Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Hi folks, I remember somebody on here was talking about they had trouble with there bulk tank because they couldn't get gas for it. what's the name of the new type gas? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

visatorro wrote: »
    It's not really value so. I'll have to find out what the bean meal is!
    What exactly is gluten?

Soya bean meal I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Sold a cull cow not in calf was dry for a month and was lame when I dried her off to make it worse,but got her hoof paired and shoe on at the time. Not lame now and was getting a bit of rolled barley in the field. Sold in the Mart today for 930 weighed 760.
    Also sold a heifer born end of Jan last year not in calf twin to a bull no meal weighed 570 sold for 985.

With the price of cattle atm, happy enough.

What mart was that pedigree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

What mart was that pedigree?

Enniscorthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

visatorro wrote: »
    It's not really value so. I'll have to find out what the bean meal is!
    What exactly is gluten?

Corn gluten. Byproduct, of what I'm not sure. Protein is higher than corn because starch is gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

If that happens here we just milk away, someone else's problem
    Obviously not a Kerry supplier, then:p

Still not collected. If it's collected tonight He better put the tank washing and close the gate after him:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

Still not collected. If it's collected tonight He better put the tank washing and close the gate after him:mad:

If it's a common occourance start politely.
    Ring milk office,transport office and haulier to explain the situation.
    The next time it happens park tractor across gate when truck is in yard.
    When truck driver hands you a phone tell the haulier that you will talk to him in person.Always be nice to the driver,its the bosses that fcuk up.
    It worked for a few of us in this area a couple of years ago when the truck was arriving during milking or just before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Lorry often called here during milking. If nearly finished hed wait or if I was going to be a while I'd tell him to take it and give it a quick rinse and milk away. I worked in the real world for a few years and some farmers think that the whole world revolves around them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Ah that's fair enough but if you have a couple of lads calling to top.up the loads and not empty the tank it's a balls. Our tanker calls during the night but going into Dec could be any time as we would be consistent in supply so he'd know what we'd have to fill the load whereas other lads would be drying off. NO problem with it most cases he avoids milking time. CAN'T take the chance here not washing the tank on 3 day collections as a high tbc can lose the winter bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

mf240 wrote: »
    Lorry often called here during milking. If nearly finished hed wait or if I was going to be a while I'd tell him to take it and give it a quick rinse and milk away. I worked in the real world for a few years and some farmers think that the whole world revolves around them .

That is a phrase my little sister used the whole time when she was training to be a teacher.Our world sadly revolves around milking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Very funny thing just happened. In calf heifers in a paddock behind the house. Fence only around ten metres from the back wall of the house. Whatever way the light is they can see their reflection in the kitchen windows. Some very funny reactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Very funny thing just happened. In calf heifers in a paddock behind the house. Fence only around ten metres from the back wall of the house. Whatever way the light is they can see their reflection in the kitchen windows. Some very funny reactions.

At least yours are staying in the paddock. Mine seem to have become immune to the fence wire and keep wandering up to the back door, into the yard etc. to enquire about the progress of their winter quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

First 3 day collection here ever, daily collections are finished-thank fook- back to 2 day collections from tomorrow. I just rang driver to see what the story was here as I was expecting to be collected this morning

whelan2 wrote: »
    First 3 day collection here ever, daily collections are finished-thank fook- back to 2 day collections from tomorrow. I just rang driver to see what the story was here as I was expecting to be collected this morning
    3 day collections from April to October and 3-4 day from February to April and Mid-October to December. 7 day collections over Christmas for manufacturing milk, liquid is 2 day all year afaik.

I rang this morning to find out the story and my driver was told all my milk was collected yesterday. I rang the manager and he said he would leave it till Friday and no penalty. The last time it happened I got a penalty which they wouldn't refund and I only got a call on my way to HQ to block the entrance when they agreed to refund the penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

FFS bought feeding straw a few weeks ago after looking at it in a shed. Was lovely stuff. Your man just came to deliver it there and literally every single bale was black, nothing even remotely like what I went to see & bought. Had to tell him put back on the straps as I wasn't taking it and he knew he had tried to con me because didnt even argue or ask for anything for delivery.

Anyone here selling actual feeding straw, not sh1te that you could hardly use for bedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

i have two maiden heifers not incalf any sugestions where i should sell them , or just flog them with the cull cows at the mart

Signpost wrote: »
    FFS bought feeding straw a few weeks ago after looking at it in a shed. Was lovely stuff. Your man just came to deliver it there and literally every single bale was black, nothing even remotely like what I went to see & bought. Had to tell him put back on the straps as I wasn't taking it and he knew he had tried to con me because didnt even argue or ask for anything for delivery.

