Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

... It may well have been in his financial interest to be there...just sayin:)
    Wash yer mouth out, caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭morebarn2

Yes, it was called "remembering The Child ", a Night of Remembering and Re-imagining in memory of the children who died in 1916. In Carlow Cathedral.

On Drivetime, on Friday,Mary Wilson was doing a round-up of events around the country with her correspondent, and they spoke about it. Was just thinking to myself " sounds like a Joe event " !

Then she had to give the old plug, of course, saying that some of their RTE colleagues were involved, mentioning Joe, and the choir conductor, and saying that he would be doing readings.

The circle jerk continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I would think that, at this stage, even the hardened RTE staffers must be a bit tired of the continual plugging that certain people are doing, when there's something much more interesting to talk about, like the moss on the wall, or the slates on the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

morebarn2 wrote: »
    Yes, it was called "remembering The Child ", a Night of Remembering and Re-imagining in memory of the children who died in 1916. In Carlow Cathedral.

On Drivetime, on Friday,Mary Wilson was doing a round-up of events around the country with her correspondent, and they spoke about it. Was just thinking to myself " sounds like a Joe event " !

Then she had to give the old plug, of course, saying that some of their RTE colleagues were involved, mentioning Joe, and the choir conductor, and saying that he would be doing readings.

The circle jerk continues.
    That's where I heard it..:P

The circle jerk continues....
    So to speak !:) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No, it seems Joe left Dublin for the evening to go to watch a choir in Carlow. Can't be expected to be hosting todays show after such an expedition.

The second I saw this post I assumed he went there for a few reasons:
    1. To stroke his ego by lending (in his own eyes) some celebrity gravitas to the evening's proceedings
    2. To sell de buke for cash at the stall again
    3. To accumulate expenses via mileage there and back to write off against tax
    4. To likely stay in Monart on the night before or the night of the event (or both), again for expenses to be written off against tax
    5. To have his ego stroked by de ordinary peeple who'd ask him for photos and autographs and dat, and to tell him how "wunderful, fantastic" his buke is

There is a depth to his shallowness.

The circle jerk continues....
    So to speak !:) :)

RTE STUDIO 2 WEBCAM:
    RiqCK.jpg

ThisRegard wrote: »
    From what I've been hearing on the other wireless stations this morning it seems like half the population of Dub-a-lib were almost kilted at the Christmas lights things over the weekend.

What kind of superhere rescues a lone woman who got stuck behind a fence at the expense at thousands of others?

Anyway, I'll calling the Christmas Light Lunacy as a topic for today, even odds really though as I'd imagine Duffy was in the VIP section looking with fear at the proles getting crushed.

Edit: No, it seems Joe left Dublin for the evening to go to watch a choir in Carlow. Can't be expected to be hosting todays show after such an expedition.

Bingo...

Robert Vaughan died says Ronan

"Well done" was duffys reply.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,555 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Today...
    Becoming a mother at 50, some woman missing something from the birth that she wants to ring national radio to track down.
    Diagnosis For Dollars, kids getting diagnosed with ADHD, I am presuming this is for a grant or free house or something.
    Grafton Street Christmas lights getting turned on and there being too many people at the even so to speak.
    Pal Mar Ian Church Pope was in Ireland yesterday, Joes favourite topic on his Clontarf neighbours so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The palamoninoin pope was in rush and lusk yesterday saying a mass for all the Irish pamonimoins so expect a full show on the fooking panamalarians. with the grafton street lights getting a small mention because nobody was killed so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Ronan Collins: "Robert Vaughan died at the weekend".
    Joe Duffy: "Oh, well done, well done"

(slightly abridged version)

Ronan then plays the theme to the Magnificent Seven, fair play to him. I can now look across the office and imagine the heads bowed down as those of the dastardly Calvera and his gang.

The second I saw this post I assumed he went there for a few reasons:
    1. To stroke his ego by lending (in his own eyes) some celebrity gravitas to the evening's proceedings
    2. To sell de buke for cash at the stall again
    3. To accumulate expenses via mileage there and back to write off against tax
    4. To likely stay in Monart on the night before or the night of the event (or both), again for expenses to be written off against tax
    5. To have his ego stroked by de ordinary peeple who'd ask him for photos and autographs and dat, and to tell him how "wunderful, fantastic" his buke is

There is a depth to his shallowness.

And just probably just happened to the a few gazillion copies of the said buke in the trunk of his chariot!

Joe Duffy hailed hero after rushing to help trapped woman in Clontarf

• 10:42, 13 Nov 2016
    • By Laura Lyne

The Liveline presenter was on a late night walk when he heard a woman calling out for help

Gareth Chaney, Collins 90340203.jpg
    Broadcaster Joe Duffy as part of a Big Day out in Dublin for Chernobyl Children International hosted by Citysightseeing Dublin at Parnell Square Joe Duffy has been hailed a hero in his local community 1 of Clontarf after rushing to help a woman that was trapped.
    The Liveline host, 60, rushed to help a woman that was trapped behind a road block fence while he was out for a night-time stroll.
    It happened on Clontarf's coast road, which is currently undergoing construction as a €5 million project linking the Dublin Bay cycle path from Sutton to Sandycove is underway.

According to locals, it has been causing huge delays and diversions for both drivers and pedestrians.
    A source told the Irish Sun: 2 "The road there is like a maze with construction, and this lady somehow found herself trapped in behind big fencing.
    "Joe heard her cries and went over. She shouted out something to the effect she had gone down some other route and couldn't find her way out.
    "While it was clearly a distressing situation, it must have been funny on some level, seeing Joe Duffy pull apart fencing to free a damsel in distress," they said.
    "It was made for him to say 'Walk to Joe'. 3

He's being talked about in the area even more so than usual now after that, everyone is saying he's a hero!" 4

QUESTIONS:
    1. By whom? Please name one person who said this.

