The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What did I tell ye lads, guards will always look for the best of both worlds and get it when FG are in power

You want the forces of the law well buttered up when it comes to protecting ministers from 16 year olds with megaphones

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Bambi wrote: »
    What did I tell ye lads, guards will always look for the best of both worlds and get it when FG are in power

You want the forces of the law well buttered up when it comes to protecting ministers from 16 year olds with megaphones

thats fairly ill informed bambi

if any party would be a favorite of of the gardai and public sector in general it would be fianna fail no ?

your agenda is clouding your judgment also didnt that 16 year old admit to smashing the window of a patrol car with a brick ?

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/boy-16-damaged-garda-car-during-jobstown-protest-34689043.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

The indo has an article today reporting that militant members of the GRA are saying this deal is insufficient. Doesn't go far enough. Still looking for a full 16% pay rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

No, it's only Gardai who are required to work a large distance from home.

Tell that to all the people who spend 2+ hours a day commuting from surrounding counties to Dublin because the current rental crisis has priced them out of anywhere closer, yet their job hasn't moved with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Allinall

The indo has an article today reporting that militant members of the GRA are saying this deal is insufficient. Doesn't go far enough. Still looking for a full 16% pay rise.

They'll be told where to get off very quickly- by both their colleagues and the government .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Thanks; that's what I'd heard.

A rent allowance is made payable to those who don't rent.

Bit like the travel allowance for TDs then.

Do those who receive a plain clothes allowance also get a uniform cleaning and boot allowance similarly, no questions asked?

They are still required to wear them on occasion so I presume they still do. That €4 a week bother you?
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Tell that to all the people who spend 2+ hours a day commuting from surrounding counties to Dublin because the current rental crisis has priced them out of anywhere closer, yet their job hasn't moved with them.

That crisis affects everyone. The regulations on where you can work only affect Gardaí.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

They are still required to wear them on occasion so I presume they still do. That €4 a week bother you?

No, why would it? :)

Can you post up a complete list of current allowances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

They won't. Half the schools will be open. Most people haven't got kids in secondary schools.

Everyone fears the impact of not having the police.

Half of all leaving cert students not able to go to school is quite a big problem actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

The Gardai can't put butter on the table, some of them have to 'sleep in their cars', what must the poor folk in the private sector be surviving ?
    ---
    On an weekly basis, gardaí are the best paid public sector workers by a distance. They earned on average €1,304 per week in the second quarter of this year (or €67,808 on an annual, 52-week basis). That compares with an average of €906 across the entire public sector and €645 across the private sector. It is worth underscoring the point: average Garda weekly pay is currently almost 50pc higher than across the rest of the public sector. It is 102pc higher than the average in the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Whose turn is it next year, is it the teachers or nurses?. I can never remember the order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

No, why would it? :)

Can you post up a complete list of current allowances?

You just seem a little put out by it and the concept of rent allowance.

You'll find your list here along with all the info you could hope for.

http://www.gra.cc/information.html

Rightwing wrote: »
    The Gardai can't put butter on the table, some of them have to 'sleep in their cars', what must the poor folk in the private sector be surviving ?
    ---
    On an weekly basis, gardaí are the best paid public sector workers by a distance. They earned on average €1,304 per week in the second quarter of this year (or €67,808 on an annual, 52-week basis). That compares with an average of €906 across the entire public sector and €645 across the private sector. It is worth underscoring the point: average Garda weekly pay is currently almost 50pc higher than across the rest of the public sector. It is 102pc higher than the average in the private sector.

the problem with those figures is that it includes overtime.
    If there were more Gardai most of that overtime wouldn't be worked.
    Also, most overtime is worked in the City areas, Dublin mostly I presume. So there are plenty of Gardai working in areas where they can't do overtime.
    And the other thing about earning overtime, is you actually have to work it! So, work your days off.

Thanks; that's what I'd heard.

A rent allowance is made payable to those who don't rent.

Bit like the travel allowance for TDs then.

Do those who receive a plain clothes allowance also get a uniform cleaning and boot allowance similarly, no questions asked?

Rent allowance was brought in by a Fianna Fail government some years ago as a pay raise, without actually calling it a pay raise. It's basically a compensatory payment because when you join the Gardai, you can be stationed anywhere in the country. Management also have the right to move you should they need to.
    It's not about paying rent. They could have easily called it anything.
    There has already been a court ruling that has stated this particular allowance is basically part of basic pay.
    Of course members in receipt of plain clothes allowance do not receive uniform allowance.

bubblypop wrote: »
    the problem with those figures is that it includes overtime.
    If there were more Gardai most of that overtime wouldn't be worked.
    Also, most overtime is worked in the City areas, Dublin mostly I presume. So there are plenty of Gardai working in areas where they can't do overtime.
    And the other thing about earning overtime, is you actually have to work it! So, work your days off.

