Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Closed shop?

For articles like yours just start a Wordpress blog type site. If people like it enough and it generates traffic you'll get income from ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Ush1 wrote: »
    Closed shop?

For articles like yours just start a Wordpress blog type site. If people like it enough and it generates traffic you'll get income from ads.

I'm not very technically proficient to do all that blogging and stuff like that! Boards.ie and Twitter are the height of my technological expertise!

I just meant a closed-shop in the sense that Severe MMA, Irish Mirror, Irish Sun and others all use Peter Carroll. Paul Dollery won't dream of publishing anything negative about McGregor or Kavanagh on The42.ie

Anyway i like Boards.ie! No money but plenty of entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I'm not very technically proficient to do all that blogging and stuff like that! Boards.ie and Twitter are the height of my technological expertise!

I just meant a closed-shop in the sense that Severe MMA, Irish Mirror, Irish Sun and others all use Peter Carroll. Paul Dollery won't dream of publishing anything negative about McGregor or Kavanagh on The42.ie

If you can use boards, you can use WordPress. It's easy. We'll be your first audience and you can build from there?

Saipanne wrote: »
    If you can use boards, you can use WordPress. It's easy. We'll be your first audience and you can build from there?

Feck it, sure i'll look into it during the week! Can't hurt i suppose even if i make an odd fiver a week :pac:

I wrote a piece on the state Canadian MMA in the wake of the Rory, GSP, UFC lay-offs just waiting on my twitter buddy The Spartan to take me up on giving a random Dublin fella 10 mins to ask him a few questions to throw a few quotes in there to make it look a bit more professional :o

Anybody on twitter with an interest in MMA should follow him he's great craic and down to earth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Saipanne wrote: »

Agreed. Start the media empire today. Just remember us when you're in the after-show party for UFC300.

Once Conor finds out i'm (apparently) the President of the Boards.ie McGregor Fanclub, it will surely be a one-way ticket to The Mac Life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Once Conor finds out i'm (apparently) the President of the Boards.ie McGregor Fanclub, it will surely be a one-way ticket to The Mac Life :D

Let's not forget I was titled "wonderfullife's No.1 fan"....I'm happy to hang on your coat-tails.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

There's only room around here for 1 McGregor fanboy,jog on.

giphy.gif

Gamebred wrote: »
    There's only room around here for 1 McGregor fanboy,jog on.

giphy.gif

Did anybody else think of Gangs of New York watching that gif?

The part where Bill the Butcher keeps wiping his feet like that on the snow to get a sense of his footing before going into battle?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

I think Gamebred is coming for you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Set up a wordpress blog, it's just drag and drop, pick a background. Lots of good tutorials on youtube.

Once you have the blog set up, set up a facebook community/like page and then set word press to push all your posts to the facebook page and link the facebook to your twitter.

Probably 2 hours work to get it all set up and once you do it's just "create new post" every time you want to post an article.

Then put the link in your boards profile sig and you have a ready made audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I think it's extremely difficult to get into MMA journalism in Ireland. I'm happy enough with just sharing any articles i write in here :pac:

I'd actually say it's the opposite. Well, not "easy", but there's a couple of things that go in the favour of anyone looking to get into it:

1) There's very few quality MMA journalists in Ireland. You've got the lads you mentioned in your posts, but aside from those how many could we name? I know I'd struggle to name any more.

2) The sport is growing massively in this country and there are a relatively small amount of people who have any in-depth knowledge of it. It is only going to continue to grow over the course of the near future. This will mean that there is an increased demand for content.

Few journalists covering the subject + more interest and demand in quality and knowledgeable MMA content = opportunity. :)

Personally, I think it would be astronomically easier to get into MMA journalism than football or GAA etc.

If you are doing it it would be great to read stuff on the other organisations... I've switched to reddit lately for my mma news as there is always a decent spread.

The arse is going to fall out of MMA in mainstream Ireland the day McGregor retires,he will never be replaced anyone making a living in mma media here owe it to him and that applies for many international media too who rely on him for clickbait traffic after hes brought the sport more mainstream than anybody in the last year or 2 especially.

Set up a wordpress blog, it's just drag and drop, pick a background. Lots of good tutorials on youtube.

Once you have the blog set up, set up a facebook community/like page and then set word press to push all your posts to the facebook page and link the facebook to your twitter.

Probably 2 hours work to get it all set up and once you do it's just "create new post" every time you want to post an article.

Then put the link in your boards profile sig and you have a ready made audience.

My mortal Boards enemy giving me helpful advice is a moment i will treasure :)

Thanks man.

Anybody going to the One Zero Conference in the RDS tomorrow? Lance Armstrong has pulled out :( Have a feeling Kavanagh will push the Win or Learn angle and go through the Diaz re-match and psychology of defeat stuff!

The arse is going to fall out of MMA in mainstream Ireland the day McGregor retires,he will never be replaced anyone making a living in mma media here owe it to him and that applies for many international media too who rely on him for clickbait traffic after hes brought the sport more mainstream than anybody in the last year or 2 especially.

I know he's made a point of repeating he intends to get out of the game young but i think he likes money too much to be going anywhere before he's 32. So we should have him until 2020 anyway.

He mentioned a $40 million year income wise but i'm going to guess that's a pre-tax number. Those cars don't come cheap and you can tell for certain he's got his eyes on a private jet and a yacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I think that's what McGregeor Inc will be about, as Conor no doubt sees having a stable of fighters as a way to continue to make money long term in MMA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Nate "The Great" Kelly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I know he's made a point of repeating he intends to get out of the game young but i think he likes money too much to be going anywhere before he's 32. So we should have him until 2020 anyway.

He mentioned a $40 million year income wise but i'm going to guess that's a pre-tax number. Those cars don't come cheap and you can tell for certain he's got his eyes on a private jet and a yacht.

They're much cheaper when you're renting them.

Hes not renting them here tbf,or the watches,fair play to him as he always said ''make it,blow it make it again'' he came back from Ko'ing Aldo and dropped a million in 1 day on the family brand new beamers all around mortgages paid,great bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

All the Rollers the States are bought outright too?

No,all rented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 SeanieMon

He'd need $40 million a year with the price of insurance here these days, I just forked out a grand on me Honda Accord, god knows what his paying on the Rollers and Beamers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

He will spar with Floyd for $100 million. 2 years out of MMA, give those bums a chance to get to his level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 SeanieMon

I hear he's going back to finish his plumbing apprenticeship.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

SeanieMon wrote: »

HA! Good one! Never heard that before!

SeanieMon wrote: »

welcome to 15 pages ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

I think with the news of that 25 year old MMA fighter who had CTE Conor has made his money now and should get out of the game after New York. Maybe do the Floyd fight for another good payday then call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭xtal191

I cant believe people still think he might fight Floyd

xtal191 wrote: »
    I cant believe people still think he might fight Floyd

Dude....id fight Floyd for 100million...