Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On an entirely different note, I am watching a traditional band set up to play. One of them has an instrument that is violin sized but is played like a guitar.

Anyone any idea what is is? It looks a bit like a violin but the body bit is more rounded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

Stheno wrote: »
    On an entirely different note, I am watching a traditional band set up to play. One of them has an instrument that is violin sized but is played like a guitar.

Anyone any idea what is is? It looks a bit like a violin but the body bit is more rounded

Mandolin?

https://www.google.ca/search?q=mandolin&rlz=1C1CHBF_enIE704IE704&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiBifLeodvQAhUKgLwKHbxhAy0Q_AUICCgB&biw=1366&bih=662

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

http://www.skysports.com/share/10684672

A nice gesture from Athletico Nacional and the South American football federation in naming Chapecoense the sudamerica champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Season Finale to Westworld has cheered me up a good bit from my post-Lam blues
    cracking episode- and the music was beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Scythica

Went to bratislava for a stag do.

Lovely place, lovely people.

Providing you avoid the mulled absinthe..

• Subscribers Posts: 43,269 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Scythica wrote: »

jaysus, talk about gilding the lily !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Season Finale to Westworld has cheered me up a good bit from my post-Lam blues
    cracking episode- and the music was beautiful

I was actually a bit disappointed by it tbh. Felt they could have teased some of the stuff out over another couple of episodes rather than taking a few huge leaps all in one episode. Elements of it (e.g. the man in blacks back story) felt very rushed I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Scythica wrote: »

Was there last year. Really nice place. Outside the old town is pretty bleak though. Grey apartment blocks as far as the eye can see. The people are lovely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Was all set to try and get Guns n Roses tickets this Friday until I realised that it's on the same day as the pro12 final...May 27th.

Poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

kuang1 wrote: »
    Was all set to try and get Guns n Roses tickets this Friday until I realised that it's on the same day as the pro12 final...May 27th.

Poo.

Will that have the slightest sniff of selling out? It's a massive venue. Their last gig in Dublin was an utter shambles with a large chunk of the crowd walking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »
    Will that have the slightest sniff of selling out? It's a massive venue. Their last gig in Dublin was an utter shambles with a large chunk of the crowd walking out.

People have short memories.

I'm not clear on this though...was axel rose at that gig? Weren't guns n roses carrying on without him there for a while?
    He was very reclusive for years too right?

I'm not clear on this though...was axel rose at that gig? Weren't guns n roses carrying on without him there for a while?

Did he not give the audience a pile of abuse and walk off last time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64ZYkLrnFBA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Nah, he has been back on the scene for a while.

If I recall the reports correctly, they were 2 hours late coming on stage. The crowd were fuming and half cut. Several bottles got lashed at Axl from the crowd. He stopped, threatened to walk off if it continued. It didn't stop. They walked.

They were convinced to return later at which point half the crowd had left.

Nah, he has been back on the scene for a while.

If I recall the reports correctly, they were 2 hours late coming on stage. The crowd were fuming and half cut. Several bottles got lashed at Axl from the crowd. He stopped, threatened to walk off if it continued. It didn't stop. They walked.

They were convinced to return later at which point half the crowd had left.

God I had clean forgotten about that. September 2010 that was.

So it's guns n roses with no Slash nowadays then.

Meh.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2010/sep/03/guns-roses-bottled-offstage-dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

If you guys are really lucky they might play Chinese Democracy from beginning to end

• Subscribers Posts: 43,269 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

reasons not to go to GNR

1. its in slane!
    2. €90 squids is about 50% too much (though id pay €50 to see Slash solo)
    3. its an MCD gig
    4. its on the same day as the pro 12 final
    5. its on the same day as my youngest' first communion.
    6. axel is a notorious diva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

God I had clean forgotten about that. September 2010 that was.

So it's guns n roses with no Slash nowadays then.

Meh.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2010/sep/03/guns-roses-bottled-offstage-dublin

No both Slash and Duff McKagan have re joined the band for this tour.

So I stopped a thief last night. I was sitting outside a gym near Smithfield waiting for my girlfriend when I saw some teenager on a bike take something that looked like a wallet out of a woman's hands. I sprinted after him and somehow caught up with him around a corner even with a backpack in my hand. I kicked the back wheel of the back to try and ... stop him. He somehow got off onto his feet and kept running. He dropped an iPhone just as he ran into a block of flats, thank god, because I don't think I was going to follow him any further. I tore up my toe kicking the bike and the wheel is buckled too. I never knew I had it in me. Serious buzz, highly recommended.

Did you get the stolen object back?

Stheno wrote: »
    Did you get the stolen object back?

Yeah it was an iPhone, not a wallet. He must have dropped it on purpose to throw me off. I left the ditched bike against a railing. I considered dropping it into the garda station but frankly I had stuff to do. It was gone two hours later.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I know most people now can't live without their phone in hand and putting it in your jeans pocket gives ease of access but it always strikes me as incredibly dumb that people just walk around with their phone sticking out. I'm not saying they deserve to be robbed because of it, but it's not exactly making it difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

sydthebeat wrote: »
    reasons not to go to GNR

1. its in slane!
    3. its an MCD gig

I like how you list your reasons in order of priority, especially your kid's communion! :D

• Administrators Posts: 55,125 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

sydthebeat wrote: »
    reasons not to go to GNR

1. its in slane!
    3. its an MCD gig

7. it's in Slane! (just to reinforce this point)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

molloyjh wrote: »
    I was actually a bit disappointed by it tbh. Felt they could have teased some of the stuff out over another couple of episodes rather than taking a few huge leaps all in one episode. Elements of it (e.g. the man in blacks back story) felt very rushed I thought.

I thought the ending was absolutely superb. I saw a common rugby board poster who hadn't really loved the series as a whole describe the ending as one of the best he's ever seen - and I agree about the ending.

It did enough for me to raise it to the level of TD season 1.

Also appreciated how there were still a few twists left at the end. Despite people bemoaning how it had become predictable, I never saw that ending coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    7. it's in Slane! (just to reinforce this point)

8. It's Guns n Roses. Who the hell would pay to see a bunch of mediocre oul lads go through the motions of a couple of "ok" songs.

9. It's in Slane.

10. It's in Slane.

• Administrators Posts: 55,125 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I will never go to Slane again. Ever.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Is Slane that bad?
    Not been since the RHCP gig and it was fine (albeit I was a lot younger).