Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

So? :eek: I mean, she's a right eejit but what she wears should not warrant comment. And from a female point of view, that is a bogstandard, currently-fashionable top that wouldn't even justify a second glance from me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Who thinks that it is? :confused: The 'woman's body' bit means it's a woman's body and she can choose whether or not that body can be used to support a growing fetus.

The people who say "my body, my choice" do. If the baby is considered a seperate body, why not treat it with equal rights? You could remove it to an incubator, or place it in a test tube if she's too small? All these things are possible, they do it with cattle for feck sake.

But nah, only killing it by dismemberment will do.

The people who say "my body, my choice" do.

I say that, I don't. I am one of those people. I know what I mean when I say it.

Also, move the foetus to an incubator? :eek: You can only do that very close to a the birth time. Even at six months, which has been survivable, no doctor would by choose remove the foetus. The longer in the womb, the better.

I say that, I don't. I am one of those people. I know what I mean when I say it.

Also, move the foetus to an incubator? :eek: You can only do that very close to a the birth time. Even at six months, which has been survivable, no doctor would by choose remove the foetus. The longer in the womb, the better.

I agree. But you cant have it both ways. I know a woman who was born at 21 weeks, not a bother on her now. You cant say "my body, my choice", and then say that the notion of helping the baby to survive in an incubator is silly. Why does the outcome always have to be "kill the baby"?

I think most people would agree that once the foetus can survive, it's too late. The foetus can survive, it's just the foetus will have a better chance to survive within the womb. It's an not a clear cut situation. There are caveats with any situation. But most people would just advocate early stage abortions and at that stage, the choice refers to the choice to abort if the woman doesn't want to continue with the pregnancy. At that stage, it's not known if the foetus will be brought to term anyway. But if a woman is seven months pregnant, you can be pretty sure there will be a birth.

I'm sorry, but that has to be the most convoluted, off-point answer I have come across yet. We already have legal abortion for medical reasons, including mental health reasons. We also already have equality for the mother and child, ie they are treated as two separate patients. So if the 8th is repealed, we basically would have abortion on demand.
    the choice refers to the choice to abort if the woman doesn't want to continue with the pregnancy.

So dont continue with it then! Terminate the pregnancy by delivering the baby live, and let it live its life! If it doesnt survive, its sad, but so be it! Why do (some) pro-choicers always want to just "kill the baby"? Why is that always the only acceptable option?

And how can Louise ONeill, who deluded as she is, thinks she's championing the downtrodden and weak, honestly believe full-term abortion is ok? How???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

So? :eek: I mean, she's a right eejit but what she wears should not warrant comment. And from a female point of view, that is a bogstandard, currently-fashionable top that wouldn't even justify a second glance from me.

That's a nice top, shouldn't attract any attention whether it's worn by a man or a wonan.

In the Examiner she bemoans the fact that she's had a lifetime of being told to cover up.

And has been variously groped and told to cover up.

Seems she wants to be able to go around in her nude just to be offended by the reaction, whatever it is.

Naive.

Last night on Ray Darcy, the Tinder thing, if the sexes had been reversed there would have been uproar.

Offended ladies everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

That's a nice top, shouldn't attract any attention whether it's worn by a man or a wonan.

In the Examiner she bemoans the fact that she's had a lifetime of being told to cover up.

And has been variously groped and told to cover up.

Seems she wants to be able to go around in her nude just to be offended by the reaction, whatever it is.

Naive.

Last night on Ray Darcy, the Tinder thing, if the sexes had been reversed there would have been uproar.

Offended ladies everywhere.

Tinder thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Every bloody day this same point has to be made to the pro-choice. It's like talking to a fcuking wall.
    The 'woman's body' bit means it's a woman's body and she can choose whether or not that body can be used to support a growing fetus.

In order for a woman to stop "incubating" a fetus she must procure an abortion and if she does that a developing human being will have to be killed.... and so how the hell could a woman "choosing" to no longer "incubate" a fetus ever be aptly described, or even honestly described, as a woman merely doing something to "her body"? Evidently it could not, given that another human being's life is ended and their body destroyed by the act.

