If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Where do you guys go to get reports from training camp? I just use BFTB and twitter and there's a lot of duplication. I wouldn't mind getting more reports.

From what i've read so far it seems;
    • Gordon, Mager and back-up QBs are bad.
    • O-line is dominating D-line mostly
    • No one cares about our starting safeties performance, everyone concentrating on the back-ups
    • Ryan Carrethers is only good enough for the 3rd team (disappointing)
    • Donovan Clarke looks good
    • Jatavis Brown is ahead of Perry and looks good in space
    • Hunter Henry is looking like a solid blocker/catcher
    • Flowers is slot and Hayward outside (strange one)
    • Attachou overtaken by Emmanuel (very surprised and not sure what to make of this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭tripperman

OAOB wrote: »
    Where do you guys go to get reports from training camp? I just use BFTB and twitter and there's a lot of duplication. I wouldn't mind getting more reports.

From what i've read so far it seems;
    • Gordon, Mager and back-up QBs are bad.
    • O-line is dominating D-line mostly
    • No one cares about our starting safeties performance, everyone concentrating on the back-ups
    • Ryan Carrethers is only good enough for the 3rd team (disappointing)
    • Donovan Clarke looks good
    • Jatavis Brown is ahead of Perry and looks good in space
    • Hunter Henry is looking like a solid blocker/catcher
    • Flowers is slot and Hayward outside (strange one)
    • Attachou overtaken by Emmanuel (very surprised and not sure what to make of this)

Yeah I'm finding the same problem alot of reports are just copied, I use bftb, fanside app on my phone(bolt beat), bleacher report app, nfl.com, chargers app get videos of big plays and interviews and an other app on my phone chargers news, it gets all the latest from the sdut, espn and a few others to,

Gordon struggling is a concern, Mager is having a horror show could get cut the way it's going, Henry seems to be turning heads in a good way, haven't heard much on how Perry, Brandon Oliver and darius Phillon, the starting safteys haven't been talked about yet either which is concerning

I reckon the fact no one has mentioned our starting safeties means they're doing fine. As soon as they mess up we'll be hearing about it

Hopefully that's it, Phillips seems to be getting rave reviews in camp, mebane seems to have made an impression in camp fluker is calling him a stump, he couldn't move him in drills, a little disappointed that Bosa isn't in camp, I know the team don't want setting a precedent with his contract for the bonus schedule and offset language changes that not even Philip Rivers got and he has to be the most influential player in a chargers uniform, I think it's his agent that's causing the hold up imo and not the player

All the back up safeties sound good but i wonder is it as much down to the bad QBs they're going up against. The flip side is none of our back up WRs are making plays because the passes are ****.

The Bosa thing is really annoying me, it seems that the offset language is just being used as leverage to get his bonus paid in one lump sum a few months earlier than the team are offering. The team are adamant they're not budging on either point.
    If they offer an extra 500k to the bonus or some other incentive the team don't have to make a precedent and Bosa probably signs the contract immediately. The worst thing is that it is being reported that they're not even talking at the minute which shows a lack of effort on both parts to resolve this. They're both waiting it out and trying to break the other instead of working together

Just to finish on a positive, i listened to John Gennaro's podcast (i like him more as a talker than writer) and he made the point that the vocal players at camp are the young guys such as Verrett, Fluker, Te'o and Allen. It's great to see them stepping up and becoming leaders as they're who the team need to rely on this year and they seem to understand that too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Lads, any reports on how Mettenberger is doing in camp?

Mett isn't doing great so far, himself and Clemmens both in danger of been beat out of the back-up job to Rivers by UDF Mike Berovici out of Arizona State

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

tripperman wrote: »
    Mett isn't doing great so far, himself and Clemmens both in danger of been beat out of the back-up job to Rivers by UDF Mike Berovici out of Arizona State

Yes many are saying he just isn't NFL quality. Mind you Jamie of lightninground was hating on Berco when we picked him up but sounds like he might be the second best QB on the roster. I'm shocked at how bad Mett has sounded (have seen F all). Clemens might still end up the default option unfortunately.

As for the Bosa thing.. the team are being overly stubborn imho. It is terrible that he is missing so much camp time. We can't have our 1st rounder waste a year.

