The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Looking forward to my pay rise as a new entrant in the public service now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Didn't think it would be so last minute. All those people in the media the last few days saying they were going to be terrified today can rest easy again for awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭CorkColin

What amounts to nearly 4 grand of a pay rise. Where else would you get it!?! And imo not deserved. Will we see a reduction in crime figures? I doubt it. What was not nearly as difficult a job as what the GRA are painting just got handier.

Well deserved for the pittance they are on and the job they do in my humble opinion :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Jaysus poor Guards have pay bit of petrol now to do nothing this morning instead of sitting at home doing nothing

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

What amounts to nearly 4 grand of a pay rise. Where else would you get it!?! And imo not deserved. Will we see a reduction in crime figures? I doubt it. What was not nearly as difficult a job as what the GRA are painting just got handier.

Not deserved? Who would you call if your family were kidnapped or you were held up at gunpoint? Should guards come to those situations for min wage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

Not deserved? Who would you call if your family were kidnapped or you were held up at gunpoint? Should guards come to those situations for min wage?

You'd call them, but would they come? I'd actually call family members first and have them call the gards. At least then someone would come. Maybe in a city they respond, but anywhere else they do little for people during or after being burgled. Even in cities they rarely follow up on stolen cars etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The floodgates will open now. Expect more threats of disruption from the transport unions, nurses, civil servants, and basically anyone who fancies a pay rise.

As I said elsewhere, maybe Enda and Co should have waited for a real "recovery" before they started taking credit for it and trying to buy an election with it.

Here's the issue: Kenny & co telling everyone the crisis is over while wanting to keep in place the financial control measures of the crisis.

And this gang are in charge of steering the country through Brexit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

do we all feel much safer today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It's worth pointing out that the majority of the pay increase will be from shift allowances and working extra hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

btw - just out of interest how do you make a citizens arrest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

tails_naf wrote: »
    You'd call them, but would they come? I'd actually call family members first and have them call the gards. At least then someone would come. Maybe in a city they respond, but anywhere else they do little for people during or after being burgled. Even in cities they rarely follow up on stolen cars etc.

To be fair, any time I've ever had to call them (quite a bit when I lived in an abusive situation) they always came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

42000 grand plus benefits after only 7 years service is not min wage. Anyway, where i live they are so slow to respond to anything I'd nearly prefer to have my own weapon for personal protection in any of the situations you described. ....but alas I'm not allowed. So I'm screwed either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

It's worth pointing out that the majority of the pay increase will be from shift allowances and working extra hours.

Rent allowance/ Annual leave allowance. Best part of a grand there. And with the allowances built into pay, premium and o/t rates also increase according to some of the broadcasters.
    A good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

it's is interesting to juxtapose this garda pay rise with the spiralling homelessness we're experiencing. why can we afford one and not the other and which party are more desperately in need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i heard some gaurd on the sean o'rourke show yesterday saying his kids "go hungry"

give me a f*cking break will ya:rolleyes: its not like he's on the dole living in a council flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

fryup wrote: »
    i heard some gaurd on the sean o'rourke show yesterday saying his kids "go hungry"

give me a f*cking break will ya:rolleyes: its not he's on the dole living in a council flat
    if his kids go hungry it's due to his negligence and/or chronic money mismanagement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

[quote="opinionated3;101553701" ?! And imo not deserved. Will we see a reduction in crime figures? I doubt it. What was not nearly as difficult a job as what the GRA are painting just got handier.[/quote]

Until the courts stop allowing people with 60 plus previous convictions to walk you're not going to see a reduction in crime figures.
    You see it as handy? I see it as pissing against the wind
    If it's such a handy well paid job would you consider doing it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Clampdown wrote: »
    I can't wait to wake up tomorrow and make a crime.

