Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭mobby

I thought the playing of the Auld Triangle was class. true Dublin song and in my opinion added to the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

DoctaDee wrote: »
    If it wasn't for your lot we wouldn't have had the morally offended looking to change us to Glasnevin (north). I read an article where Bono feared for his well-being on the 2 minute walk to the 19 bus stop - lucky he wasn't getting on the 17a..

Ah... the glory days of the 17a not so much a bus ride as a tour of duty. I heard dublin bus drivers were awarded medals for that route

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

COngrats on your win lads. Goes to say we will be back, it will happen some day, just need to make sure its in an AI final ;) Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

yop wrote: »
    COngrats on your win lads. Goes to say we will be back, it will happen some day, just need to make sure its in an AI final ;) Enjoy.

Next year for ye I'd say. Beat Kerry in the SF. Easy. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Thanks Yop,
    That was one thing that I thought someone had put a hex on us. He said to me
    "The thing is, they have to win one sometime"
    That kept playing on my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bambi wrote: »
    Ah... the glory days of the 17a not so much a bus ride as a tour of duty. I heard dublin bus drivers were awarded medals for that route

... I think they left it as a single decker for all those years 1. because there was less windows to smash and 2. it was a smaller moving target for the snipers

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stoner wrote: »
    Thanks Yop,
    That was one thing that I thought someone had put a hex on us. He said to me
    "The thing is, they have to win one sometime"
    That kept playing on my mind.

Thats been on my mind since 1989! At this stage I have no mind. It just a dribble with eyes on the front! ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

DoctaDee wrote: »
    ... I think they left it as a single decker for all those years 1. because there was less windows to smash and 2. it was a smaller moving target for the snipers

I got the 17a every weekday for a summer, and the thing I remember most about it was the way I used to get off the bus completely off my face, just from the residue wafting up from the seats. Made the first hour in work difficult!

It was always breaking down as well, they only ran the really old buses on that route.

CatInABox wrote: »
    I got the 17a every weekday for a summer, and the thing I remember most about it was the way I used to get off the bus completely off my face, just from the residue wafting up from the seats. Made the first hour in work difficult!

It was always breaking down as well, they only ran the really old buses on that route.

LOL.... That would be the armoured plating, it bolloxed the engine

My abiding memory was getting lap danced by a large young wan on the way back up the Oscar Traynor - in fairness she didn't drop any of her chips :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What's wrong with the 17a? When I had a summer job out in Blackrock, I used to get it from the roundabout at the top of Glasnevin Avenue, down to the Dart station in Kilester. Never needed the Kevlar once. Well, not until we had safely passed The Autobahn anyway. :D
    Topcat32 wrote: »
    Maybe thats because rather than just it being a feeling, with Kilkenny, they knew it was going to be a good night

'S really weird to be talking about Kilkenny and music. I have not been able to get that bloody Adiemus song (that the Kilkenny choir sang on Britan's Got Talent & Up For The Match,) out of my head, for the past month. It is driving me demented at this stage. I feel like I'm being cyber controlled by some Kilkenny Borg like assimilation process. Or maybe I'm just still really, REALLY really hungover from Saturday. :o

How did the interview go Saturday PD ?

I honestly don't know. My mind was away with the fairies, the ones that reside on Jones Rd. I can't remember an iota of what we spoke about. Luckily, it was just the intial 'getting to know you' meet and greet initial interview, which I can usually bs my way thru fairly handily. Won't know for another couple of weeks if I get called back for the more rigourous second half of the process, where I'd have to do a presentation. I'm thinking of doing it on "Insidious media campaigns against Mayo half backs and, their place in the modern world." Any ideas where I'd be able to find some research on that? :rolleyes:

Ah very good ... I just rolled my eyes at "which I can usually bs my way thru fairly handily" .. as in ya don't say ....

You'll find great theoretical research on 9/11wasaninsidejob.com for your presentation ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

corny wrote: »
    WTF was up with playing the Auld Triangle right after the whistle btw? Were they trying to suck the atmosphere out of the place? Almost as bad as that other funeral dirge the Fields of Athenry.

This whole event bollix blaring out music is seriously irritating.

They don't need to create some ersatz atmosphere through this nonsense.

