Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

The fact that he is a climate change denier is the most worrying aspect of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Jamiekelly wrote: »
    Oh, has anyone else noticed the strangeness of Clinton not contesting the result? Gore did in 2000 and he had a very similar and strong case. Clinton knows for a fact that if this result was reversed the other way and Trump had lost with more of the popular vote, he would be mounting his legal challenge with the Gore defence at the very centre of it.

Am I seriously the only one who smells a rat here?

The election in 2000 came down to one state. This is very different, multiple states are involved.

In 1960, Nixon came very close to Kennedy in many states, some states there was only a few hundred votes in it. It was a very tight election. He chose to concede and only contested a few states after advisors from his party putting him under pressure to do so. And the only outcome was that he lost Hawaii to Kennedy in the recount.

So it's not unprecedented for someone to concede when the race is very tight. Maybe Hillary considers it undignifed to be scrambling around for recounts that will probably make little difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,197 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The American people voted for him, any Irish person like some on this thread who called them idiots should learn some manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The Americans wanted a change from the establishment that has failed many of them and the primary process threw up 2 options, the status quo and a wildcard. They chose the wildcard and I can see why they done it.

Hilary Clinton wasnt even the best Democratic nomination and it only became absolutely clear when it was too late. Bernie Sanders would have easily beaten Trump as a real option that represented new thinking and not from the establishment that the americans were so unhappy with.

This presidential election showed up all the flaws in america's version of democracy and now the world has to deal with the fallout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Jamiekelly wrote: »
    Oh, has anyone else noticed the strangeness of Clinton not contesting the result? Gore did in 2000 and he had a very similar and strong case. Clinton knows for a fact that if this result was reversed the other way and Trump had lost with more of the popular vote, he would be mounting his legal challenge with the Gore defence at the very centre of it.

Am I seriously the only one who smells a rat here?

But Gore wasn't challenging the popular v electoral result, he was challenging the votes in Florida.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The American people voted for him, any Irish person like some on this thread who called them idiots should learn some manners.

You would have a point, if Trump had any :D.

Amazing, how quick some of ye lads, drop the whole not pc, tell like it is tone, and are now demanding everyone be pc. You couldn't make it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Is it just like any general election in Ireland for a party to lead,whereby a lot of sh1te is spoken by all front runners and in the end when they get in they don't do any of it anyway.Is Trump just an Enda Kenny or Michael Martin,spewing endless crap prior to the election? At least he was creative with the wall between Mexico and North America.Better than lieing about hospital beds and more mundane crap?! Should we vote for politicians based on how creative their pre-election lies are? Metro North doesn't sound half as good as a wall between two countries,genius!:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Trump voters aren't all idiots. Many of them are just cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Jeez...talk about Special Snowflake meltdowns on Twitter.....

Naturally no right-wingers would have melted down if Clinton had won...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

In fairness, what do you want him to do about that? Not participate because he disagrees with the system? Resign because he disagrees with the system?

I'd expect him to change a system that he disagrees with. Difficult? Yep. But more difficult than deporting 11m undocumented workers within 2 years? More difficult than building a wall the length of the entire southern US border? More difficult than throwing 27m people off Obamacare?

The current system has delivered the loser of the popular vote the presidency twice in the last 5 elections. Trump should decide whether he values democracy or party advantage more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Achasanai wrote: »
    But Gore wasn't challenging the popular v electoral result, he was challenging the votes in Florida.

If he won Florida, he would have got the required electoral college votes to win. Bush got 271, Gore got 266. Why else so you think he was bothered contesting Florida? It was very much about trying to secure the majority electoral vote by winning Florida. Look at close it was, it's not like Bush was way ahead in electoral college votes.

EDIT: Sorry Achasanai, thought you responded to me, not the other Jamie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

The polls have definitely got it wrong.

Bernie Sanders would have been a better candidate instead of Crooked Hillary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

RayM wrote: »

What an awful thing to say.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Correct me if I am wrong, but, didn't a majority of Californians vote No to gay marriage when they were asked, and that had to be overruled by the Federal Courts? I know it is not relevant here, but, I remember being shocked that the people said no

Correct.

There are some misconceptions about the make-up of California voters with the majority thinking that they are democrats who share all the values of Pelosi, Feinstein, Boxer etc, and, indeed, if you look at the map, it's more red than blue counties, which paints interesting ideas for those in CA who are talking about secession. (as if that would happen). Prop 8 is what you're referring to, and what happened was that the 'non-white' vote came out en masse to vote for Obama. Those same folks, however, come from cultures where homosexuality is not well received. The catholic hispanics in particular. While they were there in the booth voting for Obama, they also voted against gay marriage. Had the proposition been two years later or earlier, I would wager it would have passed.

Johngoose wrote: »
    Is it just like any general election in Ireland for a party to lead,whereby a lot of sh1te is spoken by all front runners and in the end when they get in they don't do any of it anyway.Is Trump just an Enda Kenny or Michael Martin,spewing endless crap prior to the election? At least he was creative with the wall between Mexico and North America.Better than lieing about hospital beds and more mundane crap?! Should we vote for politicians based on how creative their pre-election lies are? Metro North doesn't sound half as good as a wall between two countries,genius!:-)

Saying that he'd put Hillary in jail if he won was genius also,you might as well make election promises as outrageous as possible, not like any newly elected person has to follow through on election promises anyway. Politics is theatre in this day and age.

Johngoose wrote: »

Saying that he'd put Hillary in jail if he won was genius also,you might as well make election promises as outrageous as possible, not like any newly elected person has to follow through on election promises anyway. Politics is theatre in this day and age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

wes wrote: »
    You would have a point, if Trump had any :D.

Amazing, how quick some of ye lads, drop the whole not pc, tell like it is tone, and are now demanding everyone be pc. You couldn't make it up.

It's ignorant to call a person an idiot based on who they vote for in a democratic election.

The fact that you can't see that is baffling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What an awful thing to say.

You're still here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Grayson wrote: »
    The simple fact that the new president said that it's ok to grab a woman by the pussy is scary. The fecker admitted to sexual assault and still got voted in.

Good for you both. You'll get over today in time I'm sure.

Good man Ray you tell em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Duck Soup wrote: »
    I'd expect him to change a system that he disagrees with. Difficult?
    Before he's in it though?

That's just idiotic.

By that standard, never stand for election in a country whose system you want to change.

Think about what you're suggesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Its a stickier situation, then when sticky the stick insect got stuck on a sticky bun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Unfortunate of you to use such misogynist language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

mansize wrote: »
    The new First Lady is stunning

She is Slovenian and 24 years younger than him. Fair play to Donald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's ignorant to call a person an idiot based on who they vote for in a democratic election.

The fact that you can't see that is baffling.

When it walks like a duck . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Trump's likely Treasury secretary:

Steven Mnuchin, a 17-year-veteran of Goldman Sachs who now works as the chairman and chief executive of the private investment firm, Dune Capital Management. Mnuchin has also worked for OneWest Bank, which was later sold to CIT Group in 2015.

Good to see him give a big middle finger to the establishment, imagine if Clinton managed to win and put one of her Wall Street pals there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Naturally no right-wingers would have melted down if Clinton had won...

We'll never know because she lost.

Horribly.

To Donald Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Laughable! Im sure the educated Irish electorate that vote in the joke that we call the Dail, are all so enlightened compared to the trump voters :rolleyes:

voting for someone because they got a pot hole filled or because their great great great grandfather voted FF or FG etc, spare me!