2. Who is this source? There is none. You made it up.
    3. No-one said that. This is The Sun, that's the BS type of pun you write. As a fan of puns himself, it was probably Joe, wasn't it?
    4. Again, name just one person who is saying this.

It would not shock me in the least to find out he rang this story in himself. He's such a narcissist.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The palamoninoin pope was in rush and lusk yesterday saying a mass for all the Irish pamonimoins so expect a full show on the fooking panamalarians. with the grafton street lights getting a small mention because nobody was killed so to speak.

Joe: Wat colour were de lights?

Becoming a mother at 50, some woman missing something from the birth that she wants to ring national radio to track down

She left the baby down and can't remember where :)

Cries for help!. She was hardly fukin drowning now was she. Probably pissed more like. How come nobody else wound up there. I call fix...

Diagnosis For Dollars, kids getting diagnosed with ADHD, I am presuming this is for a grant or free house or something.

My cousin is a SNA teacher, she has been since 2005. She said the amount of kids diagnosed with ADHD over the past 5 years is unreal and they've all been diagnosed by a doctor who is in a town 70km away. Go figure.

She has the same resources and the same time to deal with 20 kids as she had with 3-5 kids a decade ago. Kids are from all social classes, not just the lower ones. Vast majority of them have no ADHD, they're just brats who have been badly raised. Of course they're all on some pills and the parents still fill them full of crap food (non processed food can help 1 in 3 kids with ADHD.

I've no idea who would willingly put their kids on some kind of fcuking tablets just to save themselves the trouble of doing extra homework with the kids in the evening. The problem is that they're only dragging the kids down and the whole sham tends to come crashing down once they hit secondary school.

FWIW I've one friend who has a kid with ADHD and her heart is broken with him, severe ADHD is a massive burden on those parents whose kids do have it. As my cousin said, you can tell who has ADHD by the state of the parents on a Monday morning.

Senator Mark Daly on Newstalk now saying that Trump isn't worried about the "Undocumented Irish", only "Illegal immigrants". It's great being Irish isn't it? Different rules apply to us*!

*except in Brazil as Pat Hickey found out.

Red Kev wrote: »
    My cousin is a SNA teacher, she has been since 2005. She said the amount of kids diagnosed with ADHD over the past 5 years is unreal and they've all been diagnosed by a doctor who is in a town 70km away. Go figure.

She has the same resources and the same time to deal with 20 kids as she had with 3-5 kids a decade ago. Kids are from all social classes, not just the lower ones. Vast majority of them have no ADHD, they're just brats who have been badly raised. Of course they're all on some pills and the parents still fill them full of crap food (non processed food can help 1 in 3 kids with ADHD.

I've no idea who would willingly put their kids on some kind of fcuking tablets just to save themselves the trouble of doing extra homework with the kids in the evening. The problem is that they're only dragging the kids down and the whole sham tends to come crashing down once they hit secondary school.

FWIW I've one friend who has a kid with ADHD and her heart is broken with him, severe ADHD is a massive burden on those parents whose kids do have it. As my cousin said, you can tell who has ADHD by the state of the parents on a Monday morning.

PLEASE BE A FORDEN DOCTOR (who isn't white!)! Then we will have LAHV LAHN GOLD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,555 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Whoy does the paper not have any pictures of the road block fence? Surely it should be on the front page to warn others who might be trapped for weeks or months before de Christmas so to speak. Whoy is the HSA not now investigating the area and shutting the workplace down if it was so dangerous that a "hero rescue" was performed?

Senator Mark Daly on Newstalk now saying that Trump isn't worried about the "Undocumented Irish", only "Illegal immigrants". It's great being Irish isn't it? Different rules apply to us*!

*except in Brazil as Pat Hickey found out.

Ehhh... that's the INNOCENT, ABUSED AND BADLY MISTREATED Pat Hickey to you caller.

Less of your oul guff that he should be treated like anybody else.

Whoy does the paper not have any pictures of the road block fence? Surely it should be on the front page to warn others who might be trapped for weeks or months before de Christmas so to speak. Whoy is the HSA not now investigating the area and shutting the workplace down if it was so dangerous that a "hero rescue" was performed?

I pass it regularly. It's about as dangerous as leaving the immersion on. That story could not be more exaggerated unless Bertie Ahern was describing it. There are signs EVERYWHERE. Unless the auld dear had dementia and was blind, I honestly do not know how this happened as is being claimed.

The photo in Joe's Weekly Column a few pages back is not that different from parts of it.

From the news:

Catherine Zapone: we're preparing a motion to accept the motion.

Ah great, new politics? Meetings about meetings.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Ehhh... that's the INNOCENT, ABUSED AND BADLY MISTREATED Pat Hickey to you caller.

Less of your oul guff that he should be treated like anybody else.

I was deeply saddened to hear of his sudden demise. Only a few days earlier he was a very fit young man according to Joe. Though I can understand the shock of having to move from his €900 a night suite to a shared prison cell might have been traumatic for a man accustomed to 5 star treatment like Joe Pat.

There's a taxi driver on Hook now who's making the usual taxi drivers on Lahv Lahn sound like David Norris.

Oh Jesus, he's talking about a compulsory English exam. I think he's confusing Dubalinese with English........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

do you hear this yank:eek:

No, is he on www.newstalkzb.co.nz/?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

More Trump bashing today ?

That is sooo last week.