If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭tripperman

That was flat out awful from all perspectives, McCoy and Pagno need to go, but knowing this ownership they will be there till black Monday (might not be a bad thing next coach would have top 4 draft pick), found it funny McCoy saying he still has the player's with him, while on Twitter KA was tweeting AGAIN about the throw away,

Sat there during the second half and I could just see the game been threw away again, saints were dead last in rush defence and we couldn't run the ball against them, oline is a shambles when there is injuries, the only two good points from the game Hunter Henry not showing a dip in confidence after last week's mistake and catching his first td and Jatavis Brown he played real well imo, showed flashes of big play potential on a mediocre defence,

McCoy and Pagno OUT NOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

It's unbelievable how we manage to lose games. That was a bad Saints team against a badly coached SD team. This team has no ambition

Our defence must be sick at seeing us settle for FGs after every turnover they get, i know i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I said best we could hope for is 5&11 if McCoward was not fired v early on. We will do well to win 5 with this supposed leadership in place. There is NO leadership. McCoward is simply not a leader of men, there is no inspiration, no accountability. I had to laugh when I heard he was 'furious' during the presser last night. A real leader would have been furious in late 2014. This guy couldn't punch his way out of a brown paper bag, soft, soft, soft. As is the team. Franklin is a total bust, the O line in general should be ashamed to call themselves men. As for the D... is it not crystal clear now that this group led by imho the fool that is Pags can't stop anybody. Wish our O could get their 4th downs against our D. Simply hopeless. Where are you bigbucks Liuget!?.... safeties?..... pass rush?....

It needs to be blown up starting today. Wonder will little John have the balls to do it. #doubtit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭setanta74

We are all in a Bill Murray movie waking up in Punxsutawney looking for a groundhog named Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It is mental but this team could have been 4-0 right now if it were not for the late blow-ups. They may have been the worst 4-0 team in history but when you look at some of the teams on the schedule like the Titans, Dolphins, Texans, Tampa Bay and the Browns, we have the easiest schedule of all time. We'd be 9-7 if we lost all of the others (and Kansas and the Panthers dont look all-that at the moment). Possibly play-offs.

We never know before a season how good or bad teams are on the schedule but it will be a long time before we get anything as close as friendly as this one.

It is mental but this team could have been 4-0 right now if it were not for the late blow-ups. They may have been the worst 4-0 team in history but when you look at some of the teams on the schedule like the Titans, Dolphins, Texans, Tampa Bay and the Browns, we have the easiest schedule of all time. We'd be 9-7 if we lost all of the others (and Kansas and the Panthers dont look all-that at the moment). Possibly play-offs.

We never know before a season how good or bad teams are on the schedule but it will be a long time before we get anything as close as friendly as this one.

So you are still hopeful? even if big changes are not made this week?, fair play to you.

This team could be 4 & 0 you are right but never with this shower of muppets running the show.

No leaders...... period.

San Diego Marshmallows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Leslie91 wrote: »
    So you are still hopeful? even if big changes are not made this week?, fair play to you.

This team could be 4 & 0 you are right but never with this shower of muppets running the show.

No leaders...... period.

San Diego Marshmallows.

I wouldnt say hopeful, I just think we let what could have been a good season go to waste. And now all of those not-so-good teams that I have mentioned will be targeting the Chargers as a potential win.

Who do you put the blame on? imho this is on little John who didn't/doesn't have the balls to fire this twat of a head coach.

Two to blame imo, father and son, both have shown an ineptitude at making the correct calls, one McCoy should have gone last off-season we all thought that, if Dean was serious about wanting a new stadium he would guide John to sack McCoy, I know it would give off a bad sign that there's no faith in John, but it's in the best interest of the team, as the team losing won't bring voter's out to support measure c on the stadium, a few wins and some positive news from the team for the next month may help on that front

So McCoy gets another week, they must be waiting for the bye week to do it imo, spent a few day's looking at possible top talents in the next draft there's two ilb I like there play, seen ine of them live on tv twice or three time's now and he looks very good in Ohio state

tripperman wrote: »
    So McCoy gets another week, they must be waiting for the bye week to do it imo, spent a few day's looking at possible top talents in the next draft there's two ilb I like there play, seen ine of them live on tv twice or three time's now and he looks very good in Ohio state

Myles Garrett, they say, is the man in next years draft... plays DE for the Aggies.

