Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Edups

Didn't see a thread on this but if I was a criminal i'd be preparing for Christmas.

A one day strike... you realise they'll just find you the day after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Sucks to be a guard or nurse if you joined up in the last 10 (?) years. They should be getting more money but is the money even there? Anyway, makes little difference to me or mine. If we get in trouble theres a minimum of 30 minutes till they get to the home place. Welcome to the thunder dome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Is the strike off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

THE PURGE IS COMING!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

Ronald Reagan would have sacked the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TOEJOE

Kadser wrote: »
    Ronald Reagan would have sacked the lot of them.
    And look what happened to him,bang bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Is the strike off?

Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hope they get a pay restoration as they deserve it. Pretty bad pay for the job they do.

I think the strike option was the wrong one. If they refused to issue summonses and refused to collect fines they would hit the Govt in the pocket and the courts would be ineffective. That would get the attention of the Govt much quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,685 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Something on six one about rank and file rejecting a new offer? Only got the tail end of it.

I see the "Government Commissioner" now demanding that the garda turn up for work on Friday.
    I say Government Commissioner because that's what she is and not a Garda Commissioner, looking after her buddies instead of her garda force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If you live in a rural area it's no difference if they strike for a week, you'd never see a Guard anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I see the "Government Commissioner" now demanding that the garda turn up for work on Friday.
    I say Government Commissioner because that's what she is and not a Garda Commissioner, looking after her buddies instead of her garda force.

Not the right way to be going about getting a solution is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

If you live in a rural area it's no difference if they strike for a week, you'd never see a Guard anyway.

Dont live in a rural area then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Time for a clear out of the ould guard(s) methinks

A second law enforcement outfit moseying on into town would do no harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I support the right to strike and the right to industrial action for all workers. I do believe that a Garda strike will lead to chaos, especially in the big cities and on the roads. The government should be ashamed that it's come to this, but it's typical half arsed brinksmanship.

Something on six one about rank and file rejecting a new offer? Only got the tail end of it.

There's no substantial offer. The government said they would imalgamate the rent allowance into normal pay over the next few years. Would work out at about an extra tenner a week for normal members and maybe 85 a week for new members. The government also offered to pay members to come in fifteen minutes early every shift for briefings. As offers go it was pathetic. The government have so many bargaining chips aside from a big pay increase that their offer shows just how little they give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

RTE reported that the offer on the table was an extra €2500 pay per year plus back pay of frozen increments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I'm torn over this one tbh.

I would state that the first public servants that should see any benefit of the so called recovery should be (in this order) nurses, guards, and teachers.

However, this striking lark isn't going to do the guards any favours, in the PR department, especially from members of the public.

Imo, in light of all the recent allegations of corruption from within the Guards, and this current pay dispute, might be the best solution all round to just go nuclear on them and restructure the whole organisation from the ground up , ala PSNI/RUC style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

There's no substantial offer. The government said they would imalgamate the rent allowance into normal pay over the next few years. Would work out at about an extra tenner a week for normal members and maybe 85 a week for new members. The government also offered to pay members to come in fifteen minutes early every shift for briefings. As offers go it was pathetic. The government have so many bargaining chips aside from a big pay increase that their offer shows just how little they give a ****.

The government this, the government that, you'd swear the way some people go on that they think it's the cabinets money. It's not. It's your money and your children's money.

The question is then: do you want to pay more tax so public servants can get a pay rise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

The government this, the government that, you'd swear the way some people go on that they think it's the cabinets money. It's not. It's your money and your children's money.

The question is then: do you want to pay more tax so public servants can get a pay rise?

But it's just pay restoration they are looking for and not a pay rise. Or am I wrong

hawkelady wrote: »
    But it's just pay restoration they are looking for and not a pay rise. Or am I wrong

Pay restoration is the PR friendly euphemism for a pay rise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I'd sooner see the tax I pay now spent properly.

Pay the people upholding the law/caring for the sick/educating the nations children a good wage for the job they do rather than throwing an extra 5 quid on all welfare payments and restoring the Christmas bonus.

Edups wrote: »
    Didn't see a thread on this but if I was a criminal i'd be preparing for Christmas.

A one day strike... you realise they'll just find you the day after?

Really?? Will you get your car back too the next day when some scumbags decide to joyride it knowing they will get away with their couple hours of "fun" ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Might as well just say "kill yourself then". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

im taking orders for christmas now

....on a serious note, best of luck to the gardai, one of the most important jobs in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Bambi wrote: »
    Time for a clear out of the ould guard(s) methinks

A second law enforcement outfit moseying on into town would do no harm.

How many of the representative bodies have come out against actual day to day management in any real way?

They seem more than happy to demand more money while saying nothing to suggest that there's any problem there.

Gardai are clearly unhappy about it so why are their rep groups silent on it?

They're as bad as management or the government and happy to maintain the current status quo

Do the GRA board members still pay their wives a €200 bonus at Christmas?!

So that 5K the TD's got was a pay rise after all.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Bull. Pay restoration is completely different to a rise, and if you can't see that, well you can't be helped.

I think it's disgraceful that the commissioner is directing every member in, even cancelling rest days and leave. She should be behind her force, not against it. And not one mention in the media of the EU courts stating that making it illegal for Gardai to strike is in breach of their rights. No, media is trying (as it nearly always does) to turn public opinion against the Gardai.

I support them all day long. I think the strike is a horrible thing to have to happen, but the government has basically treated the Gardai like children, ignoring all the issues towards pay and operational issues. Along with a Government puppet running the organisation, and the point blank refusal to let the GRA and AGSI have the legal right to become a union, the refusal to allow it's members become part of a union... it's all after getting too much for the Gardai.

