Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

givyjoe wrote: »
    Agree with all of the above, but the papers do love giving out nicknames to all criminals they can. Think of the Monk, The Viper, The General. 'The Penguin' was even used for one of them years ago.

Yeah that is pathetic, tho I like the Penguin - sorry, really into Gotham at the minute!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

You know, instead of whining about perceived grievances and inequality, I really wish the likes of Mulally and O'Brien would cop the f**k on about ACTUAL inequality.

Great post, fully agree.

On the above, I don't think UM or LON are actually whining, they are just generating attention for themselves. Attention = Clicks on ads = money. Neither of them are stupid enough to believe all the crap they churn out.

Same as Hopkins. She doesn't genuinely believe the opinions she is spouting, she's just saying what gets the biggest reaction and results in the most publicity.

It's a pity, but that's what journalism has come to, mainly due to too much free media available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

I'm sorry, but that has to be the most convoluted, off-point answer I have come across yet. We already have legal abortion for medical reasons, including mental health reasons.

As of now, legal abortion in Ireland is still far too restrictive.
    So dont continue with it then! Terminate the pregnancy by delivering the baby live, and let it live its life! If it doesnt survive, its sad, but so be it! Why do (some) pro-choicers always want to just "kill the baby"? Why is that always the only acceptable option?

Considering many people who are pro-choice wouldn't have an abortion themselves (you know, the choice part), why would you think that abortion was the only acceptable option for people who identify as such? I am pro-choice but I wouldn't actually have an abortion myself unless it was for medical reasons. If the foetus was healthy, I would bring it to term.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

newport2 wrote: »
    Great post, fully agree.

On the above, I don't think UM or LON are actually whining, they are just generating attention for themselves. Attention = Clicks on ads = money. Neither of them are stupid enough to believe all the crap they churn out.

Same as Hopkins. She doesn't genuinely believe the opinions she is spouting, she's just saying what gets the biggest reaction and results in the most publicity.

It's a pity, but that's what journalism has come to, mainly due to too much free media available.

I dont know about that. I think the majority of air-headed people dont actually realise that they're air-heads! Of course money is behind it, but I think UM and LON DO actually believe their own bull.

That's a nice top, shouldn't attract any attention whether it's worn by a man or a wonan.

In the Examiner she bemoans the fact that she's had a lifetime of being told to cover up.

And has been variously groped and told to cover up.

Seems she wants to be able to go around in her nude just to be offended by the reaction, whatever it is.

Naive.

Last night on Ray Darcy, the Tinder thing, if the sexes had been reversed there would have been uproar.

Offended ladies everywhere.

I don't know what point you are making here? That top is not akin to going around naked. It's a fashionable top.

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Considering many people who are pro-choice wouldn't have an abortion themselves (you know, the choice part)

??????? https://www.google.ie/search?q=meme&safe=off&espv=2&biw=1280&bih=918&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjHqrKHh6vQAhWBJsAKHa2yBokQ_AUIBigB#safe=off&tbm=isch&q=wtf+meme+face&imgrc=nSX8pLjP4Z450M%3A
    why would you think that abortion was the only acceptable option for people who identify as such? I am pro-choice but I wouldn't actually have an abortion myself unless it was for medical reasons. The foetus was healthy, I would bring it to term.

Thats the very definition of pro-life. You are either deliberately muddying the waters, or you are too chicken to say you honestly think killing a growing child is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

*taps the sign*
    Mod:

I don't know why some of you have been going on about abortion for days, but this is clearly not what the thread is about. Please get back on topic.

There is a Repeal The Eighth thread here which is a catch-all thread for abortion discussion.

Thats the very definition of pro-life

What are you talking about? A pro-choice stance means that you believe women should have the choice to have an abortion if they wish. My choice would be to not have one. And my choice might be different from another woman's and I believe she should have that choice. That is what pro-choice means. I honestly don't know how you can't understand this. I really don't get it.

EDIT: I couldn't not reply to this and will happily take an infraction for doing so. Totally worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

what is this rubbish? Nice to see RTE furthering their cultural marxist fanaticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

What are you talking about? A pro-choice stance means that you believe women should have the choice to have an abortion if they wish. My choice would be to not have one. And my choice might be different from another woman's and I believe she should have that choice. That is what pro-choice means. I honestly don't know how you can't understand this. I really don't get it.

EDIT: I couldn't not reply to this and will happily take an infraction for doing so. Totally worth it.

Mod:

Do not post in this thread again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

what is this rubbish? Nice to see RTE furthering their cultural marxist fanaticism.

