If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭tripperman

At last Bosa is signed and with the team, I hope he's not far off been ready to play, he seemed very genuine about wanting to be there and help the team win, surprised jones was cut, thought he was doing well considering how late on he was signed, surprised not much as been seen of Perry on the field in pre-season, can anyone tell me was Jatvis Brown on the field against the Vikings, of what I have seen from the highlights so far 3qts I couldn't see him, wouldn't mind seeing Pot Roast come in to see if he's an improvement on the depth in the dt spot behind mebane, anyone else like to see Kruger get a luck for an extra pass rusher as we still don't seem to have quality to cover for injuries, I see Zach mettenberg is cut, they tried to trade him to the cowboys first tho

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Expected a potential trade for Mett, looks like he could end up in Minnesota now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Expected a potential trade for Mett, looks like he could end up in Minnesota now

Apparently we were hoping/trying to get something for him from Dallas. But if he is gone after what 2 and a bit yrs with Whiz and an UDFA QB is still here Mett's ship has sailed I fear. Pity... sizewise he appears to have the tools but doesn't look like he is ever going to be anything in the NFL.

So.......... the 53 are set....... or were........ for about 5 mins.

I expect to see even more changes between now and Sunday. It's crazy really. Feel for Chris Landrum but hoping he can make it to the PS now. We've 4 spots to fill on there. Amazed Berco and Swain are not on it already.

I was surprised to see Cleveland make the 53 so was not shocked to see him gone as soon as we picked up the 3 cast offs. I remember Desir being hyped as small school CB when he was coming out. The DT from Detroit I know nothing about and Andre Williams has been really poor since he came into the league. That pick up was a bit of a shocker for me.

Thought it was kinda telling that not one of the guys we let go, to get down to the 53, was picked up by another NFL team.

Leslie91 wrote: »

I expect to see even more changes between now and Sunday. It's crazy really. Feel for Chris Landrum but hoping he can make it to the PS now. We've 4 spots to fill on there. Amazed Berco and Swain are not on it already.

I was surprised to see Cleveland make the 53 so was not shocked to see him gone as soon as we picked up the 3 cast offs. I remember Desir being hyped as small school CB when he was coming out. The DT from Detroit I know nothing about and Andre Williams has been really poor since he came into the league. That pick up was a bit of a shocker for me.

Thought it was kinda telling that not one of the guys we let go, to get down to the 53, was picked up by another NFL team.

I honestly thought if we were going to claim a rb it would have been Bishop Shankey from the titans, imo he was the best available, we now have one fb and 4rbs on the roster for Sunday, I think we will see one cut I'd prefer farrow to Williams, don't know much about desir is he better then Steve Williams who we waived, I didn't think mager deserved to make the 53, am I the only one who would like to see Terrence knighton(pot roast) giving a chance, he's better then carrathers imo,

Really looking forward to Sunday to see how we stack up competitively against the chiefs, can't say which player I'm looking forward to seeing in action as there is so many like, Keenan, bosa, hunter, gates, Gordon, perryman, etc, I hope we can have a solid run defence, I think bosa will be activated for this game to get him on the field in a limited capacity at least just to get him up to speed, overall I think we will finish the season around 7-9 just can't see us reaching the playoffs at the minute unfortunately,

tripperman wrote: »
    I honestly thought if we were going to claim a rb it would have been Bishop Shankey from the titans, imo he was the best available, we now have one fb and 4rbs on the roster for Sunday, I think we will see one cut I'd prefer farrow to Williams, don't know much about desir is he better then Steve Williams who we waived, I didn't think mager deserved to make the 53, am I the only one who would like to see Terrence knighton(pot roast) giving a chance, he's better then carrathers imo,

Really looking forward to Sunday to see how we stack up competitively against the chiefs, can't say which player I'm looking forward to seeing in action as there is so many like, Keenan, bosa, hunter, gates, Gordon, perryman, etc, I hope we can have a solid run defence, I think bosa will be activated for this game to get him on the field in a limited capacity at least just to get him up to speed, overall I think we will finish the season around 7-9 just can't see us reaching the playoffs at the minute unfortunately,

Stevie Williams was just meh for me.... Mager seems to be the kick returner now so that might have saved him. Mager probably has the higher upside too. I'd hate to see the likes of Farrow cut for this Williams lad from the Giants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

That would be Caraun Reid, a fifth round pick out of Princeton. No one really expected him to be cut as he played the majority of DT reps last season after Tyrunn Walker was put on IR due to a chop block. He did quite well there too, even scoring a TD off a fumble during the Seattle game.