We're going to need more beef esp on O line (Tackle) in 2017 for sure.

Did u hear the latest from LT?... I love LT as a Charger but as a pundit he talks an awful lot of ****e. Last week he said Chargers would have won a Superbowl had Brees stayed. This week he is saying we should trade Rivers... oh and he also reckons McCoy has what it takes.

Interesting stat - last time Chargers fired a coach mid season was 1998!!!. So it is not something they are known for. But if we lose our next 4 which is very possible and be 1&7 before the Titans come to town not sure you can wait.

Having said that I reckon he should have been fired midway thru 2015 season and instead they gave him a 1 yr extension. They are a law unto themselves!.

Myles Garrett, they say, is the man in next years draft... plays DE for the Aggies.

We're going to need more beef esp on O line (Tackle) in 2017 for sure.

Did u hear the latest from LT?... I love LT as a Charger but as a pundit he talks an awful lot of ****e. Last week he said Chargers would have won a Superbowl had Brees stayed. This week he is saying we should trade Rivers... oh and he also reckons McCoy has what it takes.

Interesting stat - last time Chargers fired a coach mid season was 1998!!!. So it is not something they are known for. But if we lose our next 4 which is very possible and be 1&7 before the Titans come to town not sure you can wait.

Having said that I reckon he should have been fired midway thru 2015 season and instead they gave him a 1 yr extension. They are a law unto themselves!.

Yeah Myles Garrett looks good, but I think we need Oline and Linebacker more then Dline this year, I'm liking McMillan out of Ohio and Reuben Foster out of Alabama, haven't looked at oline talent or WR and that is a need to,

I love LT, he's why I support the chargers, I didn't pay much heed to what he said about brees, but this week he has put out pure rubbish, trade river's no way, and McCoy not the problem that's insane talk,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

The Chargers have had a couple of historical blown leads, but that type of thing doesn't usually hold up over multiple games....San Diego could easily be 3-1 or 4-0 if a play or two goes a different way. Personally I think the Chargers can still have a decent season, as long as there is no over reaction and the wheels don't come completely off after the manner of the last two losses.

I know that the idea of trading a stud QB who has given so much to the team seems a bit hard to swallow, but, Rivers is 35, would garner huge interest I would expect, and if you could get something like a 1st or handful of lower picks to rebuild, not to mention the cap space that could be used to bolster other areas of need. I reckon a lot of GMs are looking at the success of rookie, or first year starters, with super affordable contracts and thinking they can replicate it. Ever since the new CBA and the rookie wage scale, acquiring draft capital (or, as some have likened it, the draft is a lottery, and to succceed you need to have a lot of tickets - or picks), and filling out your roster with cheap serviceable players, whilst hitting on the odd superstar (hopefully) seems to be the way to go recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭Justin10

Trading Rivers would make perfect sense if we had someone to take him and if we didn't need a stadium.

We wont get anywhere on that without a franchise QB imo.

Pity Bridgewater got injured when he did, could of traded him to the vikings for a huge chunk of picks.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Trading Rivers would make perfect sense if we had someone to take him and if we didn't need a stadium.

We wont get anywhere on that without a franchise QB imo.

Pity Bridgewater got injured when he did, could of traded him to the vikings for a huge chunk of picks.

I wouldn't like to see Rivers traded but if there was a team (a bad one) that came in and offered say 2 first rounders I might listen to them. Rivers does have a no trade clause in his contract though so it can't even be thought about unless he was to agree to waiving that clause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Verrett gone for the season...