Your username is offensive to wimmin!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You know, instead of whining about perceived grievances and inequality, I really wish the likes of Mulally and O'Brien would cop the f**k on about ACTUAL inequality.

Eamon Lillis - staves in the wife's head with a brick, gets 6 years and inherits from same wife
    Brian Hennessy - raped woman, left her and two children to die in a fire on Christmas Day - seven years in jail and due out soon.

Meanwhile Catherine Nevin has done (so far) 16 years and will likely die in jail
    The Mulhall sisters - still in jail after what ? 10 years ? For helping dispose of the body of a rapist ???

Plus both - and others - given stupid nicknames by the papers to further demonise them.

Yeah murder deserves a stretch of AT LEAST 15-20 years. But to give someone 6 and they can inherit whilst someone who didn't even carry out the killing gets 15 ? Something else other than justice is going on here.

So, whilst you "feminists" are bleating on about the right to dress like a slapper, give someone a lapdance in public and THEN act like the victim - actual injustices are being carried out on women.

Statistically women get lower sentences than men for all offences except murder. For murder women generally receive longer sentences.

I guess that people could say that it's sexist against men or they could say it's sexist against women.

Either way, let's just say that it's sexist in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Eamon Lillis - staves in the wife's head with a brick, gets 6 years and inherits from same wife
    Brian Hennessy - raped woman, left her and two children to die in a fire on Christmas Day - seven years in jail and due out soon.

Meanwhile Catherine Nevin has done (so far) 16 years and will likely die in jail
    The Mulhall sisters - still in jail after what ? 10 years ? For helping dispose of the body of a rapist ???

Plus both - and others - given stupid nicknames by the papers to further demonise them.

Yeah murder deserves a stretch of AT LEAST 15-20 years. But to give someone 6 and they can inherit whilst someone who didn't even carry out the killing gets 15 ? Something else other than justice is going on here.

So, whilst you "feminists" are bleating on about the right to dress like a slapper, give someone a lapdance in public and THEN act like the victim - actual injustices are being carried out on women.

I'm wondering about the Slapper bit. Always wondered what it meant. Someone who makes it too obvious that they enjoy sex, somehow? Someone in revealing clothing? It does bug me slightly that there's no male equivalent. Not that there should be. I'd prefer if there was no such term for either gender, but it suggests to me that we do hold women to a different standard.

Unlike Louise I do believe there's such a thing as appropriate dress.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Brian Hennessy is not due out soon.

Nevin paid someone to kill her husband for her own financial gain. Just because she didn't pull the trigger herself doesn't mean she's innocent of murder.

One of the Mulhall sisters was convicted of murder and the other of manslaughter

I'm wondering about the Slapper bit. Always wondered what it meant. Someone who makes it too obvious that they enjoy sex, somehow? Someone in revealing clothing? It does bug me slightly that there's no male equivalent. Not that there should be. I'd prefer if there was no such term for either gender, but it suggests to me that we do hold women to a different standard.

Unlike Louise I do believe there's such a thing as appropriate dress.

My understanding of a slapper is someone who's overtly promiscuous, and wants everyone to know it. The gay equivalent is someone who's overtly camp and in your face about it. And he male equivalent is someone who overtly thinks he's a "hard man", and goes around letting everyone know what he thinks of himself.

Not desirable traits from anyone, male or female.

Well, it's not like you can't care about various issues that effect women. Reducing opposition to the "She was asking for it the way she was dressed" mentality to "So, whilst you "feminists" are bleating on about the right to dress like a slapper" - really? Opposition to this is completely different to the nonsense Louise O'Neill and Una Mullally come out with. But I do appreciate your above examples - so often one hears about the lenience going the way of women so those examples are interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

My understanding of a slapper is someone who's overtly promiscuous, and wants everyone to know it. The gay equivalent is someone who's overtly camp and in your face about it. And he male equivalent is someone who overtly thinks he's a "hard man", and goes around letting everyone know what he thinks of himself.

Not desirable traits from anyone, male or female.

In that case if dress in a revealing or sexy way, will people assume I want to let people know I put out? Does it signify that I've been around a bit? This isn't making sense to me.
    How can someone dress like a slapper? Fair enough if they're wearing a miniskirt and fishnet stockings at a Christening. Most outfits you'd see in a nightclub are revealing. Presumably nobody thinks the wearers look like slappers?
    I might dress up for my other half when we go out..should I cover up in case I unintentionally send a message to people when I go out in public?

