Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Andy Moran gets my MOTM.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

PressRun wrote: »
    You're being ridiculous corny. You don't even know Cillian O'Connor. To say he's a "horrible human being" is well out of line. There's plenty that could be said about the Dubs, but I wouldn't say it because I don't know any of them and wouldn't want to make blanket judgements on the characters of people I don't personally know. You should know better, tbh.

I've no idea what he's like as a human but I find O'Connor to be revolting as a player. Only downside I'd see to Mayo finally winning an All Ireland is him getting a reward for his miserable behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Go and cry about it. Could day the same for a couple of Dublin players, but don't go onto yer thread to whinge about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I'm sure he's a hero in Mayo for that last point and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭mvt

Go and cry about it. Could day the same for a couple of Dublin players, but don't go onto yer thread to whinge about it.

They already have winners medals :D

Just trying to lighten the mood,very good hearted posts in the match threads in all fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

mvt wrote: »
    They already have winners medals :D

Just trying to lighten the mood,very good hearted posts in the match threads in all fairness

Has nothing to do with what kind of human beings they are though. The Dubs are great footballers. Who they are as people hardly matters and I wouldn't say one way or another because I don't know any of them personally. I'm sure none of them are "horrible human beings" though.

Calling an amateur footballer you don't know outside of football a "horrible human being" is not really on, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nah there's no whinging, abbey actor in the Dublin set up.

We've a few Keeganesque types but that's no harm.

We've not had much reason to cry in a long time:confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

yop wrote: »
    Stop corny. Cillian does what he has to win as does Cooper and Connolly etc. Horrible human been is one who attacks a lad out of the blue.

Very easy to say that when the decision goes your way to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

I'm a dub but played with COC in college. If he's in your side he's great, if not he's a cheat. The boy knows how to win frees. He's great at that. Like the top players, he's knows how to win. Like brogan, Connolly, Keegan, Boyle, etc. He's a match winner. Aidan O'Shea could learn from him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I would like to remind posters that personal abuse of players is not permitted. And neither is abuse of other posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

In a strange way, I credit the draw with Lee Keegan and his marshalling of
    Connolly. He just rattled him so much.

Incident in injury time, Dublin one point up and.....He grabbed the ball off a Dublin player (Cooper I think) to try and score from the sideline ball. Mad to make a mark on the game after being shadowed by Lee. Stupid and dare I say, arrogant move Diarmuid, one minute left, in injury time, pass it back, keep pocession ..... No, the eejit was thinking of himself and not the team. Mayo get the ball, go up field and bang. Draw game. Keegan is pure class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

RobbieRuns wrote: »

Incident in injury time, Dublin one point up and.....He grabbed the ball off a Dublin player (Cooper I think) to try and score from the sideline ball. Mad to make a mark on the game after being shadowed by Lee. Stupid and dare I say, arrogant move Diarmuid, one minute left, in injury time, pass it back, keep pocession ..... No, the eejit was thinking of himself and not the team. Mayo get the ball, go up field and bang. Draw game. Keegan is pure class.

They should win the replay handy enough then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I'm drained after today, we've let it go imo. So impressed with CO'C - the lad has balls of steel - and disappointed in Aidan today.

Those are the breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

It was Kilkenny he grabbed it off I think. All he had to do was play it back to a blue jersey. Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Kh1993 wrote: »
    I'm a dub but played with COC in college.

Like the top players, he's knows how to win. He's a match winner..

Really? He has played in eight All Ireland SFs including replays and won just three. He's played in three All Ireland Finals and won none. He's obviously a good footballer to play at that level but phrases like "he knows how to win" and "he's a match winner" are meaningless in the context of the evidence. He's almost always on the losing team when there's a trophy up for grabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Anyway Mayo fans, Would ye make any change to your starting 15 for the replay? S. O'Sé might be under a bit of pressure to keep his place?

. Keegan is pure class.

