Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Here's the big secret to how he got elected: 49.2% of the population didn't vote. Clinton won the popular vote, but the electoral college - an establishment set up to stop this very event from happening - failed, mostly due to the fact that the states can be redistributed by whoever is in power...in this case it was the Republican party. On top of that, the people who wanted to vote Sanders lost the plot and decided Hillary was the worst, most corrupt person ever, because of emails that didn't matter in the end. The head of the FBI unlawfully released more emails a week before the election (a law states that this can't happen within 60 days of the election) and a number of black voter registrations were raided by Trump's running mate Pence, who used 'voter fraud' as a reason...one which was totally and completely false. While some of those were restored, there's still an issue of black voters being turned away despite having their cards. The media treated Trump like a serious candidate despite his damning opinions on hispanics, blacks and women, but that doesn't matter because the overall votes that won him the election were from white people, and there were large numbers of white women who voted for him too. Let that sink in. Mix that in with whiny voter-apathy and a total lack of education, along with Fox News propaganda and other media outlets failing to fact-check Trump, and you had a smorgasbord of impossible odd that Hillary was facing. Add to that that she's a woman, and America is still fiercely in the grip of all the -isms you can imagine, and you basically have a roadmap to how an unstable moldy tangerine managed to pull this off, despite a lack of qualifications.

Trump isn't anti-establishment; he's a failed businessman who made his wealth by declaring bankruptcy multiple times, putting thousands of working-class people out of work. He thrives from the establishment, and his only advantage was the KKK and white supremacist movement that backed him, with people literally standing outside of polling stations, armed with rifles to intimidate voters. He's the epitome of the toxic man, he appeals not to the angry 'forgotten' people of America, but to idiots, racists, sexists and xenophobes, who'd rather side with Putin's Russia than work to achieve a better country, which Obama was doing successfully.

For those who don't think it'll effect Ireland; he plans to abolish the J1 program for colleges, so Irish students will have even less of an ability to get employment and experience. But sure, they're only the youth, who cares about them? Not to mention the fact that when he lowers corporate tax, Irish-based companies will jump ship, as they always do, to a cheaper prospect.

End of the day, I still maintain that the enemies of progress are those in the 35 to old age voting demographic of any nation. Doesn't matter that baby boomers wrecked the economy, when they want things to regress, they'll mobilize in droves, while apathetic non-voters and third party 'protesters' will add to the issue. While I'm not saying all 35+ year olds are conservative nightmares, the fact is that if you are a liberal at that age, you're surrounded by the conservative sharks who see progression as chum. The issue now is that Americans have to be mindful of white voters and 'edgy' protesters who use the right to vote as a means of being rebellious, despite the effect their actions can have on everyone else. Much like Brexit, where people felt 'disenfranchised' and pissed away their votes, bad things can happen when you don't step up, due to selfish pride.

There's a lot of fear going around because Trump's conservative party consists of a VP who believes he can electroshock 'the gay' out of teens, the call for mass Muslim deportation and calling hispanics rapists, and black people 'thugs', and the fact that today, the KKK were literally walking around in full conehead garb. Women are being sexually assaulted by psychotics who feel empowered by Trump's presidency, taking to heart his 'grab her by the p*ssy' comments. Five trans teens, upon hearing the election outcome, died by suicide because they felt hopeless, given the bathroom bills all but assured to come into effect in the future. Trans-only suicide hotlines have been set up too. How messed up is that?

This makes me fear for Ireland's future, given how parties like the AAA are sitting in their smug sense of satisfaction, saying Bernie Sanders was the right choice (he's Jewish, he wouldn't have won) and lauding the benefits of socialism...despite the fact that Ireland voted in two parties they wanted deposed in two subsequent elections. We're being led by the least among us, and if we're going to be competitive and considered better than America (the bar is pretty low now) we need to take the one-two craphouse of Brexit and Trump as a warning here. I hope we do, I doubt we will, but today is a bad day for everyone.

