Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭phater phagan

I was absolutely shocked this morning when I heard the news. I was in the US for 2 weeks in Oregon recently and everyone I met there where appalled by Trump, and that State did vote overwhelmingly for Hillary Clinton. But another bizarre event happened there then - a group of heavily armed people who'd taken over a Government wildlife refuge last year, because of some crazy notion that the Government should not own public lands. They were in a shoot out with the police but were acquitted by a jury at their trial. The jury voted that it was not a conspiracy and therefore not illegal. There really are two Americas - one with people who have reasonable values and generally live in the cities, and another with people who hold extreme views and who think nothing of using violence to achieve their goals. It is those latter kind who support Trump. I worry for the future with him in such a powerful position, and hope that cooler heads will rein him in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

endacl wrote: »
    Even the simplistic and wrong ones?

That's not attacking the problem tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Gutted Trump won but an American girl I know posted numbers to suicide hotlines on her Facebook wall today in response to the election results. That is just daft and histrionic.

Perhaps but quite a few good friends of mine from the States are genuinely in fear now thanks to the rhetoric and the vitriol of some Trump supporters throughout the campaign. Look at what happened in the UK after the Brexit vote. I'd imagine quite a few people in the States could well find themselves in that despair tonight so posting suicide numbers on Facebook is far from daft and histrionic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

sabat wrote: »
    She has sex with him for money and no other reason. Why shouldn't I point out the truth?

How is that better or worse than Trump being with her for her looks, and for no other reason.

Her looks were attractive to him.

His money was attractive to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

How did the opinion polls get it so wrong, again? Some are saying that a lot of those who publically endorsed Hillary were actually secret Trump voters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

How is that better or worse than Trump being with her for her looks, and for no other reason.

Her looks were attractive to him.

His money was attractive to her.

Yes that's exactly what I said. She's a hoor; he's a john.

This is what people aged 18-25 said when casting their vote. Thank God they are the future.

vetinari wrote: »
    It's quite valid to attack his supporters. It's the lack of challenging his supporters that's helped cause this. A lot of working class white men who are annoyed that the country is not as white as it used to be. They try to dress that up as nostalgia but it's clear what they mean. They don't expect Trump to bring back manufacturing jobs, no president can, they just want to feel like the white men are on top again.

Have you any proof of that or is that just poor white man bashing???

People are disenfranchised with the establishment- trump painted himself as antiestablishment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

anna080 wrote: »
    How did the opinion polls get it so wrong, again? Some are saying that a lot of those who publically endorsed Hillary were actually secret Trump voters.

The Polls got it wrong for Brexit and the GE in the UK back in 2015.

Your second line, I think, gets to the nub of the issue.

People are saying one thing, and voting the other way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

While I'm no way a trump supporter I can't stand that attitude of intellectual superior complex to recent results.
    It's almost impossible to discuss just how dangerous Trump is without a significant portion of the population thinking that they're being "spoken down to".

"Telling it like it is" applies to people aware of the danger of this sociopathic sexual predator, just as much as it applies to people like him who make a career out of sticking their middle fingers into the faces of smarter people, then patting themselves on their back for being "straight".

It's a rage-filled, obscene appeal to the lowest common denominator and that's not a good place to be with a man who, in three months, will have fire control over nuclear weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

anna080 wrote: »
    This is what people aged 18-25 said when casting their vote. Thank God they are the future.
    those opinions will change as they age

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

(Many)Men tend to go for looks, because it makes them look good to be with that person, and that person being very attractive is appealing to them (looks are one aspect of some-one),

(Many) women tend to go for money - to be provided for and to provide for their children (worth is one aspect of some-one)

I object to calling her a prostitute.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with calling idiots idiots.
    Unfortunately, idiots have exactly the same kind of votes which much smarter people have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Skommando

Looks the the ordinary people in the USA are not as easily fooled as the media thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Easy Rod wrote: »
    You don't understand why a source called 'Catholics for Trump' might not be approaching this subject in an objective manner? :confused:

They have not provided facts just their (biased) (mis)interpretation.

"But...but... he waved his arm around so he couldn't possibly be mocking him" is like saying he didn't mock someone in a wheelchair because he wasn't fully seated when he did the impression.

Of course not. Tell me why their religious background would cloud their judgement here? Does their belief in Jesus make them less qualified to look into the facts? They unearthed lots of them to support what they say, and all you can refute this with is the fact that they're Catholic? Their religiojn has nothing to do with it.

How on earth could he have been doing an impression of a man with a frozen arm, by flapping how arms in the air? If he'd stood there holding one wrist in a clawed. curled up manner, he would have been doing an impression. What he did, looked nothing like the reporter's disability.
    And he did it on other occasions, so it's clearly his own mannerism, something he does wen he gets animated while 'dissing' an opponent. I think you really badly want to believe he was mocking someone.

I'd be first in line to criticise if he did this. But I don't lie to myself to keep intact a picture of someone's character that I don't want to have to revise.

robindch wrote: »
    Unfortunately, idiots have exactly the same kind of votes which much smarter people have.

Ah the people-who-know-Betters

We should really defer to them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

The AAA aren't happy with the result it seems, well anything that pisses off Coppinger makes my evening.

Trump will be the best US president since Reagan. No American hostages will be sitting in a grounded plane for months. No air controller will be going on strike.

those opinions will change as they age

True. Let's hope someday it's all blue eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

The big issue with the US polls is that they all use some kind of underlying formula that extrapolates a result from a very small sample. In normal circumstances that's quite predictable as the turnouts are similar, the party loyalties are predictable and so on.

