Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

She's a fruitcake.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

So she was happy to be renting without a contract, until not having a contract caused her problems?

Prob getting cheap rent that not a penny of tax was paid on. Then complains about lack of services caused by people dodging tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

BPKS wrote: »
    This one is angling for an invite to join the AAA or Sinn Fein.

Spot on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bigroad

Boyfriend unwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Is LiveLine on tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Sorry Phil.......aint no-one believing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

ffs Philip is calling time on her now

"Right there folks please, have you no homes to go to"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

No place to live, Philip cutting her off to take a break to pay Joe's wages.

A bad day for Caroline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Thanks for calling but right now I need to take in a bale of cash for the licence fee and advertising funded state radio station.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

In fairness, it would have been worse for her if she turned on today and had Funny Friday!

Talk to you on Monday Caroline, hopefully you won't be murdered or freeze to death in your car by then...the compassion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Joe back on Monday after a well deserved break ..

In fairness he has been busy touring the country promoting sales of Chislers of The Coddle. A big push on to get the last sales in for Christmas before everyone forgets about it for another 100 years....anyone for the last few choc-ices now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I can't hear that Psycho theme without thinking of Busta Rhymes, Gimme some more.

Video was "interesting" :)

Coincidentally, it's what Joe says at contract renegotiation toyme in RTE - gimme some mo, so to speak.

Joe back on Monday after a well deserved break ..

Has that been confirmed caller?

Well that was a desperate week of Liveline.

Fill-in is far too intellectual to engage with ludicrous topics of conversations about the Palermo faith, fibregades, and unadulterated kips; he only ever gets a bee in his bonnet about consumer rights, and even then he remains adamantly low-octave.

I like Philip, he's a smart guy, and almost certainly doesn't own a pair of nipple clamps; but that's why he's the wrong man for Liveline.

You really need to be a shouty, egotistical creep with a penchant for death, misery and flashing lights to man this ship of doom.

Well that was a desperate week of Liveline.

Fill-in is far too intellectual to engage with ludicrous topics of conversations about the Palermo faith, fibregades, and unadulterated kips; he only ever gets a bee in his bonnet about consumer rights, and even then he remains adamantly low-octave.

I like Philip, he's a smart guy, and almost certainly doesn't own a pair of nipple clamps; but that's why he's the wrong man for Liveline.

You really need to be a shouty, egotistical creep with a penchant for death, misery and flashing lights to man this ship of doom.

The question of whether the national broadcaster should make a millionaire out of a "shouty, egotistical creep with a penchant for death, misery and flashing lights" for 75mins "work" a day (incl. breaks), 4 days a week, 35-40 weeks a year however is never asked within the corridors of RTÉ so to speak.

It isn't his fees in themselves that I take issue with, although it's unquestionably a very generous reward for inadequacy. Most broadcasters couldn't be such great buffoons if they tried.

For me, it's more to do with the fact that RTE are complicit in this absurd tax avoidance scheme with all of its contractors.

I would be embarrassed to be known as someone who didn't pay his way. That's what it boils down to: do I pay my fair share, or do I weasel out of it? Most decent people pay our fair share. No semi-state should be facilitating such blatant, costly tax avoidance.

It isn't his fees in themselves that I take issue with, although it's unquestionably a very generous reward for inadequacy. Most broadcasters couldn't be such great buffoons if they tried.

For me, it's more to do with the fact that RTE are complicit in this absurd tax avoidance scheme with all of its contractors.

I would be embarrassed to be known as someone who didn't pay his way. That's what it boils down to: do I pay my fair share, or do I weasel out of it? Most decent people pay our fair share. No semi-state should be facilitating such blatant, costly tax avoidance.

True. And I doubt you pontificate and sneer at companies who employs thousands of people in this country for doing it either, unlike the hypocritical occasional host of the show, nor do you I suspect portray yourself as a man of the people and hold Larkin and Connolly as your heroes yet live your life in a completely hypocritical way contrary to their theories about the working man etc.

The fees are beyond a joke and would be completely unjustifiable even if the host was the consummate professional, unbiased (at least publicly), worked 48 weeks a year and was actually good at his job and not a complete joke.

nor do you I suspect portray yourself as a man of the people and hold Larkin and Connolly as your heroes yet live your life in a completely hypocritical way contrary to their theories about the working man etc.