U know what I am completely apathetic now... a main guy going down every week ain't bothering me no more. I couldn't care less until the team is sold of McCoy and his staff including strength and conditioning people are fired.

The season was done as soon as they decided not to fire this idiot. I said 5&11 before we began we will do well to get to 5.

I never felt like we were going to win last night. We're easily good enough to win them but we just are too used to losing. We need a big brash coach to come in and change the mentality of the players. No more nice guy coaches.

The big positives were Bosa and Henry. I know Rivers had 2 turnovers but good to see us taking some shots deep. Thought Toomer looked to have good potential and Mager did ok i thought.

Kaser has the leg but he hasn't the nerve.

Listening to Rivers post game I just feel sick for him

It just felt inevitable that we would lose that one, the good point's, Bosa two sacks a tackle for loss looked like he did in college, hopefully as he gets up to speed now the others on the dline will hopefully get more pressure, Henry the guy is very good looking like a great pick up in the second round, his blocking is good, his catching is good, Gordon apart from the fumble he done ok on the ground, his catching from the backfield is improving,

The bad, coaching to often left scrambling to get the right coverage on defence, prime example was Brown having to go out wide gives up the penalty for a first down that lead to a td, wasting time outs has become our thing the last season or two, I always thought you tried to save your TO is the second half of the game for a situation like last night, oline is not doing as well as it was the first week or two imo, injury cover is poor, and did hairston blink for that false start penalty?, I thought the raider jumped first, Kaiser my god his punting is getting worse, he has a good leg when he does get his nerves settled, his hold for the field goal was a nightmare, I really do feel for the kid, his confidence must be in bits now,

Broncos Thursday night I fear them after the defeat to the falcons last night, they will be hungry to get back on the winning streak again which is going to make things tough this week

No way was that pass interference for Cooper's TD. Wrong call. The resulting 1 yard run for the TD going in untouched was shameful.

As for the botched field goal? There are no words.

Lucky for us Denver has a QB problem but they should still win and McCoy will go.

The superbowl run has started. Mike McCoy can do no wrong

Wow just watched the condensed highlights there now, that was a tense finish you could see rivers and the fans just waiting for that mistake that gave the Broncos ot, thankfully it didn't happen thanks to bosa and liguet getting pressure on the qb and mccoil just knocking it down,
    Jatavis Brown is proving a steal for a fifth round pick, a sack a forced fumble and key tackles to stop first downs threw out the game, Joey Bosa done a great job sure no sacks but alot of pressure and that in part lead to the penalty safety we got, Hunter Henry is really starting to become a favourite target of rivers now, another td I believe led in receptions and yards last night, our draft class is proving good so far, pity no Max Turek on the active roster to see how he goes, perry not showing much so far as Brown has been doing so well,
    Delighted for the team that they got the win, will be a big boost for confidence going to Atlanta and then Denver, seems McCoy was right he hasn't lost the locker room, just wondering how would we have done if bosa was available forvthe first four game's, only down point of the game Imo was that gates seems to be alot slower and not as sure handed at catching as last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

As a Raiders fan I was obviously glad to see you guys getting the win and Denver losing. But it could so easily have been another loss, far too many costly mistakes and unforced errors by the Bolts and it went down to the last play of the game. McCoy isn't the answer for you guys, he needs to be replaced.

That was the best win for the Chargers since the play-off game in Cincinatti nearly 3 years ago.

On offense we had a disastrous second quarter but managed to fight back. Huge game by Tyrell Williams who is really stepping up. Benjamin with some nice catches and thought Inman made some big plays in the second half. Gordon had a huge 13 yard run that he had no right to make and with 3TDs he was the red zone threat we needed. Gates had some awful drops but also made some crucial first downs (4th & 2), he has no speed left but we need him to catch everything that he can get his hands to and he hasn't been doing that.
    The O-line were pretty bad for a lot of it.