Not sure if it is true but the rumour that Bosa's mum has come out saying they should have done an "Eli" and told SD not to draft Bosa as they would not sign for the Chargers. Incredible if true. Bosa needs to get his mum to keep her gob shut but one wonders if there has been irreparable damage done.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Not sure if it is true but the rumour that Bosa's mum has come out saying they should have done an "Eli" and told SD not to draft Bosa as they would not sign for the Chargers. Incredible if true. Bosa needs to get his mum to keep her gob shut but one wonders if there has been irreparable damage done.

Yeah seemingly she posted this on Facebook, I wonder with the trade deadline tomorrow I believe for his signing rights, is it a ploy to get a deal done or get a trade to some where else, could be interesting day or two in store, hope they get him signed rather then trade him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

I've seen the comment and she is 100% correct.

The way the chargers have conducted themselves is an embarrassment.

Bosa is not asking for anything insane and they have not had dialogue with his agent in over a week.

At this stage I'd be surprised if we see Bosa playing for San Diego and the chargers only have themselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

The Chargers would hardly trade him? You've no guarantee where a draft pick you receive will be in the order.

I think I read deadline for trade is tomorrow. It would be incredible were it to happen. It would take a couple of number 1 picks from the likes of the Cowboys to get him I reckon.

Well guys I know it's only pre-season football, but dam it's going to be good to see them out on the field against another team to see if we have improved on last season, anyone in particular you's are watching to see how they do, firvme the safeties Phillips and McCoil and Darius Philion and the rookies Brown and Perry on defence, on offence Tyrell Williams, Hunter Henry, Brandon Oliver and Derek Watt,

Haven't heard anything on Franklin on his latest injury scare yesterday, Stevie is out for the season which is disappointing, Brown and Perryman both missed practice but should be ok I think I read somewhere, no bosa and looks like there won't be anytime soon either,

Well guys I know it's only pre-season football, but dam it's going to be good to see them out on the field against another team to see if we have improved on last season, anyone in particular you's are watching to see how they do, firvme the safeties Phillips and McCoil and Darius Philion and the rookies Brown and Perry on defence, on offence Tyrell Williams, Hunter Henry, Brandon Oliver and Derek Watt,

Haven't heard anything on Franklin on his latest injury scare yesterday, Stevie is out for the season which is disappointing, Brown and Perryman both missed practice but should be ok I think I read somewhere, no bosa and looks like there won't be anytime soon either,

Only saw 1st half so far. I see Wiggins started for #sicknote Franklin. Disappointed to see Tyrell didn't play. Starting O looked decent. Run D shocking. Our D line looks SO small. Hope it is not the start of another Loooong year in that regard. If you can't stop the run you might as well GTFO.

So according to reports on reddit and fanside(bolt beat) chargers plane has been in fort Lauderdale since yesterday and is rumoured to be awaiting the conclusion of talks on the contract to bring Joey Bosa to camp to start training and getting the play book down,

Back to the game the W was a nice boost of confidence for the team, defence played well and done good job against the run and made a big plays and got a few picks, flowers td was a nice play call, I know it's pre season and not to get excited it won't win us a super bowl, but to see the improvement from the mush defence from Tennessee is all that mattered more then the result, I don't like our qb depth behind Philip Rivers, mett didn't even get on the field and Clemmons was himself just average, there's potential in Bervioc but he's very raw

I'm so sick of the Bosa situation and the blame game being played by both sides and the media. At this stage i only want to hear about Bosa when he's signed and until then we'll just keep working with the guys we have (I sound like Mike McCoy with that type statement)

Real shame to see Donovan Clark IR'd considering how good a preseason he was having. Flukers injury would have been a great opportunity for him
    MRI on Fluker was negative so that is a positive but when we see that the back up is an UDFA we're obviously struggling for depth on the Oline again.

I'll give a quick overview of where i think the team is currently;

Oline is looking better and we're using them as power blockers more which definitely plays to our strengths. Injuries already an issue and depth is a worry. Would expect we'll add a few players from other teams cuts.

Clemens and Mett have proved they're useless so may as well run with Bercovici as he has a slightly better upside.

TE was an area most of us had flagged as a weakness but was looking like a major strength until Cumberland went down. It still looks pretty good and credit must go to TT if they continue to impress.

RBs look ok, this group won't win us any games but if they can give us the opportunity to win then that will be as good as we can hope i think.