Exactly. His schtick of criticizing taxation by lamenting that some hardworking self-employed poor sod works from Monday morning until lunchtime on Wednesday for the taxman.

He has not got the remotest idea what that's like. I'm surprised he's never been confronted on his tax avoidance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Exactly. His schtick of criticizing taxation by lamenting that some hardworking self-employed poor sod works from Monday morning until lunchtime on Wednesday for the taxman.

He has not got the remotest idea what that's like. I'm surprised he's never been confronted on his tax avoidance.

A couple of people have gone down the route of mentioning his wages, but you usually get a snide, nasty remark.

D'Arcy mentioned it on an interview on his TV show, he said "you're not working class now" in a reference to his wages. Duffys response was; " Well I am working class.... I still work".

On that basis the Queen of England is working class.

A couple of people who criticised RTE were roundly attacked (and I mean attacked) live on air. Duffy shouts them down, mocks and belittles them in a fairly aggressive manner. Totally unprofessional to the core, he's more like the fat schoolyard bully who pulverises the small kids, but stays away from the hard lads than anything approaching professionalism .

His latest example was a couple of weeks ago with the councillor from Monaghan (or Cavan) where he openly admitted he lost his temper ("I'll calm down if you calm down").

He simply doesn't tolerate any criticism of the workings of the internal organs of RTE. He will allow criticism of some programmes that he personally dislikes such as Love/Hate, but the system will not be criticises. Full Stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I'd imagine the senior management despise him just as roundly as some here, but he thinks he's acting as some sort of bulwark against public criticism, and by doing so, demostrating his commitment and on-sidedness to them, in some venal and ultimately futile attempt to brown-nose his way along his chosen career path.
    He is well aware his future prosperity rests on the goodwill of those above, and takes care to keep them oiled-up, and his nose firmly planted 'tween buttocks forsooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I'd imagine the senior management despise him just as roundly as some here, but he thinks he's acting as some sort of bulwark against public criticism, and by doing so, demostrating his commitment and on-sidedness to them, in some venal and ultimately futile attempt to brown-nose his way along his chosen career path.
    He is well aware his future prosperity rests on the goodwill of those above, and takes care to keep them oiled-up, and his nose firmly planted 'tween buttocks forsooth.
    I dunno Dan, I wouldn't have too much faith in the senior management in RTE. Witness the ham fisted way they've handled the Tubridy/GAA porn star debacle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Hitchens wrote: »
    I dunno Dan, I wouldn't have too much faith in the senior management in RTE. Witness the ham fisted way they've handled the Tubridy/GAA porn star debacle?

Oh, I don't have any faith in them at all - they'll do as they see fit, and to please their masters in turn.
    Their ham-fistedness is only to be expected from a governing body or management structure that is full of political appointees and cronies. I've no doubt there are some talented people there, but they likely get over-ridden in the rush to cover-up and/or quietly shuffle things into the background in the hope that, by simply refusing to acknowledge the existence of something, it might go away.

JD is just a lackey to them.
    They do say that dogs come to resemble their owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

Me Weekly Column, by me, Joe Duffy so to speak.

Anudder week, anudder €8.5k and I didn't do nottin' fur it dis week, so to speak. After a hard few 6 hour weeks back to back so to speak, Mrs. D and me decamped to de gaff in France for anudder breakeen so to speak - not my mane holiday now by any means. On top of me usual 100 days hollier days dis year I did wurked on Easter Monday - a bank holiday and dat. As I did de 75mins dat day, I got anudder 20 days holliers on top a de 100 ta take it to 112, 103, 139, more dan 100. Now I'ver hurded some of de cynics dat troy to take me dowin have called it me gaff in France me "Shatt-Oh" and it's not, not, not, not not, not a chateau at all - it's a castle so to speak. Anyway, we took de usual vittles (de Lyons Tea and de Superquinn sausages), some wurkings for me new buke and dat and de Complete Fair City Box Set on DVD and headed off to France last weekend for de week. I left strict instructions for Fill-in de full time host (sure let him tink he is dat if it makes him happy so to speak, he woodn't be on a turd of what I'm on doncha know) to only cover death when I was away and I'll be checkin' with Yew in de mornin' ta see if he stuck ta me instructions so to speak. For dose of you dat do be do be do be do be wunderin' where me castle is, it's in Berger-rack in France. Dat's Berger-rack de town now and not dis fella:
    17864484-462796.jpg

