Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Tis a wonderful time to be supporting the boys in blue. There won't be a cow milked in Ballymun tonight I tells ya.

Going to enjoy this because you never know when it can slip away but for now COYBIB :)

Ps, hope all those Mayo fans who made the trip across get home safe and sound. It's a long way to come again and again and leave empty handed. My heart goes out to them.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Fair play to Jim he had the balls to finally make the changes the fans wanted. I did not think he would drop mdm and Bernard Brogan.
    Lovely to see Bernard fired up when he was sprung from the bench.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Lads anyone have problem with Parnell pass issued tickets today going in,Me and the aul lad got stopped on the way in with the ticket scanner lads saying the ticket was all ready scanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

JRant wrote: »
    Tis a wonderful time to be supporting the boys in blue. There won't be a cow milked in Ballymun tonight I tells ya..

I'm in the mun now and there's looks like there'll be milking a plenty later tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,504 ✭✭✭✭km79

well done from a devastated mayo man
    so much admiration for that team and manager
    28 games undefeated
    back to back Sams
    I hope a few of the feckers retire !

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm in the mun now and there's looks like there'll be milking a plenty later tonight

Speaking of milking it you should see some of the stuff being spouted on the match thread. Some headbangers over there and proof that empty vessels make the most noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Lads anyone have problem with Parnell pass issued tickets today going in,Me and the aul lad got stopped on the way in with the ticket scanner lads saying the ticket was all ready scanned.

Take it was a stand ticket ? Was on The Hill so didn't have a problem - the bottom left of your ticket should show it was issued as a PP ticket holder with your scheme number.

km79 wrote: »
    well done from a devastated mayo man
    so much admiration for that team and manager
    28 games undefeated
    back to back Sams
    I hope a few of the feckers retire !

Do you think a few of your boys might hang up the boots now?

Clarke, Moran, McLoughlin might not be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Do not have a parnell pass but my ticket had trouble being scanned in the Davin, they had to try three or four times then went to the other barcode and it read first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,504 ✭✭✭✭km79

JRant wrote: »
    Do you think a few of your boys might hang up the boots now?

Clarke, Moran, McLoughlin might not be back next year.

after today it's hard to know about Clarke anyway .........
    Moran possibly
    Dillon more than likely
    Higgins possibly
    the rest I don't think so
    There is hope though.......Harrison was very good and Durkan excellent again BUT they are backs ..........we need forwards still :(

km79 wrote: »
    after today it's hard to know about Clarke anyway .........
    Moran possibly
    Dillon more than likely
    Higgins possibly
    the rest I don't think so
    There is hope though.......Harrison was very good and Durkan excellent again BUT they are backs ..........we need forwards still :(

They're becoming a rare breed in the modern game alright. Seems to be much more difficult for a good young attacking player to break through these days. Probably off the back of defense becoming so well organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I know well it is a bit early to be looking at the future of the Dublin team. But I figure over the next 3years Dublin need around 2 breakthrough young fellas per year. I am worried about this Dublin team going stale and hitting the same problem as the. Kerry team of the 70s/80s, where success meant the old stagers kept the young lads out.
    The Dubs are at a peak now but it might only take a couple of years before the momentum stops. A few more u21 lads need to be thrown in next year.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 sonique 2016

good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

The experts say it lacked quality but it lacked quality for a reason. To win against a possessed (best word for them) Mayo team as defending champions is worthy of the highest praise. They asked the questions and we had the answers. Great day.

"When the Dubs go up to lift the Sam Maguire i was there....":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I know well it is a bit early to be looking at the future of the Dublin team. But I figure over the next 3years Dublin need around 2 breakthrough young fellas per year. I am worried about this Dublin team going stale and hitting the same problem as the. Kerry team of the 70s/80s, where success meant the old stagers kept the young lads out.
    The Dubs are at a peak now but it might only take a couple of years before the momentum stops. A few more u21 lads need to be thrown in next year.

Tbh I'd say they peaked last year. This team have been on the road a while now. 4 leagues on the trot and now 2 AI back to back and 3 in the last 4 years. I think a few of them are looking jaded or maybe burnt out. Small turned out to be a great replacement for jack mc,
    But all in all they looked allot more beatable this year that 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Tbh I'd say they peaked last year. This team have been on the road a while now. 4 leagues on the trot and now 2 AI back to back and 3 in the last 4 years. I think a few of them are looking jaded or maybe burnt out. Small turned out to be a great replacement for jack mc,

100%. Last year's team was unreal.

Congrats to all the genuine Dubs out there. Sickened leaving CP today but sometimes (almost always for us) you just lose to a better team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Perhaps, with three minors in a row, Kerry will come again. However, after inflicting crushing defeats on Kerry, Donegal and Mayo (the three best teams of the last decade) this year, Dublin may have some space to have a year off but still prevail as Tipp and Tyrone may not be fully ready.

