Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Mesocycle is a new word to me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

JohnSBG wrote: »
    Thanks for all the well wishes guys. Its a badly overused cliché but as we approach the end of this final mesocycle with only a handful of sessions left before leaving for NY next weekend to begin the taper down i could not be happier with how the camp has gone and the improvements made. Nov 12th we'll be bringing that 2nd belt home.

Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Thanks for all the well wishes guys. Its a badly overused cliché but as we approach the end of this final mesocycle with only a handful of sessions left before leaving for NY next weekend to begin the taper down i could not be happier with how the camp has gone and the improvements made. Nov 12th we'll be bringing that 2nd belt home.

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

As for the announcement, wont have long to wait now!

John acknowledging this insinuates it's a good thing. So hopefully this will put aside some of the more negative guesses and rumours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

John acknowledging this insinuates it's a good thing. So hopefully this will put aside some of the more negative guesses and rumours.

As this is a forum are you speaking to him in the 4th person?

Anyway - The very best of Luck John and co. Roll on Nov 12th :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

ardinn wrote: »
    As this is a forum are you speaking to him in the 4th person?

So used to quoting fighters etc from other sources, it got a bit inception like when John popped in.

Normally it wouldn't be noticed in the lunacy of this thread, but the place goes quiet when John stops bye. People too busy scrambling to edit old posts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Solid out wonderfullife fair play!

Best of luck to ye over in NY in 3 weeks and good luck also to Artem the week after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

dashoonage wrote: »

I'd say he does because it was himself who posted it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Lukker- wrote: »
    I'd say he does because it was himself who posted it :)

I didnt know you could just post like that! every day is a school day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

I find his articles to be a bit reaching. Just a hint of trying too hard. Although I did enjoy the gangland one. Just confirms what we already suspected about mcgregor.

My main criticism is he completely digresses in his articles dedicating circa half of the prose to snooker halls in the 1980s and other stuff that isn't relevant. Nobody wants to read about John Higgins, Hulk Hogan etc.

Certainly an improvement on the muck sheehan,andrew and petesy produce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I find his articles to be a bit reaching. Just a hint of trying too hard. Although I did enjoy the gangland one. Just confirms what we already suspected about mcgregor.

My main criticism is he completely digresses in his articles dedicating circa half of the prose to snooker halls in the 1980s and other stuff that isn't relevant. Nobody wants to read about John Higgins, Hulk Hogan etc.

Wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Solid out wonderfullife fair play!

Yep thanks guys. I put it as a fan post on Bloody Elbow just to see what people think.

I'm going to keep any announcements until after i've claimed my 2nd Belt from Dunnes Stores November 12th but all i can say is i've received 2 or 3 offers from big MMA/media outlets to do a bit of writing. One of the potential offers might possibly rhyme with Devere Em-Em-a, the other possibly rhyming with MMA Flunkie. Stay tuned.

If it all falls through, i will use the Dizz Twitter excuse of being hoodwinked and carry on writing for the craic :pac:

I just found so many parallels in the rise of snooker in the mid-1980s with the rise of MMA in the 'Tens.

If i cut out the snooker comparison there would be no article. That was the intrinsic theme of the piece!

My writing (currently) is done for free and fun and the exact opposite of what you're suggesting. I start every article after midnight and finish by 6am. I pump it out in one draft and i'm done with it.

I don't plan what i'm about to write weeks in advance. Most of my writing comes from a random thought i've had while watching a Youtube video and then sitting down at midnight to write 3,500 words. When you've 35 tabs open to double check your memory of certain events, times, MMA-records, gate attendances, PPV numbers, trying to remember did Norman Parke lose 2 or 3 in a row ....and of course 5 tabs open of the recent MMA threads on Boards to contribute.......it takes away the danger of trying to get too Shakespearian.

My key problem in my writing is repetition. It's something i need to work on. I used the phrase "well-trodden" 2x times in one piece in the space of 2 paragraphs. That's sloppy - and a feature of everything i write - and i'm trying to cut it out in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Wtf?

have u a problem pal?

Something i just noticed and maybe i'm being harsh.....

Charlie Ward on his Official Twitter page has a profile picture of him fighting Joao Carvahlo just after taking a straight left to the face and reeling from the punch.

Anybody else find that extremely crass to say the least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Something i just noticed and maybe i'm being harsh.....

Charlie Ward on his Official Twitter page has a profile picture of him fighting Joao Carvahlo just after taking a straight left to the face and reeling from the punch.

Anybody else find that extremely crass to say the least?
    I didn't think he had a twitter.

Can you link?

Deadst4r wrote: »
    I didn't think he had a twitter.

Can you link?

https://twitter.com/CharlieWardMMA

Followed by Kavanagh, Paul Dollery etc so the real deal.

Feck it, i won't mince my words for fear of the Godfather Kavanagh seeing this lol.

I think it's an absolute disgrace to set your profile picture to a punch that may have played a part in ending another man's life.

There. It's said.

I'm sure plenty won't be bothered by it but i think it's a really insensitive, d1ck move on Wards part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Feck it, i won't mince my words for fear of the Godfather Kavanagh seeing this lol.

I think it's an absolute disgrace to set your profile picture to a punch that may have played a part in ending another man's life.

There. It's said.

