If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,463 ✭✭✭Patser

TBF he had a licence .......... had......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭duffman3833

why drive a newish car like that if you cant afford to insure and tax it. probably spent on booze ha

just realized its the ford ka, not Hyundai. I need to go back to bed, cant do Mondays :)

why drive a newish car like that if you cant afford to insure and tax it. probably spent on booze ha

Looks like an original model Ka to me, they came out in 1996, even the last ones were 2008 and they didn't have a plastic front arch. So not exactly new, or in anyway pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Patser wrote: »
    Looks like an original model Ka to me, they came out in 1996, even the last ones were 2008 and they didn't have a plastic front arch. So not exactly new, or in anyway pricey.

I'm guessing he thought it was the Hyundai in front that was pulled over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭duffman3833

i thought it was the Hyundai pulled over haha, my bad

NUTZZ wrote: »
    I'm guessing he thought it was the Hyundai in front that was pulled over.

Probably, but I'd say that's the unmarked Garda car, they've a whole fleet of Hyundais now.

Edit; Hyundais looks wrong written down, what's a better plural Hyundaii, Hyundaiuses, Hyundai (same plural rule as sheep)?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭two wheels good

"Truck was detected using a magnet on the gearbox. at Rosslare Europort. Driver arrested"
    What's that all about? Cheating the tacho?

BTW. I didn't see any tweets about Gardai catching mobile phone users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Hyundai's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,129 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

"Truck was detected using a magnet on the gearbox. at Rosslare Europort. Driver arrested"

I know you can put a magnet on the tacho box to cheat the tacho. not sure what putting it on the gearbox would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,129 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Hyundai's

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Not saying it's grammatically correct, he asked what looked right..

Swear! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Think they did anything about the micra parked on the footpath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Probably, but I'd say that's the unmarked Garda car, they've a whole fleet of Hyundais now.

Edit; Hyundais looks wrong written down, what's a better plural Hyundaii, Hyundaiuses, Hyundai (same plural rule as sheep)?)

Hyundae :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Think they did anything about the micra parked on the footpath?

That's the undercover car:pac: CSI Ballinasloe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Means speed limiter doesn't work so can go a lot faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aye, puts the tacho to sleep. Does a good job of putting the gearbox to sleep over time too, it's a crude way of working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Means speed limiter doesn't work so can go a lot faster.

Nothing beats speeding to draw attention to yourself when you have the fuse pulled! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Any requirement on the owner of the truck to ensure drivers are qualified and legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Any requirement on the owner of the truck to ensure drivers are qualified and legal?

You would think so, there should be a big fine and seizure of vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Most of these tweets should be posted in the *You laugh you lose* thread. Crazy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Certainly especially that he possesses a CPC not to mind a licence...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Hyundae :cool:

Mensa, mensa, mensam .....et al ðŸ˜

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,124 ✭✭✭✭neris

they should be checking up on the drivers cpc courses/modules and also getting their tacho information. a driver with no tach or cpc card should be a warning to the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

It's also premeditated, the Gardai should be allowed take the tractor unit and crush it - wouldn't be long putting an end to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭flazio

If any of you have Sky. You should check out Stop Search Seize on catch up. A couple of decent traffic guards feature and the RSA checking trucks.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

flazio wrote: »
    If any of you have Sky. You should check out Stop Search Seize on catch up. A couple of decent traffic guards feature and the RSA checking trucks.

I hope your not talking about that Damian Duffy guard who patrols the M50 with his partner Forrest Gump
    If the man was chocolate he'd ****ing eat himself, loves the sound of his own voice, has an answer for everything

I can name 20 other traffic guards who are excellent at their jobs, who viewers would enjoy watching and who actually treat motorists with a bit of courtesy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭flazio

D Trent wrote: »
    I hope your not talking about that Damian Duffy guard who patrols the M50 with his partner Forrest Gump
    If the man was chocolate he'd ****ing eat himself, loves the sound of his own voice, has an answer for everything

I can name 20 other traffic guards who are excellent at their jobs, who viewers would enjoy watching and who actually treat motorists with a bit of courtesy
    Any particular examples of this on the programme? Because from what I've seen, anyone who's been pulled over got exactly what they deserved. Prime example for my point would be that wheelie motorcyclist. M50 is no place for that sort of carry on.
    Also I remember them letting off some fella in a fancy merc because of some sob story about being down on his luck. In that instance I think they would have done well to remind him although other factors were spiralling out of control, his driving is the one thing he's in control of.

This too shall pass.