Anyone here selling actual feeding straw, not sh1te that you could hardly use for bedding?

Id say youll be hard pushed to find it at this stage. Got lovely wheaten straw for feeding and the barley was due to arrive the following week but 4 weeks later it arrived, dull enough looking but what could the man do, he tedded and raked before baling alrite. perhaps look for some winter wheaten straw if you can find it.

Signpost wrote: »

Bad form alright when ye had agreed on a deal. Very little alright, my supplier had barley straw that wasnt great left over from last year and that was all gone a month ago, may be tight myself as have to do more straw bedding this year but will get a load of woodchip to stretch it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mooooo wrote: »
    Bad form alright when ye had agreed on a deal. Very little alright, my supplier had barley straw that wasnt great left over from last year and that was all gone a month ago, may be tight myself as have to do more straw bedding this year but will get a load of woodchip to stretch it out.

Even tight here in Wicklow, and usually no end of it (typical the yr I decent to get less as I'm under pressure for sheds anyways). I've got afew tractor trailer loads of wood chip already as a base, will prb get more now.

Rang a lad on dungdeal who says he has big square bales 8*4*4 in Tipp of wheaten, feeding quality for 65 a bale delivered. How many round bales in a big? Bit of a gamble buying over the phone but going to be screwed without it so worth a chance maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,851 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Ha, good typo. Just might be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Reading up about fodder beet today, and "complaining" about the effort of keeping the cows outside at the minute on a small bit of grass has me thinking. I've 3 separate paddocks all beside the parlour which will need to be reseeded over the next few years, could I incorporate a beet into the rotation? When would I need to sow the beet? We buy in about 8ac of maize every year, which is working out at anything between 14 and 19c/kgdm, beet is a lot cheaper, in around 6/7c. Yhe beet could nicely replace the maize as a high energy feed to put condition on them, the cows could strip graze away at the beet, so only need to move a strip wire against trying to juggle maize and grass silage in the feed passage now. Not the driest of farms here, however the back ends tend to be dry, and I'd be aiming to have it all grazed out early Dec and cows housed after that. Anyone do anything similar, or am I just making hardship for myself for the sake of the reseeds ha?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Reading up about fodder beet today, and "complaining" about the effort of keeping the cows outside at the minute on a small bit of grass has me thinking. I've 3 separate paddocks all beside the parlour which will need to be reseeded over the next few years, could I incorporate a beet into the rotation? When would I need to sow the beet? We buy in about 8ac of maize every year, which is working out at anything between 14 and 19c/kgdm, beet is a lot cheaper, in around 6/7c. Yhe beet could nicely replace the maize as a high energy feed to put condition on them, the cows could strip graze away at the beet, so only need to move a strip wire against trying to juggle maize and grass silage in the feed passage now. Not the driest of farms here, however the back ends tend to be dry, and I'd be aiming to have it all grazed out early Dec and cows housed after that. Anyone do anything similar, or am I just making hardship for myself for the sake of the reseeds ha?

I think there is some one on twitter doing it alright. Would require more washing of cows in the parlour alright. What way has weather been on a avg the last 5 years for Nov and Dec? Tim you should go away and buy a diet feeder no hassle then :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Timmaay wrote: »

Pure fooking hardship. Got that tshirt. Did it before I had enough resources to provide better housing for cows.

Beet yields 35-40 per acre or c100 tonne of dirty beet per Ha. When washed the tare would be 16-20% depending on variety.

€2500 per ha to grow and harvest.
    100 tonnes fresh @ 20% tare is 80 fresh
    80 tonnes @ 25%dm is 20 t DM
    That's 12.5c per kg DM on a good crop

This is an unfair figure for FBeet as its energy level is massive and it feeds way better than it analysts would suggest. If I was looking for an alternative forage it would be beet every time.

I'd rather harvest and wash rather than deal with the scutter associated with grazing it. A Tanco root chopper on the front loader or back of tractor would feed it really easily

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Is it easy replace the tounge part of auto scrapers? Think that's the problem anyway, not
    Pushing the ****e when any amount builds up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Is it easy replace the tounge part of auto scrapers? Think that's the problem anyway, not
    Ye just a bolt and nut holding it on. Is the crap dry, might need to wet it a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Postdriver

Signpost wrote:
    Rang a lad on dungdeal who says he has big square bales 8*4*4 in Tipp of wheaten, feeding quality for 65 a bale delivered. How many round bales in a big? Bit of a gamble buying over the phone but going to be screwed without it so worth a chance maybe?

Should be 3 rounds in 8x4x4

What brand of scraper?

Dairymaster is just one bolt, turn it upside down, replace the tongue and tighten the bolt.