In your other two examples the men are usually judged as such based on their behaviour and manner of speaking as much if not more than on their clothing. And the impressions formed are different-camp man is seen as effeminate and dramatic, the hard man is seen as aggressive and obnoxious, but the woman looks like she is indiscriminate about who and how often she has sex with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭cookiexx

The whole #shouldergate thing seemed so intentionally provocative and she tweeted so much about it and got a sly little article about it - as if she was absolutely thrilled to be able to cash in further on the documentary.

That's what annoys me the most about Louise. It's all about HER and how others react to HER and her sitting staring pensively into the distance in the courtroom and crying in the bar in her programme - it just bangs of attention-seeking narcissism and disingenuousness far more than any intention to raise awareness of real issues and do any good.

I believe there's a need for feminism and for calm, sober discussion of issues that still exist in this day and age - the public and legal response to rape and sexual assault allegations being pretty high up on the list - but twitter-ranting and finger-pointing and "what about me"-ing your way through public discourse is not the way of going about it. It breeds contempt and hatred as opposed to intelligent debate and cooperation.

And there are certain unmentionables that are blown out of proportion and made to be political issues when in reality they are just part and parcel of being a woman. If you wear skimpy clothing and off-the-shoulder tops and short skirts and knee-high boots you WILL get more male attention, often of the unsavoury kind - welcome to womanhood. "I just love fashion...I'll wear what I want" are good and well but I wouldn't rock up to work like that because it's not professional and attracts more attention to my appearance than my competence as an employee - a certain amount of self-awareness never goes astray like. Does it mean I deserve to be sexually assaulted? No. But that's not been my experience of dressing that way. I just wouldn't do it in a professional setting where I wanted to be taken seriously, that's all.

In that case if dress in a revealing or sexy way, will people assume I want to let people know I put out? Does it signify that I've been around a bit?

I hate to be the one to break it to ya, but.......:pac:

Fair enough if they're wearing a miniskirt and fishnet stockings at a Christening. Most outfits you'd see in a nightclub are revealing. Presumably nobody thinks the wearers look like slappers?

In fairness, most young wans you'd meet in nightclubs would be on the pull themselves, and have indeed been around!

I jest, of course! It all depends on the degree to which the revealing items are worn. If they're classy and feminine, grand. But as you say, fishnets and a miniskirt, well lets just say there's a reason your dad will say "YOU'RE NOT GOING OUT DRESSED LIKE THAT!!!"

In your other two examples the men are usually judged as such based on their behaviour and manner of speaking as much if not more than on their clothing. And the impressions formed are different-camp man is seen as effeminate and dramatic, the hard man is seen as aggressive and obnoxious, but the woman looks like she is indiscriminate about who and how often she has sex with.

I am convinced women dont know the power they have over men. The hormone that makes you horny (for both men AND women) is testosterone. Now ladies, imagine the horniest you've ever been. In your entire life. Think of the lengths you wouldve gone to to satisfy that urge. And you only produce about one thousandth of the amount of testosterone a man produces.

Now imagine having that feeling 24/7, 365. Imagine the level of testosterone it takes to make hair spring out from your face. THAT is what it feels like to be a man. The horniest you've ever been is about the same level of horniess your 12 year old son feels when you bend down to kiss him goodnight and he sees your bra.

So ladies, impressions are important. Men are supposed to be manly, but real men can control it. A low caliber man is Ryan Tubrity - looks weak, meek personality, but ok. More like a pet. A good calibre man would be a GAA All-Ireland type man / Jason Statham. A gone-too-far-with-the-manliness is Conor McGregor - all mouth, all show, no integrity, obvious the self-esteem is zero.

The same goes for women. Women are supposed to be feminine / sexy. A weakly feminine / sexy woman (in my eyes) would be Louise O'Neill - nothing wrong with her looks, but she'd absolutely melt your head. Thats not sexy. A good fem / sexy woman would be Grainne Seoige - looks great, confident, friendly. And a gone-waaay-into-slapper-territory would be Madonna. Again, you'd just know she had self-esteem issues in there somewhere.

So to wrap up my rant: If I was minding my own business, keeping my manliness in check as is my responsibility to do, and I saw an obnoxious, loudmouthed, tattoo covered "hard man" throwing his weight around to make himself feel big, I'd think "what a knob-head". Now lets say someone decks him, you'd think "he was asking for it", wouldn't you! Of course nobody deserves that, but you could definitely understand how it happened.