I'm sure plenty won't be bothered by it but i think it's a really insensitive, d1ck move on Wards part.

Wow, completely agree.

Beyond scumbag move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

There. It's said.

I'll try be devil's advocate here. Is it a sort of weird/misguided homage?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I thought McGregor went to a Gaelscoil and I thought they were usually relatively good schools in general. I don't know about the one in Crumlin of course.

Having seen his Parents house on his documentaries, it looked pretty nice. So while he grew up in a working class area I do wonder did he have it as tough as some others in that area.

I freely admit I'm just thinking out loud here.

I thought this one was very good. Some people might forget just how big snooker was (they used to show it live on the BBC when the BBC was still black and white for example) and now it's nearly gone from mainstream sports papers/sites.

MMA has risen so fast, relatively speaking, but what will happen when McGregor retires, or loses a few fights in a row? There are very few Irish UFC fighters anymore and the UFC is where it's at.

Very good correlation in the article I thought on how something so popular can just disappear.

Saipanne wrote: »
    I'll try be devil's advocate here. Is it a sort of weird/misguided homage?

Surely a photo of the weigh-ins or a touch of gloves at the start of Round 1 might be a tribute?

A punch he landed 20 seconds before the fight is stopped is hardly a tribute.

In fact, you can argue a case he's implying he's a killer in the cage.

I won't quite go that far but Carvahlo has a family, brothers etc. I'm sure they have internet in Portugal. I'd hate for them to see his twitter and see their boy reeling from his punch.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I thought McGregor went to a Gaelscoil and I thought they were usually relatively good schools in general. I don't know about the one in Crumlin of course.

Having seen his Parents house on his documentaries, it looked pretty nice. So while he grew up in a working class area I do wonder did he have it as tough as some others in that area.

I freely admit I'm just thinking out loud here.

I thought this one was very good. Some people might forget just how big snooker was (they used to show it live on the BBC when the BBC was still black and white for example) and now it's nearly gone from mainstream sports papers/sites.

MMA has risen so fast, relatively speaking, but what will happen when McGregor retires, or loses a few fights in a row? There are very few Irish UFC fighters anymore and the UFC is where it's at.

Very good correlation in the article I thought on how something so popular can just disappear.

Thanks dude.

McGregors best friend is arguably Lee Dunphy, who in turn is Jamie Kavanaghs best friend.

He showed up to Paul Kavanaghs funeral after he was murdered and i'm told he knew him well. Same age.

I was trying to avoid any suggestion in my piece that Conor was mixed up in anything dodgy when he was younger but you'd have to imagine with friends like the Kavanaghs and "associations" through boxing with David Byrne/Daniel Kinahan....you'd have to surmise he could easily have ended up on a wrong track.

Plenty of kids with good parents end up mixed up in this stuff. One of the guys in my class in school ended up fleeing the country after getting in debt of many thousands to people connected to John Gilligan. Legged it to England.

So easy to get caught up in this stuff, even with great parents and going to a good school. All it takes really is to get too fond of weed/coke and end up owing the wrong people money. After that your options tend to become a) leg it or b) start dealing to work off the debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

There. It's said.

I'm pretty shocked he would use that. That guy died at the end of that particular fight. How did he think that was a good idea to use that photo. Has he no one advising him.

No clue.

His first post on Twitter was actually along the lines of "If you get knocked down, all that matters is you get back up".

Even that, i thought, was pretty insensitive. Carvahlo won't get be getting back up.

At the end of the day, he didn't mean to kill the fella and he has to move on with his life. So that's nitpicking for me to say that.

But the profile picture is a whole different situation. It's indefensible. There's something haunting about the picture. Carvahlo just ate a big straight left hand, he was rocked and wobbled and his eyes going into the back of his head.

It's tough for me to see that photo - imagine his family or friends seeing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I wouldn't be surprised if he doesn't controls his account,he doesn't control his FB page judging by the wording on it so maybe premature to Blame Charlie.

Gamebred wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if he doesn't controls his account,he doesn't control his FB page judging by the wording on it so maybe premature to Blame Charlie.

ah come on now. You're trying to tell me he hasn't even looked at his own Twitter account? Ever?

He might not control it but he's sure as hell approved that profile pic. If he had a problem with it he'd have said "ah jaysus take that pic down for me".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

ah come on now. You're trying to tell me he hasn't even looked at his own Twitter account? Ever?

He might not control it but he's sure as hell approved that profile pic. If he had a problem with it he'd have said "ah jaysus take that pic down for me".

Its possible,he has never been into social media ever since I first came across him a few years ago so he probably hasn't looked at it,go onto his fb and look at the crap on his timeline hes not writing that.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Its possible,he has never been into social media ever since I first came across him a few years ago so he probably hasn't looked at it,go onto his fb and look at the crap on his timeline hes not writing that.

Well Paul Dollery and Kav are following him on Twitter. They've seen the picture.

I refuse to believe nobody has noticed that his profile picture is a punch landed that contributed to the death of a man.

The problem with Kavanagh is he refuses to accept "negativity" or criticism on Twitter. If i tweeted, in good faith, "is it not insensitive for Charlie to use that photo?" the chances are i'd be blocked.

I was blocked by Joe Rogan a while back for suggesting that hunting wild, endangered animals is not cool :rolleyes: