Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers protesting the lodging of refugees in a local authority house(read post 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Sad the way some on here couldnt gave a monkies what these people have gone through.

Cry me a river. If you spent all day worrying about the world ills you'd never have time to leave the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

ISIS aren't a threat to the UK. Ireland already has a land border with the UK. It's had one since it left the UK in 1922. Ireland is not responsible for policing the UK's borders.

The vast majority of Muslims (1.8 billion of them) aren't terrorists.
    I don't know why I bother posting this fact.

It's ignored by the type of person who has no idea of the type of grief that Irish people living in Britain got during the IRA's bombing campaigns of the 1970s and 1980s.

Back then, the Irish were seen as one of the prime enemies of the British and there were frequent calls among the more prejudiced and hysterical to expel all Irish people from Britain and not to let Irish immigrants into Britain.

All because stupid people couldn't accept the simple fact that only a handful of Irish people living in Britain were actually terrorists and decided to tar all the Irish people living in Britain with the same brush.
    Not only did this bigoted prejudicial hysteria lead to Irish people living in Britain getting dog's abuse, it also led to innocent people, the Birmingham Six, the Maguire family, the Guildford Four, being imprisoned for crimes they didn't commit.
    Muslims have now taken the place of the Irish in modern Britain because a handful of Muslims are terrorists.
    The names of the terrorist organisations change - the stupid, hysterical, bigoted reactions don't.

you lost all credibility after the first line.

Seems that you think you know more than MI6, maybe they should hire you.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

how. are you denying they're was discrimination toards the irish in britain during the northern irish war for equal rights?

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭currants

Last week there were 3 children's doctors left alive in Aleppo. I saw horrific footage on C4 news last night of women and children literally running away from the rebel troops, a young boy about 12ish stumbled down an embankment of rubble carrying his belongings in plastic bags, a Mam was trying to lift her toddler in a buggy over wreckage from shells. An unconscious toddler covered in dust and bleeding from the nose being carried into a truck serving as an ambulance. It was sheer panic and looked like hell on earth. How anyone can compare those poor people to economic migrants is beyond me. Begrudging them shelter when we have no idea what its like to have to run from a war seems so petty. Traveller or settled we have a duty to help Syrians, like us most of them have no real say in what their Govt or the rebels or IS decide to do, they just have to live with the **** that's thrown at them. **** that most of us can't imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

mariaalice wrote: »
    After hours answer: A fight to the death to see who get the house a simple swift answer to who should get it. Its a daft question with no correct answer.

Don't know if the Syrians are into bare knuckle fighting ?
    I wonder what genius in Mayo co co thought it was a great idea to house Syrians next door to Travellers.

Maybe Mary Robinson and family will set up a foundation to help them. She has form with refugees and is from around there. LOL.

Ehh she is from Ballina not Castlebar.
    That gave me an idea, there is always the flynns. :D
    How is ISIS a threat to Ireland? Have they attacked Ireland?

They killed an Irish citizen in Tunisia and Irish citizens were caught up in the attack on Bataclan.
    But you go right on spouting shyte with your head ...
    currants wrote: »
    Last week there were 3 children's doctors left alive in Aleppo. I saw horrific footage on C4 news last night of women and children literally running away from the rebel troops, a young boy about 12ish stumbled down an embankment of rubble carrying his belongings in plastic bags, a Mam was trying to lift her toddler in a buggy over wreckage from shells. An unconscious toddler covered in dust and bleeding from the nose being carried into a truck serving as an ambulance. It was sheer panic and looked like hell on earth. How anyone can compare those poor people to economic migrants is beyond me. Begrudging them shelter when we have no idea what its like to have to run from a war seems so petty. Traveller or settled we have a duty to help Syrians, like us most of them have no real say in what their Govt or the rebels or IS decide to do, they just have to live with the **** that's thrown at them. **** that most of us can't imagine.

Funny you noticed the women and children.
    Now compare that to the images of the "refugees" that were arriving on boats in Europe and wandering around Europe.
    Ever notice the lack of women and kids and the preponderance of young adult males ?

Politicians, the EU, the media and the well meaning celebrity gobshytes have actually turned people off refugees because they tried to pedal the myth that the ones wandering around Europe attacking locals and breaking down fences were actual refugees and more especially Syrian.

The above bunch have done more to harm the cause of the real refugees left scrambling to get out of Syria or in camps in Lebanon, Jordan or Turkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Sad the way some on here couldnt gave a monkies what these people have gone through.

