd prefer to give soccer ago there's nothing that can be done I guess.

the puckout strategy should have been a one off type tactic. it was used most effectively in the all Ireland replay where we actually pucked the ball to the side of the pitch that conlon was not on with players breaking the ball to the ground for McGrath podge ryan etc to come on to the break
    it worked very well as it really caught cork badly but was then flogged to death and we became predictable.
    he is not a good one on one ball winner