Taxpayer pays 42k Per Month for........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

You think that's bad?

We're currently paying the rent for an entire block of offices (Carrisbrook House in Dublin 4) of which only a floor of which is in use, to house the Israeli Embassy.

Have done for years. €990,000 per year (€82,500 per month!) in rents, which had cost €4,700,000 by 2013 so you're looking at €7,670,000 in the last 8 or so years.

This is absolutely shocking but unsurprising, who's making money out of this I wonder, €20 Million over the lease term :eek::eek::eek:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/forfas-pays-out-47m-to-rent-empty-premises-224637.html

Ah lads, WTF like? Are we really that fookin stupid in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

AGC wrote: »
    A bit like London and other cities....The Government can't or are just afraid to be seen making purchases like that.

It is similar to a government jet, we have 1 not fit for purpose, there should be one purchased which can accommodate 30+ people and can be used for various reasons.

exactly. if they spent €1m on a property in tokyo the same crowd would be up in arms.

vicwatson wrote: »
    This is absolutely shocking but unsurprising, who's making money out of this I wonder, €20 Million over the lease term :eek::eek::eek:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/forfas-pays-out-47m-to-rent-empty-premises-224637.html

Ah lads, WTF like? Are we really that fookin stupid in this country?

it is a 65 year lease that ends in 2034 so the mistake was made before most people here were born, me included. and i'm ancient. they dont have any choice but to suck it up. as to who is making money, well the owner of the building presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Carrisbrooke house sold a few years back for €46m

put on the market last year for €15m

30 million difference - be some whining if the govt. bought it back then

it is a 65 year lease that ends in 2034 so the mistake was made before most people here were born, me included. and i'm ancient. they dont have any choice but to suck it up. as to who is making money, well the owner of the building presumably.
    gctest50 wrote: »
    Carrisbrooke house sold a few years back for €46m

put on the market last year for €15m

30 million difference - be some whining if the govt. bought it back then

And no one saying who our new landlord is, wonder is it FG's friend DOB?

probably because nobody here knows. the property was sold on the open market. who cares who owns it. My money is on a pension or investment fund. a steady return of 5.5% is not to be sniffed at.

I smell a rat, a large stinking rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Why?

of course you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

When the government get the €13 billion back from Apple it'll all be grand:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

You do realise the Govt had nothing to do with the sale (which was carried out by the receivers of Mazarone)?
    And that the lease agreement that Forfas is tied into goes back to 1969?

(all info from the link you provided BTW)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

blackwhite wrote: »
    Read the Examiner article that was linked.

Forfas originally rented the entire building, and sublet it to a number of tenants, including Israel.
    Israel sublets one floor of the building from Forfas, and pays a rent (article doesn't disclose how much).

Since 2008, all of the other tenants have moved out, meaning that Israel is the only tenant.

The €990k per year appears to be the shortfall between what Forfas pays for the entire 8 floors, and what they receive for the single occupied floor.

The problem is that they can't get anyone else to move into the building because of the security demands of the Israelis. So why not find the Israelis alternative buildings or just tell the Israeli's to feck off and then just use the building to house government offices like it was meant to? Right now we're basically paying for a building for no reason other than to house their very little used embassy.

the israelis have a lease. you think we should just break it and tell them to feck off?

It's a sublease and yes, we should tell them to feck off with their ridiculous security demands. Either take alternative accommodation somewhere fit for purpose, stay where they are but drop the idiotic security demands or feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

vandriver wrote: »
    The State spends money on millions of different categories each year.
    Whats the national debt again?

Anyone defending a 42k per month spend on a residence/office for an embassy is seriously out of touch. It's obscene and entirely unnecessary.

It's a sublease and yes, we should tell them to feck off with their ridiculous security demands. Either take alternative accommodation somewhere fit for purpose, stay where they are but drop the idiotic security demands or feck off.

have you considered a career in the department of foreign affairs?

Anyone defending a 42k per month spend on a residence/office for an embassy is seriously out of touch. It's obscene and entirely unnecessary.

There are MUCH bigger problems though.

have you considered a career in the department of foreign affairs?

Briefly. Pay is pretty crap though.

Massive inefficiency in our public service is at the core of a lot of our problems.

Yessir.

blackwhite wrote: »
    You do realise the Govt had nothing to do with the sale (which was carried out by the receivers of Mazarone)?
    And that the lease agreement that Forfas is tied into goes back to 1969?

(all info from the link you provided BTW)

Who in the hell signed a 65 year lease?

Why was the upwards only rent reviews reviewed earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Exactly and what do we need to fix these problems? Beans?

Oh that's right ... money

Donald trump was right. We would just squander the money

somebody back in 1969. long retired and probably dead by now. and you cant "review" the upwards only rent reviews. they are part of the lease.

Think how many palatal penthouses we could rent for our civil servants with the Apple €13b....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Obscene is :

Despite Ireland's public spending on health in 2014 was almost 20% of government expenditure (capital + current) — the highest level in the European Union.

Payouts for personal injury and property damage claims against the HSE were :

• €64 million in 2011.
    • €47 million in 2012.
    • €85 million in 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

No idea - I'm guessing someone in a GOvt department in 1969 (again - I'm just going on the info that YOU provided here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

Can you tell us what these ridiculous demands are?

As far as embassies go its one of the least intrusive I've seen In Dublin
    Tucked away up high its safely out of everyone's way. I think its incredibly fit for purpose.

...__... wrote: »
    As far as embassies go its one of the least intrusive I've seen In Dublin

Try and approach it or wait anywhere near it to meet someone, it is not fit for purpose at all.

AGC wrote: »
    Try and approach it or wait anywhere near it to meet someone, it is not fit for purpose at all.

does the bored looking guard sitting in the hut outside come and give out to you?

No he isn't too pushed...Mossad on the other hand