He's solid if unspectacular & should do well for ye. Decent in run support & should rack up a few sacks during the year, if afforded playing time.

Lionbacker wrote: »
    That would be Caraun Reid, a fifth round pick out of Princeton. No one really expected him to be cut as he played the majority of DT reps last season after Tyrunn Walker was put on IR due to a chop block. He did quite well there too, even scoring a TD off a fumble during the Seattle game.

He's solid if unspectacular & should do well for ye. Decent in run support & should rack up a few sacks during the year, if afforded playing time.

Tx for stopping by and letting us know about Caraun. We're v short on decent depth on the D line so sounds v much like he will be a keeper and a contributor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭setanta74

9-7.....am I mad?... I think I might be.

at Chiefs L
    Jaguars W
    at Colts L
    Saints W
    at Raiders L
    Broncos W
    at Falcons L
    at Broncos L
    Titans W
    Dolphins W

at Texans L
    Buccaneers W
    at Panthers L
    Raiders W
    at Browns W
    Chiefs W

setanta74 wrote: »

at Chiefs L
    Jaguars W
    at Colts L
    Saints W
    at Raiders L
    Broncos W
    at Falcons L
    at Broncos L
    Titans W
    Dolphins W

at Texans L
    Buccaneers W
    at Panthers L
    Raiders W
    at Browns W
    Chiefs W

We could have that many wins... but imho I reckon we are going 5 and 11. I reckon a combo of bad D esp run D and the coaching (McCoy and Pags esp) will see to another ****e yr.

The O should be decent but an injury or 2 (these are guaranteed) on the O line and we are screwed.

I know I know.............. ever the optimist not.

The road games are quite difficult (Colts, Falcons, Texans, Panthers..even the Browns in December won't be easy) I can't see beyond 1-4 in those games.

I just hope we are not out of the picture by end of October. I have us 3-5 at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

at Chiefs W
    Jaguars W
    at Colts L
    Saints W
    at Raiders L
    Broncos W
    at Falcons W
    at Broncos L
    Titans W
    Dolphins W

at Texans L
    Buccaneers W
    at Panthers L
    Raiders W
    at Browns W
    Chiefs W
    [/QUOTE]

I'm going to be even more positive and go 11-5. I think it's the excitement with the season starting that has me feeling confident. I also think we might beat the Colts

Heart: We have the potential to be a really good offense if major injuries don't happen and we look like we might be able to run the ball somewhat. The Dline is much better, LBers are developing nicely and we should see a big improvement. This team is pretty solid and with a bit of luck can win the close games this year.

Head: Pagano will **** up all the talent he has on D, McCoy will get overwhelmed by the job again. Roster is good but coaches are holding us back. Don't be optimistic, it never works

at Chiefs L
    Jaguars W
    at Colts L
    Saints W
    at Raiders L
    Broncos W
    at Falcons L
    at Broncos L
    Titans W
    Dolphins W

at Texans L
    Buccaneers W
    at Panthers L
    Raiders W
    at Browns W
    Chiefs W

I think 7-9 is our ceiling, and even to get that will be a miracle, I just don't think our oline is going to stay healthy to help Gordon or Philip, when the starters start going down we don't have quality backups to get the standard of performance that will help Philip and Gordon take the pressure off the defence, Pagno defence will probably start off slowly, as they do ever season and make the hill to big to climb for Philip, but we hope for the best

Yeah the start of every season normally brings with it excitement and optimism.... but I keep reminding myself that our HC is McCoy. I think Whiz will make a difference but really McCoy does not deserve another chance for me. Many reckon it was Reich's fault that the team has been so bad the last say 18mths... and while Reich sure looked like no genius.... McCoys conservatism, poor game mgmt, playing not to lose mentality kills me.

11-5 .. nice one OAOB... you are madder than me ;-)

Good point about Whizz there Damien.. he should make a difference once McCoy stays in the background.

Seems that planned meet up in the UK for game 1 never materialised BTW....

Is there a 6pm game on the box in the schedule maybe? I'd pop up to Dublin for a meetup. Would be good to pull my hair out and be eternally frustrated with fellow bolts fans in the same room.

After week 1 the next early one is Nov 27 at Houston.