While politicians are getting 5k a year, judges threatening to withdraw service due to not being paid enough (hah!), it's a kick in the face of the Gardai who are looking for nothing more than pay parity with new recruits, and restoration of pay to pre-recession levels. That's it. Yes, they'd love better equipment (1.6 diesel i30's as patrol cars...), better legislation, etc, but to avoid the strike it's simple. Restoration, parity, no more free hours. Offer that, the strike will be averted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Lol at the thinly veiled threat from government lackey Noirin O'Sullivan ordering the Guards to go to work Friday or else....

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all? They're panicking in Garda HQ/Leinster House alright.

Can't understand why the Garda get no respect of the Govt. If anyone deserves pay restoration its them.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Lol at the thinly veiled threat from government lackey Noirin O'Sullivan ordering the Guards to go to work Friday or else....

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all?

She could get them arrested ..no wait...

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all?

She could get them arrested ..no wait...

I wonder will she hand deliver the letter to her hubby ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Yeah, go to Dublin where all the affordable houses are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Firmly agree with the Gardai, they should be paid a lot more for the work they do.

So do I actually, They shouldn't have to be worrying about there wages at the end of the month, Think they have enough to be worrying about, also it must have there moral right down which again does not help in there work which in effect effects the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The gardai should have received a pay increase before those Luas drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

lawlolawl wrote: »
    I'd sooner see the tax I pay now spent properly.

Pay the people upholding the law/caring for the sick/educating the nations children a good wage for the job they do rather than throwing an extra 5 quid on all welfare payments and restoring the Christmas bonus.

Absolutely agree 100%. Unfortunately the well deserved pay restoration that the guards receive will be followed by strikes from all over the public sector for resulting in less deserving areas getting pay restoration that we cannot afford.

All these strikes are FG's fault for talking up the fragile recovery so much to win the election. Gob****es.

AGSI reject the proposals now -

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1101/828226-garda-strike-talks/

All is not well in policing it seems.

Aren't we already borrowing more per day than we take in to keep the country going?

Seems to me like the Guards and teachers want everything at once and have done no costings as to how it should be paid for.

We're not back in the celtic tiger days when the Government was taking in more money than it knew what to do with.

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all? They're panicking in Garda HQ/Leinster House alright.

Can't understand why the Garda get no respect of the Govt. If anyone deserves pay restoration its them.
    She doesn't have to sack them all. Just the ringleaders. Extract the poison

Aren't we already borrowing more per day than we take in to keep the country going?

Seems to me like the Guards and teachers want everything at once and have done no costings as to how it should be paid for.

We're not back in the celtic tiger days when the Government was taking in more money than it knew what to do with.

But yet the government saw fit to give the dole bonus back and an extra 5 to the unemployed ... logic ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not a smart move politically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda-strike-now-more-likely-as-gra-rejects-offer-1.2849933

Should the everybody be preparing for Christmas? It's just around the corner?

hawkelady wrote: »
    But yet the government saw fit to give the dole bonus back and an extra 5 to the unemployed ... logic ??

And did they say the PC was going to get nothing?

No they didn't, but it seems the timescale isn't fast enough for the unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The thing I find ironic about this and the teachers strike is that the unions are claiming they are fighting for equal pay for newer entrants. A noble gesture you might say but these were the same unions who had a choice in how cutbacks during the economic crash were to be handled. They made a decision to allow new entrants get paid some 15-20% less so as to protect current members from the worst of the cuts. In short, it was the unions who created the inequality by throwing young people under the bus so other members could benefit. But now they are a bastion of equality all of a sudden whereas a few years back they had no problems sacrificing new entrants. The hypocrisy of the unions is pretty astonishing IMO

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The thing I find ironic about this and the teachers strike is that the unions are claiming they are fighting for equal pay for newer entrants. A noble gesture you might say but these were the same unions who had a choice in how cutbacks during the economic crash were to be handled. They made a decision to allow new entrants get paid some 15-20% less so as to protect current members from the worst of the cuts. In short, it was the unions who created the inequality by throwing young people under the bus so other members could benefit. But now they are a bastion of equality all of a sudden whereas a few years back they had no problems sacrificing new entrants. The hypocrisy of the unions is pretty astonishing IMO

Gardai were excluded from negotiations and the cuts were passed by emergency measures legislation at a time when there was a recruitment freeze. There was no choice to be had.

Your Face wrote: »
    Not a smart move politically.

If something happens while they are on strike, like a big gangland incident, there strike will be blamed. Politically it will be easy if the action gets as unpopular as the Luas strikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭enricoh

They might as well go for gold, with a government as weak as ours they know they'll get their way. Unfortunate but true.

Plus with the effects of brexit to be felt next year there won't be a fiver knocking around for pay rises back to the Celtic tiger methinks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

and there i was thinking thatcher was dead and gone

last thing you want is workers standing up for them selfs isnt it ?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    and there i was thinking thatcher was dead and gone

last thing you want is workers standing up for them selfs isnt it ?

No, I have no problems with workers standing up for themselves once their demands are reasonable. The guards have been given a good offer and have rejected it.

There is nothing Thatcherite about wanting public sector workers to have demands that are in line with what is afordable for the country. The marginal tax rate still exceeds 50% and our public services are bad value.

Why should we pay more for the same ****ty service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

No, I have no problems with workers standing up for themselves once their demands are reasonable. The guards have been given a good offer and have rejected it.

There is nothing Thatcherite about wanting public sector workers to have demands that are in line with what is adorable for the country. The marginal tax rate still exceeds 50% and our public services are bad value.

Reasonable me bollix. They want to "restore" over a 3 year period (which ends up still less than pre recession), while still getting them to work 15 hours for free each year, state that they don't have the right to strike or negotiate pay. All the while they give themselves 5k extra a year on top of already stupid money for people who don't even have qualifications in their ministerial areas!!