Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Favourite FF player ever

• 26-11-2016 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,254 ✭✭✭✭

Just had to start a thread to express my undying man love for siggy
    He just always delivers

So is there any player in particular that fantasy football has made ye develop an irrational soft spot for in real life ?
    For me I just love owning siggy. ANY excuse and I get him in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

MGP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,254 ✭✭✭✭km79

KevIRL wrote: »
    MGP

we love Scandinavians :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Pelle...come home from China.
    Siggy second, Silva third

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Probably not my favourite, but certainly the first player that came to my mind is Matty Taylor.

Cheap as chips defender who always scored a few from free kicks! He was eventually registered as a midfielder though which meant mean't he wasn't quite the asset any more (less points for goals scored/assists etc.)

But as long as he was a registered defender he was in my team every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

Carlito Tevez. He went on an end of season scoring spree when he joined West Ham. Single handedly saved my ass that season so he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Gareth Bale
    Charlie Adams
    Stevie G used to break my heart (usually didn't have him when he wracked up those bonuses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,839 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Without a doubt Aguero

....a distant second would be Bale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,543 ✭✭✭✭CSF

My favourite is Aguero. But with the question saying 'irrational' love I'm gonna go for Wollscheid. I've had unreal luck with him. Barely a goal conceded. May be time to start up FBL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Jack Lynch. Nobody in FF played better in either code. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Ronaldo and Bale especially when he was a defender! In the pre-fpl days Andy Cole and Shearer were an unreal pairing upfront.

I forgot to say aguero is a close second

not easy as a united fan but I love him too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Suarez.

/thread

Slattsy wrote: »
    Suarez.

/thread

How could I have forgotten him!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Gunslinger99

Clint Dempsey , always delivered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Lampard back in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭peterswellman

Jamie Vardy.

Anelka. Never as your big hitter striker, but maybe as a double up with Drogba, or when Drogba was injured/playing international games.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Michael Turner.

The man. The myth. The legend.

PVA perhaps has taken the crown for the two DGW 37's in a row.

Plus the boring, obvious Aguero answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

Kevin Nolan always seemed to rack up points for me and made a great differeintal.can also remember van der vart contributing well to my cause. But the van persie of 3\4seasons ago will standout .

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I love owning Theo and Sanchez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

+1 with the goal scoring machine cb Martin Laurson a very close 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

KevIRL wrote: »
    MGP

He was the first name on my teamsheet every season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

Timmy Cahill ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Rafael Van der Vaart.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Super Georgie Boyd

RVP

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭breffni bogballer

Seamus Coleman,when he played as a MF/Wing back, not as much anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Aguero has been a must have for me for years now.

Suarez a close second.

Is there any way of seeing your teams from previous years, would be nice nostalgia!

Aguero has been a must have for me for years now.

Suarez a close second.

Is there any way of seeing your teams from previous years, would be nice nostalgia!

Aguero a must have for me too and always enjoyable BUT what i mean is a player who ya just can't resist getting even when it makes no sense
    And who you now have an affinity for in real life football based purely on FF
    So that's siggy
    I think I might love him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Marian Pahars

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Rafael Van der Vaart.
    Yeah these 2 were my "secret" weapons when I started playing. Always under-owned IMO (in my private leagues anyway) and always returned. Got me many monthly/weekly prizes too. I'll never forget ;).

It doesn't answer the OP question but I'd like to mention Blackpool's super Charlie Adam who might have beaten the BPs World record the season I started playing :p.
    I agree about Siggy too and would like to mention David "Merlin" Silva who's often been good to me but who's not returning at all this year.
    km79 wrote: »
    So is there any player in particular that fantasy football has made ye develop an irrational soft spot for in real life ?
    On the contrary :mad: I am developping a very rational very very not soft at all spot with Christian Fuchs :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭skippy15

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Super Georgie Boyd

Ye biggest over achiever, always seemed be on my bench and seemed get points every time was needed.
    Other than that has be siggy- Lukaku my biggest hate. Always seem get him and sell him in next few weeks

honeybear wrote: »
    RVP

Good shout. Back in the day he was so dependable. I always remember going to a game at Arsenal and captaining him and he scored after a minute or so made the whole game more enjoyable!

Always had a good experience with Hernandez too. He was always so cheap if you're timing was good he was great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,655 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

1 Henry
    2 Ronaldo (that season)
    3 Stevie g
    4 Suarez
    5 Lampard
    6 RVP
    7 Tevez
    8 Bale
    9 Kuyt
    10 Cech (04/05 - it was great not even thinking about the keeper position for that season, just guaranteed points)

Temuri Ketsbaia.

Edit - Honourable mentions for Kinkladze and Juninho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,164 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Michu deserves a mention for his amazing 2012/13 season.

Yes
    Yes he does
    We love Swansea :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Thierry Henry. Always the first player I picked when he was playing, regardless of how much he cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,164 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

km79 wrote: »
    Yes
    Yes he does
    We love Swansea :D

I only started playing FPL seriously that season and he was the main man really. He'll probably never be heard from again but I'll always remember him for that wonder season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭shineon23

Ah yes. I do enjoy a 'hall of fame' thread. I will get carried away here.

Keepers:
    Sorenson
    Joe Hart at Birmingham
    Tom Krul
    Anyone 4.0 or under.

I do love big awkward Defenders.
    John Terry
    Michael Dawson (at spurs)
    Richard Dunne (at Villa)
    James Collins
    Damien Delaney
    Geoff Cameron
    Zabeleta
    Jeffrey Schlupp
    Jordi Amat
    PVA
    Anyone 4.0 or under

Attackers:
    Cambiasso
    Darren Bent
    Super Rickie Lambert (at Southampton)
    Stepahane Sessanyon (at Sunderland)

Georgie Boyd (on the basis that's he's hero and I've bought him more than once full sure he was an OOP Kris Boyd)
    Any MF under 4.3.

Walters
    Mata
    Silva
    Suarez
    Aguero
    Rooney
    Drogba
    Malouda
    Milner at Man City
    Jamie O Hara
    Yaya
    Conor Wickham
    DEMBA BA
    Papis Cisse
    Cabaye

I presume no-one will mention Adam Johnson, but I never had any complaints with him in regards to FPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Charlie Adam at Blackpool was a season keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Lads......Yakubu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Dempsey wrote: »
    Charlie Adam at Blackpool was a season keeper

Got bonus even when they lost.

Clint Dempsey too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭shineon23

Pardon me, yous can all ignore my previous post.

Completely forgot that the answer to this puzzle is Cedric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Matty Elliot.

For those of you too young to remember a Leicester defender with a knack for scoring goals, especially headers from corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Amr Zaki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

In no particular order

Thomas Gravesen
    Tim Howard - purely for the goal in 2012 when I had him as captain cause he was on a DGW
    RVP in his Arsenal days, the day he was dropped and came on for a hat-trick
    Aguero
    Silva
    Niko Kranjcar

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭munster87

Thought PVA would have more mentions here