The Garda Strike

No they don't, there are no talks of introducing one at the moment either. Wouldn't surprise me if it's revisited down the line though.

All London Metropolitan Police officers receive a London weighting payment and London allowance top-up.
    Amanda.ie wrote: »
    NO.

Guards in rural areas can be busier as they don't have as many members as Dublin for eg.
    Gardai in rural areas deal with everything, city guards might only deal with drugs, shop lifting. Not saying city guards only do this btw

Wow, I would have thought there would have been something in place tbh.

A rural guard is a very well paid job so and a dublin guard not so much (as I thought)

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    They do - it's an illegal act for a start. They have already lost the respect of many people because of corruption and treatment of whistleblowers. They will suffer more reputational damage if they strike.

No it's not an illegal act.
    You find anywhere in any law that states it's illegal for AGS to strike and I will give you a million euro.
    That's an untrue claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Why do people go on about other countries? This is Ireland and our cost of living is way higher than those other countries mentioned.

There was a link earlier in the thread showing the cost of living in London is higher than in Dublin, but a police person starting off in London is paid less than a Gardai starting off in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

Not buying the whole death thing, there was 18 people killed in Farming last year 30 the year before. It's far from the most dangerous job other there. Not trying to make little of the guys who died in the line but I just don't buy it's that dangerous a job in comparison to a lot of others that are a lot less paid.

Does you think someone has to get killed for a job to be dangerous? I don't.

I know gardai who have been hit with hammers, stabbed while on duty. And witnessed them beimg spat at and had things thrown at them in public when off duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Wow, I would have thought there would have been something in place tbh.

A rural guard is a very well paid job so and a dublin guard not so much (as I thought)

How have you come to that conclusion?

What about the dublin guards who live at home? rent with other people?

Gardai and other people have to pay rent outside of the big smoke ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why do people go on about other countries? This is Ireland and our cost of living is way higher than those other countries mentioned.
    She's like an auld maid living on her own and playing the same auld tune over and over again on her record player. Probably something from Big Tom.
    She can't be told or chooses to ignore everything she's told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Farming is dangerous but many accidents can be prevented.

If a guard stops a car he/she has no idea who the driver is or if they are armed, same if they attend a house they have no idea who is inside.
    They cant just stand back and think about things, it's a different type of danger.

"Yerra dem farmers aren't gettin nearly as bad a class a death as de guards" :confused:

Majority of gardai killed on duty die in traffic accidents. Theres been an upswing in fatal shootings etc. the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Believe it or not but I saw garda members on the water protests I was on

Really? Sounds like the force might have been infiltrated by lefties. Noirin won't like that one bit
    An Assistant Garda commissioner has claimed he was asked by Garda Commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan during interviews for the position of deputy commissioner about his views on left wing politicians.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/garda-taken-aback-at-political-questions-in-job-interview-1.2186832

Sham of a force, when members stay silent on matters like that (not to mention the treatment of whistle-blowers) while holding the country to ransom and demanding huge pay increases because they're deluded enough to think they deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

maryishere wrote: »
    There was a link earlier in the thread showing the cost of living in London is higher than in Dublin, but a police person starting off in London is paid less than a Gardai starting off in Dublin.

That was shown to be untrue........................and what the hell is a "police person"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭enricoh

Are you paying it? have you any idea how much it is?

If you answer yes to both you can have an opinion on it.

So taxpayers can't have an opinion on Garda pensions unless they are paying the pension levy ? Ok, 67k average pay is a joke, give them 100k so, sod the taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Edups

Paulzx wrote: »
    That was shown to be untrue........................and what the hell is a "police person"

You know what she meant by police person, even though using the same term for cops as post men or women is wrong, it's police officer across the board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Paulzx wrote: »
    A police person is a police-man or police-woman, and in London they are already paid less starting off than our Gardai / Ban Ghardai in Dublin....even though Dublin is cheaper to live in than London. - as the link earlier in the thread showed.

enricoh wrote: »
    So taxpayers can't have an opinion on Garda pensions unless they are paying the pension levy ? Ok, 67k average pay is a joke, give them 100k so, sod the taxpayer.