Couldn't care less to be brutally honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

They need and deserve help. The question is what kind of help, from whom, and how to ensure it's financially viable and that it's given to genuine people like that. Syrians are not the only people with major problems. And the Middle East has been in a bad way for so long, and probably will remain so for so long into the future, that that has to be taken into account.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

The #1 best thing you can do is push your car over a cliff and switch to a coal/wood burner. You buy oil and you buy Saudi funded cultist lunatics across the middle east.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

ISIS aren't a threat to the UK. Ireland already has a land border with the UK. It's had one since it left the UK in 1922. Ireland is not responsible for policing the UK's borders.

The vast majority of Muslims (1.8 billion of them) aren't terrorists.
    I don't know why I bother posting this fact.

It's ignored by the type of person who has no idea of the type of grief that Irish people living in Britain got during the IRA's bombing campaigns of the 1970s and 1980s.

Back then, the Irish were seen as one of the prime enemies of the British and there were frequent calls among the more prejudiced and hysterical to expel all Irish people from Britain and not to let Irish immigrants into Britain.

All because stupid people couldn't accept the simple fact that only a handful of Irish people living in Britain were actually terrorists and decided to tar all the Irish people living in Britain with the same brush.
    Not only did this bigoted prejudicial hysteria lead to Irish people living in Britain getting dog's abuse, it also led to innocent people, the Birmingham Six, the Maguire family, the Guildford Four, being imprisoned for crimes they didn't commit.
    Muslims have now taken the place of the Irish in modern Britain because a handful of Muslims are terrorists.
    The names of the terrorist organisations change - the stupid, hysterical, bigoted reactions don't.

Seems that you think you know more than MI6, maybe they should hire you.
    Do you really think that so-called intelligence agencies have much credibility after their repeated failures to prevent acts of terrorism and to identify the rise of Russian-supported political movements across Europe and the USA as some of the greatest threats to western stability? Seriously?

It's unrealistic to expect them to be able to prevent every single attack. They've prevented more than they've failed. They've just disrupted a huge plot planned for Paris. They are more than capable and credible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Then why not in private housing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Its fairly easy to demand "we" put up refugees. This in general means — at a time of massive housing crisis, one where the government has stopped building housing — the houses given to the refugees will be taken from a limited pool of public housing. Or it will government subsidised private rent pushing rent prices up and benefitting landlords. It's the poor what gets the blame.

It's for that reason that we should look to what the UK did during the war for internal refugees and encourage private householders with spare bedrooms or second houses ( and we have plenty empty housing) to put up refugees. If it doesn't work culturally then a bedroom tax is needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Actually I'm more interested in seeing the left leaning reaction as they'll find it hard to criticise either.

Well speaking as someone of the left I think they could share the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Its fairly easy to demand "we" put up refugees. This in general means — at a time of massive housing crisis, one where the government has stopped building housing — the houses given to the refugees will be taken from a limited pool of public housing. Or it will government subsidised private rent pushing rent prices up and benefitting landlords. It's the poor what gets the blame.

It's for that reason that we should look to what the UK did during the war for internal refugees and encourage private householders with spare bedrooms or second houses ( and we have plenty empty housing) to put up refugees. If it doesn't work culturally then a bedroom tax is needed.

They're not being housed in major cities though, they're being housed in houses that are sitting empty. The traveler family that wanted the house were obviously denied it for a reason that has nothing to do with who the house will be given to in their stead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

jmayo wrote: »
    Don't know if the Syrians are into bare knuckle fighting ?

Ehh she is from Ballina not Castlebar.
    That gave me an idea, there is always the flynns. :D

They killed an Irish citizen in Tunisia and Irish citizens were caught up in the attack on Bataclan.
    But you go right on spouting shyte with your head ...

Funny you noticed the women and children.
    Now compare that to the images of the "refugees" that were arriving on boats in Europe and wandering around Europe.
    Ever notice the lack of women and kids and the preponderance of young adult males ?

Politicians, the EU, the media and the well meaning celebrity gobshytes have actually turned people off refugees because they tried to pedal the myth that the ones wandering around Europe attacking locals and breaking down fences were actual refugees and more especially Syrian.

The above bunch have done more to harm the cause of the real refugees left scrambling to get out of Syria or in camps in Lebanon, Jordan or Turkey.

Were they wearing their "I'm an Irish citizen" t-shirts?
    What a bloody stupid thing to say, they were obivously killed at random not because they were Irish citizens, or because they were from Ireland or had anything to do at all with Ireland.