I was in Anfield years ago and while not much interest in soccer was looking forward to soaking up the Kop and You'll Never Walk Alone before game. Instead they had some idiot in a monkey suit so crowd might as well not been there. We haven't gotten that bad yet, but heading that way.

The 17 goes to Blackrock though...

One of the weird Dublin Bus anaomolies: 17 Rialto to Blackrock; 17a Blanch to Kilbarrack

Always like the 51A went from some where Northside to somewhere Northside but down the Clonliffe Road for defo and the 51B went from Aston Quay to Clondalkin until it's demise and amalgamation into the 13.

Anyway... moving on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

The 36 and the 36a were faaaaaar worse.

Always single decker, and they even had their own separate bus stops on Dorset street. People were afraid they'd accidentally get on the 36.....

Just seen Rob Hennellys statement. Jesus, your heart would break for him, wouldn't it?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Ah lads, I'm dying after that weekend. The Monday beforehand, I came down with the cold that my wife had, which she past on to our little girl, who seems to have weaponised it before passing it on to me. It is quite possibly the worst cold I've ever had. I've been dosing myself with meds all week, there was no way I was missing being out for this game!

Came off the meds Saturday morning, feeling slightly better than a microwaved corpse, headed into the Porterhouse in Covent Garden, not my first choice, but myself and the wife were meeting up with with another couple for dinner round there. Turns out the guy is from Mayo, so it should be good craic watching it with him.

I get in there to find the place rammed, twenty minutes to get a drink, but they'd managed to get a table right in front of one of the TVs. I get the round in just in time to sit down for the start, pint bottle of Magners, just to make it last longer before the next trip up.

I'm half way through the bottle when I realise that this was an epic mistake. I had thought that I was just warm, but no, I'm starting to sweat like I'm some kind of reverse sponge, it's pouring out of me, meanwhile my temperature is starts going up and down like a yo-yo. This is only about 20 minutes into the first half, Mayo get their goal and my heart starts racing. Having pints, sickness and watching a tense match was a recipe for disaster. However, rather than admit weakness in front of the rather country baised crowd, I asked for another pint, and another after that.

The match finally finishes with a Dublin win, I'm delighted, my 1983 retro jersey is stuck to me, even my socks are damp at this stage, I look like a wreck, so much so that people from every county in Ireland are coming up to me and saying "Congrats", thinking that I was sweating because I must have been so into the game. I literally couldn't think of a single to say to any of them.

Dinner afterwards was nice, running over the game in my head while still trying to maintain some semblance of conversation was extraordinarily difficult, but I managed it. For the first time in my life, despite just after Dublin winning the Ireland, my wife later gave me sympathy, as I was visibly sweating through out the entire meal.

I've put my recovery from this stupid cold back about a week, but my god, it was so worth it to watch the lads grind out a win.

Jaden wrote: »
    The 36 and the 36a were faaaaaar worse.

Always single decker, and they even had their own separate bus stops on Dorset street. People were afraid they'd accidentally get on the 36.....

And the madness of the ever brief life of the 221.

CatInABox, are sure you aren't an aul wan, going thru the menopause? I hear the sweats from hot flashes can be a bitch. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Just seen Rob Hennellys statement. Jesus, your heart would break for him, wouldn't it?

not sure if you are being sarcastic or not, but if it's genuine, not really no, i don't really care. he had a shocker, sport is cruel and i don't wish any malice on those mayo players but there's quite a bit of media focus which seems to be all about mayo's defeat which is daft.

as a dubs fan, in my lifetime i've seen enough of our own misfortune and poor performances and I've never seen this kind of attention seeking, I don't really give a toss about some opposition players eulogy on his own s*it performance. it's fairly pathetic in fact.

Ah jesus, lighten up a little. Every winning and losing team has its heros and villians. That's the nature of sport. But you'd want to have a heart of stone when one person in particular gets singled out, especially when its a pure brain fart, as opposed to being beaten by an outstanding piece of individual skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

not sure if you are being sarcastic or not, but if it's genuine, not really no, i don't really care. he had a shocker, sport is cruel and i don't wish any malice on those mayo players but there's quite a bit of media focus which seems to be all about mayo's defeat which is daft.

as a dubs fan, in my lifetime i've seen enough of our own misfortune and poor performances and I've never seen this kind of attention seeking, I don't really give a toss about some opposition players eulogy on his own s*it performance. it's fairly pathetic in fact.

