Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I hadn't heard before that the family claim that McCarron had sex with the girl. Was that publicly known before Ger read the statement?

In direct answer to your query I would say they cleared it with the family that they could read the family's letter out. The letter says the girl had to be brought for STD/HIV test and that acknowledges that sex occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭JJayoo

but to callously disregard the feelings of that young girl and not offer any sort of remorse or sympathy to the girl is disgraceful.l

So she created a fake Facebook with a fake age in order to create a fake tinder account with a fake age and then lied about her age to the guy and they hooked up = is this the general gist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

That's my understanding of it. What I found equally as disturbing was the long list of misdemeanours read out to him. While he might not have known the girl was underage, there's no excuse for his fondness for using his fists. He's full of excuses though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

JJayoo wrote: »
    So she created a fake Facebook with a fake age in order to create a fake tinder account with a fake age and then lied about her age to the guy and they hooked up = is this the general gist?

While he has his gripe with the girl, if thats the case, his other past actions still dont paint him in a great light, it seems a matter of convenience to throw the excuses out there, when things are'nt going his way, i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

It was uncomfortable listening and just like with his interview on second captains the more he talked the less well he came across.

Obviously anyone who has had such problems has had a relatively difficult existence compared to others but there was always some reason to explain why he wasn't at fault.

The most jarring thing outside of all that has been mentioned already was how he said he didn't blame his family/local bookies at 16/friends/neighbours when in reality mentioning them wasn't really prompted by the interview but by himself. Which by extension seemed to me to suggest that he did blame them.

Also he's on to promote his book and then decides that he no longer agrees with everything he wrote in the book he's on to discuss, when it didn't suit his story.

Perhaps it's not fair to say, and what do I know as I'm only a person on the internet, but I wouldn't really want him counselling me or anyone in a professional manner if that's how he comes across and what he believes. That list of violent incidents was frightening.

Anyway it was an interesting interview and while I'm no fan of Ger it was great to have him not let up on the questioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Dots1982 wrote: »
    No it certainly wasn't.

Newstalk treading a fairly fine tightrope on this subject. Disobeying the family's wishes by having him on the show but trying to make up for it by roasting him.

We saw why sports stars get media trained to the point of being robots. A bit of media training and mccarron could talk his way of those questions.

i'm not sure why he didn't stick to the legal advice schpiel when Ger kept at him about it. started off not answering, then kinda giving an answer, then not answering. definitely not from the theo walcott school of sport speak anyway.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

When the interview first started I was thinking feck sake not Ger. but have to give him kudos for the latter half.
    A few weeks ago kimmage did a written piece asking why wasn't Cathal being afforded the same sympathy/redemption as paul McGrath. Wonder why he didn't touch on the issue with the girl he's usually very through. Gers interview is the first mention in any I've heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I have to ask though what does the father of the girl intend to achieve by running to radio shows and media outlets with this story? This can't be good for the girl if she's so "distraught" after her HIV test (i.e. having bloods taken with a tiny needle as part of a standard std test). Surely quietly going about an appeal through the courts would be a better option, and keeping an eye on her internet usage in future would be a better course of action.

As for McCarron, I don't buy the honest mistake defence at all, I'd be highly sceptical. I've seen these girls on tinder and you can tell almost immediately they're lying about their age. But in the eyes of the law he is not guilty of any misdemeanour so that should be the end of it. It's a shame that he is so inarticulate because he comes across worse than he actually is. Gilroy went in dry and while I definitely don't agree with his line of questioning regarding the 15 year old girl episode, a more savvy guest would possibly have rebutted the questions a lot better than McCarron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

That list of violent incidents was frightening.

I have to say this was the one point that I took from the whole interview. I was wondering where the list would end. Very hard to believe the guy speaking about "being a changed man" when you go through his roll of honour. I certainly wouldnt like to be the guy that knocked over his pint some night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

armaghlad wrote: »
    This can't be good for the girl if she's so "distraught" after her HIV test (i.e. having bloods taken with a tiny needle as part of a standard std test).

Are you for real? You've no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,004 ✭✭✭✭siblers

pc7 wrote: »
    When the interview first started I was thinking feck sake not Ger. but have to give him kudos for the latter half.
    A few weeks ago kimmage did a written piece asking why wasn't Cathal being afforded the same sympathy/redemption as paul McGrath. Wonder why he didn't touch on the issue with the girl he's usually very through. Gers interview is the first mention in any I've heard.

I don't think they were legally allowed mention the case, Ger mentioned at the end of the interview how details of the case had changed and that the family had given them permission to talk about the case (I could be mistaken)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Just listening back now, Ger did very well. Hard to feel too much sympathy for McCarron. How he sees himself as a victim is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Just listening back now, Ger did very well. Hard to feel too much sympathy for McCarron. How he sees himself as a victim is beyond me.

Wasn't this guy on with Tubridy the other week? I didn't hear about it, I can only assume that he was his nauseating, bootlicking self and didn't address any of the 'difficult' topics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,492 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

As somebody else said, it made for uncomfortable listening.