After that, Lowndes, Kilkenny, Byrne, Small, Costello, O'Callaghan may keep things going, it is only after that questions arise, but that may be well down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I'd agree with that. Give all the main men from today 6 months off & blood a whole rake of new lads in the O'Byrne Cup and the league. Winning 4 leagues on the trot is great, but it makes the year too long, not just physically, but mentally too. That mental fatigue really showed in the drawn semi. The amount of regular starters from 2015, who featured in the first game of the year down in Enniscorthy, (or were on the sidelines watching,) was nuts.

Then again, the competition for places is so fierce, it's all well and good to say that 80% of the squad need a good break that extends well into late Spring. If the established players are showing up for pre season training, doing really well in training and are putting their hands up for selection, what can Jim Gavin do exactly? March them to Dublin Airport and, put them on the next flight to Ibiza? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Godge wrote: »

Perhaps, with three minors in a row, Kerry will come again. However, after inflicting crushing defeats on Kerry, Donegal and Mayo (the three best teams of the last decade) this year, Dublin may have some space to have a year off but still prevail as Tipp and Tyrone may not be fully ready.

After that, Lowndes, Kilkenny, Byrne, Small, Costello, O'Callaghan may keep things going, it is only after that questions arise, but that may be well down the road.

Easy now, you don't want to come off as smug. Oops to late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

YEAH just yes..I'm tired but happy. Love those guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭charlie1980

The Jacks are back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Yeehaw

Tough game. Delighted with the win.

I need six months off myself after the tension of the last couple of weeks.ðŸ‘

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Probably just need to rebalance the forward line. There is a balance
    between score takers and worker bees and we've gone a bit too much towards
    the auxiliaries this year. Things had opened up a bit when Costello came on but there was only one thing on his mind when he got the ball and it wasn't a
    lateral hand pass. We've a few more like that including o Callaghan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Its a bit unreal waking up and knowing we have just won the All Ireland again, There was just something about these two games that had me all nervous and fearful, Maybe it was all the media hype and reading here,I feel so free this morning like a weight has be lifted from my shoulders ha ha ha ,

Well done Dublin, you haven't lost a game since march 2015, Two all Irelands, No one no matter what the excuses (and the usual are being thrown around)can deny your one of the greatest teams in the GAA.

I sincerely hope we get the 3 in a row I be happy to settle back after that, heres to Dublin for sam2017...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Enjoying the Sat..Sunday game on rte player now.
    Never really felt for an opposing team before but I feel for Mayo.

I hope they win one. Not at our expense..maybe Kerry lol! They are so close.

Read on Kerry forum a poster who admires our skill and ability but hates our cynicism..wtf..haters going to hate I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

Kauto wrote: »
    Cant see Dublin winning it. They are currently without their three best defenders. Their only midfielder has a suspected broken jaw. Dean Rock is not even junior football standard and goes to pieces in big games as evidenced against Mayo last year. Brogan doesnt look the same player and same can be said of Flynn. On top of that Kevin Mc is in the starting team. This guy wasnt good enough to start 3 years ago, whats changed now?
    They have no subs worth talking about except Mannion. People going on about how good their squad is. Its about as good as KK's in hurling. They have a first 15 and thats it.

I don't think Dean Rock done too bad overall in semi and 2 finals. Missed a couple one against Mayo the first day. 25 points in 3 games isn't bad for a junior footballer. 2 points from play yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

Lads I lost my programme last night,

Anyone know where I can pick one up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Gael85 wrote: »
    I don't think Dean Rock done too bad overall in semi and 2 finals. Missed a couple one against Mayo the first day. 25 points in 3 games isn't bad for a junior footballer. 2 points from play yesterday.

He was poor in the drawn match. A few hard frees and his confidence seemed to go.

He was fantastic yesterday though, particularly in the first half. His tackle in the first half where he got a clean hand in on the ball was one of the highlights of the match for me.

How're the head today? Great waking up this morning with back to back All Irelands. This is a amazing group of players. 4 All Irelands in 6 years. 4 leagues in a row and 6 Leinsters in a row and 16 Games in 2016 between championship and league unbeaten. Fair play to Jim Gavin, he was ruthless and got the big calls right. Sprung surprise too bringing on Costello who delivered big time. Enjoy the celebrations folks!

He was poor in the drawn match. A few hard frees and his confidence seemed to go.

He was fantastic yesterday though, particularly in the first half. His tackle in the first half where he got a clean hand in on the ball was one of the highlights of the match for me.

That was great tackle. He off the ball movement and work rate goes unnoticed too.