WRs look like an area of strength, i really like this group and i honestly don't think Stevie Johnson will be missed, KA is a better slot receiver and keep Benjamin and Tyrell on the outside. James JOnes will make some big plays for us this year

Dline is hard to judge as we haven't seen too much of them and it's been polar opposite performances. We need Bosa for depth and if they can get rotation right we've enough guys who can play well on low snap counts. Liuget needs to step up, has been really quiet in preseason so i'm hoping he explodes in the regular season when we need him.

ILB's look very shallow depth wise. I think Perry will have a sharp learning curve and we're going to be overly reliant on Perryman who hasn't shown to be too well rounded yet. Te'o can't afford to play his way into the season, needs to be on the top of his game from week one. Hard to know about Jatavis Brown, good start of camp but the worry is that being undersized will result in him being injured and currently that's the case. Needs to play in the remaining preseason games.

OLB's is pretty much the same as ILB with poor depth, Ingram needing a fast start, Emmanuel being talked up but only showing in flashes and Tourek being solid but limited.
    Attaouchu????? Who knows what is happening but i think the guy needs to get his hunger back, he has all the physical tools

Safeties like the TE position was a presumed weakness and it probably still is. We have a starting pair who do the basics to an acceptable level (at best) and back ups who are getting rave reviews but until they overtake the starting pair they will not contribute substantially.

I'm worried about CBs, Flowers got a pick 6 but also got beat twice. I think he'll need a lot of safety help this year. Heyward was exposed as an outside CB in Greenbay so keep him in the slot and use his strengths.
    I still like Mager (i don't know why) and I don't rate S. Williams. Teams don't generally cut good CBs so think we'll just have to stick with who we have currently

Points of note
    • I wouldn't keep Stuckey just for STs, the safety position is too uncertain that we need to have our 4 best players on the roster. If Stuckey makes it then we need 5 safeties
    • Dzubnar is also on the roster bubble, we need more than 8 LBs but we only have 8 good ones. Will probably make the roster but hopefully be replaced by a cut player
    • Swain/Watt, whichever is better at STs we take. We won't use a FB much at all
    • No idea who will return punts or kicks and neither does the team, roster spot available for someone if they can impress
    • Coaches will hold this team back (not Whiz)

Couple of great posts there lads... good to see some more activity on the thread the closer we get to KO!!.

I too sigh every time I hear about Bosa. I was listening to the lads on lightning round pod and they both think that even if he signed today it will week 4 earliest before he can make a contribution in terms of getting up to game speed and condition. What a complete F'in disaster this has been. They also mentioned (in my opinion more in hope than anything) that Liuget is probably missing him more than anybody as he is being double teamed all the team because 1 guy can more often than not handle Philion. Yes Philon wins now and again but I've seen TEs take care of him.

I too am real disappointed that Cumberland and Clark are gone. Stevie J we can deal with. But Cumberland and Clark were probably going to contribute this year, esp Cumberland. Injuries are killing us already. Good to see Flukes MRI was negative but I can't help thinking he is carrying too much weight for those ankles/feet to deal with. He has had ankle and foot issues every year now. He could lose 20-25lbs and be a much better G.

I liked Emmanuel from day 1 last yr but I too am surprised Attaochu is OLB 3 now. Like OAOB says he has all the tools. I too can see Stuckey gone for someone who can play STs but is also an option on defense. I don't think Stuckey is as bad as he looked v Titans but he's around long enough now for someone to know if he can play D or not. I don't think he can. Mind you we carried Kassim Osgood long enough to be a STs only player. He thought he could be a WR too but no chance.

All in all I am not overly optimistic about the season now based on what I have seen in preseason, esp with the same coaches (Whiz apart) at the helm. Mind you I see some lad called Siemian might be the starting QB in Denver WTF!!?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,580 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The San Diego Chargers issued the following statement regarding the contract negotiations with 2016 first-round selection Joey Bosa:
    Our contract discussions and offers to the representatives of Joey Bosa have been both fair and structurally consistent with the contracts of every other Chargers player.

Our offer included:
    An initial signing bonus payment that is larger than any player in the League has received in the last two drafts.
    More money in this calendar year than every player in this year’s draft except one (QB Carson Wentz).
    The largest payment and the highest percentage of signing bonus received in the first calendar year of any Chargers’ first-round selection since the inception of the current Collective Bargaining Agreement (2011).