Our defense got so banged up last night but fought through to carry us to victory. Bosa was beastly and thought Ingram and Mebane weren't far behind him. For big plays Perryman was excellent, he looked in serious pain for a lot of the game but still kept himself in the game. Our safeties are bad and despite Julio having a huge game i thought our CBs did as well as they could (Trevor Williams looks to have some potential and is full of effort). Heyward carried a lot of responsibility in this game and it suited him.

Another return error but STs were good last night, Kaser is finding his rhythm and Lambo is looking like one of the very best kickers in the league.

Credit where it's due, Pagano and Whiz had good game plans. I'm refusing to give McCoy any credit.

We've lost so many that we should win that it was nice to win one unexpectedly. This momentum heading into Denver is huge, they are on a shorter week and our team are feeling pretty good about themselves. After next week we hit the soft section of our schedule i believe

I owe Tom Telesco an apology (I am sure he his holding out for one). Anyway I had a moan a few weeks ago and I unfairly included him.
    Some of his draftees have been nothing but superb these last few weeks. The players have showed a resolve with these last 2 wins that I didn't think they had.

Losing so many top players and losing so many games the way they did , it would have been easy to give up the ghost and hide while seeing out the season.

I wonder with the opportunities some of these players are getting now and the trials and tribulations of what has gone on will it be the making of this team going forward?

I still expect us to have a losing season and I still expect McCoy and Pagano to be gone but there is always a lot to be learned in adversity and I like what I see from a lot of these 2nd stringers and draftees.

(I drank my optimistic juice this morning). Great win last night.

Wow what win, I really don't know how we won that game from 17 point's down, great belief from the player's to fight there way back into it and back into the season, I have to give TT credit his draft picks from the last two drafts paid off big time last night and in the last few game's in general, Bosa, Brown, Perryman, Henry, Gordon, Emanuel and I can't believe I'm saying Mager as well, he done well before Perryman injured him, but the signings TT made of Slauson and Hayward are paying off big time, Hayward is proving a shut down corner, o.k. the oline is still bad, but without slauson it could be alot worse imagine having Robinson in there, but the signing of Brandon Mebane what a deal, he really is bringing that Seahawks mentality into this defence and his leadership is more important then his play at the moment (his play is great to) look at how he got them three or four penalties last night for the defence, there was a lot of big play's in regular time to keep us in it from Benjamin, Gordon, Tyrell Williams and Inman on offence, on defence the sack from bosa, mebane stuffed a few runs with perryman, Hayward keeping Julio quiet and throwing him out of bounds in the last few seconds, perryman interception was a great break of luck,

When I seen the falcons going for on fourth down in ot I knew we had it, I just thought our defence had more momentum coming up to that play, looking forward to next week I really think it will be a lot tougher then last night as the Broncos will be looking for revenge after the way they got bullied by the chargers on TNF,

Great point about how we've managed to get a bit of momentum going. I think it has come about by the young guys only in the league a year or two showing serious hunger and playing with high energy.
    For the last few years we had veterans like Weddle/Butler/Liuget/Te'o telling everyone to just do your job but the new guys seem to just want to make plays, hit someone and play with energy. Big vocal guys like Mebane are embracing that and it's changing the attitude of the defence. Getting wins will encourage this.
    I really like our defence (not co-ordinator) but injuries are piling up fast and realistically i think Brown and Bosa will wear down near the tailend of the season, they're having to play a lot more snaps than we'd like

What did yous make of Benjamin throwing a pass last night, I thought it was a heck of great play call almost came off just an inch short, really shows how Whizz is making the offence so diverse and hard to plan for compared to last season,

To be honest I miss the latter day Norv's runs up the gut on every down ;-)...ah no its great to see us taking a few risks and Norv was good at pulling them out of his hat at times too.

Trick plays are great entertainment but i worry they might break Rivers rhythm. If you have a franchise QB i don't know how necessary they are