Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Clareman wrote: »
    Would Colin Lynch be considered an isolated player considering the relationship between Kilmaley and Lissycasey? Kilmaley had a shocking run this year, considering they contested the play offs every year in the 00s and had 4 Clare players to being relegated with 1 county player it's some fall.

Off the top of my head Ballyea's captain and goal scorer from the first game are from Kilmihil.

yeah i think it was 5 this year from kilmihil 2 from cooraclare and 1 lissycasey that played for ballyea at senior , if i was to defend them though in terms of isolated players , the two players from cooraclare and 4 from kilmihil have been products of there own underage development , in my opinion they should be regarded as ballyea hurlers and not isolated hurlers especially given that they have been with them up along from u12 and 14 level ,

under the rules they can opt to play for someone else next year i believe , the same with the likes of conor cleary in kilmaley it would be wrong to see them move club , the issue with cathal malone takes the biscuit in my opinion

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I remember when the isolated player thing was brought up and thinking that it would really suit clubs on commuter routes, if players are passing grounds it'll be easier for them to play for those clubs but in my opinion it's better for players to be playing rather than who they play for, the spread of winners of the county championships in the past few years seems to suggest there isn't anything to worry about just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Figerty

Good team coming through but rumours say they are having a lot of internal politics, last year's manager got in by 1 vote and next year's manager has been appointed by the players

Not quite accurate.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Figerty wrote: »
    Not quite accurate.

I'm not sure of the vote last year, but I'm of the understanding that the players had a meeting to decide on a manager for next year and they approached him to see if he would be interested, this would have been with the consent of the club. I've no affiliation with Kilmaley so I could be completely wrong, just going on what I've heard.

I know I'm biased, but I thought Tony Kelly deserved an All Star for his performances this year. Gary Brennan can find himself unlucky not to get 1 as well, but with the All Ireland going to a replay there was always going to be a lot of players from Dublin and Mayo as well as the fact that Tipp got to the semi-final so they got the "weaker county" award.

Also, I think the All Stars show the value the league or Waterford Crystal cup in the GAA now, nothing, win an All Ireland you get 7 All Stars (~50%), runners up get 4 (~25%) and the losing semi-finalist get 2 each (~12.5%), nothing for anyone else.

I know I'm biased, but I thought Tony Kelly deserved an All Star for his performances this year. Gary Brennan can find himself unlucky not to get 1 as well, but with the All Ireland going to a replay there was always going to be a lot of players from Dublin and Mayo as well as the fact that Tipp got to the semi-final so they got the "weaker county" award.

to be fair if laois ,sligo or roscommon got to the all ireland 1/4 final they probably would'nt have got an all star either , in fairness matty donnelly only got his on the back of a sunday game team of the year , i take it it will be a while again before a player that gets knocked out in the qualifiers gets nominated again for that position especially

agree with kelly also , tip deserve there 7 all stars they were excellent all year , very impressive in munster especially the final , prior to the all ireland semi finals the best games of the year were the two league finals and should have been given more consideration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Ballyea lucky to be only 4 points down at ht even after the perfect start they got. Thurlas just have too much firepower for them and much better hurlers throughout the pitch.

How have they brought this to extra time?? Unbelievable come back. Thurlas couldn't win a ball in the last 10 mins

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Gary Brennan legend. Great second half fightback from Ballyea, Thurles by far the better team though, but I'll take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

What a goal from Gary Brennan. Ballyea back from the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Ballyea are some team to come back at the end, great commitment and spirit shown by them.

Tony scored a point there towards the end that was from the top drawer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Some turnaround 3 point up just 10 more minutes lads.

Well done Ballyea.

Fair ****s to them. Serious fitness, commitment and determination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭irelandrover

What was the final score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Fantastic win, despite that atrocious decision by Kirwan that lead to the Thurles goal in E.T.

What was the final score?

4-18 to 2-22.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Thurlas just have too much firepower for them and much better hurlers throughout the pitch.
    Great call :pac:

I'd like to see Deasy get a call up to the senior squad, there's work to do on his hurling, but he is a good strong lad to win ball on the 40. He's young too, so the management can look to develop him for the future.

Great call :pac:

Well in fairness, Thurlas should have been out of sight by half time. Missed countless chances. Thurlas really looked very tired in second half and ballyea showed much better fitness and their skill levels improved greatly.

Ballyea rely on Tony and deasy to get majority of their scores but Brennan really stood up today. Was immense.

They have come along way since getting a good beating from my own club in the first round of the championship.

letowski wrote: »
    I'd like to see Deasy get a call up to the senior squad, there's work to do on his hurling, but he is a good strong lad to win ball on the 40. He's young too, so the management can look to develop him for the future.

He works in Dublin and think he will find it difficult to give the full commitment I'm told. But I agree, certainly should be called up.

Fantastic win, despite that atrocious decision by Kirwan that lead to the Thurles goal in E.T.

Go back and look at it again. He held on to the hurley and played for the free; it didn't come and the goal came out of it. Kirwin had it right.
    There were a few others that he didn't get right. Brilliant win for Ballyea. The Munster door is wide open for them now.

Figerty wrote: »
    Go back and look at it again. He held on to the hurley and played for the free; it didn't come and the goal came out of it. Kirwin had it right.
    There were a few others that he didn't get right. Brilliant win for Ballyea. The Munster door is wide open for them now.

I did a few times, but arm around the neck is a free all day long and a yellow card as well.

Not if the hand is being held by the back... and the back is pulling it for a free. It's usually forward pull that trick when their back is to the ref.
    This time it was coming at the ref. He played for, but the Ref. had it spot on. Maher had his other hand in the air showing the ref he wan't pulling him back.

great game in the park , taught halfway through the second half that the game was gone , every wide was being punished by a thurles score , the intensity sarsfields brought to the game was serious and to match it for 80 minutes was excellent

glen rovers are up next for ballyea in the final on the 20th of november , i presume it will be on in limerick

letowski wrote: »

agree 100% and as some one said on here a few weeks ago he will add another dimension to the half forward line he is an excellent ball winner , something we will need next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Some player Gary Brennan, football or hurling.
    Should definitely have a football All-Star by now.
    (needs to become 'media friendly' like some of the Mayo lads)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,056 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

washman3 wrote:
    Some player Gary Brennan, football or hurling. Should definitely have a football All-Star by now. (needs to become 'media friendly' like some of the Mayo lads)

He was in the OTB panel yesterday afternoon though I didn't hear it.

To be fair, Mayo lads have won several Connacht titles and gotten to plenty All Ireland finals. Gary has a division 3 title. He's a fine fine footballer but it's unfair to suggest Mayo All-Stars are because of media appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Ballyea will beat the Glen in the final. Patrickswell v Glen Rovers was poor stuff. Horgan pulled them through when it mattered most but I think Ballyea will have to much for them.