If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Brexit really hitting the heifer trade, it seems.

No export the boat is keeping a floor on bull weanlings going to Turkey.

Two tools to soften Larry's cough. Live exports and suckler men cutting back numbers a bit.
    Meat Industry Ireland constantly mosning that the industry is low low margin at processor level.
    Won't stop them paying good money for finished animals when they are scare enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Two tools to soften Larry's cough. Live exports and suckler men cutting back numbers a bit.
    Meat Industry Ireland constantly mosning that the industry is low low margin at processor level.
    Won't stop them paying good money for finished animals when they are scare enough though.

An agent was ringing the uncle last week for cattle . the lightest of these cattle were 440kg DW and he didn't get caught for overweight.,about a fortnight ago. Kill was circa 35k at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

_Brian wrote: »
    Was in carnaross earlier and quite a few of this style heifers withdrawn under €600. Plainer continental weanlings were poor trade as were heavier lots.

I was there last night, it would nearly make you cry, some of the prices. Any man that could pick up those small heifers, should make turn. I seen heifers similar to ones I paid 1200 for selling for 900 tops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Was at a suckler sale in Kk Tuesday, very poor trade, some good sucklers in it too, easily some back €300 on last year, one man was selling out to go milking all big nice aa and Lim cows all young enough most Incalf to ai bb(stq) best one made 1460 back to 950/1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Wes Palmer Lee

simx wrote: »
    Was at a suckler sale in Kk Tuesday, very poor trade, some good sucklers in it too, easily some back €300 on last year, one man was selling out to go milking all big nice aa and Lim cows all young enough most Incalf to ai bb(stq) best one made 1460 back to 950/1000

When were they calving?
    If spring calvers it would've been enough for them imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭GiantPencil

Did anyone go to the Salers X sale in Gort on Thursday night? Heard prices were averaging 800 for weanlings and good heifers were 1000/1200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

When were they calving?
    If spring calvers it would've been enough for them imo..

Are you gone soft in the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

fr bull new ross mart 1015kgs 1300 yoyos, happy enough as i only bought him in june for 900 ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Are you gone soft in the head.

With beef at 3.60 and talks of less to come His head might be plenty hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Willfarman wrote: »
    With beef at 3.60 and talks of less to come His head might be plenty hard.

Good lm cows calving in a few months for less than 1000 euro! Will you cop on boy....
    These were all more than likely a suckler to suckler farm sale so the finishing lad's can stay out of it. There's more to evaluate in the price paid for breeding stock than what there worth on the hook at current beef prices especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Good lm cows calving in a few months for less than 1000 euro! Will you cop on boy....
    These were all more than likely a suckler to suckler farm sale so the finishing lad's can stay out of it. There's more to evaluate in the price paid for breeding stock than what there worth on the hook at current beef prices especially.

+1000

Sold a few cull cows
    Si cow 5 years old, potential to carry allot of weight, 660kg €900

Lim x aa 10 years old, allot of bag and belly, not sure if you'd be mad to feed her 670kg €875

Hol fr 12 years old all bag and bones 585kg €380

Killed two lim x, one dead 488kg r= 3 €1610

335kg dead o+ 3 €1105

Not to bad I think.

It's humble money I know but I wouldn't be snapping them up in the hope of making money. Would you?

Beef price does not look good for short,medium term. None seems to have a clue about long term. and this directly impacts on the value of breeding stock.. Sub 4 euro a kg sn't worth a **** to farmers.

The young stock to Turky is a huge success so far. If it grows it's potential is huge. They could take tens of thousands of stock if things work out. That's as long as our dealers don't try to screw them with crap stock and they keep paying.

Numbers out of our system to hopefully keep Larry in check (but he has Poland for that now) it's such a positive move and whoever organised it fair play.

The next thing that would put more cash in everyone's pocket is to organise more ships to take our dairy bull calves for free if needed. The lads that are paying 200/300 need a smack across the head and if they were only €50 there would be to many of them here. They need to go to help everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Suckler cows for over 1000 aren't worth it that's just my opinion what happens if she has a heifer calf next spring and prices are like this fall. Would dairy lads go out and pay top dollar for cows when milk price is poor so why should suckler lads. If ure in an area where prices are holding for weanlings fair enough but wouldn't be for me.

Depends on the cow and the market you are looking to sell to. Everyone should hope to aim to have options. The suckler man that is. If wenanlings are a good trade let them off. If bad try to feed your best and sell your worst. If the good lads are a good trade squeeze the light lads and hold untill spring for the grass men.

Heifers if they are breed to a high standerd should go if trade is good at weanlings sell the light ones or the heavy ones depending if they are good trade. You have options to keep them lit over winter and sell to grass men agin in spring or turn out to the bull and sell as springers or kill off the grass.