Having watched him goading Sean Kavanagh and do likewise again today class in the last word I'd use about Keegan. Was a fine footballer when the recent Mayo team first emerged and he used to play a lot of ball in each game but it is some fall from grace to be reduced to targeting key opposition players to try to get them sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Barlett

Powerhouse wrote: »
    Really? He has played in eight All Ireland SFs including replays and won just three. He's played in three All Ireland Finals and won none. He's obviously a good footballer to play at that level but phrases like "he knows how to win" and "he's a match winner" are meaningless in the context of the evidence. He's almost always on the losing team when there's a trophy up for grabs.

Oh right, I didn't realise All Ireland medals are handed out like confetti and anyone who doesn't have one can't be a match winner :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

Barlett wrote: »
    Oh right, I didn't realise All Ireland medals are handed out like confetti and anyone who doesn't have one can't be a match winner :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ha! Well he got a great leveler today in the last minute of an all Ireland final. Hard to put him down after that. But lads are trying anyway!

I think we missed the boat, tbh. Should have beat them well today and didn't do it. Feels similar to last year. The opportunity was there. Won't get a second chance.
    The two O'sheas cost us badly today. We had our chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

The two O'sheas cost us badly today. We had our chance.

Aidan was terrible, but nobody could hang onto the ball all the same. SOS was good in parts but looked a little off the pace .

Not sure who'd Mayo would put in ahead if him though

Stoner wrote: »
    Aidan was terrible, but nobody could hang onto the ball all the same. SOS was good in parts but looked a little off the pace .

Not sure who'd Mayo would put in ahead if him though

Some people suggesting Barry Moran to me. But I think he might struggle against Fenton / McCauley. Would he have the pace to stick with them?

Barlett wrote: »

Match winners do tend to win stuff - there's a clue in the name. Maybe you regard a League match in MacHale Park as the same level as Croke Park in August/September but not everyone does.

Some people suggesting Barry Moran to me. But I think he might struggle against Fenton / McCauley. Would he have the pace to stick with them?

Vaughan, but getting seriously short of subs if Regan and Dillon are injured.

Thats a good shout in fairness. Hadnt though tof him when my drunk friend was insisting to me that Mayo should be playing Moran there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Having watched him goading Sean Kavanagh and do likewise again today class in the last word I'd use about Keegan. Was a fine footballer when the recent Mayo team first emerged and he used to play a lot of ball in each game but it is some fall from grace to be reduced to targeting key opposition players to try to get them sent off.

Complete ****e! Every good man maker in this country plays on the edge; Neil McGee, Philly Mc Mahon....The list goes on!

Keegan takes the target man on almost every occasion and does what he has to do to get the job done! Philly does it and he's a loveable rough, Keegan does it and he's a thug!

Change the record, it's broken!

One more thing; Cooper held Moran for the ENTIRE game off the ball! He constantly held him and tried to continuously drag him and on a few occasions, succeeded in doing so! And like Philly (who I actually have a lot of time for, but for this process I have to go against), I'm told, is well fit to do a bit of trash talking also!

Well I raised it with the Mayo lads , Barry Moran wouldn't have the pace was the opinion. I'd agree with that. SOS starts the next game I think

Stoner wrote: »
    Well I raised it with the Mayo lads , Barry Moran wouldn't have the pace was the opinion. I'd agree with that. SOS starts the next game I think

I dont know. He was extremely poor today. And he was poor the last day too. For me, it just sends out the wrong message if you are consistently selecting a player in poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Barlett

Match winners do tend to win stuff - there's a clue in the name. Maybe you regard a League match in MacHale Park as the same level as Croke Park in August/September but not everyone does.

Oh right, does that mean the five Connuaght medals, two club championship medals and two Young Footballer of the Year awards he won were all a dream?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I dont know. He was extremely poor today. And he was poor the last day too. For me, it just sends out the wrong message if you are consistently selecting a player in poor form.

True, but sometimes you have to play the hand you are dealt, Vaughan had a good game at midfield this year alright , followed by a poor one I think?
    He's a half forward in my book though