You're right for the most part. The election says more about Clinton that it does Trump:

Obama 2008: 69,498,516
    Obama 2012: 65,915,795
    Clinton 2016: 59,861,516

McCain 2008: 59,948,323
    Romney 2012: 60,933,504
    Trump: 2016: 59,639,462

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭Infini

learn_more wrote: »
    This election was wrapped up when Trump won the nomination. Sadly to say. I'm not sure if Bernie would have done any better.

I never got the hate for Hillary. I've always quite liked her but of course I know her problems were more than likeability.

Her concession speech was probably the best speech I ever saw her make. It's a pity she's wasn't equipped with talent for speeches and philosophical one liners, where she had to borrow of Michele Obama.

I think she's as genuine a politician as any politician and a lot better than most.

Really sour day for me today. I usually enjoy big election nights but last night was just a nighmare. I can't stomach the idea of seeing Trump as president for the next 4 years , no mind 8.

Honestly I doubt he'll even last 4 years after all the crap that got him in. He's a throughbred arsehole through and through and not someone who's likely to last when push comes to shove.

To be honest I would seriously be surprised if someone doesn't assassinate him. He's gone out of his way to alienate as many people as possible and really open some really nasty wounds that make people do crazy stuff expecially if he starts going off on crazy ideas like his campaign might suggest.

its pretty big news imo

they can hardly complain when they knew system of voting beforehand???

if they want.....let them change it to a popular vote??

A hig story but not news.

And people complain about the electoral college when it doesn't suit.. The fact is she took 56 electoral votes from California, nearly a quarter of her total. In terms of the popular vote, California gave her like a tenth of her total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

its pretty big news imo

they can hardly complain when they knew system of voting beforehand???

if they want.....let them change it to a popular vote??

Good luck changing the US constitution. It's ridiculously difficult to modify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Hilary Clinton- the fifth person to win the popular vote but lose the Electoral vote, the last being Al Gore who won the popular vote , but lost the Electoral vote to George Bush.

I've been reading up about the Electoral vote. It is interesting. It was introduced to even out the field.

Hilary got more votes overall but she got them in a smaller amount of states with large populations e.g. California and New York.

More states voted for Trump.

I suppose this system was introduced because the larger populated states have always been generally pro one party, is that correct?

But more individuals voted for Hilary. What do people think of the system?

It's a relic of the days when the president wasn't actually chosen by the people but by state governments. They sent electors who picked the president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,776 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They twisted the message
    He did a u turn long ago on Muslim ban
    And only said illegal mexican who are drug dealers and rapist are out .
    Media turned him against all groups by twisting words

You sir are a cnut. You are responsible for all this hatred.

Sorry. U turn. I take it all back.

jaysus, this politics is easy. You can say anything offensive and just back track.

Infini2 wrote: »
    Honestly I doubt he'll even last 4 years after all the crap that got him in. He's a throughbred arsehole through and through and not someone who's likely to last when push comes to shove.

To be honest I would seriously be surprised if someone doesn't assassinate him. He's gone out of his way to alienate as many people as possible and really open some really nasty wounds that make people do crazy stuff expecially if he starts going off on crazy ideas like his campaign might suggest.

He's got so many suits against him he'll probably be impeached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

It's a relic of the days when the president wasn't actually chosen by the people but by state governments. They sent electors who picked the president.

Yup, and many states don't force their electors to actually vote for the candidate who won the state, just choose people they trust will do so. There was a Democratic elector in Washington State who said he would refuse to vote for Clinton if she won the state, he was a Bernie supporter.

And then there was the guy who apparently voted for John Edwards by mistake in 2004 when his state went to John Kerry. :eek:

A hig story but not news.

And people complain about the electoral college when it doesn't suit.. The fact is she took 56 electoral votes from California, nearly a quarter of her total. In terms of the popular vote, California gave her like a tenth of her total.

In the average US election up to 80% of the votes don't count. If you're a republican in California this time, your vote didn't count. If you're from a sparsely populated state your vote can be worth up to three times what it's worth in a more populous state.