What I have started to wonder is what possible good can this book do for Cathal McCarron.

And when I say that I mean the 'different' Cathal McCarrons.

Cathal McCarron the Tyrone footballer - how does he think this book can help him improve as an inter-county footballer. Or the effect it will have on his team.

Cathal McCarron the recovering addict - are all these interviews (that go belly-up) helping his recovery process. He's still in early days and we all know that traumatic events can lead to people falling off the wagon again. You'd wonder what the Off the Ball interview did to his head.

Cathal McCarron the person (the son, father, boyfriend, friend) - how can this book help the relationships he has with those around him. They have already gone through years of hell, did they really need all this to re-open old wounds (and perhaps some new ones).

I think doing this book was a big mistake for him personally. I am surprised those around him allowed him to be part of it.

i'm not sure why he didn't stick to the legal advice schpiel when Ger kept at him about it. started off not answering, then kinda giving an answer, then not answering. definitely not from the theo walcott school of sport speak anyway.

The legal advice spiel wasn't awfully endearing to his character so to be honest he wasn't really getting out of things or making things better by using it.

He would have been better off talking about that it honestly never entered his head that the girl was underage, that he knows she's a victim but that he has to cope with the head-**** of having had sex with a 15 year old girl which would have been his assertion that he is a victim sound more credible. A bit of media training would have gone a long way.

Mccarron's reaction to practically everything bad in his life is to paint himself as the victim. If you were to have a drink everytime he paints himself as hard done by in the book. You would be drunk very quickly.

I still think Newstalk however have played this the way the media tends to do. Representing themselves as being on the side of the right and the just while actually they are just cynically after "good copy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Are you for real? You've no idea.
    Do you think it was a good move by the father to broadcast that? I'm sure she's embarrassed enough as it it without him running his mouth.

BPKS wrote: »
    What I have started to wonder is what possible good can this book do for Cathal McCarron.

Cash

Cash

I dunno. After Christy O Connor and the publishers get their fees there wont be a whole lot left in the pot.

Theres f-all money to be made from sports autobiographies in Ireland - its usually a way to boost your profile in order to get futher media work.

I dunno. After Christy O Connor and the publishers get their fees there wont be a whole lot left in the pot.

Theres f-all money to be made from sports autobiographies in Ireland - its usually a way to boost your profile in order to get futher media work.

I think you're wrong to be honesy. I think he will do quite well financially as the book has sold well. If there was so little money to be made why would every sports person (apart from strangely Conor Mcgregor) do a book?

How much do you think he will get from each copy sold?

I think you're wrong to be honesy. I think he will do quite well financially as the book has sold well. If there was so little money to be made why would every sports person (apart from strangely Conor Mcgregor) do a book?

Most sports people are paid up front for an autobiography and its up to the publishers to make it sell and increase profit then

Really?...why would the subject bother with trying to make it a good read if he's get the same cash anyway?

Sorry, what I meant is they agree a fee up front, subject to the quality, full disclosure clauses and that book is completed in a certain time period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think McCarron will most likely use the money gained from the book to gamble again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

armaghlad wrote: »
    Do you think it was a good move by the father to broadcast that? I'm sure she's embarrassed enough as it it without him running his mouth.

You think that allows to you make light of the trauma of getting a HIV test?

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think McCarron will most likely use the money gained from the book to gamble again.

Bet ye he doesn't ;)

Going on guess work here.

The book is retailing for €19 currently, will probably drop to €12 after Xmas. Take the authors fee, publishing costs, retailers share and would he get €3 or €4 a book after the initial upfront fee?

Jim McGuiness book sold about 22,000 copies last year. Will McCarron sell 10,000?

What'll he make from it - €30k, €40k? Is that worth all the negatives? I seriously doubt it.

MD1990 wrote: »

I honestly hope he doesnt. I hope he uses whatever he makes to pay off some debts.

Going on guess work here.

The book is retailing for €19 currently, will probably drop to €12 after Xmas. Take the authors fee, publishing costs, retailers share and would he get €3 or €4 a book after the initial upfront fee?

Jim McGuiness book sold about 22,000 copies last year. Will McCarron sell 10,000?

What'll he make from it - €30k, €40k? Is that worth all the negatives? I seriously doubt it.

A matter of opinion. He's done gay-porn, stole from friends, had involvement with a minor and had numerous public order offences. These stories were going to get reported or were already out whether he released the book or not. At least this way he makes a 5 figure sum.

Like its not like the book is making him notorious where previously he was just a normal bloke. He was notorious before the book ever got out. Just now he is really notorious where once he wasn't that well known but I guess his face is far more recognisable now.

I honestly hope he doesnt. I hope he uses whatever he makes to pay off some debts.

I didn't read the last chapter as I'd kind of had enough of him at that stage, Does he make any commitment to repaying people back in the future with the proceeds from the book?