We gave Joey’s representatives our best offer last night, which was rejected today. The offer that we extended was for Joey to contribute during all 16 games and beyond. Joey’s ability to contribute for an entire rookie season has now been jeopardized by the valuable time he has missed with his coaches and his teammates. Since Joey will not report at this time, his ability to produce not just early in the season, but throughout the entire season, has been negatively impacted.

As a result, we will restructure our offer since Joey will be unable to contribute for the full 16 game season without the adequate time on the practice field, in the classroom, and in preseason games.

Well the chargers have set out their stall so over to joey and his reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

This isn't looking good at all. Obviously the Spanos Jet was there to meet Bosa and we couldn't get the deal done.

From reading that article it seems we have made our best offer and will only decrease it the more time he misses.

Anyone know do we get compensation if he goes back into the draft?

Wow from looking close with the plane in fort Lauderdale a day ago to where the situation is now is unbelievable, really embarrassing situation now, but both side's are to blame, chargers could have offered more of the bonus at the start, to be honest it's the first hold out I'm aware of since I started following the chargers so I'm not sure where it goes from here, a guy I play Madden with reckons it will be done by week two of regular season, me I don't know, this will adversely affect the campaign for the stadium vote in November.

On to the roster/season, I'm concerned about the season ahead I do think we could struggle to get off the bottom of the division as the trenches are of big concern, due to the fact our oline is already suffering injuries in pre-season and the depth to cover them is awful, I know Matt slauson can slide to guard to cover for fluker or Franklin, but that leaves watt or Max Tuerk for centre and we know what Watt is like already, but Max is coming back from injury so I'm not sure if he's fully good to go or if he's worked sufficiently with Philip to get that rhythm going yet,
    Defensive line depth is weak after Square got four games for missing a drug test and no bosa doesn't help, carrathers seems to be going backwards in development, so leaves us mebane, lissmore, phillion alongside liguet to start and few udf,

What is going on with Jerry, I like kyle he's a good player but I thought Jerry was better then him, still think Brandon flowers will struggle this season again, so cb could be a weakness as we go threw the season,

Holy jaysus I could not believe what I was seeing/hearing yesterday. It is so embarassing. No matter what the Chargers should not have come out with that statement. So now the agent has done the same... Unless Joey moves agent and blames the incumbent this might not get resolved before the season starts. It's incredulous really........ Such a distraction that we/the other players don't need. And now that dumbass Square has gone and got himself suspended. Imho he is not up to much so both things might focus the mind a bit more in terms of getting players who can play D line onto this roster.

Wow from looking close with the plane in fort Lauderdale a day ago to where the situation is now is unbelievable, really embarrassing situation now, but both side's are to blame, chargers could have offered more of the bonus at the start, to be honest it's the first hold out I'm aware of since I started following the chargers so I'm not sure where it goes from here, a guy I play Madden with reckons it will be done by week two of regular season, me I don't know, this will adversely affect the campaign for the stadium vote in November.

On to the roster/season, I'm concerned about the season ahead I do think we could struggle to get off the bottom of the division as the trenches are of big concern, due to the fact our oline is already suffering injuries in pre-season and the depth to cover them is awful, I know Matt slauson can slide to guard to cover for fluker or Franklin, but that leaves watt or Max Tuerk for centre and we know what Watt is like already, but Max is coming back from injury so I'm not sure if he's fully good to go or if he's worked sufficiently with Philip to get that rhythm going yet,
    Defensive line depth is weak after Square got four games for missing a drug test and no bosa doesn't help, carrathers seems to be going backwards in development, so leaves us mebane, lissmore, phillion alongside liguet to start and few udf,

What is going on with Jerry, I like kyle he's a good player but I thought Jerry was better then him, still think Brandon flowers will struggle this season again, so cb could be a weakness as we go threw the season,

Lissemore is on IR already so in truth without Bosa we are in dire straits on D line.

The C/G Pulley intrigues me. I can't understand though how an UDFA can all of a sudden be a starting G in the NFL. People might point to the Dielman example but he came in as a D lineman and it was almost 2 yrs before he was seen as the goto RG long term. I saw some mention of trying to bring back Louis Vasquez, to be honest I'm surprised he is still 'out there' I wonder is he done health-wise.

Chris Watt has been a disaster and is on the PUP right now but I'm not sure he would ever make it if he wasn't. Fluker needs to lose 20lbs and Franklin (aka Gaither-lite) better get his ass in gear.

