Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

naughto wrote: »
    Any truth in the rows in the dub camp?
    Or is just the media stiring it up

The mens camp or the ladies camp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

No media reports of any rows, I don't think it's the media doing the stirring here. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Silly season is underway, I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

PressRun wrote: »
    Silly season is underway, I see.

In all it's glory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Listen, never mind that nonsense and let's get onto more pressing matters.

Who actually puts lentils in a coddle?

Stand up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Slattsy wrote: »
    Listen, never mind that nonsense and let's get onto more pressing matters.

Who actually puts lentils in a coddle?

Stand up!

Despite the accusation, I do not.

I've never even heard of anyone doing it until it was suggested here..

I do like barely in my stew though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Am I the only one thats not sure what a lentil is?

No one knows what they are!

They're as controversial and misunderstood as pineapple on a pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

salmocab wrote: »

I had a similar conversation having to ask what a wurly burger was in the chipper - glad I did before I ordered *bleurgh*

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I had a similar conversation having to ask what a wurly burger was in the chipper - glad I did before I ordered *bleurgh*

Not knowing what a whirly burger is is grounds for expulsion from the Metropolis and banished beyond the Pale.

Who doesn't like a wurley burger?

Not knowing what a whirly burger is is grounds for expulsion from the Metropolis and banished beyond the Pale.
    Who doesn't like a wurley burger?

:D .. jaysis I'm on me own here so .. I'll give back me Parnell Pass !!

I prefer the understated refinery of a smoked cod meself .. I honestly never heard of a wurly burger til a few months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I don't know what a wurly burger is. :confused:

Or a tracker mortgage

We only had hoey burgers out my way.

salmocab wrote: »

It was that film with barbara streisand :confused:

Bambi wrote: »
    It was that film with barbara streisand :confused:

Oy vey ...

Speaking of food have any of youse true blues ever ordered Phillys grub?

If not, why not? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Do ye really actually eat coddle though??

Cos we don't actually shag sheep

Bambi wrote: »
    Speaking of food have any of youse true blues ever ordered Phillys grub?

If not, why not? :mad:

One of the lads I coach who's with the Dev Squad gave me a chicken & pasta meal he skied last time in Abbotstown, think it was from Good Food Parlour

Ah no, Philly runs this outfit:

https://fitfood-ireland.ie/

Tashty shtuff, but wasn't crazy on the salt content though, seemed pretty high for a healthy option especially in a small portion size.

Do ye really actually eat coddle though??

Cos we don't actually shag sheep

Yeah but coddle can't sprint.

If I start eating Philly's fitfood - how long before I can be expected to complete a marathon - few weeks?

I miss The News of the World and their ads for fat burning pills .. "lose weight while you sleep" or "think youself thin" ... it's a lot of bother having to answer the door for Phillys deliveries everyday ....

Does he have AOS in his back pocket every time he knocks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

pilot1087 wrote: »

Not sure if this is the right place to ask but I'll give it a go. What time do people start queuing down at the ticket office on Tuesday to collect Parnell Pass tickets?

I have a hill PP for myself but collecting for friends who have stand passes and they're concerned about where they'll be sitting. Seemingly they had a choice of sitting together in the upper Hogan or separately in the lower when they collected for the last game.

I just got mine. Choice of Upper Hogan or Lower Cusack available. I went for the Upper Hogan again. Great view.

Flukey wrote: »
    I just got mine. Choice of Upper Hogan or Lower Cusack available. I went for the Upper Hogan again. Great view.

Howya Flukey .. long time no see. Doesn't it bother you that as a long time season/parnell pass holder that when the big games come round that yer shafted into the gods .. I seem to remember you had a spot in around 324 last year ... I renewed as a terrace this year as it got a pain being nearly able to touch the rafters in The Cusack for the last 2 AI's ..

:D .. jaysis I'm on me own here so .. I'll give back me Parnell Pass !!

I prefer the understated refinery of a smoked cod meself .. I honestly never heard of a wurly burger til a few months ago

I'd murder a birra ray from Matassa's in ballyer in 1997.

Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Howya Flukey .. long time no see. Doesn't it bother you that as a long time season/parnell pass holder that when the big games come round that yer shafted into the gods .. I seem to remember you had a spot in around 324 last year ... I renewed as a terrace this year as it got a pain being nearly able to touch the rafters in The Cusack for the last 2 AI's ..

How are you too? I do drop in, but there are so many anti-Dublin threads here in the summer sometimes, that it is annoying. I still come here though and I am certainly going to matches. In the next few weeks, for the first time in months, my wife and kids will see me on a Sunday afternoon. :) Planning for next year is already happening though. Accommodation for the league game in Killarney is already booked. :)

I don't mind the upper decks. It gives a different perspective. It is good for seeing the positioning of players around the pitch for example, something that is much harder to see at the lower levels. It's a nice view of the ground and around the general area too. You can even see Parnell Park's floodlights, so it is nice to see our home. You can look down on the Hill in all its glory too. I'm delighted to be up there, as I was for the drawn game. It beats being stuck down in 334 or 335, where we have been for much of this year, trying to see down towards the other end, with all the idiots standing up in front of you. Mind you, that even happens in the upper decks. Sometimes you'd like if there were seatbelts on all the seats to stop people jumping up. Then we'd all be able to see.:)

I'd murder a birra ray from Matassa's in ballyer in 1997.

Lovely

There was a Matassa on Mountjoy street too, think its gone now

Pascal did a deadly cod, was the size of a small shark.

I hope yer right on Killarney .. there seems to be some belief it'll be Tralee with it being Paddys weekend and all. GAA is year round for me at this stage, Juveniles take up Saturday & Sundays plus midweek as we're still involved in the Championship, thought I'd get this Sunday off but there's Dublin trials in Alfie Byrne Road :rolleyes:

It's only in the last few years I've realised I have a problem with heights - if there were seatbelts available in the upper stands I'd gladly take one. I was with a fella dying from a wedding the day before at last years AI, between the 2 of us we were limpets stuck to the hull of a boat in the seats :o

Be good to get back under the lights in Parnell for the restart of the SFC - it maybe then I appreciate the advantage of the stand ticket !