Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Comte

Im aiming for the same time as you hopefully 4:20.My hubby echancrure is aiming for a sub 3! Your welcome to run along side me. But I can't guarantee a lot of chat after 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭ooter

Ran the 6 mile section of the course yesterday that takes in the Phoenix park and castleknock, tough drag up chesterfield avenue and in to castleknock with a strong head wind but a welcome downhill once you turn at myo's pub, another climb when you re-enter the park at the knockmaroon gates but after that mostly flat and downhill to the chapelizod gate.
    For anyone that lives near the park it'd be a good idea to take it in at least once before the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Comte wrote: »
    Im aiming for the same time as you hopefully 4:20.My hubby echancrure is aiming for a sub 3! Your welcome to run along side me. But I can't guarantee a lot of chat after 10k

When I say 'chat', I more mean odd words of encouragement spluttered between anguished breaths :)

I'll take you up on that! I just find that any race I've done well in, I've been with someone with a similar target, be it Charleville last week or Killarney last year! I'll be in touch! :D

Does anyone reckon it would be possible to go sub 4 hour starting from wave 4 considering all the traffic you'd have to work your way through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

ooter wrote: »
    Does anyone reckon it would be possible to go sub 4 hour starting from wave 4 considering all the traffic you'd have to work your way through?

You're going to pass, let's say 4000 people, but over the course of 42km and 4 hours. 1000 people/hour is 16/17 people a minute. That's not very crowded really. There'll be a few clumps of people to work through, whatever pace groups you pass, but not enough to cause serious problems.

RayCun wrote: »
    You're going to pass, let's say 4000 people, but over the course of 42km and 4 hours. 1000 people/hour is 16/17 people a minute. That's not very crowded really. There'll be a few clumps of people to work through, whatever pace groups you pass, but not enough to cause serious problems.

Cheers, to be honest I'm not really bothered about time cos I'm nowhere near PB shape but it would be nice to go sub 4 if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Cheers, to be honest I'm not really bothered about time cos I'm nowhere near PB shape but it would be nice to go sub 4 if possible.

It's going to cost you a little time/effort to go past so many people but if you're in 3:50 shape then you should comfortably go sub-4. If you're in 3:59:59 shape it's not very likely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Sounds reasonable on paper Ray! There are sections of that course that could prove even more problematic with congestion this years given the extra numbers running. The Walkinstown roundabout area has been like a mountain stage of the Tour de France in the past. People edging out on the road for a better look. Hope they are going to rail it off this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Comte

No prob you might even get some singing when my head plays mind games!!:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Next Saturday St Cocas AC in Kilcock have organised a final long run that is open to everyone. Its a 34km route on the back roads around Kilcock starting at 9am. There will be water stops, bike marshals and most importantly tea and cake for when you finish.
    They are doing this in aid of St Gabriel's Ward in Temple St - the run itself is free and there will be a donations bucket so if any boardsies are around not doing the 3/4 marathon and fancy a last long run with a change of scenery and some company please come along

Link to facebook page, let them know if you want to go so they can guage numbers:
    https://www.facebook.com/events/1806531822898688/?active_tab=highlights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PGL

Next Saturday St Cocas AC in Kilcock have organised a final long run that is open to everyone. Its a 34km route on the back roads around Kilcock starting at 9am. There will be water stops, bike marshals and most importantly tea and cake for when you finish.
    They are doing this in aid of St Gabriel's Ward in Temple St - the run itself is free and there will be a donations bucket so if any boardsies are around not doing the 3/4 marathon and fancy a last long run with a change of scenery and some company please come along

Link to facebook page, let them know if you want to go so they can guage numbers:
    https://www.facebook.com/events/1806531822898688/?active_tab=highlights

I would be interested in coming along, as I'm not far away, and could really do with some company on the longest training run before the marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

has anyone got a record of a list of the usual road closures effecting Dublin on the morning of the marathon?

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    has anyone got a record of a list of the usual road closures effecting Dublin on the morning of the marathon?

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/traffic-information/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

thanks. there's a road listed as to be closed but I managed to actually access in 2014 to get to my work parking space - I wonder was I just lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

What's the fastest time that there are pacers for?

Bahanaman wrote: »

3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭echancrure

That will be too slow for you surely...

Care to reveal target yet?

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    thanks. there's a road listed as to be closed but I managed to actually access in 2014 to get to my work parking space - I wonder was I just lucky!

there are slight changes to the start/finish area from 2014 which may have made a difference - or you might have just been lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Half thinking of doing the 20 miles from the park to the finish this Saturday.

My fear is that it will be too start/stop with crossing roads etc. Has anyone any advice on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

My fear is that it will be too start/stop with crossing roads etc. Has anyone any advice on this?

I did this last Saturday. It's definitely worth doing, especially if (a) you haven't run DCM before, and/or (b) you're not familiar with the areas it passes through. I did lose a few minutes (over 20 miles, mind!) at road crossings (e.g. Dolphin's Barn, KCR and Terenure) but of course that's luck of the draw with the lights, and on another day you might just go straight through.

Of course, anywhere you go outside the confines of a park, you're going to have issues with pedestrian crossings, walkers, people driving in or out of their houses etc. So I'd absolutely recommend what you're half thinking! Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Would run sections of this quite regularly myself and like WubbleWubble just said you will get lights anywhere outside the park and can be lucky or unlucky sometimes.