That was as demoralising a defeat as we could have got i think. Easily the better team when we wanted to be but still managed to lose the game. I put this down solely to the coaches and I include Whiz in that. Gutless playcalling that showed no ambition or drive. How can any player be expected to play hard for these guys.

I think we're easily talented enough to be a middle of the pack team even with these incompetents, just a shame not knowing what we can become and how good we could be.

Finally it was absolutely gutting to see Keenan go down, incredibly talented player who must be heartbroken today.

San. Diego. Chargers. :mad:

Holy jaysus where to start........

I spose first off I gotta say how much the injury to Keenan Allen has affected my morale. Keenan does not deserve to suffer such an injury nor suffer playing for a team where the ownership stinks to high heaven.

This head coach should not be in a job in San Diego. The dogs on the street knew this at the end of last year. Incredulously.. not only did they come out and say they were sticking with him, they gave him that paltry 1 yr extension. To me this 1 yr extension was a clear sign that they can't have had 100% confidence that the bollix could turn things around.

A leopard never changes its spots and McCoward is that leopard. Some might argue it is 1 week 1 loss. But this is a game 99% of teams do not lose. KC were crap, were missing their best 2 players. Our O was pretty much doing what it liked. And then it all changes.... play not to lose, play prevent D (which prevents nothing only a chargers win).

I heard McCoward saying it was Whiz's decision to change tack so much.. when asked how come Melvin was taken out of the game. Was that him throwing Whiz under the bus somewhat while at the same time saying his usual bollixology that 'we are all in this together' etc?

Without Keenan and with McCoward and Pagano at the controls this team will do well to get to 5 & 11, my original forecast.

Wasn't it amazing thought during that 1st half to see us kick ass and go up by 21... for a few mins I started to dream right there..... but like Derek says above this is the San Diego Chargers.

Ok enough about the bigger picture some observations on the players.

There must be something up with Perryman. For a guy so dominant and secure last yr he was terrible yesterday.

Manti is Manti....... slow and soft as F. Nowhere near starting ILB quality for me. He should be a back up and no way would I sign him to an extension. It's a pity Perry does not look like the player we thought he might be when we drafted him, maybe he will get it before too long...... because we need him to.

Jatavis Brown did some nice things but when he needed to be on the field Pags decided to do something different = wrong. He had Emmanuel (who had a shocker too) attempting to cover Kelce, holy jaysus.

Pags even had Mebane out at one point when we were defending our goal line... I know the lad needs breathers but wow.

Lowery and Addae are liabilities, we knew that about Addae already but Lowery wow......

As good as the O line was in the 1st they were bad in 2nd but I am going to put that down to us going away from what was working. Pulley rotated with Fluker and more than held his own for me. The tackles especially had a very poor 2nd half.

All in all............... unless McCoy gets fired early (not a hope in hell) best we can hope for is 5 & 11 now.

EDIT: forgot to mention Kaser holy F doing his Kaeding impression. Jeez. He was nails in preseason but when it matters he **** the bed bigtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

The first half: great stuff, we looked like a functional NFL team for the first time in ages.. That whole second half (and the overtime) was basically like getting slapped repeatedly with a wet fish over and over again. Horrible to sit through, utter deranged nonsense would be a kind description of some of the play calls made last night, run D got gashed open just when we needed it most, no Keenan Allen on the field to bail us out with some quality, crushing sense of inevitability that it's only a matter of waiting for the loss to come: it was like being sent back in a time machine to last season all over again. I'd call it depressing, but when you see it happening week after week after week, one just gets used to it.. Had the Chargers game on TV and the packers-jags game on my tablet at the same time, glancing between both, Jacksonville certainly won't be fearing whatever we throw at them next week

carmanard wrote: »
    The first half: great stuff, we looked like a functional NFL team for the first time in ages.. That whole second half (and the overtime) was basically like getting slapped repeatedly with a wet fish over and over again. Horrible to sit through, utter deranged nonsense would be a kind description of some of the play calls made last night, run D got gashed open just when we needed it most, no Keenan Allen on the field to bail us out with some quality, crushing sense of inevitability that it's only a matter of waiting for the loss to come: it was like being sent back in a time machine to last season all over again. I'd call it depressing, but when you see it happening week after week after week, one just gets used to it.. Had the Chargers game on TV and the packers-jags game on my tablet at the same time, glancing between both, Jacksonville certainly won't be fearing whatever we throw at them next week

I had Jax as one of our 5 wins.... forget that!.