Or is it do a crime? Anyway, whichever it is, I'm doing one. Or maybe a several. Right in a row. What do they call that? A spree? Yes, a spree sounds delightful. Probably because it rhymes with glee, my favorite show. Oh yes I think I'll do a crime spree and a glee marathon. That sounds like a class weekend. Maybe I'll steal some glee boxsets. Take that corporate America!

Lets just make it a verb.

' I'm gonna wake up tomorrow and crime all day long!'

'Damn, I love crimin' '

etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

give me a f*cking break will ya:rolleyes: its not like he's on the dole living in a council flat

There was a garda on Pat Kenny (I think) yesterday saying that his wage left him comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I grew up in a council flat in the 80's.. family were stony broke and I never went hungry. Because food for the kids was the first consideration when it came to money

I hope the social services follow this up and investigate the bollox for child neglect. Of course, he'll sing a different song then of course. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

If he's kids are going hungry, he might want to look at his weekly or monthly outgoings. Do people really need to spend shít loads of money on rent or a mortgage, a new(ish) car every few years or every Sky addon package available? If after after cutting out every unnecessary cost possible, him and his kids are going hungry, then I'd have sympathy for him and the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

L.Jenkins wrote: »
    If he's kids are going hungry, he might want to look at his weekly or monthly outgoings. Do people really need to spend shít loads of money on rent or a mortgage, a new(ish) car every few years or every Sky addon package available? If after after cutting out every unnecessary cost possible, him and his kids are going hungry, then I'd have sympathy for him and the Gardai.

Does he have any rental properties? Hard to have sympathy for someone saying their kids are going hungry because they fancied themselves a property magnate in the Good Times

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Does he have any rental properties? Hard to have sympathy for someone saying their kids are going hungry because they fancied themselves a property magnate in the Good Times

I'm a qualified Software Engineer, now training to be an Accountant. If baffles me, how anyone could go hungry. I'm currently on social, married, I own a car, have bill pay phone and can pay my way. We also head away once a month to Sligo. All without going hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Bambi wrote: »
    I grew up in a council flat in the 80's.. family were stony broke and I never went hungry. Because food for the kids was the first consideration when it came to money

I hope the social services follow this up and investigate the bollox for child neglect. Of course, he'll sing a different song then of course. :rolleyes:

I completely agree on the point about kids going hungry. While I can understand a lot of other things falling by the wayside when people are genuinely hard up the children should be able to eat, at least. And I don't think it should be an issue on a garda's wages.

I don't think he should be investigated for what was probably an ill thought out comment designed to sway people towards sympathising with him. It was probably a lie.

Do we now have officially the best paid police on the planet? Anyone know of any better paid forces? Dubai or somewhere like that maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

L.Jenkins wrote: »
    I'm a qualified Software Engineer, now training to be an Accountant. If baffles me, how anyone could go hungry. I'm currently on social, married, I own a car, have bill pay phone and can pay my way. We also head away once a month to Sligo. All without going hungry.

So on social welfare you probably get the bulk of your rent paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I don't think we're anywhere near having the best paid police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I completely agree on the point about kids going hungry. While I can understand a lot of other things falling by the wayside when people are genuinely hard up the children should be able to eat, at least. And I don't think it should be an issue on a garda's wages.

I don't think he should be investigated for what was probably an ill thought out comment designed to sway people towards sympathising with him. It was probably a lie.

You can't make a comment like that without repercussions. If people knew that when they lied about their children going hungry there would be a social services investigation, they would stop using the lie as a weapon in pay disputes.

Its always a lie and its disgusting to use your children as cry for public support..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Lackey wrote: »
    Until the courts stop allowing people with 60 plus previous convictions to walk you're not going to see a reduction in crime figures.
    You see it as handy? I see it as pissing against the wind
    If it's such a handy well paid job would you consider doing it yourself?

Absolutely. And I'd be confident of doing quite a good job too. I'm deemed too old now though at 38....

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I don't think we're anywhere near having the best paid police force.

It'd be easy to find a better paid force then, I can't?