I think Attaochu will be fine, he might have just needed a kick in the arse, he will still get his chances esp on passing downs.

EDIT: forgot to mention Donavon Clark going down (and to IR apparently, but chargers.com still has him on the roster?) was a bad bad thing too.

Thanks Leslie, I had totally forgot that lissmore was on ir already, big shame about Clark the seventh round pick was doing very well according to reports, he will be out long term believe it was a ACL injury so that's big recovery time imo, our oline is shaky and agree where as this guy Spencer pulley come from seems to be highly rated, we seem to be able to get a steal in an udf after each draft, Oliver two seasons ago, Tyrell Williams last year, this guy could be next gem to be uncovered this way,, interesting to see how he does first,

The highs and lows of last night's game,

The highs Melvin Gordon been sprung by a great defensive read and audible by Rivers for his first career rushing td even tho watt didn't actually move up field to block anyone, pulley done well on the oline, dbs I thought improved mccoil and Phillips seem to be coming the right direction, still make the odd mistake tho, slauson is big big improvement on the oline, Benjamin is going to be a big help along with Hunter in the passing game,

The lows back qbs are not going to give any opposing teams sleepless nights, run defence is still weak, joe barksdale got an ankle knock which is of concern as he was our only healthy oline player last season, poor Brandon Oliver I really like this kid such a hard runner great attitude to the game and see his season ended ladt night is unlucky, I really wanted to see him in the regular season thought he was going get a big year, we only have Gordon, Danny Woodhead, then kenny farrow, a dreamius smith to fill out the hbs for the season

Oliver's injury sucked and I wouldn't be surprised if we didn't see him in a chargers uniform again unfortunately.
    I wasn't impressed with Philips and i didn't see Lowry make any plays. I saw McCoil, can't believe he didn't get more reps, especially with the first team.

Was disappointed to see Carrethers getting so badly beaten repeatedly, shows the value of Mebane even more.
    First team offense didn't get too many snaps due to clock management by the Vikings, the interception (poor by Keenan i thought) and Gordon looking like an NFL running back (there's hope for him yet)

Dline and Oline still look shallow but we have some really good battles for roster spots going on

Can't help but think that we'll be picking up a number of cut players prior to week 1

All I can think about after watching last night (and the other games to be honest) is how desperately thin we are in the trenches. It is going to be a v long season even if the likes of Fluker, Dunlap and Franklin don't miss as much time as they did last yr. I readily expect all 3 to miss games this year so when u look at who is coming behind... ouch.

On D line provided we get Bosa in we're looking at maybe only 4 worthwhile D linemen on our roster. Some might argue Carrethers has something but for me after Mebane, Liuget, Philon and Bosa we are dire.

Somebody mentioned it already (perhaps above?) but where is Josh Perry? anybody know why we're seeing so little of him. I didn't see him take the field last night at all?

I am watching the waiver/cut wire bigtime now as no doubt Telesco is. I see Terrance Knighton was cut by the Patriots... he's got to be worth a look surely?

If the team really don't rate Carrethers then they should cut him and try out Knighton. Personally i'd hold on to Carrethers, he was good last year and it is a big leap going from practicing with our 2's to taking on the viking 1's. Might just need more reps

Will be interesting to see if any semi good RBs are cut

Apparently Perry wasn't playing last night, can't remember which journalist but one of them tweeted it before the game. Think they said he'd be starting Thursday but i might be imagining that

If the team really don't rate Carrethers then they should cut him and try out Knighton. Personally i'd hold on to Carrethers, he was good last year and it is a big leap going from practicing with our 2's to taking on the viking 1's. Might just need more reps

Will be interesting to see if any semi good RBs are cut

Apparently Perry wasn't playing last night, can't remember which journalist but one of them tweeted it before the game. Think they said he'd be starting Thursday but i might be imagining that

I thought Carrethers was gona be something too, based on last years play. I see we've picked up a RB called Gus Johnson, don't know anything about him. And James Jones is gone, apparently was having a hard time getting playbook down. At least Joey is in at long freakin last. I thought he did v well in his presser and it all seemed genuine to me.

Good to get Bosa signed, i doubt the true signing details will be revealed and at this stage i don't really care

Disappointed about James Jones, real veteran savvy is lacking in our wideouts and he's a red zone player, could have restricted him to those play calls.