Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokemon go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Diemos wrote: »
    The ones that seem to have a crazy amount of training are the ones to go for. Find the bottom one or 2 mons in the gym and attack them with a lower cp. The lower the difference the more you can raise the prestige. On Saturday I was able to jump a gym by 1200 cp at a time by beating the first 2 defenders with one guy (it required my dodging to be on point). With raises that large it does not take long to open a space.

Even for filling your dex it is well worth is, I've usually been able to farm 2 incs every three days for the past 2 weeks.

Yeah it's just I don't have the time to be training at gyms for 20 minutes at a time. I play the game while I'm walking, that means spinning pokestops and catching any mons along the way. In fact the one I'm waiting on had a spare space available when I was passing so I didn't even have to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I understand :D I find gyms and the mechanics the most fun part.... but I'm a nerd :D

Don't forget you can battle enemy gyms as you are walking past. You will error out because you are too far away when it moves to the second mon. But you will take 500 from the gym every time and as Tesco like to remind us, every little counts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

My charmander spawn lasted about 2 days before they changed it to trash again.

Things are looking up, appeared at my desk!

39wX9rVl.png

I hate you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

I hate you :p

Don't, the IVs are probably 27% :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Rsaeire wrote: »
    Don't, the IVs are probably 27% :D

I'd better not say in case he faints, but at least it has ****ty water pulse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭FaceCake

Can't get a look in at most of the gyms anymore around here anymore. Its a lot of level 10 reds. At first I thought I wish I could switch teams, but when I think about it, if you are not already one of the 10 lads in there, there is literally nothing you can do to get a spot in a friendly gym. At least being on another team if you ever have an hour and a million revives to spare, you can chisel away at a gym if you get desperate enough for 10 coins. Hopefully there isn't someone in a building/car constantly training or sniping the gym when you are trying to claim it before the rest of the reds come running to reclaim it. :rolleyes:

Hope these gym changes shake things up a little. They really should have some kind of grace period after a gym is taken to stop people spamming pokemon into it before the person fighting can even click through the menus. That would have been my first change before any of this easier training malarkey.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

The ones that seem to have a crazy amount of training are the ones to go for. Find the bottom one or 2 mons in the gym and attack them with a lower cp. The lower the difference the more you can raise the prestige. On Saturday I was able to jump a gym by 1200 cp at a time by beating the first 2 defenders with one guy (it required my dodging to be on point). With raises that large it does not take long to open a space.
    Will this new gym training update will bring an end to this method?
    If you try to train with a low CP pokemon(with type advantage) in order to get big XP reward the gym defender CP will be lowered to match your CP

Am I getting that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

Another Grimer in the Sightings list this morning but couldn't get out to look for it :(

I'm not sure how it's going to happen. I hope that advantage is not removed, but if it's not, I could bump a level nine gym to level 10 in 1 go. Which would completely counter the 'casual player friendly' training they are aiming for.

It would make much more sense to reward players for taking gyms or begin first into a gym. Right now the most efficient approach for me (or anyone) to spend my time and effort, is to level up my team than attacking another team. If I got a high reward for tackling a level 5+ gym then more would fall and gyms would change hands more regularly making empty spots more available for casual players.

Seeing the amount of rares in gyms around Dublin city centre is hillarious, Kaputops, Likitongue, Porygon, Mr Mime, Tauros. all there in my lunch time stroll. We are a nation of wind up merchants. I love it.

FaceCake wrote: »
    Hope these gym changes shake things up a little. They really should have some kind of grace period after a gym is taken to stop people spamming pokemon into it before the person fighting can even click through the menus. That would have been my first change before any of this easier training malarkey.

I agree, there should be a 60 or 120 second hold.

But the video of the guy sniping the gym from his apartment was hilarious. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,384 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

10k Scyther, 2k Ratata, pokemon karma. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Tenger wrote: »
    Will this new gym training update will bring an end to this method?
    If you try to train with a low CP pokemon(with type advantage) in order to get big XP reward the gym defender CP will be lowered to match your CP

Am I getting that right?