Maybe you forget that the gardai pay tax too?
    So whatever the ' pay raise' they may or may not get, approx 50% goes back to the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Are you paying it? have you any idea how much it is?

If you answer yes to both you can have an opinion on it.

I pay more than enough into my own private pension that can be ransacked when the government feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

I pay more than enough into my own pension.

Im sure you do.
    The pension levy is only paid by public servants along with all the other pensions they pay.
    It is an extra tax on public servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Im sure you do.
    The pension levy is only paid by public servants along with all the other pensions they pay.
    It is an extra tax on public servants.

I do actually and I have no guarantee I will get it when the time comes. An extra tax my hoop. No sympathy for the Gardai or the rest of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So the Govt has succeeded in engaging the Private Sector against the Public Sector and blamed the Unions. I posted about that on some thread about 4 or 5 years ago. I'm psychic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    the guards have nothing whatsoever to loose by striking

They do - it's an illegal act for a start.

An incorrect belief many seem to have, to clarify it is NOT an illegal act for Gardaí to strike.

It is however illegal for someone to induce or do any act calculated to induce a Garda to withhold their services or to commit a breach of discipline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cartouche

We cant even afford the public sector wages and pensions as it is. Not to mention social welfare. We are borrowing every year to make up the deficit. The next thing will be tax increases. How much tax are people willing to pay to fund all of these pay demands ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Police in the UK and other countries are not paid as much as the Gardai, but they are not striking?
    As a foreigner said the other day, why do police not strike elsewhere?

Here ya go, France last week

http://www.euronews.com/2016/10/26/who-protects-the-protectors-french-police-on-strike-as-terror-shatters-nerves

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Agsi just called off their strike and will work tomorrow. Gra didn't announce anything yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Strike called off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Police in the UK and other countries are not paid as much as the Gardai, but they are not striking?
    As a foreigner said the other day, why do police not strike elsewhere?

5 minutes of browsing the web shows me that a police officer in London, when you add up all their automatic allowances, walks out of training college on at least the equivalent of €32,000 and up to €35,000. That's at today's exchange rate - if you go back to pre-Brexit it was more like €35,000-€38,000.

Meanwhile, a Garda in Dublin with rent equally high and prices for everything else a good bit higher starts on €23,500 plus whatever rent allowance they're entitled to apply for.

Cartouche wrote: »
    We cant even afford the public sector wages and pensions as it is. Not to mention social welfare. We are borrowing every year to make up the deficit. The next thing will be tax increases. How much tax are people willing to pay to fund all of these pay demands ?

So who do you suggest gets an increase?
    Social welfare recipients or people that actually work for the state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Agsi just called off their strike and will work tomorrow. Gra didn't announce anything yet

The split. The infighting will start now if the GRA hold firm. Popcorn time.

Strike called off

For sergeants and inspectors.
    Garda withdrawal of service still stands

Donal55 wrote: »
    The split. The infighting will start now if the GRA hold firm. Popcorn time.

That's the big problem as I can see.
    AGSI and GRA should actually be working together. All sergeants and inspectors were gardai, and a number of gardai will be sergeants or inspectors. They need to work together, but they don't.

Strike called off

Good. Hopefully they're happy with the new offer and got a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

A police person is a police-man or police-woman, and in London they are already paid less starting off than our Gardai / Ban Ghardai in Dublin....even though Dublin is cheaper to live in than London. - as the link earlier in the thread showed.

Gardaí start off at €23,750, Police in the London start between £19,383 and £22,442 as determined by the Chief of Police, those starting on the higher entry rate are earning more than our Gardaí starting rate before any additional benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

bubblypop wrote: »
    That's the big problem as I can see.
    AGSI and GRA should actually be working together. All sergeants and inspectors were gardai, and a number of gardai will be sergeants or inspectors. They need to work together, but they don't.

Will be interesting to see what AGSI get. And also what reaction from GRA is.