Whoever wins it's a messed up dysfunctional system.

Don't know if it's been mentioned yet but here's where Trump outlined his first 100 days.

http://www.npr.org/2016/11/09/501451368/here-is-what-donald-trump-wants-to-do-in-his-first-100-days?

Double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Grayson wrote: »
    Don't know if it's been mentioned yet but here's where Trump outlined his first 100 days.

http://www.npr.org/2016/11/09/501451368/here-is-what-donald-trump-wants-to-do-in-his-first-100-days?

It's worrying in parts and slightly encouraging in others. I'll be interested to see how watered down it gets between now and February. If he follows that to the letter his first few weeks in office are going to cause some serious international shockwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

NIMAN wrote: »
    What is it with people who only accept democracy when its the result they want?

Mostly white, middle-class millennials who have been raised to think that the sun shines from their arse. Think Veruca Salt from the Willy Wonka movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Depp wrote: »
    ill agree ''numbers stations'' are definitely creepy but i highly doubt more sophisticated communications haven't been developed for actual agents.

I was joking with the numbers stations in regards to the unstable neighbourly situation of the two countries :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Mostly white, middle-class millennials who have been raised to think that the sun shines from their arse. Think Veruca Salt from the Willy Wonka movie.

I wonder do they understand the difference between being respectful of the democratic system which provided the result, while simultaneously disagreeing vehemently with the result? Because you sure as hell don't seem to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭DukeOfTheSharp

FatherTed wrote: »
    You're right for the most part. The election says more about Clinton that it does Trump:

Obama 2008: 69,498,516
    Obama 2012: 65,915,795
    Clinton 2016: 59,861,516

McCain 2008: 59,948,323
    Romney 2012: 60,933,504
    Trump: 2016: 59,639,462

It also says a lot about Sanders supporters and Sanders himself. For all the bluster about change, he was really only a cult of personality candidate; once he was out, people lost interest, voted for Trump or voted for a third party candidate. Clinton got the crap end of the stick, was scrutinized unfairly, more than Trump was, and Sanders didn't rally his people behind her quick enough. The low voter turnout was awful for her too, and I think that in general it was the Sanders delusion that caused so much trouble. People don't care about policies, they care about the person, Sanders talked a big game, but never had any substance, Clinton did her homework and was qualified, but failed to reach her goal because of Sanders, electoral college and her gender. It's sad to say, but the idea of 'people power' only goes so far once you remove the personality in front of the ideology. It's the paradox of the political system, it's all flash, and any substance is lost to those blinded by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Obama playing the co-operative card with Trump (right thing to do)

But...this may be just a little awkward...as he lays out why he is unfit

I wonder do they understand the difference between being respectful of the democratic system which provided the result, while simultaneously disagreeing vehemently with the result? Because you sure as hell don't seem to.

Come again?:D

It also says a lot about Sanders supporters and Sanders himself. For all the bluster about change, he was really only a cult of personality candidate; once he was out, people lost interest, voted for Trump or voted for a third party candidate. Clinton got the crap end of the stick, was scrutinized unfairly, more than Trump was, and Sanders didn't rally his people behind her quick enough. The low voter turnout was awful for her too, and I think that in general it was the Sanders delusion that caused so much trouble. People don't care about policies, they care about the person, Sanders talked a big game, but never had any substance, Clinton did her homework and was qualified, but failed to reach her goal because of Sanders, electoral college and her gender. It's sad to say, but the idea of 'people power' only goes so far once you remove the personality in front of the ideology. It's the paradox of the political system, it's all flash, and any substance is lost to those blinded by it.

Such tripe. You blamed everything but her when she lost only because of her. No one else.

Blaming Sanders? Get a grip.

Such tripe. You blamed everything but her when she lost only because of her. No one else.

But it was time for a female president!!! It was time!!!!!

