The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

If you lived an hour from work and finished at 7am to be back in at 9am to go to court where would you sleep?

I would refuse it on health and safety grounds.

I work in an investment bank. It's a zero sum game, for our trades to win, others must lose. This is a similar situation. Older gardai should foot the bill for younger ones. Taxpayers can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Rightwing wrote: »

I work in an investment bank. It's a zero sum game, for our trades to win, others must lose. This is a similar situation. Older gardai should foot the bill for younger ones. Taxpayers can't.

Ha ha a turf bank more like judging from your posts.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Ha ha a turf bank more like judging from your posts.:D

I'd love to know what bank. Sell Sell Sell

Half the stuff in the Job (GARDAI) could be refused on health and safety grounds. Its a mess. Theyre holding the Job together with loyalty and on the backs of the ground workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Half of all leaving cert students not able to go to school is quite a big problem actually.

Teachers are emailing work to my leaving cert student all week and taking them lunch time and after school all on their own time to make up classes, not the only school doing this either.
    I fully support the teachers actions and think their amazing trying to strike but helping exam students on their own time.

cursai wrote: »
    Half the stuff in the Job (GARDAI) could be refused on health and safety grounds. Its a mess. Theyre holding the Job together with loyalty and on the backs of the ground workers.

Probably is.

The world economy is in line for a big downturn. Whether you get your pay increases or not, don't overleverage. That's my advice to one and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

mynamejeff wrote: »
    thats fairly ill informed bambi

if any party would be a favorite of of the gardai and public sector in general it would be fianna fail no ?

your agenda is clouding your judgment also didnt that 16 year old admit to smashing the window of a patrol car with a brick ?

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/boy-16-damaged-garda-car-during-jobstown-protest-34689043.html

No he didnt. the kid with the megaphone didn't break anyones windows
    maybe its hard to keep track of the amount of kids that Joanie set the guards on?

The Blueshirts were always the boys who had a grá for the gardee, FF just like to pay voters off.

Now dont be embarrasing yourself, good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Unfortunately health and safety grounds don't apply to Gardaí in that regard. So I ask again, where would you sleep?

My last post on the matter. I wouldn't do that type of work, I like to feel respected by my employer, particularly in the form of bonuses, and if not I leave. I don't have much time for any public sector work. I prefer the private sector and I'd prefer a society with a much smaller Government. Capitalism works best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

My last post on the matter. I wouldn't do that type of work, I like to feel respected by my employer, particularly in the form of bonuses, and if not I leave. I don't have much time for any public sector work. I prefer the private sector and I'd prefer a society with a much smaller Government. Capitalism works best.

Not everyone is able for the demands of being a Garda. But before you criticise, remember you don't work under the same conditions Gardaí do. You have more rights and less responsibility.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

Not everyone is able for the demands of being a Garda. But before you criticise, remember you don't work under the same conditions Gardaí do. You have more rights and less responsibility.
    Ah come off it. The Gardai have a tough job, but entirely in its own way. It's not like 7 As and 10 years of training at 80 hour weeks to be a surgeon. Putting Gardai as the only people in Ireland with a difficult job won't get you anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Ah come off it. The Gardai have a tough job, but entirely in its own way. It's not like 7 As and 10 years of training at 80 hour weeks to be a surgeon. Putting Gardai as the only people in Ireland with a difficult job won't get you anywhere.

which surgeons get paid a **** ton for. How often have you had to go to a suicide/murder?

Probably is.

The world economy is in line for a big downturn. Whether you get your pay increases or not, don't overleverage. That's my advice to one and all.

Because if they don't over-leverage then they'll recieve thanks for it??

Bambi wrote: »
    maybe its hard to keep track of the amount of kids that Joanie set the guards on?

The Blueshirts were always the boys who had a grá for the gardee, FF just like to pay voters off.

That 'kid' was a scrote was he not?

which surgeons get paid a **** ton for. How often have you had to go to a suicide/murder?
    Compared to their qualifications and training level, new Gardai are better off than most.
    Or do you think the average Gardai is as skilled as the average surgeon yourself?
    Your theory then is that you should be paid extra if your relative commits suicide and you find them?

cursai wrote: »
    That 'kid' was a scrote was he not?
    Maybe he was, maybe he wasn't.
    But once we've agreed he was a scrote he's guilty of anything an everything we want to invent, is that it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Lackey wrote: »
    Teachers are emailing work to my leaving cert student all week and taking them lunch time and after school all on their own time to make up classes, not the only school doing this either.
    I fully support the teachers actions and think their amazing trying to strike but helping exam students on their own time.