My guess is that it won't be done on CP, but level.
    Say there is a level 25 Dragonite in a gym.
    If a level 30 player attacks it, the Pokémon will stay at its current level.
    If a level 10 player attacks it, Dragonite will be lowered to level 10.

This would make IVs more important, and give lower level players a chance.

I'm not sure how they will do the prestige gains though, since you will be able to train with more than one Pokémon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,131 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The old spawn points were great, I got a few more unusual things in my house. Back to the usual rubbish now. Sometimes 4 weedles and 2 ratattas at the same time. If anyone needs to know a good weedle nest, PM me.

I'm hitting the capital this week and should have a hour to spare. Where on the northside should be good, and is there anywhere in particular on Bull Island? Bear in mind what is commonplace in Dublin isn't in Donegal, so I'd happily take your dratinis (need to power up my dragonite) and bulbasaurs, or anything but drowzees, caterpies, weedles and eevees.

I live and work in Dublin. I'd happily take the dratinis and bulbasaurs too! Unfortunately I've only got 1 bulbasaur so far and I'm level 25.

got tangela from a 5k, nearly 1000cp, but no solar beam, ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Finally got my Blastoise it was a hard Slog 147k waled in 2 and a half weeks, and its only my 12th best, but well worth it think i've wanted one since i was about 9 hahahahahaha

got tangela from a 5k, nearly 1000cp, but no solar beam, ah well.
    What move set did you get? Vine whip and Power Whip is also a pretty damp good moveset against water types. Tangela is one of my favs, to the point where I renamed them to put them to the top of my list A- Z, along with Parasect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭DublinCJM

Just had a 1355CP Dragonair run away on me after two rassers and two Ultra balls.

Gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭tommyhayes1989

Finally got my Blastoise it was a hard Slog 147k waled in 2 and a half weeks, and its only my 12th best, but well worth it think i've wanted one since i was about 9 hahahahahaha

May i ask how you accumulated such a distance in such a short space of time

That's less than 9k walked per day, it's not that much!

What move set did you get? Vine whip and Power Whip is also a pretty damp good moveset against water types. Tangela is one of my favs, to the point where I renamed them to put them to the top of my list A- Z, along with Parasect.

Oh yeah they are great, I#'d love a good one. I got vine whip and sludge bomb which is it's worst attacking moves unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I'd walk around the distance he has mentioned in a day (he averaged 8km/day) but not all of it would be with the app open, and I wouldn't be able to since some of it would be for football/running.

I'd certainly need one hell of a giant spare battery to keep the phone topped up if I did. I walked my usual 1.5-2 km into work this morning and my battery was already down to 65%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Relentlessly

Bulbasaur is still in that spot on the Grand Canal. Between Leeson Street Bridge and Baggot Street Bridge (at the Patrick Kavanagh statue).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Yeh its not that much at all , i walk in and out of work every day except Wednesday , 7k in and 7k out, ashtown to Dublin city centre , so you clock up the Km's fairly quick.

The buddy stystem has been a gift for fillin out the dex

Yeh its not that much at all , i walk in and out of work every day except Wednesday , 7k in and 7k out, ashtown to Dublin city centre , so you clock up the Km's fairly quick.

The buddy stystem has been a gift for fillin out the dex

You could charge people and log in for them. That's a good old distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭tommyhayes1989

Ya no I wasn't being a prick I was just curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

Feckin legend of a game!!!

Was stuck on 98 Dratini candy and guess what my 10km egg just gave me :) Dratini and 28 candies!! Enough to evolve Dragonite and a second Dragonair!

Found an 876 eevee, still dont have a flareon, torn between doing the name trick or letting nature take its course

AMGer wrote: »

Was stuck on 98 Dratini candy and guess what my 10km egg just gave me :) Dratini and 28 candies!! Enough to evolve Dragonite and a second Dragonair!

Ha that's great, I'd love that. I need a similar amount, bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭hdl

AMGer wrote: »

Nice one! Guess what just popped out of my 10km egg? Magmar :p

Anyone getting bad luck catching certain pokemon? I've 100 eevee candy and I never get an eevee over about 500.
    I've over 200 poliwag candy and I never get a poliwag over about 200. Candy is just building up, I don't even have a poliwrath in the dex yet.