Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Song count: six

Joe: You were just behind him in the charts.
    Declan: I just said that as a joke Joe.
    ?????????
    Neck and neck apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Am I alone in thinking LC was a pain in the hole ?

Probably not, but revealing a generation gap. He's the soundtrack of many a bedsit in the 70s and 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Pure and utter dross....... A 13 year old could pen as good

Am I the only one imaging Joe singing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Dutchie

Never have i heard such an amount of pious, self-indulgent, naval-gazing squeezed into 40mins.
    I don't see what the big attraction of LC was.

Bowie on the other hand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

This is like when you were told to write poems when you were in 6th class and you have to sit there and listen to each and every one of your classmates "poems", each one outdoing each other for utter shoyteness so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Probably not, but revealing a generation gap. He's the soundtrack of many a bedsit in the 70s and 80s.

Grim, grainy, cracked lino
    Miserable 40W bulb
    Cast grudging shadows
    Into the corners
    Cohen on the cassette player
    Slowly winding down with batteries dying
    Just like him
    Nobody knows the difference

It's not even 1430 yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

You're starting to make me feel guilty for liking LC and his music/poetry.

Dutchie wrote: »
    Never have i heard such an amount of pious, self-indulgent, naval-gazing squeezed into 40mins.

You should be here when Joe's discussing his buke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Was just about to post that.

Not the UK Charts, anyway.

http://www.officialcharts.com/artist/2600/leonard-cohen/

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Grim, grainy, cracked lino
    Miserable 40W bulb
    Cast grudging shadows
    Into the corners
    Cohen on the cassette player
    Slowly winding down with batteries dying
    Just like him
    Nobody knows the difference
    FoiveOneDoubleFoiveOne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,793 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

So long Marion?

Was she sacked Joe?

snubbleste wrote: »
    It's not even 1430 yet!

In many parts, it's not even 1950!

This is definitely a contender for Wurst Show of De Year.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    In many parts, it's not even 1950!
    Well done, well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

This is like when you were told to write poems when you were in 6th class and you have to sit there and listen to each and every one of your classmates "poems", each one outdoing each other for utter shoyteness so to speak.

Not exactly the artsy type are you? I'd say MichaelD would be phoning in soon with some ditty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Oddly his most upbeat song was the one about his dead friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Bad or worse than Friday friday.

Not exactly the artsy type are you? I'd say MichaelD would be phoning in soon with some ditty :)

You should read my factional weekly column and den decide says I so to speak......

Declan is cringe.
    He has talent but he always messes up a good line with mawkish sentimentality, and that nauseating tone of his.

I don't see any connection between him and Cohen. Why was he on?
    I'm 29 and LC was well worn out in the lovesick bedsits of my generation too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

I have an original EIGHT TRACK STEREO tape of The Leonard's songs from the 70's. Probably worth a fortune now.

The Big Ice Cream Cohen, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Ah here lads just tuned in, this show is worse than the palmolive brigade that were on a few months back, ffs!!!

PRTB? Feck right off. I'm still waiting for a hearing date for a case I started over 3 years ago against a tennant.

OF ALL THE QUANGOS YOU ARE THE MOST USELESS ONE - AND THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭iamnotme

Stalker.

I stalked him, Joe

WELL DONE STALKER WELL DONE