In half term? Why are they making up classes when there isn't any missed yet? Schools haven't started closing until Monday....

I have a 5th year student and I'm glad my child isn't doing the leaving cert this year as it could be very disruptive, I imagine the garda strike/resolution is going to make asti more set on continuing.

Edit- I didn't say anything about not supporting them. I support both teachers and guards having proper pay!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Compared to their qualifications and training level, new Gardai are better off than most.
    Or do you think the average Gardai is as skilled as the average surgeon yourself?
    Your theory then is that you should be paid extra if your relative commits suicide and you find them?

How often does somebody find that, its par the course for guards.

I reckon the average trainee nurse will see 10 times as many bodies as the average Garda.
    Do they get paid more then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cartouche

The next time you meet a guard ask them how the suit fits, if the car is going well, what they plan to spend the retirement lump sum on
    After all, you are paying for it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

in that case you could be disciplined and fined by your internal regulations and then face the possibility of a bench warrant being issued for you or a criminal case being struck out and justice not being served . Im sure you would agree a solicitor would have no hesitation in taking advantage of a garda no show

by older gardai what do you mean ? higher ranking gardai or guys who have spent 30 years climbing the pay scale and serving the state ?

im sorry if i offend but from your posts you just dont seem to understand the situation at all

Bambi wrote: »

sorry i though you meant the other one 16 year old peaceful protester who smashed up the patrol car . obviously you meant the 16 year old who was convicted after a lengthy and expensive trial right ?

You understand the blueshirts were a different organisation from AGS ? he colour of the garda shirts properly confused you alright.

Eoin o duffy was sacked as garda commsioner by a fianna fail government in 1933 before he set up the blueshirts

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blueshirts

Why so angry bambi , i didnt shoot your parents :confused:

sorry i though you meant the other one 16 year old peaceful protester who smashed up the patrol car . obviously you meant the 16 year old who was convicted after a lengthy and expensive trial right ?
    Oh right, lawyers got paid a lot so the kid was definitely in ISIS. Probably Hitler reincarnated too.

by older gardai what do you mean ? higher ranking gardai or guys who have spent 30 years climbing the pay scale and serving the state ?
    What's so noble about "climbing the pay scale"? If the juniors are sleeping in cars while the average salary is 70k then there's an awful lot of people getting paid for desk jockeying bollix.

Oh right, lawyers got paid a lot so the kid was definitely in ISIS. Probably Hitler reincarnated too.

Im not sure what you mean there ??

Wasn't he given free legal aid ? a sitting td on a massive wage got free legal aid so im sure he did too.

Or dont you agree with justice ?

What's so noble about "climbing the pay scale"? If the juniors are sleeping in cars while the average salary is 70k then there's an awful lot of people getting paid for desk jockeying bollix.

this average wage thing is hurting your argument .

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-commissioner-job-ad-1655565-Sep2014/

the commissioner is getting 180000 at least then theres Assistant and deputy commissioners chiefs and supers inspectors and sgts

yes there is a awful lot of desk jockeys and that should be put to an end too

but there is still a lot of people on very low wages doing very difficult jobs nurses gardai etc who cant afford to travel home every day its a fact im afraid

this average wage thing is hurting your argument .

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-commissioner-job-ad-1655565-Sep2014/

the commissioner is getting 180000 at least then theres Assistant and deputy commissioners chiefs and supers inspectors and sgts
    You haven't a clue. Parroting the commissioners wage doesn't tell me anything either. Obviously there are far more than just one or two on ludicrous wages for the average to end up near 70k. And don't go telling me those lads are dealing with suicides and murders, they only leave the station to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Great to see that the usual lads are still hurting after the garda got their offer.It's an auld "i'm afraid to fight for a wage rise in my job so I don't want to see anyone else getting one" kind of thing. Total begrudgery and fear.

If we get pay rises our company agrees to it and pays for it.

If the public sector get a pay rise the private sector pays for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You understand the blueshirts were a different organisation from AGS ? he colour of the garda shirts properly confused you alright.

Eoin o duffy was sacked as garda commsioner by a fianna fail government in 1933 before he set up the blueshirts

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blueshirts

Why so angry bambi , i didnt shoot your parents :confused:

I'm not angry I'm just tired of having to correct you.

The blueshirts are Fine Gael, of course. I'm kind of hoping that you're just being facetious rather than f***king dense. But given your form... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If we get pay rises our company agrees to it and pays for it.

If the public sector get a pay rise the private sector pays for it.
    Jaysus and there was me thinking the Public Sector also paid tax. Fancy that.