Yes, because everyone loved refugees before this. What a load of bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Bad sh!t happens all over the world. We can't give a free houses and free money to everyone who has had a bad experience, or alleges that they had.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Cry me a river. If you spent all day worrying about the world ills you'd never have time to leave the house.
    Couldn't care less to be brutally honest.

I hope ye and your families are never faced with such a desperate situation beyond your own control.

Bad sh!t happens all over the world. We can't give a free houses and free money to everyone who has had a bad experience, or alleges that they had.

just as well we never have then isn't it. dispite your imagination of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

It's top secret, apparently.
    After referring to the Garda Code I can confirm that this means: We don't do any checks but we can't tell you that so we just tell porkies about it all being top secret for operational reasons!
    bubblypop wrote: »
    You still haven't actually linked to any polls ?
    I think the majority of people in Ireland are happy to take refugees.
    What are you so scared of?
    How many have taken a refugee family or even a few refugee young men into their homes so far??

We had thousands of pledges but so far NOBODY has followed through on those pledges!
    Advbrd wrote: »
    Yeah but the problem is that when Muslim immigrants enter the Irish prison population they become disillusioned with life, end up being easy targets for conversion and become radical travellers. It works both ways also. If you have been in Tuam lately, you may have noticed the Connors lads wearing thobes. Not sure where this is going to stop.

Oh Jaysus we'll end up with She-ites in buckets all over the place now.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    After referring to the Garda Code I can confirm that this means: We don't do any checks but we can't tell you that so we just tell porkies about it all being top secret for operational reasons!

Nope. incorrect. try again.
    foggy_lad wrote: »
    How many have taken a refugee family or even a few refugee young men into their homes so far??

how many people have taken a homeless person or family into their home so far? i mean people who are only concerned about the homeless when the topic of refugees comes up.

Nope. incorrect. try again.

how many people have taken a homeless person or family into their home so far? i mean people who are only concerned about the homeless when the topic of refugees comes up.

I have. And made sure I did so to a standard that would pass any government inspection unlike people I know who say they'd take in refugees but don't comprehend the idea that they're not teddy bears and could have problems caused by trauma and would need the involvement of social services and there'd be standards of care involved in some cases.
    I don't expect anyone to house the homeless before they can question government housing policy, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Jude13

just as well we never have then isn't it. dispite your imagination of course

I get what you mean however surely the nations causing/involved in these conflcts should be facilitating the clean up?

Why is the Irish taxpayer paying for refugees of a war that we have nothing to do with, its bonkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Meanwhile the homeless are dying in the local supermarket trolley bays freezing to death in minus temperatures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Meanwhile the homeless are dying in the local supermarket trolley bays freezing to death in minus temperatures.

There is a bed in Ireland for every rough sleeper if they want it.

There was a bed for Jonathan currie who died last year. Focus Ireland said he refused it on the night he died.

He also sold 2 houses his parents bought him and decided he wanted to sleep rough.

Let's start looking at the facts instead of just looking for an excuse to blame the government for everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

It's unrealistic to expect them to be able to prevent every single attack. They've prevented more than they've failed. They've just disrupted a huge plot planned for Paris. They are more than capable and credible.
    Thought you were leaving this thread? Liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There was a bed for Jonathan currie who died last year. Focus Ireland said he refused it on the night he died.

He also sold 2 houses his parents bought him and decided he wanted to sleep rough.

Let's start looking at the facts instead of just looking for an excuse to blame the government for everything.

Show me the beds available in Dundalk for homeless.
    Edit: because as far as I understand, there's 55 beds available which the council are allocated almost 1/3 of them as well as b and bs as emergency accommodation for people on the council list.

Does that sound like this country can cope with more peopleneeding a home?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Show me the beds available in Dundalk for homeless.

Id love to see/hear where the beds are available for homeless in Dundalk are myself

Thought you were leaving this thread? Liar.

I unfollowed the thread when I got tired of your perverse manipulation tactics. I didn't swear a solemn oath never to comment again. The thread moved on so I returned. It's not your place to remark on when I come and go. And I'm reporting your comment.

That's not exactly true because they could ring the shelters several times and be told to wait until a bed becomes available. I have heard this from a few homeless people on the radio. Some have still been trying to secure a bed for the night at 10pm and then if they are lucky enough to get that, as far as I remember, they are turfed out early in the morning.

Some can't use shelters because if they are reformed addicts and if they're around drug addicts they could relapse, themselves.

I don't think it's fair to cite the case of Mr. Currie to dismiss genuine homeless people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Thought you were leaving this thread? Liar liar pants on fire
    FTFY