Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Did any hear the speaker for tonight competition?

Haven't a bean!!! I put text with a guess.

Anyone know who it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Cus D'Amato passed away in '77 ? really?
    are you sure you aren't getting mixed up with Elvis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Who was doing co-commentary on the Chelsea match earlier?

He was useless.

Is there some sort of unwritten rule when it comes to soccer coverage stating that having a strong Dublin accent increases your chances of getting the gig?

Very hard to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Who was doing co-commentary on the Chelsea match earlier?

He was useless.

Is there some sort of unwritten rule when it comes to soccer coverage stating that having a strong Dublin accent increases your chances of getting the gig?

Very hard to listen to.

It was Andy Reid

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Any paper review this week? Can't see a podcast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

pc7 wrote:

Yes. Was good as well I thought.
    Sure it'll be up later.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Cool will look again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

pc7 wrote: »

It's on the Podcast Addict App anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Anybody have any idea what is Cian Murtagh at since he left the show?
    Twitter handle still says he works for Off The Ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Anybody have any idea what is Cian Murtagh at since he left the show? Twitter handle still says he works for Off The Ball.

Moved to BBC NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Anybody have any idea what is Cian Murtagh at since he left the show?
    Twitter handle still says he works for Off The Ball.

Cian Murtagh's gone? When did that happen??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Cian Murtagh's gone? When did that happen??

They announced he was leaving on the Wednesday before the All Blacks match in Chicago. He did some reporting from Chicago and that was it. Not a bad way to go really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭sonic85

Hunt and Andrews were great last night. Should be on the show more often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They should have transitioned Murtagh into a presenter role.

He's only been waiting 15 years.

He used to stand in as presenter the odd time, I think.

He definitely presented to phone in show Oisin Langan used to do. Extra Time or At The End Of The Day or something.

This new guy Sheehan is really struggling. It seems like OTB usually have an endless supply of people who can seamlessly slip in to the general sports discussion on OTB. But yesterday with Sheehan just seemed to be very awkward, very forced. It was like a conversation around the Christmas dinner table with somebody you have nothing in common with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I really enjoy the paper round up on Sundays. Overall I am coming back to listen to the show. Except when Ger is on. Just cannot warm to him at all.

Think I'm a few mins behind, but why is there no actual football on the football show??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I thought that was a great football show.

I'm genuinely bored to death of hearing about Mourinho and the two topics they chatted about tonight were far more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,004 ✭✭✭✭siblers

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I thought that was a great football show.

I'm genuinely bored to death of hearing about Mourinho and the two topics they chatted about tonight were far more interesting.

Really enjoyed (for want of a better word) listening to Pat Nevin talking about the abuse scandal, articulated his point very well, Joe had some very interesting points too about the rainbow laces campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

He's tearing Cathal McCarron a new one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭PMU

about time someone did. he comes across as a right gurrier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

He's tearing Cathal McCarron a new one...

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

McCarron has some neck calling himself a victim, yeah I know he had his troubles, but to callously disregard the feelings of that young girl and not offer any sort of remorse or sympathy to the girl is disgraceful. And to top this off, he sort of withdraws some of his comments in earlier media interviews. Fair play to Gilroy and the statement that he read out at the end, the victims family deserve their say as well

Who?

Yeah, who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yeah, who?

Cathal McCarron the Tyrone footballer, has a book out talking about his addiction to gambling and drink but in the book he mentions how he was questioned by the guards after he met this girl on tinder, but she turned out to be 15, he was with his girlfriend at the time. But he wanted to glosss over that incident saying to Ger Gilroy "on advice of my solicitor, i dont wish to comment" , but Gilroy said, "well you have it in the book......". It seems Cathal McCarron wants to be selective in highlighting his problems without addressing the hurt he caused to others. He said "no comment" when asked if he felt sorry for the girl....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I hadn't heard before that the family claim that McCarron had sex with the girl. Was that publicly known before Ger read the statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I hadn't heard before that the family claim that McCarron had sex with the girl. Was that publicly known before Ger read the statement?

I don't know but it would explain a lot.

He did himself no favours in this interview I thought. And I got the impression that if the situation was a bit different, Gilroy could've got a slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

No it certainly wasn't.

Newstalk treading a fairly fine tightrope on this subject. Disobeying the family's wishes by having him on the show but trying to make up for it by roasting him.

We saw why sports stars get media trained to the point of being robots. A bit of media training and mccarron could talk his way of those questions.

Is seems like Ger wants to add "armchair psychologist" to his CV. He can put it under "expert in pushing liberal agenda through sport".

I swear it was like an episode of In Treatment tonight. I'm only surprised he didnt get decked.