Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite FF player ever

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Clint Dempsey , always delivered.
    Rafael Van der Vaart.
    Yeah these 2 were my "secret" weapons when I started playing. Always under-owned IMO (in my private leagues anyway) and always returned. Got me many monthly/weekly prizes too. I'll never forget ;).

It doesn't answer the OP question but I'd like to mention Blackpool's super Charlie Adam who might have beaten the BPs World record the season I started playing :p.
    I agree about Siggy too and would like to mention David "Merlin" Silva who's often been good to me but who's not returning at all this year.
    km79 wrote: »
    So is there any player in particular that fantasy football has made ye develop an irrational soft spot for in real life ?
    On the contrary :mad: I am developping a very rational very very not soft at all spot with Christian Fuchs :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭skippy15

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Super Georgie Boyd

Ye biggest over achiever, always seemed be on my bench and seemed get points every time was needed.
    Other than that has be siggy- Lukaku my biggest hate. Always seem get him and sell him in next few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

honeybear wrote: »
    RVP

Good shout. Back in the day he was so dependable. I always remember going to a game at Arsenal and captaining him and he scored after a minute or so made the whole game more enjoyable!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Always had a good experience with Hernandez too. He was always so cheap if you're timing was good he was great value.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,441 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

1 Henry
    2 Ronaldo (that season)
    3 Stevie g
    4 Suarez
    5 Lampard
    6 RVP
    7 Tevez
    8 Bale
    9 Kuyt
    10 Cech (04/05 - it was great not even thinking about the keeper position for that season, just guaranteed points)

Temuri Ketsbaia.

Edit - Honourable mentions for Kinkladze and Juninho.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,080 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Michu deserves a mention for his amazing 2012/13 season.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,141 ✭✭✭✭km79

Michu deserves a mention for his amazing 2012/13 season.

Yes
    Yes he does
    We love Swansea :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Thierry Henry. Always the first player I picked when he was playing, regardless of how much he cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,080 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

km79 wrote: »
    Yes
    Yes he does
    We love Swansea :D

I only started playing FPL seriously that season and he was the main man really. He'll probably never be heard from again but I'll always remember him for that wonder season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭shineon23

Ah yes. I do enjoy a 'hall of fame' thread. I will get carried away here.

Keepers:
    Sorenson
    Joe Hart at Birmingham
    Tom Krul
    Anyone 4.0 or under.

I do love big awkward Defenders.
    John Terry
    Michael Dawson (at spurs)
    Richard Dunne (at Villa)
    James Collins
    Damien Delaney
    Geoff Cameron
    Zabeleta
    Jeffrey Schlupp
    Jordi Amat
    PVA
    Anyone 4.0 or under

Attackers:
    Cambiasso
    Darren Bent
    Super Rickie Lambert (at Southampton)
    Stepahane Sessanyon (at Sunderland)

Georgie Boyd (on the basis that's he's hero and I've bought him more than once full sure he was an OOP Kris Boyd)
    Any MF under 4.3.

Walters
    Mata
    Silva
    Suarez
    Aguero
    Rooney
    Drogba
    Malouda
    Milner at Man City
    Jamie O Hara
    Yaya
    Conor Wickham
    DEMBA BA
    Papis Cisse
    Cabaye

I presume no-one will mention Adam Johnson, but I never had any complaints with him in regards to FPL.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Charlie Adam at Blackpool was a season keeper

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭IK09

Lads......Yakubu

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Dempsey wrote: »
    Charlie Adam at Blackpool was a season keeper

Got bonus even when they lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Clint Dempsey too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭shineon23

Pardon me, yous can all ignore my previous post.

Completely forgot that the answer to this puzzle is Cedric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Matty Elliot.

For those of you too young to remember a Leicester defender with a knack for scoring goals, especially headers from corners.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Amr Zaki

• Registered Users Posts: 11,387 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

In no particular order

Thomas Gravesen
    Tim Howard - purely for the goal in 2012 when I had him as captain cause he was on a DGW
    RVP in his Arsenal days, the day he was dropped and came on for a hat-trick
    Aguero
    Silva
    Niko Kranjcar

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭munster87

Thought PVA would have more mentions here

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Dicky2016

RVP especially his final season with Arsenal
    30 Goals, never budged from Captain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭JakeBell

Matty Etherington was always value for money. He spent a lot of time in my teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Martin Laursen. A Hoover for the BPs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

RVP
    Nemanja Vidic during MU's clean sheet streak
    Elano at City
    Amr Zaki's incredible start with Wigan
    Theo Walcott - I captained him against Newcastle at home, he scored 3 and assisted 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

qwabercd wrote: »
    Martin Laursen. A Hoover for the BPs.

Just looked in here to post this very thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Denis Irwin.
    David Unsworth.
    Andrei Kanchelskis.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Yakubu was a good 3rd striker.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

Yakubu was a good 3rd striker.

Or Benjani for that one good season he had at Portsmouth.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,096 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No mention of Boyd? A forum favourite 2 (?) Years ago as the 5th cheap mid. He only delivered when he was needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,387 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Some great escape players
    Ulloa and Huth for Leicester 2015
    Larrsson for Sunderland 2014 - actually Larrsson anytime, great DGW player

Danny Murphy in his post liverpool days
    Berba

And defo Van Der Vaart