Or so I kept hearing whenever I turned on an American tv channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Clinton didn't do much wrong. She simply didn't do what was right to win this election. And I think, in the grand scheme of things, she will be happier she didn't, when you look at what Trump had to do to win i.e. the division he promoted in his speeches. The hate. She was held to a higher standard by the electorate. And she held herself to a higher standard. If she wanted to win, she probably needed to sink to Trump's level of rhetoric. And no doubt if she had, she would have been pilloried even more so than already by all sides. Too many people wanted Trump. Let's not forget, he also fended off a whole host of reasonably capable Republican candidates too. It's not Hillary's fault she also lost to him. The country wanted Trump. They got him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭TheOven

Good thing you aren't talking about Trump supporters or we would be hearing the this is why he won speech, again.

But it's just millennials, it's still ok to hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

CNN are reporting anti-trump rallies in several cities. It's not being picked up on SKY or BBC. It's not like it's not happening, CNN are broadcasting live video of such.

Clinton didn't do much wrong. She simply didn't do what was right to win this election. And I think, in the grand scheme of things, she will be happier she didn't, when you look at what Trump had to do to win i.e. the division he promoted in his speeches. The hate. She was held to a higher standard by the electorate. And she held herself to a higher standard. If she wanted to win, she probably needed to sink to Trump's level of rhetoric. And no doubt if she had, she would have been pilloried even more so than already by all sides. Too many people wanted Trump. Let's not forget, he also fended off a whole host of reasonably capable Republican candidates too. It's not Hillary's fault she also lost to him. The country wanted Trump. They got him.

Explain her abysmal trustworthiness ratings. I'm interested in seeing how you'll tie it in with what you've posted so far.

This is just total nonsense. When was her 'trustworthiness' ever been called into question before she ran for president. Imagine if the media went after every senators 'trustworthiness'. We'd never hear the end of it.

TheOven wrote: »
    But it's just millennials, it's still ok to hate them.

Hate them? Their impotent rage is honestly more amusing than anything else.

learn_more wrote: »
    This is just total nonsense. When was her 'trustworthiness' ever been called into question before she ran for president. Imagine if the media went after every senators 'trustworthiness'. We'd never hear the end of it.

Nonsense? I just want her supporters to explain how it dropped steadily during the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭DukeOfTheSharp

Oh so we're just ignoring cause-and-effect? How actions or inactions can make or break a whole election? She didn't lose because of her, she won the popular vote, so in reality, how is this on her when she literally received the most votes? Elections are won and lost by the people voting, the reality is that Sanders voters were caught up in the man, not the politics, so much so that they refused to back her even though he did, eventually, support her.

Nuance is required when it comes down to something like this; it's really easy to blame a singular person, but systemic issues, poor running mates, idiotic voters who refuse to see sense and a plethora of other reasons go into a candidates win or loss. Due to the electoral college (which Trump wanted abolished in 2012, by the way) being an easily manipulated system where current senate parties can reshape districts to better suit their political influence, the deck was already stacked against her. Despite that, Texas turned into a blue state this time around. Texas. Hillary did something right on her end, so the only real issue are the people who failed to come out and vote, and those who supported Sanders who jumped ship to Trump...and yes, that's a thing that happened. So while you try to simplify something so complex, I'll be here actually thinking about this in terms of cause-and-effect, with an actual analysis and not some weirdly defensive comment. 2.1% of votes went to a third party in Florida, now expand that to every other state where the margin between Trump and Hillary was under 1% and you've got a pretty damning picture of the voter spread. America's political system is a mess, and in reality, Hillary did really well despite the insane circumstances. But there are reasons for her loss outside your apparent dislike of her, things that need to be analysed and remembered for every country to take heed of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Clinton didn't do much wrong. She simply didn't do what was right to win this election.

Simply being Hillary Clinton is by far the biggest reason that she didn't win.

Nonsense? I just want her supporters to explain how it dropped steadily during the election.

What ? That can easily be explained. A unsubstantiated attack for a start. No meaty details , just rumours.