Spots that spring to mind where it might be handy to cross a road in advance of turning a corner/coming to a junction that spring to mind are:

Crumlin Road - if you can duck across between the canal and sundrive, it would be unusual to be caught at the lights anywhere else on that road for very long (I find anyway) and then you are on the correct side of the road for walkinstown road.

Approaching KCR - try and cross to the right hand side as soon as possible after the Ben Dunne Gym but be aware once you turn the corner, you have to cross again fairly swiftly to go across fortfield road so might get caught for a moment.

Terenue - you'll most likely have to stop for lights here at one of the junctions - if the timing suits take on water/gels/whatever your planning here.

Cross as soon as possible after Terenue as you head into Rathgar because you'll be turning right here. Note: the running shop RunZone (on left hand side after you've turned right) have a water station for runners - they are also very helpful if you are in the market for anything.

After that I am moving away from home territory but think in Milltown so long as you stay on the right you're grand, you'll have to cross Clonskeagh at some point, easier to do before Bird Ave and after Beaver Row (by the dodder) to minimise junctions. All around UCD you are following the perimeter line so very few crossings...and after the flyover I am less sure. Enjoy and report back with a review :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Super info folks - thanks.

I've ran Dublin a few times, but always get confused around crumlin etc as I don't know that part of the city.

I hope that on race day when I get to Castleknock gates, I'll know exactly what I have in store and have confidence that I've 'been there, done this' a few weeks ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

echancrure wrote: »
    That will be too slow for you surely...

Care to reveal target yet?

Ha ha echancrure! I'm afraid my target has gone out the window! A very niggly achilles has completely banjaxed my training over the last two and a half weeks and I'm not actually sure I'll make the start line at all. Initially my A+ goal would've been sub 2:50 (prob out of reach for me anyway). Realistically a pb (sub 2:54:14) would've been amazing. Last week I began to think that another sub 3 would be great but now with that tendinitis still bothering me big time I just don't know. One of the girls in the club is aiming for a sub 3:30 so if I don't think any of the above goals are on and I feel I could still take part, I'll see if I can help her reach her target. Otherwise I might just leave it and see if someone in the club might use my number. Manchester next April might come into the equation if that is to be the case.

I see they have 4 waves for the start and that the time bands have changed.

I booked ages ago and on my acceptance slip it says that I am in Wave 1 - Under 3:50, but now the time bands for the waves are:

Wave 1 sub 3:35 Orange
    Wave 2 3:35 - 4:05 Green
    Wave 3 4:05 - 4:35 Blue
    Wave 4 over 4:25 Purple

So how are they gonna sort that out on registration day? Will they use the times that were mentioned when booking?
    Wave 2 does not appeal to me one bit...

Ha ha echancrure! I'm afraid my target has gone out the window! A very niggly achilles has completely banjaxed my training over the last two and a half weeks and I'm not actually sure I'll make the start line at all. Initially my A+ goal would've been sub 2:50 (prob out of reach for me anyway). Realistically a pb (sub 2:54:14) would've been amazing. Last week I began to think that another sub 3 would be great but now with that tendinitis still bothering me big time I just don't know. One of the girls in the club is aiming for a sub 3:30 so if I don't think any of the above goals are on and I feel I could still take part, I'll see if I can help her reach her target. Otherwise I might just leave it and see if someone in the club might use my number. Manchester next April might come into the equation if that is to be the case.

Sorry to hear that Bahanaman but at the same time it can still be a great experience and I ope you'll have a great day.

I got a scare last Thursday (strain in left calf) but thankfully it is feeling OK now (even managed VO2 intervals today). Only a couple of tough training runs and it's taper madness: yippee!!

As part of my 20 miler this weekend I'm going to take in half the course from blackhall place to the top of walkinstown road and then turn back and head back home for the final 7.
    I've done it a few times before but you can never get too familiar with the first half of the course which is the more difficult half in my opinion and that drag from dolphins barn up to the turn at cromwellsfort road is tough also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

As part of my 20 miler this weekend I'm going to take in half the course from blackhall place to the top of walkinstown road and then turn back and head back home for the final 7.
    I've done it a few times before but you can never get too familiar with the first half of the course which is the more difficult half in my opinion and that drag from dolphins barn up to the turn at cromwellsfort road is tough also.

I won't go Deep South (sound of banjos playing and all that) but I'd be interested to know how you get on in terms of how many miles you'd do at marathon pace relative to your MP+?? miles. I've done the Phoenix Park stretch well enough but am quite conscious that it's only one small segment of the course.

I'm planning on doing 5 x 10 min miles, 5 x 9:30 miles, 5 x 9 min miles and if I can finish strong with 5 x 8:30 miles I'll be very happy. I'm planning on using a similar strategy for the marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

What is car parking like in around Dublin the day of the Marathon. I was thinking of parking in around baggot st, waterloo road area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

What is car parking like in around Dublin the day of the Marathon. I was thinking of parking in around baggot st, waterloo road area.

I have always parked up the canal from Baggot St bridge. You'd need to get there 60-90 mins before the race start though (there's some cafes and Mespil hotel to use the facilities). There is a record number of runners this year so not sure if that will have an effect.