The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

bubblypop wrote: »
    That's the big problem as I can see.
    AGSI and GRA should actually be working together. All sergeants and inspectors were gardai, and a number of gardai will be sergeants or inspectors. They need to work together, but they don't.

They might be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

sdanseo wrote: »
    5 minutes of browsing the web shows me that a police officer in London...

Actually basic met police salary ( Band G ) is only £18,041 to £18,748

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

That's the big problem as I can see.
    AGSI and GRA should actually be working together. All sergeants and inspectors were gardai, and a number of gardai will be sergeants or inspectors. They need to work together, but they don't.

The GRA Central Executive Committee are still discussing the proposals. I'd imagine they will also defer tomorrows action pending the outcome of a ballot of its members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

maryishere wrote: »

I was looking at this and this which in fact is for experienced officers not newbies.

but actually according to this, it's about €33,000 minimum for new entrants.
    As a new Police Constable, you'll receive a basic starting salary of £22,668 plus £6,687 London allowances. This rises to £37,626 plus London allowances in line with relevant Home Office guidelines and police regulations.

Question for the more initiated - how does Garda rent allowance work for people who own homes? Can they claim it to help with mortgage repayments? If not, won't putting it into base pay only reward renting and leave homeowners at a disadvantage?

A €500 increase is a slap in the face if that's all they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭wpd

5 minutes of browsing the web shows me that a police officer in London, when you add up all their automatic allowances, walks out of training college on at least the equivalent of €32,000 and up to €35,000. That's at today's exchange rate - if you go back to pre-Brexit it was more like €35,000-€38,000.

Meanwhile, a Garda in Dublin with rent equally high and prices for everything else a good bit higher starts on €23,500 plus whatever rent allowance they're entitled to apply for.

you must have been browsing via the pulse system:D

The GRA Central Executive Committee are still discussing the proposals. I'd imagine they will also defer tomorrows action pending the outcome of a ballot of its members.

It's too late now for a lot of members.
    What about people that are due to work at 7am? Maybe they're in bed already?
    The fact that AGSI are working actually takes the pressure off the GRA members. Things will be grand tomorrow with sergeants working.
    Like the blue flu in 98

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

That is the pre April 2013 pay rate.

It has gone up each September since and as of September 2016 it's currently as per my previous post, on top of which they also get an annual £2,373 London Weighing, a £1,011 London Allowance, a £846-£1,239 once off drivig allowance per annum dependent on their CC and a £0.45 per mile for the first 10,000 miles driving allowance per annum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was looking at this and this which in fact is for experienced officers not newbies.

but actually according to this, it's about €33,000 minimum for new entrants.

Doesn't matter. Mary will be back with the same auld mantra tomorrow. Just like she was the day before and the day before that. She should have called herself Ronseal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

If the GRA push on they will be like right greedy bastards in the public eye..i would think the only option is to suspend the strike and take the offer to the members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

A police person is a police-man or police-woman, and in London they are already paid less starting off than our Gardai / Ban Ghardai in Dublin

Both of these statements are completely baseless and factually incorrect.

The law makes no distinction as to the gender of a member of the Guards any more.

As for the London thing, I have given not one, or two, but three sources to back up the figures. You are wrong. By about ten grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Specialun wrote: »
    If the GRA push on they will be like right greedy bastards in the public eye..i would think the only option is to suspend the strike and take the offer to the members

They played it very well so far in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Garda mate reckons the GRA are playing hardball and won't take the offer to the members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Just being downright greedy then. ..

No.
    Do you really think they should take a pittance in pay to work more? Because that's what's being offered so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's called off for tomorrow isn't it?

The sergeants and inspectors have called of their strike, so there will be adequate cover with them, probationer gardai and student gardai.
    Actual guards still on a withdrawal of service. But there will be enough to cover any essential work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

seamus wrote: »
    Garda mate reckons the GRA are playing hardball and won't take the offer to the members.

Well they did seek a 'substantial' increase last night. They may have backed themselves into a corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭irishproduce

strike is off anyway

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-strike-agsi-3060395-Nov2016/

was never gonna happen anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

was never gonna happen anyway

Is that you Pascal Donoghue

It's a bit late for members that were due to work at 7am
    I hope the GRA will back them if they don't show up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It's a bit late for members that were due to work at 7am
    I hope the GRA will back them if they don't show up!

They weren't getting a day off, it was a strike day. If they weren't prepared to go in that's their issue.

And what about the people that had their rest days cancelled?
    Do you think they should go in for 12 hours overtime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If they want the extra cash.

And what about the people that were on training courses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Edups

And what about the people that were on training courses?

It's still their problem they should assume it wasn't going ahead and act accordingly. They're big boys, not babies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭garrettod

Absolutely no doubt in my mind that they should all go in (and get paid !).

The additional resources can help the Gardai catch up on the bundles of paperwork that the Gardai need to get through, or help put heavier pressence out on the street, or at worst .... go and give out more tickets for road offenses etc. to raise more funds for the State.

No matter which way I look at it, I'm glad this problem between the Gardai and the Government seems (fingers crossed) to have been resolved.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Ah balls.

Does anyone want to buy a hockey mask and a chainsaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

What amounts to nearly 4 grand of a pay rise. Where else would you get it!?! And imo not deserved. Will we see a reduction in crime figures? I doubt it. What was not nearly as difficult a job as what the GRA are painting just got handier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

What amounts to nearly 4 grand of a pay rise. Where else would you get it!?! And imo not deserved. Will we see a reduction in crime figures? I doubt it. What was not nearly as difficult a job as what the GRA are painting just got handier.

The floodgates will open now. Expect more threats of disruption from the transport unions, nurses, civil servants, and basically anyone who fancies a pay rise.

As I said elsewhere, maybe Enda and Co should have waited for a real "recovery" before they started taking credit for it and trying to buy an election with it.