But...after all that, do they still need to sleep in their cars ? Something is wrong somewhere. :confused:

Gardaí have suffered so much from pay cuts some are sleeping in cars because they cannot afford to drive home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Great to see that the usual lads are still hurting after the garda got their offer.It's an auld "i'm afraid to fight for a wage rise in my job so I don't want to see anyone else getting one" kind of thing. Total begrudgery and fear.

But...after all that, do they still need to sleep in their cars ? Something is wrong somewhere. :confused:

Gardaí have suffered so much from pay cuts some are sleeping in cars because they cannot afford to drive home

Some?
    Perhaps you missed that?
    Not all Gardai do overtime, some sleep in their cars.
    I personally know of two members that are in receipt of social welfare payments. I don't know how anyone could think that having the police of their country on social welfare payments is right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

Great to see that the usual lads are still hurting after the garda got their offer.It's an auld "i'm afraid to fight for a wage rise in my job so I don't want to see anyone else getting one" kind of thing. Total begrudgery and fear.
    But with AGS sweet again you'll get battered at the picket line... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

---

Did you just quote AVERAGES.....AGAIN???? Are you taking the mick or do you actually think they are smart figures to be using? LOL

Some?
    Perhaps you missed that?
    I personally know of two members that are in receipt of social welfare payments. I don't know how anyone could think that having the police of their country on social welfare payments is right.

And explain how they can be on social welfare ?

cursai wrote: »
    Did you just quote AVERAGES.....AGAIN???? Are you taking the mick or do you actually think they are smart figures to be using? LOL

Do they bring their pjs with them in the car, toilet paper etc ? :rolleyes:

OK. Great stuff. What are you talking about?

By the way. Who says the Gardai have gotten what they wanted? Has there been a vote on this? Have a lot of people here even read it?

OK. Great stuff. What are you talking about?

The Gardai 'sleeping in their cars', I hope they are cleaning their poops. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Gardai 'sleeping in their cars', I hope they are cleaning poops. LOL

Rightwing is really hurtin'.

The Gardai 'sleeping in their cars', I hope they are cleaning poops. LOL

LOL I think you should go back to QUOTING wrong information......LOL ROFL LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Some?
    Perhaps you missed that?

That doesn't sound right. The only social welfare payment for anyone with a full time job is the Family Income Supplement and the income threshold to qualify isn't all that low-although I've seen conflicting figures for garda wages I don't think I've seen anything to suggest they're earning a low enough figure to qualify. Spousal income is also tested for that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

And explain how they can be on social welfare ?

There's plenty of new Gardai on Family Income Supplement.

Family Income Supplement

It's not that hard to see why when you look at the qualifying bands, and take into account base take home pay is currently in the region of €330 per week (it takes a fair bit of allowances and overtime to push you over the threshold depending on the number of kids you have).

If you have: And your weekly family income is less than:
    One child €511
    Two children €612
    Three children €713
    Four children €834
    Five children €960
    Six children €1,076
    Seven children €1,212
    Eight children €1,308

Trainee Gardai have also had to take out loans just to put them through Templemore while also providing for their family. They get an allowance of €180 while in Templemore but can't avail of the Family Income Supplement as technically they are in full time education.

TD's aren't just asking these questions for ****s and giggles.

LOL I think you should go back to QUOTING wrong information......LOL ROFL LMAO

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardaiacute-sleeping-in-cars-due-to-pay-cuts-327600.html

We have a good headline here. Garda sleeping in car and has to make a poo...what I had to do.

The Sun would be interested. Sell your story Garda, sell your story, even if no one believes you it's entertainment,

There's plenty of new Gardai on Family Income Supplement.

Family Income Supplement

It's not that hard to see why when you look at the qualifying bands, and take into account base take home pay is currently in the region of €330 per week (it takes a fair bit of allowances and overtime to push you over the threshold).

If you have: And your weekly family income is less than:
    One child €511
    Two children €612
    Three children €713
    Four children €834
    Five children €960
    Six children €1,076
    Seven children €1,212
    Eight children €1,308

What about those on 'average' pay. Surely if they were on that they wouldn't qualify.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardaiacute-sleeping-in-cars-due-to-pay-cuts-327600.html

We have a good headline here. Garda sleeping in car and has to make a poo...what I had to do.

The Sun would be interested. Sell your story Garda, sell your story, even if no one believes you it's entertainment,

Are you drunk.....at 12midday?