Well we're to start on last night, first I didn't see the game was working so listened to Nick and Josh on the radio feed, will have game pass for the weekend after payday Thursday and new card to subscribe, so I'll watch the highlights then, the good first, we souned like a team that could just impose our will on the chiefs in the first half two rushing tds for Gordon was great and some nice runs to boot for big gains, woodhead receiving td was nice play hiw does he get so open?, mebane seemed to have his way with the oline when WHEN on the field, why was he took out on the goalline?, our passing attack seemed to be based on Keenan, Danny and Williams early on Benjamin got limited looks from what Nick was saying,

The bad our run defence is awful still, our pass defence at the end was awful, I got home and seen the end of the fourth and ot on redzone on sky mix, why was kyle manned up on kelche, never going win that battle, lowery and addea don't cut it in the secondary, peerryman and teo were very quiet, Ingram hardly got mentioned, where did our great oline from the first half go in the second half?, we don't have any cover for Keenan now he's injured, so our offence will struggle alot, really feel for Keenan he gets no luck to go for him he was doing great before he went down, should have had Peter's ejected for a foul on him and river's according to Nick and Josh(perhaps bias on there part), only got my new Keenan Jersey on Friday in the post, so kinda feel like I jinxed him a bit,

To early to call how we will do against the jags, but it's an uphill battle, I think we might look for a wr in FA this week now, any word on a bosa suit up or is the hamstring injury bad?

The most sickening thing is we looked ****ing great in the first half, defence was making plays, offense was moving the ball at will and there was a real swagger to the team. We know it's in them but with these coaches we'll never see their real potential

This is the same team as last year, second half proved while we'll never contend until there's a change in attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Chumps. At least we will get a good draft pick to blow next year

OAOB wrote: »
    The most sickening thing is we looked ****ing great in the first half, defence was making plays, offense was moving the ball at will and there was a real swagger to the team. We know it's in them but with these coaches we'll never see their real potential

This is the same team as last year, second half proved while we'll never contend until there's a change in attitude ownership.

Corrected it for ya!!.

tripperman wrote: »
    Well we're to start on last night, first I didn't see the game was working so listened to Nick and Josh on the radio feed, will have game pass for the weekend after payday Thursday and new card to subscribe, so I'll watch the highlights then, the good first, we souned like a team that could just impose our will on the chiefs in the first half two rushing tds for Gordon was great and some nice runs to boot for big gains, woodhead receiving td was nice play hiw does he get so open?, mebane seemed to have his way with the oline when WHEN on the field, why was he took out on the goalline?, our passing attack seemed to be based on Keenan, Danny and Williams early on Benjamin got limited looks from what Nick was saying,

The bad our run defence is awful still, our pass defence at the end was awful, I got home and seen the end of the fourth and ot on redzone on sky mix, why was kyle manned up on kelche, never going win that battle, lowery and addea don't cut it in the secondary, peerryman and teo were very quiet, Ingram hardly got mentioned, where did our great oline from the first half go in the second half?, we don't have any cover for Keenan now he's injured, so our offence will struggle alot, really feel for Keenan he gets no luck to go for him he was doing great before he went down, should have had Peter's ejected for a foul on him and river's according to Nick and Josh(perhaps bias on there part), only got my new Keenan Jersey on Friday in the post, so kinda feel like I jinxed him a bit,

To early to call how we will do against the jags, but it's an uphill battle, I think we might look for a wr in FA this week now, any word on a bosa suit up or is the hamstring injury bad?

Yeah forgot about the Peters stuff. He facemasked Keenan twice in about 3 plays, the second one he took his helmet off and the refs didn't call it. It was ridiculous. Then he was jawing and even shoved Rivers. Franklin then got in his face. While Reid took him out of the game for a couple of plays he did put him back in and he played pretty much every snap after that.

Murphys law that the guy beating him like a drum ends up going down with an ACL instead of the other way around.

Not that I care all that much but Sky have listed the games they will have to end September live and Chargers do not appear once.......

Does that say it all? #irrelevant

http://www.skysports.ie/watch/nfl-on-sky

Not that I care all that much but Sky have listed the games they will have to end September live and Chargers do not appear once.......

Does that say it all? #irrelevant

http://www.skysports.ie/watch/nfl-on-sky

Think the only time we will be on sky is when we play the Broncos of a Thursday night, makes my decision of getting game pass easier