Every bloody day this same point has to be made to the pro-choice. It's like talking to a fcuking wall.

Perhaps that's because the point makes no sense?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

My stance on abortion has changed throughout my life, it is a controversial topic.

When I was young as I was anti abortion, partly to not having much life experience, my own opinions, and anti abortion videos shown at school.

The older I've gotten, the more I see abortion as humane. When you see a few young mothers with babies in circumstances where that baby is never going to to have a good life with enough love, care, support and materialistic goods, and the mother is no way able to care for the child, I see abortion as the humane option all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

My stance on abortion has changed throughout my life, it is a controversial topic.

When I was young as I was anti abortion, partly to not having much life experience, my own opinions, and anti abortion videos shown at school.

The older I've gotten, the more I see abortion as humane. When you see a few young mothers with babies in circumstances where that baby is never going to to have a good life with enough love, care, support and materialistic goods, and the mother is no way able to care for the child, I see abortion as the humane option all round.

Humane according to what standards of life, Irelands? Many, many swathes of the world do not have the same standard of life.. should whole countries be aborted? How about 'retrospective' abortion if the child isn't getting enough love, care, support and iphones.

What is enough love, care or support? How do you define that? The answer to that problem, isn't to abort the baby before it's born, but to actually place the baby/child in a better environment where they are more likely to get all of the above. We're talking about humans, not pets.

IMO, you can only talk about humane where the child is going to suffer pain due to a debilitating condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

I don't know why some of you have been going on about abortion for days, but this is clearly not what the thread is about. Please get back on topic.

There is a Repeal The Eighth thread here which is a catch-all thread for abortion discussion.

We are the in the tiny minority of countries in Europe that don't allow abortion. I think those other countries have figured out that we are humans, not pets.

Just saw your post NC.

You know when a woman has an opinion, and a flurry of people come forward to say she is deluded and crazy , it says to me that those people are afraid and are trying to discredit someone.

Are there any feminists that you do like?

I saw all the vile abuse spewed towards Louise O Neill on here,( can she sue by the way, there are precedents of people in the media suing due to derogatory comments on forums) and I went to read her articles and they're completely harmless. Its just a woman having an opinion. Some of you guys should be ashamed if this is bow you react to a woman having an opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

Woman here - Louise O'Neill is the worst kind of feminist.

Does NOT speak for me.

Incidentally, top episode of Law and Order: SVU, young chap was drunk, hit on by young drunk girl.

Shenanigans ensue and being pissed she passes out halfway through. Young chap does a 2 stretch and the SJWs outside want him lynched by the dangly bits. He was expected to stop in half a second!!! You don't want to have sex with someone, don't ask them, snog them and then start getting their kecks off!

Yeah only a TV show ? Tell Ched Evans that.

I'm all for equality but that's not what some women want.

They want to be equal but when half cut want the blokes to behave like Knights of the Round Table - "be a gentleman".

Grow up.

We are the in the tiny minority of countries in Europe that don't allow abortion. I think those other countries have figured out that we are humans, not pets.

Given the case of the brain dead woman kept on a machine merely cos of the bag of cells in her, I think we're seen as some kind of incubator only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I saw all the vile abuse spewed towards Louise O Neill on here,( can she sue by the way, there are precedents of people in the media suing due to derogatory comments on forums) and I went to read her articles and they're completely harmless. Its just a woman having an opinion. Some of you guys should be ashamed if this is bow you react to a woman having an opinion.

We are just women and men having an opinion. She expresses hers in her column..we expressed our opinion of her column here.

You may not have realised, but up until last week.. Louise O'Neill's twitter description stated she was a misandrist (albeit depending on the day) in her own words. Can't say I've seen any vile abusive myself, maybe I've missed it.