Don't put all your eggs in the one basket because you'll have more bad years than good. The biggest killer is lads calving heifers at 3 years of age and holding or carrying over "good" cows. Out the door and bring in a really good heifer.

I'm half wondering is it even worth breeding your replaisments, allot of feeding required and space takin up that could be for a weanling in the hopes that she goes Incalf and calves ok. I think good springer can be value for money at €1500/€1800 for really good ones. Hard to breed that good heifer every time and get her to calveing.

Dozer1 wrote: »
    Suckler cows for over 1000 aren't worth it that's just my opinion what happens if she has a heifer calf next spring and prices are like this fall. Would dairy lads go out and pay top dollar for cows when milk price is poor so why should suckler lads. If ure in an area where prices are holding for weanlings fair enough but wouldn't be for me.

Depends on if she's a good young nice cow that's not sumeones leftovers calving in June ect. The same cow calving in feb could be worth €300 more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,166 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

simx wrote: »

I think you need to read the orginial post. AA and LM cows not all LM. Good chance Black Lm cows. Even if not I imagine that the lesser prices were for the AA cows. 12-1400 for LM cows is enough for LM cows at present. Value the calf at 350-450 across bulls and heifers next April/May. I imagine that some of the lads buying them intend to calf them down and finish them.

Beef at present is back 30-40c/kg compared to this time last year. Last winter finishers made no money on finishing cattle. With prices of store I cann see lads making money unless factory base price is a nice bit above 4/kg. We are 40c/kg behind that at present. That is 160/head on suckler bred cattle. Last year lads expected 4.2/kg at Christmas they got 3.9/kg that is another 100 euro/head.

Dairy farmers are selling goodish cows for 11-1200/head. These are cows capable of turning over 1800-2100 euro in milk a year at 28c/L and a calf with an average value of over 100 euro once he/she hits the ground. If that man averaged 1200/cow and replaces them with dairy cows he is a hell of a lot better off.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Picked up 8 suckler bred weanlings today 200kg ave. Plainish stock apr-june calves. Happy enough with price of €480. Better than buying sucks any day of week. ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

It is no surprise that in calf heifirs or cows are back in price....Beef outlook is bleak and this year's weanlings are back up to 120 euro a head on same stock as last year irrespective of breed.

Best trade at moment is light young Continental May/June calves around 2OO to 250 kg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Got word yester day that neighbour Is down in test and now I'm restricted til I test myself and a load of cattle to sell,raging.....

Mart or factory fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

If your like me and overstocked I'd start looking at what you can move. First thing I done was get a lad into scan anything empty went straight onto meal. Closed extra paddocks for bales and tried to rearrange housing so I could carry the majority through the winter. Some of that will be irrelevant at this stage of the year but be prepared. Hopefully you'll come clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Picked up 8 suckler bred weanlings today 200kg ave. Plainish stock apr-june calves. Happy enough with price of €480. Better than buying sucks any day of week. ☺
    Suck calves are a rob, but I think those Weanlings will be bought in spring for the same money maybe less

The Cuban wrote: »
    Suck calves are a rob, but I think those Weanlings will be bought in spring for the same money maybe less

Suckler bred sub 300 kg weanlings for under 500? I hope your wrong.. That's where the job was 2009 with beef @ 2.80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Suckler bred sub 300 kg weanlings for under 500? I hope your wrong.. That's where the job was 2009 with beef @ 2.80.

Some of my heifers were sub €2 at the mart and they weren't bad cattle all off suckler cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,166 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I do n ot think so. Light weanlings like that will cost very little to overwinter. If you can grass them for a month then on to 2kgs of maize, soya, minerals and good silage they will hit nearly a kg/day. If you can grass them in early March for 20-30 days. By next April they could be 320+kgs. What would it cost you to April 120 euro. The export market will be there more than likly they make over 700 selling in the spring. If you were keeping longer they would be over 500kgs this time next year.

Biggest issue is cost have risen. Spring could be very tricky for cattle

Slava Ukrainii

Probably will but that is 6mts away and what i bought will be 350kg by then and if i can get oct-nov suckler weanlings at that price in March i'll buy them. One winter and finish at 24mts hanging at 360dw. Where and how is the lad going to win who buys yellow chx at 280kg for twice what i paid??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Probably will but that is 6mts away and what i bought will be 350kg by then and if i can get oct-nov suckler weanlings at that price in March i'll buy them. One winter and finish at 24mts hanging at 360dw. Where and how is the lad going to win who buys yellow chx at 280kg for twice what i paid??
    Not saying what you are doing is wrong, all I`m saying is Weanling prices have fallen, they seem cheap now but they have fallen for a reason.
    At the moment without them been shipped to the Turks then the ass would be completely gone off them. We are yet to get the full impact of Brexit yet but we will start to see it before long more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Look at the price of beef in england . the low price is due to the oversupply of cattle. Its so simple. There is too many cattle at present