I was fierce disappointed ta hear de don't make de paint dare anymore so to speak as I could do wit some cheap paint for me paintins and dat.
    prod1.png

I went ta de Carry Fooher when I did landed and got some champagne, vino blanko and cheese and dat so to speak. Dat's how you say white wine in France, veeno blank-oh. Also I find when I duz be doin' de shoppin' and dat in France if you call everyone "Garr-son" day love it. Day have terribull English dough so you have to speak really slowly and loudly so to speak but eventually day get it. Wan fella said "sack de merde" ta me when I was walkin' around de village and dat last week and he tipped his hat and smiled at me so he did so it must be a new way a sayin' hello ta de fameiz peeple and dat. He probably recognised me from wan a me bukes. So now I say it to everywan I see, but slowly and loudly so day can understand me. Day really need ta brush up on dare language skills dough. I tell ya it was a good job I wasn't born in France as I can't speak a word of Francetalk so to speak. Dare lucky somewan like me can help dem wit English so to speak. I speak it good best, so to speak. I also axed de manager of de Carry Fooh-er did he have many celebrities in his shop and dat. He said "non" so I set him straight so to speak. After telling him me life story he promised he'd take a few copies of de buke and dat if I left toot sweet so to speak. Toot sweet means "you're amazing Mr. Duffy" in Francetalk I believe. I'll have a stand dare soon at de rate I'm goin'.

Now yisser all know me and me strive ta better meself all de toyme so to speak. Some a de yung peeples day do be goin' back ta college ta do de furder education. Me meself is doin de hard sums course privately so to speak. I mean I couldn't possibly find a few ours a week ta do it on some timetable designed for de masses so to speak so I had ta take wan a de bukes from de private teacher wit me ta France. Now dose of you dat know me well know I don't ever do de free plugs and dat but I'm enjoyin' dis buke so much I'll make an exceptin so to speak. Here is de buke:
    20691-1.jpg

But nun a yous would be able for dat so don't try it unless you're very clever like me so to speak. After all, I'm de only person in Ireland ever ta go ta college. I suppose you could cheat so to speak and use de calculator on your smart fone or on de EYE Pad if you have wan a dem so to speak? After a week I'm on page 4. I'm as good at Matty Maticks as I am at de English so to speak.

I missed all de stories a de death and misery wen I was away. I hurd dat a stairs fell down in Tayto Park but no-wan did doyed. Dare was a buke in dat so to speak.....De Chiolders Dat Did Doyed in Tayto Park, So To Speak, wan in a series of buke abour de detah of de childers so to speak. I love childers and I love death, but I likes it de most wen I can comboyne de two profitably so to speak.

I may be back tamarra, I haven't decided yet so to speak. If I do dare'll be no mention of me unannounced week away so to speak but I can promise it'll be straight back ta death and misery, hopefully wit a bit of de sewihcoyde trown in for good measure. Only have ta wurk 6.25 hours dis week and den it's anudder day off for de bank holiday next week! But good news too for all de comedy fans out dare so to speak, I mite do a Funny Friday dis week too!

'Til next week, keep de faith so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Seosamh Ó Dubhthaigh back from his week off so to speak.

Todays topics...
    M50 gridlock, ideas to sort it out
    Your family grave expiring because it hasn't been used in a while so to speak
    Alts Imers, what help is out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Joe is Back!

Sounds like he was trapped in gridlock on de em fiftey all last week.

Either that or was at anger management courses for auld worn out hacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Joe is Back!

Sounds like he was trapped in gridlock on de em fiftey all last week.

Either that or was at anger management courses for auld worn out hacks.

he is always very narky after coming back after his holidays

one caller will get the head taken off them today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

M50 gridlock, ideas to sort it out
    Your family grave expiring because it hasn't been used in a while so to speak
    Alts Imers, what help is out there
    Did someone forget, then die on de emm fifty?