Her opinion and many of them, are severely misguided.. not least that all alleged victims of sexual abuse shouldn't be questioned.. (how exactly do you find out who potentially abused them or any other important details is beyond me). I don't think any of us have any problems with feminists expressing valid opinions, but this particular one seems to have serious deep rooted issues with men and likes to put us all into the same bucket, i.e. potential rapists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

People here were attacking her opinions, not attacking her for having an opinion. Massive difference.

It doesn't matter if someone is a feminist, nuclear physicist, waiter or politician; if somebody has an opinion and expresses it publicly, the opinion is fair game to be discusses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Louise is back on social media this morning after her detox. Welcome back.

Jesus her just after Katie Hopkins on Friday ?

Rather have the Tans back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

Ah THE BEST ever internet argument.... She is allowed have an opinion, shame on all of you for having an opinion on the person who is allowed have an opinion!

Yes her articles are harmless of course but if you deny that each of them have a certain specific (I hate men) tone running through all of them then I don't think you're actually reading them. But again, that's OK! Her opinion is allowed, as is ours....

How many egg shells have I walked on so far?

Mod:

I don't know why some of you have been going on about abortion for days, but this is clearly not what the thread is about.

Well its one of Louise's pet topics. Hating men comes first, killing babies next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Sometimes midlandsmissus, I really want to value and respect your posts.

In the past you have made valid points which should generally be accepted.

But too often you have a habit of coming out with awful stuff like this.

It is possible to be a feminist, like myself, and not agree with everything people like Louise O'Neill says.
    She is allowed to have an opinion, but people are equally allowed to call those opinions wrong or just plain nonsense.

It's not an attack on women, it's not sexism. It's just a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,307 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its people like you that has Donald Trump where he is.

People cant express opinion. Most has been trying to have a debate. Just cause they dont agree does not mean they are all "vile" comments

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Good Lord.
    "It's her opinion you guys, she's allowed express it without it being attacked"
    "She should sue you all for expressing your opinions"

You know, instead of whining about perceived grievances and inequality, I really wish the likes of Mulally and O'Brien would cop the f**k on about ACTUAL inequality.

Eamon Lillis - staves in the wife's head with a brick, gets 6 years and inherits from same wife
    Brian Hennessy - raped woman, left her and two children to die in a fire on Christmas Day - seven years in jail and due out soon.

Meanwhile Catherine Nevin has done (so far) 16 years and will likely die in jail
    The Mulhall sisters - still in jail after what ? 10 years ? For helping dispose of the body of a rapist ???

Plus both - and others - given stupid nicknames by the papers to further demonise them.

Yeah murder deserves a stretch of AT LEAST 15-20 years. But to give someone 6 and they can inherit whilst someone who didn't even carry out the killing gets 15 ? Something else other than justice is going on here.

So, whilst you "feminists" are bleating on about the right to dress like a slapper, give someone a lapdance in public and THEN act like the victim - actual injustices are being carried out on women.

You know, instead of whining about perceived grievances and inequality, I really wish the likes of Mulally and O'Brien would cop the f**k on about ACTUAL inequality.

Eamon Lillis - staves in the wife's head with a brick, gets 6 years and inherits from same wife
    Brian Hennessy - raped woman, left her and two children to die in a fire on Christmas Day - seven years in jail and due out soon.

Meanwhile Catherine Nevin has done (so far) 16 years and will likely die in jail
    The Mulhall sisters - still in jail after what ? 10 years ? For helping dispose of the body of a rapist ???

Plus both - and others - given stupid nicknames by the papers to further demonise them.

Yeah murder deserves a stretch of AT LEAST 15-20 years. But to give someone 6 and they can inherit whilst someone who didn't even carry out the killing gets 15 ? Something else other than justice is going on here.

So, whilst you "feminists" are bleating on about the right to dress like a slapper, give someone a lapdance in public and THEN act like the victim - actual injustices are being carried out on women.

Agree with all of the above, but the papers do love giving out nicknames to all criminals they can. Think of the Monk, The Viper, The General. 'The Penguin' was even used for one of them years ago.