Give the chap a break!

Some of it has to do with nature of social media - which is why we are talking about it - but he is entitled to have his speak. Some players have disappeared for days after losing big games. Drinking on their own in ar£e end of nowhere. He decided to try and explain how he feels. Can't fault him on that now!

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ah jesus, lighten up a little. Every winning and losing team has its heros and villians. That's the nature of sport. But you'd want to have a heart of stone when one person in particular gets singled out, especially when its a pure brain fart, as opposed to being beaten by an outstanding piece of individual skill.

the only person singled out in fairness and rightly so is Rochford for putting him on in the first place, but there's also serious questions on who is running the show in that camp. i hear ye to a certain degree and maybe i'm a bit long in the tooth for it but spilling your heart with that muck on social media does my head in, particularly for a player at the highest level.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Give the chap a break!

Some of it has to do with nature of social media - which is why we are talking about it - but he is entitled to have his speak. Some players have disappeared for days after losing big games. Drinking on their own in ar£e end of nowhere. He decided to try and explain how he feels. Can't fault him on that now!

that's probably it, I'd have gone down the drinking on my own in some dump.

admittedly not a fan of the social media spilling your heart stuff, but more so in this case in particular, unnecessary and fairly pathetic, must be the heart of stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

the only person singled out in fairness and rightly so is Rochford for putting him on in the first place, but there's also serious questions on who is running the show in that camp. i hear ye to a certain degree and maybe i'm a bit long in the tooth for it but spilling your heart with that muck on social media does my head in, particularly for a player at the highest level.

PressRun wrote: »

great point well made, thanks for your contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

great point well made, thanks for your contribution.

Almost as good as contributions from people outside the county who seem to think they know what's going on in the Mayo dressing room.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,761 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Great day on Saturday, disastrous timing for us as we had something in that day that couldn't be moved so only arrived a minute after thrown in, having timed it to get there as late as possible, missing traffic but not missing much of game. Then straight back to event after presentation. Agreed on auld triangle, weird choice, but they went though a few options I guess.

After a tough enough year playing purely for the win and not putting teams away I wonder will Jim feel that taking the points, playing conservatively 'worked' or did it nearly lose it for us. Kilkenny turning back when he could have put game away in first game and Mick Fitz deciding not to fist or tap over point on Saturday looked like we were getting too 'safe' to me.

Kilkenny though showed his class toward end on Saturday, he is clearly planning to the system and sticks to exactly what he is told. McCauley had some game after coming on, at the game I was absolutely sure his lack of tracking back was going to cost us and wondered where his legs were. Watching back it's clear he made more of a difference that Costello, bouncing Mayo players around like s wrecking ball and creating all 4 chances?

I see some chat that the team is past their best based on this year, I don't see it like that at all. They played a careful system and drifted into a fear based game a lot, slightly less so in the final.

I see McCarthy in midfield next year, Small and McCaffrey at half back. O'Sullivan at sweeper again (looked a little caught for pace in Saturday when caught further from goal which was a surprise) Byrne/Fitz, Cooper and Philly.

Brogan, Flynn, Connolly rested for first half of league, O'Gara given a chance to offer the big man option up front. Costelo, mannion, mchugh, o'callaghan to be given proper runs in team. Daly, devereux, basquille, lownes etc making plenty of league appearances.

Bastick has the fitness to go another year and do a job when required, but may decide another year of hard work to warm the bench isn't worth it. McCauley rests for a lot of league, but they need to watch his weight, Rory may/may not be back, could do with him for height alone. Clucko needs some class of a rest and we do need to be checking out options again, whether it's Savage or not...

All in all, is think we are in better shape for next year assuming McCarthy stays fit, Flynn gets over whatever injury he is carrying and we play to this strengths just a little bit more and release Kilkenny to get forward more. Small allowed to grow into the getting forward role he showed glimpses off all year.

The risks are around midfield, keeper and bigger man at the back I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

that's probably it, I'd have gone down the drinking on my own in some dump.

admittedly not a fan of the social media spilling your heart stuff, but more so in this case in particular, unnecessary and fairly pathetic, must be the heart of stone.

Well, his business is social media and to add to that, he's a big campaigner for promoting mental health especially amongst young lads.

I'm not a fan of social media in general but he puts his profile to good use. You won't solve many problems in the pub.