I'm not excusing rapists whatsoever, but the same applies to women. You own the outward image you convey. Of course you have every right to dress how you want, but please apply some common sense. Do so armed with the knowledge that men are turned on by you, to an intensity you will never be able to understand - and that some bad men will forcibly act on their urges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Stoogie

In fairness, most young wans you'd meet in nightclubs would be on the pull themselves, and have indeed been around!

I jest, of course! It all depends on the degree to which the revealing items are worn. If they're classy and feminine, grand. But as you say, fishnets and a miniskirt, well lets just say there's a reason your dad will say "YOU'RE NOT GOING OUT DRESSED LIKE THAT!!!"

I am convinced women dont know the power they have over men. The hormone that makes you horny (for both men AND women) is testosterone. Now ladies, imagine the horniest you've ever been. In your entire life. Think of the lengths you wouldve gone to to satisfy that urge. And you only produce about one thousandth of the amount of testosterone a man produces.

Now imagine having that feeling 24/7, 365. Imagine the level of testosterone it takes to make hair spring out from your face. THAT is what it feels like to be a man. The horniest you've ever been is about the same level of horniess your 12 year old son feels when you bend down to kiss him goodnight and he sees your bra.

So ladies, impressions are important. Men are supposed to be manly, but real men can control it. A low caliber man is Ryan Tubrity - looks weak, meek personality, but ok. More like a pet. A good calibre man would be a GAA All-Ireland type man / Jason Statham. A gone-too-far-with-the-manliness is Conor McGregor - all mouth, all show, no integrity, obvious the self-esteem is zero.

The same goes for women. Women are supposed to be feminine / sexy. A weakly feminine / sexy woman (in my eyes) would be Louise O'Neill - nothing wrong with her looks, but she'd absolutely melt your head. Thats not sexy. A good fem / sexy woman would be Grainne Seoige - looks great, confident, friendly. And a gone-waaay-into-slapper-territory would be Madonna. Again, you'd just know she had self-esteem issues in there somewhere.

So to wrap up my rant: If I was minding my own business, keeping my manliness in check as is my responsibility to do, and I saw an obnoxious, loudmouthed, tattoo covered "hard man" throwing his weight around to make himself feel big, I'd think "what a knob-head". Now lets say someone decks him, you'd think "he was asking for it", wouldn't you! Of course nobody deserves that, but you could definitely understand how it happened.

I'm not excusing rapists whatsoever, but the same applies to women. You own the outward image you convey. Of course you have every right to dress how you want, but please apply some common sense. Do so armed with the knowledge that men are turned on by you, to an intensity you will never be able to understand - and that some bad men will forcibly act on their urges.

This is a very very strange post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Now imagine having that feeling 24/7, 365. Imagine the level of testosterone it takes to make hair spring out from your face. THAT is what it feels like to be a man.

I don't agree with hat at all.
    The horniest you've ever been is about the same level of horniess your 12 year old son feels when you bend down to kiss him goodnight and he sees your bra.

What the f**k am i after reading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Slapper is such a great word isnt it ? It says so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Was this woman raped,or is she just making a career out of talking about rape?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

There is so much wrong with that post I have no idea where to start. So, best to just leave it at I strongly disagree with all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Holland Helpful Pita

Johngoose wrote: »
    Was this woman raped,or is she just making a career out of talking about rape?

As far as I can remember from an interview/her articles, I believe she was groped on the street as a teenager and she has suffered anorexia/bulimia (again from her piece on the examiner) she had a book on the topic "Asking for it"....From a few female friends who have read it, they say its actually a good book but her writings for the Examiner according to them are dire....I believe she's either deluded with her opinions to white males or she's a troll trying to cash in on book sales.....all ive read are her articles now and she comes off as a victim and needs attention

Edit:http://www.independent.ie/style/celebrity/celebrity-features/asking-for-answers-author-louise-oneill-on-her-own-sexual-experiences-35170619.html heres the article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Yes you are. Your whole post is one of the most ridiculous posts I've but that last paragraph has to be the most stupidest and idiotic statements! You also own an outward image and this paragraph conveys you as an asshole!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

The hormone that...
    ....about the same level of horniess your 12 year old son feels when you bend down to kiss him goodnight and he sees your bra.

A low caliber man is ...

So to wrap up my rant
    And a rant indeed it is. Serious question: how old are you?

I don't mean to insult, or do you injustice, but I'm guessing teens??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Zulu wrote: »
    And a rant indeed it is. Serious question: how old are you?

I don't mean to insult, or do you injustice, but I'm guessing teens??

I'm guessing 13 as the 12 yr old (really sick) memory seems very fresh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

What. In. The. Actual. Fuck…