Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Is "taken down at will" not a bit harsh on McGregor? He did stuff three takedowns and after the last he caught Mendes and finished the fight.

At will, would imply that McGregor has zero takedown defence.

I think at will is fair to be honest.

He did well to wait for space to get back up each time, focused on limiting the G+P until there was an opportunity to scramble because he knew Chad wasn't much of a submission threat, and the guillotine escape was very good to get the final scramble before he cut off Chad's retreat and cracked him. Chad did feed him elbow samiches for a while at one stage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

To be fair, Mendes will take you down if he wants to, you're not gonna do much in the way of stopping him unless your names Jose and you have god level takedown defense.

Prob one of the best wrestlers in the organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

Ariel Helwani (even though I don't like him for the Lesnar announcement) basically dampens down the McGregor announcement.

Wonder what Dana and Conors relationship is like. Likewise Conor and the Fertitias seemed to part on a sour note
    .ak wrote: »
    You don't like an MMA reporter reporting news about MMA? :confused:

But he stole from the fans....oh wait, no, that was Dana pulling Conor from UFC 200 :pac:

Tazzimus wrote: »
    To be fair, Mendes will take you down if he wants to, you're not gonna do much in the way of stopping him unless your names Jose and you have god level takedown defense.

Prob one of the best wrestlers in the organisation.

Yeah, very few people are stopping Chad from getting his struggle-cuddle on.

Best
    Description
    Ever

Bravo sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

.ak wrote: »
    [
    Mendes did all the work, McGregor soaked it up and defended well, forcing Mendes to panic and go for the submission. He gassed himself, anyone who's done any wrestling knows it's the offender that tends to be less proficient with their energy,
    I dont think Mendes panicked with the sub. He went for it because the opening was there. Conor got out due to his quick reactions and that fantastic escape.

I wouldn't agree that the offender tends to be less efficient with energy. sith a good offensive, the defender should be squirming about getting nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Is "taken down at will" not a bit harsh on McGregor? He did stuff three takedowns and after the last he caught Mendes and finished the fight.

At will, would imply that McGregor has zero takedown defence.

Agreed.

Chad Mendes did not take down McGregor at will.

GSP took down Dan Hardy at will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

This may also be one of the very few fights where Conor has a straight BJJ advantage over his opponent.

It's a tough one to call. Eddie is unbelted (which in itself doesn't mean a lot) and Conor, by all accounts, is not far from black belt level.

Rolling with John, Gunni and, now, Dillon can only help sharpen his game. So if it goes to the mat, i'm not sure that Conor doesn't have the edge in that department. I wouldn't even be surprised if he takes Eddie down at some stage. It'd be the last thing Eddie is expecting and Conor seemed explosive and confident with his takedowns in his last fight at 155 against Buchinger.

Speaking of Dillon, glad to see him back to good form in the Pan-Ams. 3 straight guillotines between the classes and a slick kneebar.

Gordon Ryan chirped in with some sort of congratulations but it's hard to know if he was being sarcastic as he pointed out he wasn't eligible to compete and Garry Tonon was injured. And that they should be paid to compete against Dillon.

GR has a backer who's willing to pay $20,000 for a exhibition event in which Gordon faces the MG "dream team" back to back, winner takes all. Offer has been out in the ether for a while now and none of Marcelo's guys have responded. they skerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hendo111

Gary Tonon still has Danis's leg on his trophy cabinet Dillon cant compete with Gordo and Tonon,he's been training boxing lately so mma is where the future lies for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭HarryStuby

Lads quick question for anyone that could answer.

I am doing an auction for charity and I was thinking a pair of signed Conor McGregor MMA gloves would fetch a fair few quid.

Anyone any ideas on the best way going about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Sbg car park maybe?

HarryStuby wrote: »

I am doing an auction for charity and I was thinking a pair of signed Conor McGregor MMA gloves would fetch a fair few quid.

I'd imagine conor or john would be a good place to start. Twitter/email/call into sbg etc

Honestly the only way would be contacting Conor directly or emailing John with the details and asking him if he can help.

Just don't be that guy who shows up at the gym asking for stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭HarryStuby

Honestly the only way would be contacting Conor directly or emailing John with the details and asking him if he can help.

Just don't be that guy who shows up at the gym asking for stuff.

Yep read in his book he wouldn't entertain someone calling to the gym and understandably so. Thanks lads

Little bit of advice - Don't ask John for anything to do with Conor. You'll be told to ask Conor yourself.

Follow up - asking Conor yourself online is next to impossible unless you want to spam his Twitter and Facebook. Which really won't work as he's already spammed with dozens of similar requests.

Further follow-up, this won't be easy but your best bet is actually catching him on your own in a car park and asking him.

Head down the Forge the weekend he be there watching the ufc as usual.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You could also try on the mac life's contact page -> https://themaclife.com/get-in-touch/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Me with half a second to think: "Alright, Conor.. best of luck in New York, man".

Conor: "Thanks so much, brother, appreciate that!".

So, eh, yeah.. I was talking to Conor McGregor in town earlier :cool: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Me with half a second to think: "Alright, Conor.. best of luck in New York, man".

Where were yis?

Could be worse. Years ago I brain farted and asked Bryan McFadden will he be going back to Boyzone or staying solo. To his face. Sitting beside him at the airport. It got worse when i was sat opposite him on the flight to LA.

Spelt his name wrong too?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Spelt his name wrong too?

His stage name is spelled with a Y, it's an I on his birth cert.....yes, I have seen it.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    His stage name is spelled with a Y, it's an I on his birth cert.....yes, I have seen it.

Thanks... I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Where were yis?

He was walking along Sth Great Georges St... went into that Japanese restaurant opposite Dunnes which I can't spell but sounds like that Michael McDonald song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

He was walking along Sth Great Georges St... went into that Japanese restaurant opposite Dunnes which I can't spell but sounds like that Michael McDonald song.

Yamamori - Go in and ask for a Spicy Asian - hot - the only cure for it is another one! After a while - well...........

I wonder will JK find it difficult to decide when to award Conor his blackbelt? It must be hard to judge him on a purely BJJ basis given that he watches all elements of his fighting in such detail. Also when he's awarded it, it's bound to attract a decent amount of media attention and no doubt a lot of criticism as his ground game is used as a stick to beat him with.

JK wont care about the media,when someone gets a belt of Kavanagh they 100% deserve it I know that from the BJJ Circuit,I know a few guys from different SBG affiliates and I can genuinely say just to even get a blue belt off JK you need to be well rounded,Some coaches (even my ex Brazilian) would promote people to keep them interested and paying fee's imo,If he hands Conor a black belt (he wont for another few years) then it will be warranted,

These fighters who slate his grappling,they are complete rookies in striking if McGregor spent his time grappling he'd be on their level or higher,not doing bad for a white belt useless grappler as they label him,about to win his 5th world title fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,342 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Conor seems to be a solid brown belt.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."