This election was just completely different.

There's nothing necessarily wrong with the polls, just that the models do not work in exceptional elections with a complete political outsider running a very unusual campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

mansize wrote: »
    Ah the people-who-know-Betters

We should really defer to them

funny part is its more or less exactly them that caused this...turns out talking down to people and insisting that they are dumb for not liking one candidate alienates a lot of people, whod have thunk it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

And what is Hillary for staying with Bill to forward her career after he stuck cigars in an intern in the Oval Office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Classy.

But she is.

the hypocrisy of some people tearing strips out of melania because of her supposed motivations to be married of which they have absolutely zero idea, while only a few hours ago, they were telling us all how sexist the system was...you really have to appreciate irony at a time like this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Sad state of affairs that this fella is now in charge of the "most powerful nation on earth". So much for all the ideals the Americans preach about.
    Do people really think a multi-billionaire business-man is the man to represent the little guy? That's the sort of crap he preached and it worked.
    How daft to you have to be to actually swallow that nonsense?

And The Mexicans are really going to build a wall now and pay for it themselves? Course they are.

And no, he's not really a sexist or a racist, all those things he said were taken out of context.

He's going to be true to his word and focus on "bringing jobs to America", nevermind all his businesses that outsource to foreign countries, he'll stop all that now because he's not motivated by money.

I don't blame him for all the crap he spouted, good luck to him.

But I'd have a good long look at the intelligence of the people who voted for him.

As for Hillary. She was a poor enough candidate too, to a far lesser extent. But as other posters have correctly said, the people who voted for this fella are actually "idiots".

Sometimes you have to call a spade a spade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Skommando

Could the UK and the USA not do what's done in Ireland ?

Keep making the people vote until they deliver the result the establishment want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Gutted Trump won but an American girl I know posted numbers to suicide hotlines on her Facebook wall today in response to the election results. That is just daft and histrionic.

You've no clue what you're talking about.

I've got friends and relatives who have been living and working in the USA since the recession of the 1980s, one has kids and is still not a legal citizen.

There are people of Muslim faith who are now petrified they'll be targeted for abuse and deportation. You're going to have many American-born citizens of Muslim faith being told in school, in work and otherwise that they should be deported.

You're going to have people in the LGBT community petrified because Trump is anti-gay marriage.

People in crisis pregnancies will be petrified as Trump is anti-abortion.

For these people, the fear and anxiety is extremely real. Mental health is very important. Can you even imagine being a refugee from Syria living in America right now? Can you imagine being an illegal Mexican or Irish immigrant living in the country for 30 or 40 years with a family?

They are all (rightly) petrified and yes some people will take their own lives rather than face being deported to war-zones or split from their family.
    The Polls got it wrong for Brexit and the GE in the UK back in 2015.

Your second line, I think, gets to the nub of the issue.

People are saying one thing, and voting the other way.

There's nothing wrong with the Polls or Pollsters, as you said.

The issue, as Jake Tapper alluded to on CNN, is the "leaners".

A leaner is someone who leans in close to you and whispers "don't tell anybody but i'm actually going to vote Trump".

A huge % of his support were ashamed to admit to voting for a misogynist, xenophobe but were so disillusioned with the Clinton style of same-again politics in Washington.

It speaks volumes that people were ashamed to admit they were voting for a candidate but that's the single biggest reasons the Polls got it so wrong.

Donald Trump is a danger to the world right now. He's going to let Israel do whatever the hell they want in the Middle East. Fact. That's going to be the biggest single danger to world peace and i fully expect the next 4 years to unravel into chaos, both in America and globally.

That's without even getting into domestic economic policy, ties with Putin and the rest. Today is a day for many Americans to feel very afraid and i don't think the world should be laughing either.

They just elected a man with the willful passivity to allow Israel and Russia to land-grab across the Middle East and Eastern Europe.

really believe a lot of people will be embarrassed by their histrionics in a year or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

robindch wrote: »

As Churchill once said:
    The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter." -

That's the way democracy works but there's always an elite who think they know what's good for the masses, so thank God for democracy. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,138 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Documentary filmmaker Michael Moore is considered a "lefty liberal", but 3 weeks ago he predicted the election outcome:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

jmayo wrote: »
    Yep they are all racists.

But could you please explain how Mid West rust belt states (Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Iowa) that actually backed a black man for president, twice even, are now racist because they backed Trump ?

Feckin hell I guess you would say they are, you know, slow and thick :rolleyes:

It took over 8 years to sink in that they were racists.
    They mustn't have noticed Obama was actually black when they voted for him twice :eek:

If the only answer some people can find for why people voted for Trump is white man racism, then really it does reinforce how idiotic and myopic one side has become.

I suppose it is the same answer as to why 20% of black people voted for him or 20% of Latinos voted for him.
    They must be racists like the 42% of women are sexist.

Same percentages voted for Romney though... so, its not like they turned.

It has been the mis-selling of Obamas healthcare that has many middle states changing their voting. It was being derided left right and centre that healthcare for all is bad. Many antagonists selling it as 'communism' and 'socialism' you know all things bad.....

Hilarious that it big Pharma that was paying for this messaging.

Big business controlling the mantra through their groups and their controlled senators.

Its hilarious irony all the same.